Online Photo Course - Portfolio Development with William Neill

Categories: Reviews: BetterPhoto Products and Services : BetterPhoto Online Photography Courses

Portfolio Development Photography Course
Course Instructor: © William Neill
Portfolio Development

Learn how to put your very best foot forward, developing portfolios that display your finest photos. Outdoor Photographer columnist William Neill covers the art of editing your images, and developing thematic portfolios. His insightful lessons, challenging assignments, and invaluable critiques will focus and expand your creative potential. In this exciting online course, you will learn how to focus on the subjects that most inspire you. Give yourself this gift: master the art of editing and organizing your images.

Category: Nature / Travel
Skill Level: 3 - Intermediate
Only $396 USD

Learn more about
Portfolio Development


49 Reviews  

Average Rating: 5 out of 5

5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Antoinette Addison
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/4/2013
Contact Antoinette
Antoinette's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/13/2014 7:18:47 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/13/2014 7:18:47 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/13/2014 7:18:47 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/13/2014 7:18:47 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/13/2014 7:18:47 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is a fabulous class and a great complement to other photo classes. It vastly exceeded my expectations. I thought I had a pretty good idea of what an interesting and balanced portfolio was, but I realize now I had no appreciation for the on-going process of creating and improving one. This class really was an eye opener. It will not only help me build portfolios, but I believe it also will improve my photography a lot by giving it a sense of focus. Thank you Bill.
7/13/2014 7:18:47 AM
 
David B. Dawson
Contact David
David's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2013 9:32:27 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2013 9:32:27 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2013 9:32:27 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2013 9:32:27 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2013 9:32:27 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Best photography course ever. I have no hesitation at all in making this claim. After two years of taking classes on specific skills and styles, many of them very good in their own right, this is the class that put it all together. Thanks to the wisdom and guidance in Bill Neill's critiques, I've gained a tremendous amount of confidence just from the eight sessions of the class, and I've gained a world of insight into what it means to think and see as an artist rather than a technician or a hobbyist. Like I said, best class ever -- I'm already planning to take it again.
1/10/2013 9:32:27 PM
 
stephen barney
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/3/2012
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2013 7:43:19 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2013 7:43:19 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2013 7:43:19 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2013 7:43:19 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2013 7:43:19 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Everyone needs this class, it will fundamentally change the way you approach photography. Its not about technique although the critiques will point out where your going wrong its all about what you shoot and how you group it. You will finish the course with a fabulous portfolio and a much clearer methodology for creating one. This is one of the classes here that can and should be taken again and again I fully intend to do it again and probably more than once I must say a huge thank you to Bill for his excellent coaching and for running a great class
1/8/2013 7:43:19 PM
 
Stephanie Lewis
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/27/2009
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2012 2:48:32 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2012 2:48:32 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2012 2:48:32 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2012 2:48:32 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2012 2:48:32 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have taken a number of betterphoto.com classes. All of them have been great but this one is my favorite. Bill's feedback was thoughtful and encouraging. He gently led us through the various decision points of portfolio development. And it was very easy to engage in an e-conversation with him. There is no doubt in my mind that I will be taking this course again. Thanks Bill!
5/11/2012 2:48:32 PM
 
Kitty R. Kono
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/15/2008
Contact Kitty
Kitty's Gallery
kittykono.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2011 7:01:08 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2011 7:01:08 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2011 7:01:08 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2011 7:01:08 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2011 7:01:08 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is the second time I have taken Bill Neill's Portfolio Development class and it was even better the second time around. He kept me focused for eight straight weeks and each time I was able to produce a book of photographs that I am proud of. Mr. Neill is a marvelous coach and teacher. Anyone who is serious about putting a portfolio together should take this course.
9/7/2011 7:01:08 AM
 
James M. Hunt 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2011 5:13:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2011 5:13:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2011 5:13:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2011 5:13:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2011 5:13:40 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is an outstanding course for anyone who has a body of work, or several bodies of work, that they're trying to get organized into something presentable. The course takes you through a set of conceptual tools so that you leave with a methodology for creating portfolios and a strategy for targeting them appropriately. Bill is a great teacher as well as a great photographer, supportive but ready to tell you if something isn't working. He provides lots of very timely feedback. If you're serious about your work, I would recommend this highly.
7/5/2011 5:13:40 PM
 
Deborah C. Lewinson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/25/2003
Contact Deborah
Deborah's Gallery
newjerseyphotos.net
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2011 7:04:50 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2011 7:04:50 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2011 7:04:50 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2011 7:04:50 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2011 7:04:50 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
William Neill is an outstanding teacher and photographer. Portfolio Development is about organizing, evaluating, and moving forward in photography with a purpose. While I enjoyed my own improvement during the 8 week session, it was part of the learning experience to see everyone develop meaningful and excellent portfolios as a result of Bill’s teaching. William Neill packs eight weeks with organized and thought provoking lessons, suggestions for additional reading, and feedback that is timely and helpful.

I came into this workshop with a huge library of images taking up space on multiple hard drives organized by dates and places, serving little purpose. After completing Portfolio Development my sense of purpose was developed, I discovered some keepers in my photo library, and with Bill’s assistance, grouped them into meaningful collections while adding new images with a well-defined purpose and improved sense of self-critique.

I highly recommend this workshop to both intermediate and advanced photographers.

6/12/2011 7:04:50 AM
 
David Dirkx
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/6/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2011 4:32:54 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2011 4:32:54 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2011 4:32:54 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2011 4:32:54 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2011 4:32:54 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Before taking this course I had no clear idea what made a good portfolio.

Bill made me realise that a portfolio is not meant to show all the different types of photos you have in your collection, but instead focus on a single theme and trying to perfect it.

I have a totally different view now of grouping images, presenting them, writing an artist's statement (which I didn't even know existed), and all this thanks to Bill.

So if you plan on presenting your images to the public, take this course. You will make a much bigger impression using Bill's tips.

5/12/2011 4:32:54 AM
 
Gale Stoner
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/27/2009
Contact Gale
Gale's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2011 9:58:47 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2011 9:58:47 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2011 9:58:47 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2011 9:58:47 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2011 9:58:47 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
If you don't think you need this course, you're not serious about your photography. Bill Neill is a tremendous instructor. He has developed a strategy for self-critiquing your photos with a laser-like focus. The result is a portfolio that will show off your best work. Excellent course.
5/11/2011 9:58:47 AM
 
Steven R. Hill
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/29/2009
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/6/2011 7:40:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/6/2011 7:40:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/6/2011 7:40:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/6/2011 7:40:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/6/2011 7:40:37 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
this is outstanding class. Push me in the way I do photography and in the way I think about it.
2/6/2011 7:40:37 PM
 
Susan L. Gendron
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/22/2008
susanlgendron.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/26/2010 11:00:40 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/26/2010 11:00:40 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/26/2010 11:00:40 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/26/2010 11:00:40 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/26/2010 11:00:40 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Best course I've taken yet. (out of about 6). William is a nice guy, encouraging, and his insistence on editing my work critically was invaluable!
11/26/2010 11:00:40 AM
 
Greg Bowerman
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/30/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/16/2010 4:36:43 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/16/2010 4:36:43 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/16/2010 4:36:43 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/16/2010 4:36:43 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/16/2010 4:36:43 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Portfolio Development under Bill Neill is an outstanding workshop! I found the entire 8 weeks inspirational. Understanding the concept of a portfolio was taken to a more meaningful level. I give full credit to Bill's sage advice and gentle guidance. I now have my first book to show for the effort, something I had not imagined undertaking until participating in this workshop. It has been FUN and well worth the money spent.
11/16/2010 4:36:43 PM
 
David H. Maywalt
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/29/2009
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/16/2010 2:52:55 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/16/2010 2:52:55 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/16/2010 2:52:55 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/16/2010 2:52:55 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/16/2010 2:52:55 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
To: Bill Neill, yours was the finishing touch on a year long class track in Nature Photography and it was excellent. What this class drove me to do was to really get introspective about my photography, to look closely at what I have been attempting to accomplish over the past year. I have to admit that towards the end I was getting tired of looking at some 40 images with an eye towards perfecting my personal vision and I feel that you as an instructor and very accomplished photographer have shaped me more than any other. I watched the work of the other artists in this class and wondered whether they too felt this pressure to step beyond their personal comfort zone as I did. I feel I have grown in the past eight weeks and feel better about not comparing myself to anyone else but to go with my personal views balanced by other views. The finished portfolio blossomed from a faint inkling of an idea to a final product, without your critiques and ideas it would still be unborn, thanks Bill, David
11/16/2010 2:52:55 PM
 
Gary Rutledge
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/14/2008
garyrutledge-photography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2010 7:37:31 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2010 7:37:31 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2010 7:37:31 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2010 7:37:31 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2010 7:37:31 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I recently completed the "Portfolio Development" course, instructed by William Neill. The course developed very well building from one week to the next. My focus changed after the second week and remained very strong after that. The course material, as presented by Bill, leaves you no choice but to be deeply involved in the work required. This course makes you think and plan. I would highly recommend this course to anyone who wishes to improve their portfolio and/or photographic insight
11/11/2010 7:37:31 AM
 
Gary Rutledge
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/14/2008
garyrutledge-photography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2010 7:37:30 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2010 7:37:30 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2010 7:37:30 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2010 7:37:30 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2010 7:37:30 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I recently completed the "Portfolio Development" course, instructed by William Neill. The course developed very well building from one week to the next. My focus changed after the second week and remained very strong after that. The course material, as presented by Bill, leaves you no choice but to be deeply involved in the work required. This course makes you think and plan. I would highly recommend this course to anyone who wishes to improve their portfolio and/or photographic insight
11/11/2010 7:37:30 AM
 
Nancy de Flon
Contact Nancy
Nancy's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2010 4:40:01 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2010 4:40:01 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2010 4:40:01 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2010 4:40:01 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2010 4:40:01 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Bill is not only a teacher but a coach who engages you in ongoing dialogue so that your end assignment is well-thought-out and overall well produced. This is the BEST course ever. If you've reached the point where you're serious about getting your photography out there, this course is an absolute must. You'll be ecstatic that you took it. It's mind-blowing that someone as famous and as busy as Bill takes such an incredible amount of time with each student.
11/10/2010 4:40:01 PM
 
Mary  L. Olson
Contact Mary
Mary 's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/21/2010 12:59:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/21/2010 12:59:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/21/2010 12:59:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/21/2010 12:59:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/21/2010 12:59:04 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I started this course being frustrated, not by the lessons, but by the closer look it made me take at past work. All of a sudden, images that I had liked were not measuring up to where I really wanted them to be. I know that sounds negative, but that is not the intent. Becoming a better, more critical judge of your own work is what this course is all about, and it would be hard to imagine a better coach than William Neill. He is encouraging, friendly and detailed. He speaks from a position of experience and demonstrated artistry, and alway helpfully. Thanks for helping me raise my personal benchmarks.
8/21/2010 12:59:04 PM
 
Andrew Nixon 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2010 10:24:01 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2010 10:24:01 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2010 10:24:01 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2010 10:24:01 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2010 10:24:01 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
My first BP class but not my first online photography class experience. This was by far the most fun online class I've taken. It was a challenge but at the same time I feel that I've learned things that will move my photography along. A great class to take if you feel like you're stuck and need something to get back on track. I would thoroughly recommend this to others.
3/11/2010 10:24:01 AM
 
Roy Money 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/31/2009 8:07:38 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/31/2009 8:07:38 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/31/2009 8:07:38 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/31/2009 8:07:38 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/31/2009 8:07:38 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The course was both stimulating and satisfying because Bill provided lots of useful information and personal support as well as challenging assignments. Bill's own photographs are very inspiring and his responsiveness as a teacher was very encouraging and tailored to a variety of interests and experience. I learned a lot about editing and organizing pictures into themes and also made significant progress in beginning to write about my pictures.
8/31/2009 8:07:38 PM
 
Marcia L. Getto
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/22/2004
marciagetto.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2009 11:23:26 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2009 11:23:26 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2009 11:23:26 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2009 11:23:26 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2009 11:23:26 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This class is a "must" for any photographer who wants to market his/her work. With Bill's patience and gentle leadership, I was able to refine and focus my images to a workable group that resulted in a sale and show invitation even before the class was completed.
6/11/2009 11:23:26 AM
 
DEBORAH CASSO 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2009 11:15:42 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2009 11:15:42 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2009 11:15:42 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2009 11:15:42 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2009 11:15:42 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
When I registered for this course, I wasn't sure how an online portfolio development course would work for me. Looking back on the course, I can say I was very impressed and learned a great deal.

I appreciated Bill's talented eye, incredible responsiveness, and gentle encouragement. I also thought the format of weekly assignments was effective in incrementally built/honed my editing skills. And, I enjoyed learning from my fellow students in the class and watching their portfolios grow and develop over the weeks.

I highly recommend the course if you are wanting to develop your editing skills and be more focused in growing/developing your various portfolios.

3/12/2009 11:15:42 AM
 
Jim Swift 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2009 4:44:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2009 4:44:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2009 4:44:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2009 4:44:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2009 4:44:10 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I can heartily recommend this course to anyone who is wanting to raise the quality of their work.

The concept of the course is straighforward - find your best body of work and only add to it when you make photographs of equal quality. But it's the challege of going out every week to capture more material for the chosen theme, and then reaping the benefits of Bill's eye that makes this course really worthwhile.

Thanks very much, Bill

Jim Swift

3/9/2009 4:44:10 PM
 
Jim Alexander 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2008 11:40:15 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2008 11:40:15 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2008 11:40:15 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2008 11:40:15 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2008 11:40:15 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Outstanding class! Well thought-out appropriate lessons. Fair and relevant feedback with inspirational comments and suggestions. Bill is a pleasure to learn from. This is a must-do course for anyone serious about improving their photography.
Jim Alexander
12/6/2008 11:40:15 AM
 
Kiril D. Kirkov
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/30/2006
Contact Kiril
Kiril's Gallery
kirilkirkovphotography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/18/2008 9:09:22 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/18/2008 9:09:22 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/18/2008 9:09:22 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/18/2008 9:09:22 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/18/2008 9:09:22 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
It was real pleasure to be William's student . This course was a perfect way to complete my Class Track study .
Bill,I managed to look beyond the horizon , thanks to your lessons , advices and ideas . I hope someday to shake your hand !
Now , let just feel the magic of our job , and to continue exploring the beauty of our world!
Kiril
11/18/2008 9:09:22 PM
 
Rene M. Hales
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/20/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2008 7:19:29 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2008 7:19:29 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2008 7:19:29 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2008 7:19:29 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2008 7:19:29 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Wonderful class! I completed two projects and one was delivered as part of an exhibit to the Berea Arts Council in KY.

I was pushed to move forward and implement projects that had before been vague ideas.

My husband heard so much about the course that now it is on his wish list.

Rene Hales

6/11/2008 7:19:29 AM
 
bob J. slachta 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/11/2007 8:08:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/11/2007 8:08:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/11/2007 8:08:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/11/2007 8:08:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/11/2007 8:08:04 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Sorry it took so long to write this review. I was very happy with Mr Neill's
class and was surprised at the time he took to actually look and comment on the photos and make suggestions on the photos.The class was well worth the price!!
10/11/2007 8:08:04 PM
 
Adrien E. Bisson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/11/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/8/2007 6:21:41 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/8/2007 6:21:41 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/8/2007 6:21:41 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/8/2007 6:21:41 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/8/2007 6:21:41 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This class is an essential part of a BP curriculum for the serious photographer. I think that someone at an intermediate or advanced level can learn much from Bill, who is patient, helpful and generous with information. I personally, found his work and the coherence of his portfolios to be inspiring. The subject matter of this class is an elusive one, but also an essential one. And I found, unexpectedly, that it was also one which provided me with direction for future work as I learned to refine my themes and areas of interest.
9/8/2007 6:21:41 AM
 
albert a. caporaso
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/17/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2007 7:11:05 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2007 7:11:05 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2007 7:11:05 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2007 7:11:05 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2007 7:11:05 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is a must course for any photographer who has generated thousands of images of varying quality and too many subjects. Bill has a logical approach to organization of themes, a feedback method that helped me make immediate improvemnets in my works habits. In eight weeks I have been shooting better images which fit into my exisiting body of work. Bill is a gentle and honest critic. Answers all questions and sticks to a firm schedule of reviewing student's work. This course was perfect for my skill level as a very serious amateur photographer.
9/5/2007 7:11:05 AM
 
Bo F. Thibblin 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/3/2007 10:13:15 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/3/2007 10:13:15 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/3/2007 10:13:15 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/3/2007 10:13:15 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/3/2007 10:13:15 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is an excellent course! William Neill is guiding you on very subtle issues that are hard to put in word. It is about intuition, creativity and "Visiual Literacy" as William puts it. I would say: it is a course about Visual Philosophy put into photographic practice. It is really exciting! And William is professionally guiding you on this track in order to become a mature photographer. Thanks William!
9/3/2007 10:13:15 PM
 
Sam McCaughey
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/19/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/6/2007 7:05:55 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/6/2007 7:05:55 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/6/2007 7:05:55 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/6/2007 7:05:55 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/6/2007 7:05:55 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Bill is remarkably perceptive to subtle aspects of student work. He has a gentle way of guiding you to see your own work in a new way. The overriding concept of selecting and working on a chosen theme helps the student to focus and produce consistent work on a much more regular basis.

Bill knows what he is talking about!

The Portfolio Development class was an eye-opener, an education and a lot of fun.

It would be nice to have an advanced level of this class.

Highly Recommend!

6/6/2007 7:05:55 AM
 
Greg Lessard
greglessardphotography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/28/2007 5:48:13 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/28/2007 5:48:13 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/28/2007 5:48:13 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/28/2007 5:48:13 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/28/2007 5:48:13 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Bill is a very caring, thoughtful instructor. He takes great care to adjust his teaching style to his students' needs. He answers every question, even the tough ones. Bill is able to be gentle and nurturing while giving straightforward honest advice. His course helped me to jump to a new level of photographic skill, while inspiring me to achieve my best!
Sincerely,
Greg Lessard
WWW.GregLessardPhotography.com
5/28/2007 5:48:13 PM
 
Cora Miller
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/18/2004
Contact Cora
Cora's Gallery
heartsongphotography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/15/2007 1:40:14 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/15/2007 1:40:14 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/15/2007 1:40:14 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/15/2007 1:40:14 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/15/2007 1:40:14 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This class is for any photographer who is ready to define their passion and refine their photography into a cohesive body of work which will reflect that passion. Bill's teaching style invites your participation and encourages you to think through the process for yourself, giving you the tools necessary to be able to apply the concepts after the class is over. The lessons are thorough, well thought out, and clarify the whys and hows of editing your work into themes. Bill's insights are invaluable, his supportive comments an encouragement, and his response to questions extremely helpful. Completing each lesson will guarantee improvement in your portfolio, regardless of your skill level, and you will be rewarded with a portfolio that you can show with confidence. I highly recommend taking this course.
3/15/2007 1:40:14 AM
 
Tina Dinzl-Pederson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/9/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2007 12:23:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2007 12:23:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2007 12:23:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2007 12:23:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2007 12:23:37 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This class was terrific. Thank you BetterPhoto.com for the wonderful opportunity to have constructive commentary from world class photographer William Neill. He was very attentive to the students and reviewed work quickly with comments that created challenges and personal growth. My work improved and I have sold a couple of photos to magazines with my enhanced skills. If you want to get organized and develop a more structured way to look at your images, this is the course for you!
3/10/2007 12:23:37 PM
 
Doug Caldwell 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 6:16:29 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 6:16:29 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 6:16:29 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 6:16:29 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 6:16:29 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This class is for anyone who wants to grow from taking good (or even great) photographs to being a Photographer. We recognize great photographers not by single images but by their consistency of quality and style, by their visions that are captured in cohesive bodies of work. This class took me from taking isolated good pictures to being able to pick a theme and develop it – moving beyond the technical and artistic merit of a single image to considering these in a thematic context based on vision and focus.

Bill illustrates lessons with his own work, making them simultaneously much more informative (he’s been there) and inspirational (both “Wow! That’s beautiful.” and “Aha! That’s why it all works together!”). Students benefit from Bill’s attention to detail and high standards that are evident in his photography. I don’t think I can adequately convey how much I’ve appreciated the opportunity to learn from him.

Oh, and don’t be put off by this being listed in the “Business” category. This isn’t simply for those who want to pursue business/moneymaking with their photography. This is about developing purpose and focus. Perhaps it should be listed in the “Vision” category.

6/13/2006 6:16:29 PM
 
Theodore C. Settle 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2006 6:05:35 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2006 6:05:35 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2006 6:05:35 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2006 6:05:35 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2006 6:05:35 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Beginning with the emphasis on developing a theme, and continually thinking about the theme to refine it, has been basic to all that I have learned in this class. Additionally, setting the theme within the context of to whom and how the images will be presented further refined my thinking during the weeks of the course.

I began with a very wide variety of images from many different places, a couple of which were from my own “backyard.” With your suggestion, I decided to focus on images related to the Delaware and Raritan Canal. As I began to look more closely at the variety of settings of the canal and walk more slowly on and around the tow paths and connecting paths, I realized that there were “treasures” to be found. The process then involved how best to image these treasures: exposure; sharpness (including depth of field); lighting; composition (clean and lacking distractive elements); and my response to what I was seeing.

In the process of taking, selecting and submitting images and based on your comments, I found that I need to spend more time exploring, testing and thinking (pre-visualizing) before actually taking images. I tend to respond to an object and set up for a shot and then find that I did not check for distracting elements. The clearest example for me during the course was the beautiful image of the multiflora rose complete with a water droplet at the bottom. However, there was another blurry bright image behind it that was distracting. Had I taken time to consider this, I would probably have been able to work around this, or find another rose – the morning was perfect, after a rain and clear and early morning sun.

The other part of this learning with respect to composition, is that even when all of these concerns are followed, the available equipment may not provide the ability to make the perfect composition and cropping will be required. Part of my learning during the course was to shoot with cropping in mind when the cropping cannot be done in camera.

Lighting was important. Part of taking time to explore the subject is to see it in different light conditions and then go when the light is right. The wisteria was taken in both morning and late afternoon light. In the morning, distracting elements appeared in the reflection of the wisteria. In the afternoon light these distractions were not present. The wisteria was also an image where cropping the image improved it considerably, but could not be done in camera without losing some of the important parts of the overall image. Another example of exploring the subject in advance is the image of the wing dam along the Delaware river. I did explore Bull’s Island on an earlier shoot and determined that in order to photograph the inlet and other aspects of the canal I would need to come in the late afternoon and actually walk across the Delaware river (foot bridge) and up a path along the Delaware in Pennsylvania to get objects in the right light. That proved to be quite successful for the wing dam. I need to go back a little earlier in the afternoon for the right lighting to take the inlet to the canal.

One aspect that I did not understand as fully as I should have during the course was your expectation that each week we would be working on your feedback loop, refining the portfolio to continually select the best of the best. Instead I was busy obtaining new images and relating them to subject matter in previous submissions, with some consideration to the feedback loop, but not in relation to all of the images. This is an area on which I will place greater emphasis as a continue to develop this project.

It was my response to the image of the tree with its roots grasping the earth and the clear reflection that made me think of “hidden treasures.” The notion of “hidden treasures” also comes out in my search for ways to use tryptiches to show patterns and different perspectives of objects. I think the use of a Tryptich has a great deal of potential for the development of my theme as ways of seeing differently the treasures in the canal park, for example, same objects in different seasons -- the tree hanging over the canal.

I have downloaded the beta version of Adobe’s Light Table. I see this as a tremendous asset in using your feedback loop process. The trial version ends June 30, 2006, so I would expect some kind of offering soon, I hope.

In developing the theme, The Delaware and Raritan Canal State Park: Hidden Treasures in Central New Jersey, your comments on my final submission helped clarify for me the fact that I have at least two aspects of this theme: a description and interpretive aspect. I think the final theme (at this point) will not be an emphasis on “hidden” but an emphasis that, in the Delaware and Raritan Canal State Park, we have a “Treasure in Central New Jersey.” I think this change will let me explore both the descriptive and interpretive aspects to the theme.

I plan to go back to my 2 Dimensional Design textbook and try to develop subthemes around the constituent elements, and their combinations, that make up 2 dimensional design: line; shape; value; texture; and color. As I hope you can see, I am quite excited about the potential that comes from participation in this class.

Thank you very much for your time and expertise. I hope that you are feeling much better. Please keep me in mind when your landscape course if ready to be offered, I will sign up immediately.

Ted

6/12/2006 6:05:35 PM
 
Eileen Kennedy 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2006 9:26:10 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2006 9:26:10 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2006 9:26:10 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2006 9:26:10 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2006 9:26:10 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This course helped me focus on what subject matter is important to me, and why. It also helps develop critical editing skills. Bill's insights on all the students' work were motivating and inspiring.
3/9/2006 9:26:10 AM
 
David G. Hammaker 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2006 7:45:56 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2006 7:45:56 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2006 7:45:56 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2006 7:45:56 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2006 7:45:56 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Excellent course. Highly recommended. Gave me new insight into my photography. Great feedback.
3/8/2006 7:45:56 AM
 
Harold R. Michaud
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/13/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2006 4:56:32 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2006 4:56:32 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2006 4:56:32 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2006 4:56:32 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2006 4:56:32 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I am so glad that I took this class. I have become a better photographer not by learning about composition or camera controls but by the importance of editing your work, photographing with a theme in mind, and how to add new images to those already taken. Bill's lessons are straight forward, the assignments are challenging but fun, and the critiques are very informative. He asks questions related not so much as to how you took a certain image but why you took it. Thereby making you stop and think a little. I highly recommend this course and wish I had taken it when I first started learning about photography.
3/8/2006 4:56:32 AM
 
Christine Baek
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/23/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/15/2005 2:46:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/15/2005 2:46:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/15/2005 2:46:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/15/2005 2:46:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/15/2005 2:46:53 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
i really enjoyed this class, our instructor was great, he helped answer most of my questions and helped better my line of vision, because of my love for color, and out of the box type work I was able to communicate well with the instructor all in all I really enbjoyed this class theres nothing that lacks!!
12/15/2005 2:46:53 PM
 
Ken Dvorak 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2005 10:20:30 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2005 10:20:30 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2005 10:20:30 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2005 10:20:30 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2005 10:20:30 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was a great course. The critiques by Bill and the images of the students helped to build my skills. I have recommended this course to other photograaphers. Bill's focus on eveloping editting skills is something we all need. I feel I have a long way to go to become a professional outdoor photographer but Bill as helped me with those first steps of a long, but enjoyable, journey.
12/13/2005 10:20:30 AM
 
Holly Gedert
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/23/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/10/2005 2:34:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/10/2005 2:34:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/10/2005 2:34:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/10/2005 2:34:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/10/2005 2:34:18 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
William Neill and his Portfolio Development course encouraged me to focus on a topic, and lead me to new skills for forming a coherent portfolio. Not only did he ignite my focus, editing and organizational skills, but the critiques also helped to improve photographic and Photoshop techniques and knowledge. Watching other students’ portfolios develop was also valuable, along with the exchange of information. I feel very fortunate to have had the opportunity to take the course.
12/10/2005 2:34:18 PM
 
Jennifer Rennison 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/19/2005 7:37:39 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/19/2005 7:37:39 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/19/2005 7:37:39 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/19/2005 7:37:39 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/19/2005 7:37:39 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Not only does William continue to learn and excel at the ever evolving art and multi-faceted subject matter of individual photographic expression, I feel he has mastered the virtual classroom as an instructor. He has established a forum and learning environment in which the line between virtual versus in-person instruction is invisible. As a student of photography and a witness to my natural surroundings I found that William’s own personal energy was fed by learning from his students. While instructing, he provided insightful critiques well thought out perspective and honest visual integrity. I would highly recommend this instructor and course to any photographer who views photography in itself as a lifelong learning experience and who would like to be challenged while being supported and prompted to develop personal insight while receiving experienced advice. Many thanks.
9/19/2005 7:37:39 AM
 
Thomas F. Andersen
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/25/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2005 3:10:31 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2005 3:10:31 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2005 3:10:31 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2005 3:10:31 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2005 3:10:31 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Hi William,

Thank you for a truly great course and for sharing your experiences with all of us with such sincerety and including a lot of information in the process. I have read many places that photographers are “a sharing people” and you have truly proven this generous willingness to share.

I have now taken six courses at BetterPhoto and I have enjoyed them all, but your course has been one of the most inspirational. Your mentoring and encouraging style has been a real delight.

I wish you all the best with your future Portfolio Development courses at BetterPhoto and I will certainly keep an eye on any new courses at BettePhoto from you?

For those of you considering to develop a theme in your photography, don't even think twice, just sign up, it's worth the fee many times over.

All the best,
Thomas

9/13/2005 3:10:31 PM
 
Robert Brown
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/18/2003
Robert-Brown-Photography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2005 1:18:34 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2005 1:18:34 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2005 1:18:34 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2005 1:18:34 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2005 1:18:34 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Portfolio Development was one of the best classes I've had on Better Photo. While I'm constantly adding photos to a variety of portfolios I'm working on, this class forced me to get a portfolio finished and ready to submit to galleries for future shows. I thought the lessons were very logical and assisted all the students to create very strong portfolios.

The instructor, William Neill, is one of the best landscape/nature photographers working in color in the world--I would never have taken the class if he wasn't teaching it. I was pleasantly surprised with his attentiveness the class, quickly answering questions and contibuting to discussions on photos. His critiques were very thorough and thoughtful, offering both praise and gentle suggestions for improving work. His approach encouraged a lot of student interaction and commenting--which added a lot to the class. I got the impression that he really cared about everyone's photos and tried to help each person realize their potential.

I would strongly recommend this class to anyone who wants to study with a world class photographer, as well as develop a professional quality portfolio for submission to a gallery or book publisher. Thanks William!

6/29/2005 1:18:34 PM
 
Peter Marschall 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2005 12:24:50 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2005 12:24:50 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2005 12:24:50 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2005 12:24:50 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2005 12:24:50 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I got open and very usefull advice from Bill and I learned quite a bit. I am quite pleased with his contributions.

One point of critque is the time frame of the course. I am working full time and my job leaves me very little spare time. One assignment per week is thus quite demanding. I would have preferred to have more time e.g. one assigment every two week would have been better and would have left me more time to learn.

6/9/2005 12:24:50 PM
 
David Denney 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2005 10:20:35 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2005 10:20:35 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2005 10:20:35 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2005 10:20:35 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2005 10:20:35 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Portfolio Development by William Neill is ABSOLUTELY the best money can buy! William gave me and my fellow classmates more than we paid for. If you have a scattered collection of favorite photographs and have NO IDEA what to do with them, William will definately point you the right direction.
If your serious about organizing your images into a respectable and top-notch portfolio, William Neill is THE pro to learn from.
My only regret is that this course is limited to 8 short weeks. But of course when you begin to see your portfolio developing from William's critique's, I guess 16 weeks is too short!! He really makes you EXCITED about photography. Don't even think about passing this course over...learn from THE MASTER himself!
6/2/2005 10:20:35 PM
 
Laurie Meehan-Elmer 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2005 12:31:32 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2005 12:31:32 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2005 12:31:32 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2005 12:31:32 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2005 12:31:32 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
No matter what your ultimate goals are, whether beginner or advanced, this course will help you push to the next level.

William's critiques and guidance have been invaluable.

William's willingness to share his knowledge, philosphy, and experience was an added bonus.

My only regret is the class is only 8 weeks and William (at least at this time) isn't offering any other courses.

6/2/2005 12:31:32 PM
 
Sharon Nickodem
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/28/2005
sharonnickodem.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2005 2:53:52 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2005 2:53:52 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2005 2:53:52 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2005 2:53:52 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2005 2:53:52 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is the first time I've taken an online course, and I was very pleasantly surprised by what an effective learning experience it has been.

The most important factor in my enjoyment of this class has been the wonderful instructor, William Neill. William had great lesson plans, that gave us good examples and presented interesting challenges on how to focus grouping images into a meaningful portfolios. His feedback to me and the other students was both timely and very constructive. I learned as much from my own images as I did from the other student's work. William shared so much with us....his own experiences, images, learnings, etc. He was also very flexible, and he worked around our personal time constraints. The warm, friendly and encouraging atmosphere of the class gave me incentive to keep going.

I highly recommend this class for anyone that is serious about packaging & presenting their work, whether it be via gallery, web site, magazine, home slide shows, etc.

6/1/2005 2:53:52 PM
 
Larry Mendenhall 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2005 9:14:17 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2005 9:14:17 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2005 9:14:17 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2005 9:14:17 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2005 9:14:17 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Williams' Portfolio Development Course is a superb experience. His comments are well thought out and framed in a constructive manner.

I was already thinking in terms of a theme for my photography, but taking this class taught me how to expand that approach. It has really opened up several new venues for me which I am excited about exploring.

I also found William's comments on individual photos to be invaluable and they have helped me start thinking about new ways to approach my landscape subjects.

An added bonus was the high-level of photography displayed by the other students in my class. It was very challenging -- and fun -- to try and equal their high quality photographs. In addition, I found their comments on my work quite valuable.

I feel this is a necessary course for anyone wishing to develop a serious body of work.

6/1/2005 9:14:17 AM
 

49 Reviews  


Enroll

Add to Wishlist