BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


PowerShot SD400(Ixus 50) Digital ELPH


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

Bar Harbour Light...
View photos created with this camera

The PowerShot SD400(Ixus 50) Digital ELPH

Features:


  • DIGIC II Image Processor provides fast, accurate image
    processing
  • Powered by rechargeable Lithium-ion battery; stores images on SD
    memory card
  • 5-megapixel CCD captures enough detail for photo-quality 13 x
    17-inch prints
  • 3x optical zoom; 2.0-inch LCD display; ultra-compact design (.8
    inches thick)
  • Enhanced movie mode with fast 60-frame-per-second capture rate

Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


38 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Katelyn Marzonie

member since: 8/13/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love this camera! I constantly use it. I don't think there has been one day that I haven't touched it since I have owned it! 90% of the photos look great. It has it flaws, but for the most part it is an excellent camera!
8/13/2006 8:45:26 PM
 
Silvia Scheirman
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 6/13/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is a very good camera if you're new to digital photography and you don't want to carry a large camera. This camera is a great starter camera and can be used while "maturing" as a photographer. It can be used to just point and shoot or you can customize your settings,such as custom white balance, ISO, long shutter speed. Although, I have enjoyed this camera and its features,making it very versatile,I'm definitely outgrowing it....
7/4/2006 12:45:41 PM
 
John L. Whitmer

member since: 6/22/2003
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Not bad for the size. Video a nice plus.
6/10/2006 1:37:05 PM
 
Carma Brown

member since: 4/25/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This camera takes great photos and is not too compact but yet not too bulky either. It is good point and shoot camera to take on trips and to have handy for that picture perfect moment.
6/1/2006 5:38:52 PM
 
Beka Rodriguez

member since: 2/18/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love my camera! It takes beautiful photos! Its light and easy to use.
5/11/2006 12:18:14 PM
 
Robert Korb

member since: 10/31/2003
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
The Canon SD400 is great for it's portability and versatility. It takes good photos and functions pretty well as a video camera with it's capability of 30fps video at 640 x 480 resolution. The amount of video will be limited by battery life and the capacity of your SD video, and audio isn't bad but will distort at high volumes such as in a live amplified concert. I hesitate to call it a great camera because my impression is that the default images can be a bit washed out. This is often correctable in software but it would be nice to have a better balance out of the box. You also have to be dilligent for the images to be well focused. My previous camera was an Olympus 2100C which took better pictures but at lower resolution. That being said there is a lot to say for the tremendous portability, ease of use, macro ability and the relatively large LCD display. I recently took some moon shots through an 8 inch telescope by simply holding the camera up to the eyepiece of the scope. The quality of these moon shots was almost beyond belief.. Sharp and well detailed. I like the camera a lot but if extraordinary image quality is your primary goal and you don't care about carrying a bulkier camera I might look elsewhere. I am very curious about the Canon S2IS.. but I think my next camera will be a Digital Rebel XT.
5/9/2006 1:59:34 PM
 
Ryan Simard
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 3/5/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Great camera to throw in your pocket when you don't want to lug around all your big camera gear. All around great little package.
5/8/2006 10:45:23 AM
 
Anastasia DesRoches

member since: 4/29/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love my camera. The features are easy to use and understand. I am satisfied with the quality of my photos. I wish now that I had bought a camera with greater zoom power, but maybe next time! I would recommend this camera to anyone.
4/29/2006 3:31:50 PM
 
Elizabeth R. Kover

member since: 4/26/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
i am not very experienced. all i know is that it's a hundred times better than the HP i had before. good battery life; small and light.
4/26/2006 4:03:13 AM
 
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This camera does everything that I want a camera to do. You can change the color of objects, record video adn so much more. For someone who loves to take pictures who isn't professional, this is great!
4/17/2006 4:23:16 PM
 
Justin J. Warnaar

member since: 4/2/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Probably the best small very portable camera i have ever used. I have several cameras, but while on my trips i find my best photo opportunities when i least expect it. It just so happens that i have this specific camera on me at all times.
4/2/2006 9:51:23 PM
 
Brooke F. Cottrell

member since: 3/9/2006
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
It's a good camera if you aren't rich enough to buy the one you really want.
3/24/2006 7:44:33 PM
 
Hunter J. Womack

member since: 3/24/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Honestly, its a great camera. The only problem I have with it is that I need a more professional camera, one with more options and better lenses.
3/24/2006 2:05:07 AM
 
Mindie Duquette
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 3/7/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
It's easy to use.
3/7/2006 6:55:59 PM
 
Dan McCarragher

member since: 2/18/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
very small yet powerful. Easy to take with everywhere.
2/18/2006 8:07:03 AM
 
Dan McCarragher

member since: 2/18/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
very small yet powerful. Easy to take with everywhere.
2/18/2006 8:07:02 AM
 
Jeanette Michalsky

member since: 2/17/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love the camera's ease of use for me and the quality of pictures it takes. I love playing around with the different features it has the small size of the camera makes it easy to fit in my purse. The battery seems to last a pretty long time.
2/17/2006 2:28:14 PM
 
Katie Bergerson
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 2/2/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I have limited experience with digital cameras. My first, a Kodak Easy Share, left me wanting more. This camera takes excellent point and shoot pictures. I'm very happy with all the different options available.
2/5/2006 2:40:00 PM
 
Michael S. Wedgley

member since: 1/31/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is a nice small camera. I wish I had some lenses to go with it.
1/31/2006 4:02:10 AM
 
Elizabeth S. Duman

member since: 1/29/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Well it's not professional but it's small and convinient to carry around everywhere. The color comes out wonderful, and the features are quite nice.
1/29/2006 9:07:59 PM
 
Savo Pristovnik

member since: 12/23/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
It is good for taking photos of parties or everyday things. But when there are bad weather conditions (not enough light, or too much light...) this camera is almost useless.
12/26/2005 10:02:22 AM
 
Carl W. Cliff

member since: 12/13/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I love that this camera fits in my coat pocket and can go anywhere with me. I don't like that it is too easy to accidently set it on movie instead of still. And, for a man's hands, the buttons are pretty small.
12/14/2005 10:46:36 AM
 
Rustu Arseven
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 12/9/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I need a new camera... I hope I will buy a Nikon 8800...
12/9/2005 7:35:16 AM
 
Walter G. Rowand Jr.
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Walter
Walter's Gallery

member since: 8/5/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
GREAT camera to put in your pocket to take that unexpected capture. Ive gotten excellent 11-14 prints from this camera.
12/7/2005 5:42:24 AM
 
Sande L. Fort

member since: 12/5/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Easy to use. Point and shoot capabilities. Knows just how much flash is needed.
12/5/2005 5:52:07 PM
 
Melisa Rhoads

member since: 11/29/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Easy to use, great pictures
11/29/2005 9:13:15 AM
 
Roger S. Cloutier

member since: 7/11/2005
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2 out of 5
Good for outdoor shots, not so good indoor unless plenty of light. Not too many options...mostly automatic. Grainy in low light. Great size to fit in front shirt pocket to be inconspicuous and not look like a tourist.
11/21/2005 6:08:29 AM
 
Rosalina Ms Hadi Mulya
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 6/19/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I like the compactness of this camera and some features are really good.
sadly, the focus is not so good, and the micro photography feature only in sephia.
11/19/2005 11:49:16 AM
 
Elizabeth A. Rottenberg

member since: 10/28/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
The camera's narrow, sleek size is optimal for travel. The manual settings are great and and large screen for viewing is awesome.
10/28/2005 5:41:40 PM
 
Amy R. Black

member since: 10/13/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This camera, though not an SLR, is a great camera for me because it is extremely compact and light, and I can therefore take it with me easily wherever I go. I find that I am far more likely to take pictures if I'm not lugging around a large camera with extra lenses! Other things I like about this camera are that it has a good size LCD, very easy navigation, and it starts up very quickly. I would like a few more manual features, but overall I think the small size is a fair trade-off. It does have a lot of different photo settings.
10/16/2005 9:51:36 PM
 

BetterPhoto Member

member since: 9/22/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I really like this camera. It takes really good clear pictures.
10/12/2005 6:09:29 PM
 
Serena Castillo
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 6/15/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Very small, easy to use, great point and shoot, perfect to use when I want to take a bunch of fun pictures. I carry it everywhere I go.
10/3/2005 8:34:56 PM
 
Pauline Nguyen

member since: 9/12/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
very sharp for outdoor pictures
9/12/2005 6:44:21 PM
 
Jennifer A. Major
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 8/24/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
It's super compact with a large LCD screen and a long battery life too. It's amazing for its size.
8/30/2005 6:45:59 AM
 
Michael D. Caffey

member since: 8/7/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
my only complaint is night pictures.
8/7/2005 9:57:27 PM
 
JULISSA COLON

member since: 7/28/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I LOVE THE CRISP COLORS THAT I GET WHEN TAKING PICTURES
7/28/2005 9:16:44 AM
 
Jemima Bowden
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 7/7/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
So far, so good. The menus are easy amd fast to navigate (improved from earlier versions). I'm still on the fence as to whether the fact that the camera is so small makes it difficult to keep stable.
7/9/2005 7:58:59 PM
 
James D. Ivey

member since: 7/3/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Tremendous quality, very compact and easy to carry/conceal
7/3/2005 7:46:52 AM
 

38 Reviews  

Add your own review

Buy PowerShot SD400(Ixus 50) Digital ELPH from Amazon.com


Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.