645 Medium Format 35mm Camera


Pentax

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Other Film Cameras : Medium Format

Bisti in Blue
View photos created with this camera

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 15 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Leroy A. Skalstad 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/20/2008 4:30:32 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/20/2008 4:30:32 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/20/2008 4:30:32 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/20/2008 4:30:32 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/20/2008 4:30:32 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great image quality, Robust construction and great optics that dont break the bank, I use Tri-X 320 for most of my work with this system, My only gripe are the push buttons that are very easy to bump and inadvertantly change settings.
1/20/2008 4:30:32 AM
 
Michael A. Gane 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 9:17:27 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 9:17:27 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 9:17:27 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 9:17:27 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 9:17:27 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Stunning picture quality is possible but size and weight can be a big issue. Film processing and printing is expensive; quality medium format film scans are very expensive.
12/12/2005 9:17:27 AM
 
Robert Mance 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/17/2005 1:12:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/17/2005 1:12:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/17/2005 1:12:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/17/2005 1:12:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/17/2005 1:12:08 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Just learning this camera but love it so far. Would like to see better battery life.
10/17/2005 1:12:08 PM
 
David Jennings
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/9/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2005 11:12:33 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2005 11:12:33 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2005 11:12:33 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2005 11:12:33 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2005 11:12:33 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Best all around Nature camera for size and durability in rough weather and conditions.
5/9/2005 11:12:33 AM
 
Alan J. Micklin 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2005 3:34:48 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2005 3:34:48 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2005 3:34:48 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2005 3:34:48 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2005 3:34:48 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great Camera, very versital. Great optics, quick to use.
3/6/2005 3:34:48 PM
 
Laura McGinnis 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/24/2005 10:49:28 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/24/2005 10:49:28 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/24/2005 10:49:28 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/24/2005 10:49:28 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/24/2005 10:49:28 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
A heavy but great medium format choice for someone used to the Nikon 35mm cameras. I did not have to change my habits or mindset in using this camera after using Nikons all my life.
1/24/2005 10:49:28 AM
 
Piotr M. Organa
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/12/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2005 6:34:03 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2005 6:34:03 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2005 6:34:03 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2005 6:34:03 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2005 6:34:03 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Good looks and sound :) Just got it. Nice image quality, unfriendly digital controls.
1/12/2005 6:34:03 AM
 
Jack Levisky 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/11/2004 11:53:23 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/11/2004 11:53:23 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/11/2004 11:53:23 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/11/2004 11:53:23 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/11/2004 11:53:23 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Excellent, easy to use in both manual and controlled conditions, would like a spot metering option.
10/11/2004 11:53:23 AM
 
Cheryl A. Morrill 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2004 5:59:12 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2004 5:59:12 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2004 5:59:12 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2004 5:59:12 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2004 5:59:12 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love the quality of photos...
8/15/2004 5:59:12 AM
 
Harry Lichtman
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/23/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/28/2004 1:34:41 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/28/2004 1:34:41 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/28/2004 1:34:41 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/28/2004 1:34:41 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/28/2004 1:34:41 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
A rugged camera and manageable size that I can backpack with. Controls are relatively simple and straightforward. Love the large transparency it produces. A built in spotmeter would be an advantage, so the autofocus version (645N) might be a better pick if I had to do it all over again.
7/28/2004 1:34:41 PM
 
Chris L. Lauritzen 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2004 12:25:14 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2004 12:25:14 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2004 12:25:14 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2004 12:25:14 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2004 12:25:14 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The Pentax 645 is an excellent starter camera for your entry in to the world of medium format. I have been shooting medium format for years shooting 6x6 cameras but I decided I wanted to try a different format. The camera handles like a 35mm with the controls easy to reach but yet you do need to take your eye off the VF to switch setting. My only real negative is the view finder itís self. It is hard to see through it sometimes and requires your eye to be a small distance away from it to see everything clearly. When doing this you allow light to come between your eye and the VF causing some distraction. I cured this issue by attaching a Nikon DK-2 eye piece which has a nice cup that fits around the eye.

The Pentax lens selection is vast yet affordable with decent quality glass. I personally have adapted the use of Carl Ziess glass to my Pentax.

6/2/2004 12:25:14 PM
 

First 10 of 15 Reviews  (see all user reviews)