D50 Digital SLR Camera


Nikon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital SLR Cameras

Merry Christmas
View photos created with this camera

The D50 Digital SLR Camera

Features:


  • Stores images on SD cards; powered by Lithium-ion battery
    (battery and Quick Charger supplied)
  • 6.1-megapixel sensor captures enough detail for photo-quality 14
    x 19-inch prints
  • Compatible with AF and DX Nikkor lenses; kit includes 18-55mm
    f3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Zoom Nikkor lens
  • Continuous shooting at 2.5 frames per second for bursts of up to
    137 pictures
  • 2.0-inch LCD display; 7 scene modes, including new Child mode


Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 392 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Sue Eberhart 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2010 10:47:23 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2010 10:47:23 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2010 10:47:23 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2010 10:47:23 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2010 10:47:23 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have had this camera for four years and I love it. I have become more of an avid photographer in the past year and a half and finally think I understand most of it. Thinking about upgrading but have decided to see how creative I can get with the D50 and my lenses. Perhaps in a year or so I will outgrow it....we'll see.
2/7/2010 10:47:23 AM
 
Erik S. Barnes
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/22/2008
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2009 6:24:34 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2009 6:24:34 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2009 6:24:34 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2009 6:24:34 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2009 6:24:34 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Having owned the D-50 myself, I have to say it's a pretty decent camera. I have used it for most of the shots you will see in my portfolio. Esspecially the one image shot with the D-50 I am most proud of... "Standing Guard". I have since upgraded to the D-80 which is another great camera.
1/31/2009 6:24:34 PM
 
Adrienne Maldini 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2008 10:14:38 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2008 10:14:38 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2008 10:14:38 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2008 10:14:38 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2008 10:14:38 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is was my first Nikon. It was a great camera, I loved this camera a lot. It took a lot of great pictures and it took the pictures fast to which is good. I had the camera for about 2 years but it was a nice camera.
6/25/2008 10:14:38 AM
 
Robert Mcneil 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2008 6:15:26 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2008 6:15:26 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2008 6:15:26 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2008 6:15:26 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2008 6:15:26 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Have had the D50 for over 2years and just
updated to a D2X found the D50 great battery life menu simple compared to d2x
it came with 18-55 and 70-300 lens and was
taking great shots straight away I was sorry to sell this light slr from Nikon,
after talking to Nikon Australia one day
they said that this camera should have been a lot more money as they had to match
canon new camera
5/24/2008 6:15:26 AM
 
Dagmar  Woltereck 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2008 8:12:28 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2008 8:12:28 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2008 8:12:28 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2008 8:12:28 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2008 8:12:28 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Love the D50, have been a film photog for many years until my family bought me a D50 3 years ago, the rest is history, I truly didn't develop as a photog until I received the D50!
The reason I didn't give it a 5 out of 5 is that I wish the body would have been made out of alloy, but then it wouldn't have been as light as it is.
I have since upgraded to a D200 and left the D50 to my 8 year old son, keeping an ever watchful eye on it :)
5/12/2008 8:12:28 AM
 
Denny Setiadi 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2007 7:05:09 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2007 7:05:09 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2007 7:05:09 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2007 7:05:09 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2007 7:05:09 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love this Camera
10/6/2007 7:05:09 PM
 
Robin A. Borrows 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2007 11:23:48 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2007 11:23:48 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2007 11:23:48 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2007 11:23:48 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2007 11:23:48 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love my D50! It is very easy and fast to use. I am just getting back into photography after a few years away from it. I have taken some great pictures, in my opinion, and some of those pictures were taken because the D50 is so fast on start up. A couple of times I have seen a bird in flight, pointed the D50 and turned it on and shot the picture all in a single motion and it worked great.
7/12/2007 11:23:48 PM
 
Leslie Dobson 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2007 6:49:07 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2007 6:49:07 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2007 6:49:07 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2007 6:49:07 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2007 6:49:07 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Very Good Camera! It will be very useful to my photography business!!!
6/4/2007 6:49:07 AM
 
Carol A. Roux
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/23/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/15/2007 10:19:10 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/15/2007 10:19:10 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/15/2007 10:19:10 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/15/2007 10:19:10 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/15/2007 10:19:10 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
After many years using 35 mm film and a great camera (Canon AE-1)I wanted to up grade to digital. I bought a Nikon Coolpix 31oo and was happy but wanted to upgraade to a DSLR. At first I wanted a D-70s, but after going to my first digital class I learned my best bet would be the D-50. As my instructor stated it is not the camera but the person behind the camera who makes the picture and the camera only takes it.
I have seen great pictures with lesser cameras that have won prizes. But the D-50 fits my requirements as did my old AE-1.
5/15/2007 10:19:10 AM
 
George M. Protopapas
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/23/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2007 7:55:31 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2007 7:55:31 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2007 7:55:31 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2007 7:55:31 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2007 7:55:31 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
The Nikon D50 in my opinion is a very great camera. I've read many reviews stating how the Nikon D50 with only 6.1 mega-pixels is blowing some 10 mega-pixel D-SLR's out of the water! I've been a fan of Nikon for a while and am glad to see that my other older Nikon lens that were used on a Nikon N75 SLR (film) were compatible with my D-SLR and every photographer that shoots with Nikon will tell you that the main reason they shoot Nikon is because of Nikons Great high quality Lens which gives you the high quality that your looking for.

-George

4/13/2007 7:55:31 PM
 
George M. Protopapas
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/23/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2007 7:55:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2007 7:55:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2007 7:55:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2007 7:55:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2007 7:55:11 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
The Nikon D50 in my opinion is a very great camera. I've read many reviews stating how the Nikon D50 with only 6.1 mega-pixels is blowing some 10 mega-pixel D-SLR's out of the water! I've been a fan of Nikon for a while and am glad to see that my other older Nikon lens that were used on a Nikon N75 SLR (film) were compatible with my D-SLR and every photographer that shoots with Nikon will tell you that the main reason they shoot Nikon is because of Nikons Great high quality Lens which gives you the high quality that your looking for.

-George

4/13/2007 7:55:11 PM
 

First 10 of 392 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Buy D50 Digital SLR Camera from Amazon.com