PowerShot SD400(Ixus 50) Digital ELPH


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

Wailing Wall Wome...
View photos created with this camera

The PowerShot SD400(Ixus 50) Digital ELPH

Features:


  • DIGIC II Image Processor provides fast, accurate image
    processing
  • Powered by rechargeable Lithium-ion battery; stores images on SD
    memory card
  • 5-megapixel CCD captures enough detail for photo-quality 13 x
    17-inch prints
  • 3x optical zoom; 2.0-inch LCD display; ultra-compact design (.8
    inches thick)
  • Enhanced movie mode with fast 60-frame-per-second capture rate

Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 38 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Katelyn Marzonie 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/13/2006 8:45:26 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/13/2006 8:45:26 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/13/2006 8:45:26 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/13/2006 8:45:26 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/13/2006 8:45:26 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love this camera! I constantly use it. I don't think there has been one day that I haven't touched it since I have owned it! 90% of the photos look great. It has it flaws, but for the most part it is an excellent camera!
8/13/2006 8:45:26 PM
 
Silvia Scheirman
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/13/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2006 12:45:41 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2006 12:45:41 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2006 12:45:41 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2006 12:45:41 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2006 12:45:41 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is a very good camera if you're new to digital photography and you don't want to carry a large camera. This camera is a great starter camera and can be used while "maturing" as a photographer. It can be used to just point and shoot or you can customize your settings,such as custom white balance, ISO, long shutter speed. Although, I have enjoyed this camera and its features,making it very versatile,I'm definitely outgrowing it....
7/4/2006 12:45:41 PM
 
John L. Whitmer 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2006 1:37:05 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2006 1:37:05 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2006 1:37:05 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2006 1:37:05 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2006 1:37:05 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Not bad for the size. Video a nice plus.
6/10/2006 1:37:05 PM
 
Carma Brown 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2006 5:38:52 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2006 5:38:52 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2006 5:38:52 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2006 5:38:52 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2006 5:38:52 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This camera takes great photos and is not too compact but yet not too bulky either. It is good point and shoot camera to take on trips and to have handy for that picture perfect moment.
6/1/2006 5:38:52 PM
 
Beka Rodriguez 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2006 12:18:14 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2006 12:18:14 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2006 12:18:14 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2006 12:18:14 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2006 12:18:14 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love my camera! It takes beautiful photos! Its light and easy to use.
5/11/2006 12:18:14 PM
 
Robert Korb 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2006 1:59:34 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2006 1:59:34 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2006 1:59:34 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2006 1:59:34 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2006 1:59:34 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
The Canon SD400 is great for it's portability and versatility. It takes good photos and functions pretty well as a video camera with it's capability of 30fps video at 640 x 480 resolution. The amount of video will be limited by battery life and the capacity of your SD video, and audio isn't bad but will distort at high volumes such as in a live amplified concert. I hesitate to call it a great camera because my impression is that the default images can be a bit washed out. This is often correctable in software but it would be nice to have a better balance out of the box. You also have to be dilligent for the images to be well focused. My previous camera was an Olympus 2100C which took better pictures but at lower resolution. That being said there is a lot to say for the tremendous portability, ease of use, macro ability and the relatively large LCD display. I recently took some moon shots through an 8 inch telescope by simply holding the camera up to the eyepiece of the scope. The quality of these moon shots was almost beyond belief.. Sharp and well detailed. I like the camera a lot but if extraordinary image quality is your primary goal and you don't care about carrying a bulkier camera I might look elsewhere. I am very curious about the Canon S2IS.. but I think my next camera will be a Digital Rebel XT.
5/9/2006 1:59:34 PM
 
Ryan Simard
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/5/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/8/2006 10:45:23 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/8/2006 10:45:23 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/8/2006 10:45:23 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/8/2006 10:45:23 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/8/2006 10:45:23 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Great camera to throw in your pocket when you don't want to lug around all your big camera gear. All around great little package.
5/8/2006 10:45:23 AM
 
Anastasia DesRoches 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/29/2006 3:31:50 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/29/2006 3:31:50 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/29/2006 3:31:50 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/29/2006 3:31:50 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/29/2006 3:31:50 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love my camera. The features are easy to use and understand. I am satisfied with the quality of my photos. I wish now that I had bought a camera with greater zoom power, but maybe next time! I would recommend this camera to anyone.
4/29/2006 3:31:50 PM
 
Elizabeth R. Kover 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2006 4:03:13 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2006 4:03:13 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2006 4:03:13 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2006 4:03:13 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2006 4:03:13 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
i am not very experienced. all i know is that it's a hundred times better than the HP i had before. good battery life; small and light.
4/26/2006 4:03:13 AM
 
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2006 4:23:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2006 4:23:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2006 4:23:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2006 4:23:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2006 4:23:16 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This camera does everything that I want a camera to do. You can change the color of objects, record video adn so much more. For someone who loves to take pictures who isn't professional, this is great!
4/17/2006 4:23:16 PM
 
Justin J. Warnaar 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2006 9:51:23 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2006 9:51:23 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2006 9:51:23 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2006 9:51:23 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2006 9:51:23 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Probably the best small very portable camera i have ever used. I have several cameras, but while on my trips i find my best photo opportunities when i least expect it. It just so happens that i have this specific camera on me at all times.
4/2/2006 9:51:23 PM
 

First 10 of 38 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Buy PowerShot SD400(Ixus 50) Digital ELPH from Amazon.com