Online Photo Course - Portfolio Development with William Neill

Categories: Reviews: BetterPhoto Products and Services : BetterPhoto Online Photography Courses

Portfolio Development Photography Course
Course Instructor: © William Neill
Portfolio Development

Learn how to put your very best foot forward, developing portfolios that display your finest photos. Outdoor Photographer columnist William Neill covers the art of editing your images, and developing thematic portfolios. His insightful lessons, challenging assignments, and invaluable critiques will focus and expand your creative potential. In this exciting online course, you will learn how to focus on the subjects that most inspire you. Give yourself this gift: master the art of editing and organizing your images.

Category: Nature / Travel
Skill Level: 3 - Intermediate
Only $396 USD

Learn more about
Portfolio Development


First 10 of 49 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 5 out of 5

5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Antoinette Addison
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/4/2013
Contact Antoinette
Antoinette's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/13/2014 7:18:47 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/13/2014 7:18:47 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/13/2014 7:18:47 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/13/2014 7:18:47 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/13/2014 7:18:47 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is a fabulous class and a great complement to other photo classes. It vastly exceeded my expectations. I thought I had a pretty good idea of what an interesting and balanced portfolio was, but I realize now I had no appreciation for the on-going process of creating and improving one. This class really was an eye opener. It will not only help me build portfolios, but I believe it also will improve my photography a lot by giving it a sense of focus. Thank you Bill.
7/13/2014 7:18:47 AM
 
David B. Dawson
Contact David
David's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2013 9:32:27 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2013 9:32:27 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2013 9:32:27 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2013 9:32:27 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2013 9:32:27 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Best photography course ever. I have no hesitation at all in making this claim. After two years of taking classes on specific skills and styles, many of them very good in their own right, this is the class that put it all together. Thanks to the wisdom and guidance in Bill Neill's critiques, I've gained a tremendous amount of confidence just from the eight sessions of the class, and I've gained a world of insight into what it means to think and see as an artist rather than a technician or a hobbyist. Like I said, best class ever -- I'm already planning to take it again.
1/10/2013 9:32:27 PM
 
stephen barney
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/3/2012
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2013 7:43:19 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2013 7:43:19 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2013 7:43:19 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2013 7:43:19 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2013 7:43:19 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Everyone needs this class, it will fundamentally change the way you approach photography. Its not about technique although the critiques will point out where your going wrong its all about what you shoot and how you group it. You will finish the course with a fabulous portfolio and a much clearer methodology for creating one. This is one of the classes here that can and should be taken again and again I fully intend to do it again and probably more than once I must say a huge thank you to Bill for his excellent coaching and for running a great class
1/8/2013 7:43:19 PM
 
Stephanie Lewis
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/27/2009
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2012 2:48:32 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2012 2:48:32 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2012 2:48:32 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2012 2:48:32 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2012 2:48:32 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have taken a number of betterphoto.com classes. All of them have been great but this one is my favorite. Bill's feedback was thoughtful and encouraging. He gently led us through the various decision points of portfolio development. And it was very easy to engage in an e-conversation with him. There is no doubt in my mind that I will be taking this course again. Thanks Bill!
5/11/2012 2:48:32 PM
 
Kitty R. Kono
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/15/2008
Contact Kitty
Kitty's Gallery
kittykono.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2011 7:01:08 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2011 7:01:08 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2011 7:01:08 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2011 7:01:08 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2011 7:01:08 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is the second time I have taken Bill Neill's Portfolio Development class and it was even better the second time around. He kept me focused for eight straight weeks and each time I was able to produce a book of photographs that I am proud of. Mr. Neill is a marvelous coach and teacher. Anyone who is serious about putting a portfolio together should take this course.
9/7/2011 7:01:08 AM
 
James M. Hunt 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2011 5:13:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2011 5:13:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2011 5:13:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2011 5:13:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2011 5:13:40 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is an outstanding course for anyone who has a body of work, or several bodies of work, that they're trying to get organized into something presentable. The course takes you through a set of conceptual tools so that you leave with a methodology for creating portfolios and a strategy for targeting them appropriately. Bill is a great teacher as well as a great photographer, supportive but ready to tell you if something isn't working. He provides lots of very timely feedback. If you're serious about your work, I would recommend this highly.
7/5/2011 5:13:40 PM
 
Deborah C. Lewinson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/25/2003
Contact Deborah
Deborah's Gallery
newjerseyphotos.net
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2011 7:04:50 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2011 7:04:50 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2011 7:04:50 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2011 7:04:50 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2011 7:04:50 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
William Neill is an outstanding teacher and photographer. Portfolio Development is about organizing, evaluating, and moving forward in photography with a purpose. While I enjoyed my own improvement during the 8 week session, it was part of the learning experience to see everyone develop meaningful and excellent portfolios as a result of Billís teaching. William Neill packs eight weeks with organized and thought provoking lessons, suggestions for additional reading, and feedback that is timely and helpful.

I came into this workshop with a huge library of images taking up space on multiple hard drives organized by dates and places, serving little purpose. After completing Portfolio Development my sense of purpose was developed, I discovered some keepers in my photo library, and with Billís assistance, grouped them into meaningful collections while adding new images with a well-defined purpose and improved sense of self-critique.

I highly recommend this workshop to both intermediate and advanced photographers.

6/12/2011 7:04:50 AM
 
David Dirkx
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/6/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2011 4:32:54 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2011 4:32:54 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2011 4:32:54 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2011 4:32:54 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2011 4:32:54 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Before taking this course I had no clear idea what made a good portfolio.

Bill made me realise that a portfolio is not meant to show all the different types of photos you have in your collection, but instead focus on a single theme and trying to perfect it.

I have a totally different view now of grouping images, presenting them, writing an artist's statement (which I didn't even know existed), and all this thanks to Bill.

So if you plan on presenting your images to the public, take this course. You will make a much bigger impression using Bill's tips.

5/12/2011 4:32:54 AM
 
Gale Stoner
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/27/2009
Contact Gale
Gale's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2011 9:58:47 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2011 9:58:47 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2011 9:58:47 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2011 9:58:47 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2011 9:58:47 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
If you don't think you need this course, you're not serious about your photography. Bill Neill is a tremendous instructor. He has developed a strategy for self-critiquing your photos with a laser-like focus. The result is a portfolio that will show off your best work. Excellent course.
5/11/2011 9:58:47 AM
 
Steven R. Hill
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/29/2009
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/6/2011 7:40:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/6/2011 7:40:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/6/2011 7:40:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/6/2011 7:40:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/6/2011 7:40:37 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
this is outstanding class. Push me in the way I do photography and in the way I think about it.
2/6/2011 7:40:37 PM
 
Susan L. Gendron
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/22/2008
susanlgendron.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/26/2010 11:00:40 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/26/2010 11:00:40 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/26/2010 11:00:40 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/26/2010 11:00:40 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/26/2010 11:00:40 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Best course I've taken yet. (out of about 6). William is a nice guy, encouraging, and his insistence on editing my work critically was invaluable!
11/26/2010 11:00:40 AM
 

First 10 of 49 Reviews  (see all user reviews)


Enroll

Add to Wishlist