Cyber-shot DSC-S40 Digital Camera


Sony

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control


View photos created with this camera

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


19 Reviews  

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Natasha A. Purnell 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2006 2:10:12 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2006 2:10:12 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2006 2:10:12 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2006 2:10:12 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2006 2:10:12 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Good quality pictures. Uses a lot of batteries.
6/14/2006 2:10:12 PM
 
George R. Bard
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/9/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2006 6:21:03 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2006 6:21:03 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2006 6:21:03 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2006 6:21:03 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2006 6:21:03 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Nice point & shoot pocket camera. Sharp, detailed photos. Good macro as well. nice lense. Limited controls but good for a P&S.
5/10/2006 6:21:03 PM
 
James W. Miller 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/29/2006 6:41:07 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/29/2006 6:41:07 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/29/2006 6:41:07 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/29/2006 6:41:07 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/29/2006 6:41:07 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
It is compact and easy to keep at hand. It is easy to use and produces ok photographs. It could have better zoom capacity but it does the job until I can aford my dream camera.
4/29/2006 6:41:07 PM
 
Vinay Gupta
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/19/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/19/2006 7:15:35 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/19/2006 7:15:35 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/19/2006 7:15:35 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/19/2006 7:15:35 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/19/2006 7:15:35 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
ultimate
4/19/2006 7:15:35 PM
 
Nichole A. Schulze 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2006 2:26:15 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2006 2:26:15 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2006 2:26:15 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2006 2:26:15 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2006 2:26:15 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love this camera! This is my first digital camera, and it works fantastically! It takes awesome pictures!
3/27/2006 2:26:15 PM
 
Amanda J. Gates 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2006 2:20:15 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2006 2:20:15 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2006 2:20:15 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2006 2:20:15 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2006 2:20:15 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Very easy to use and transfer pictures.
3/1/2006 2:20:15 PM
 
Kallie  3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/24/2006 2:16:07 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/24/2006 2:16:07 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/24/2006 2:16:07 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/24/2006 2:16:07 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/24/2006 2:16:07 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
i dono, i like my camera....
2/24/2006 2:16:07 PM
 
Abigail FL Crispi 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/20/2006 8:29:56 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/20/2006 8:29:56 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/20/2006 8:29:56 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/20/2006 8:29:56 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/20/2006 8:29:56 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I loev this camera!
2/20/2006 8:29:56 AM
 
Megan M. Tilitzky
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/9/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2006 10:55:10 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2006 10:55:10 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2006 10:55:10 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2006 10:55:10 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2006 10:55:10 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is my second digital camera. My first was a Kodak Easyshare, and this one is definitely a step up from that. I'm fairly new to digital photography, or any kind of photography for that matter, so the ease of use of this camera is a big plus!
2/9/2006 10:55:10 AM
 
Ahmed Younus 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2006 6:12:18 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2006 6:12:18 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2006 6:12:18 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2006 6:12:18 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2006 6:12:18 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I think its the best value for money.
1/6/2006 6:12:18 PM
 
Joey Shannon 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/16/2005 8:56:07 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/16/2005 8:56:07 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/16/2005 8:56:07 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/16/2005 8:56:07 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/16/2005 8:56:07 PM
Rating: 2 out of 5
Good camera when budget is an issue. Doesn't beat DSLR. But does the job.
11/16/2005 8:56:07 PM
 
Jennifer Lawhead 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/15/2005 9:29:27 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/15/2005 9:29:27 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/15/2005 9:29:27 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/15/2005 9:29:27 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/15/2005 9:29:27 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I enjoy this basic camera, it is simple to use. At this point in time, my skills do not require anything more complex
11/15/2005 9:29:27 PM
 
Anne E. Winters 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/14/2005 5:13:17 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/14/2005 5:13:17 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/14/2005 5:13:17 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/14/2005 5:13:17 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/14/2005 5:13:17 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Compared to my last digital camara (an Olympus whose exact make has escaped me at the moment) this Sony is has a very fast shutter speed which definantly has taken some getting used to. I was never one for the movie setting but this camara makes it fun and easy. The settings are easily accessible when I want to quickly make adjustments. The only downside perhaps being the small screen but even with that I'd still highly reccomend this camara to anyone who uses it.
11/14/2005 5:13:17 PM
 
Alison Kuhfus 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/23/2005 5:15:27 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/23/2005 5:15:27 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/23/2005 5:15:27 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/23/2005 5:15:27 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/23/2005 5:15:27 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
It takes excellent photos although it takes a few seconds after pressing the button for it to take the picture.
10/23/2005 5:15:27 PM
 
Terra C. Orndorff
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/7/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/23/2005 7:27:57 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/23/2005 7:27:57 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/23/2005 7:27:57 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/23/2005 7:27:57 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/23/2005 7:27:57 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
We've only had this camera a week, and I LOVE IT! Great output and very easy to use!
10/23/2005 7:27:57 AM
 
MILIND N. PATEL 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/25/2005 10:19:11 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/25/2005 10:19:11 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/25/2005 10:19:11 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/25/2005 10:19:11 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/25/2005 10:19:11 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
quite enough for beginners...
9/25/2005 10:19:11 PM
 
Sarah Polnik 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/23/2005 10:08:13 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/23/2005 10:08:13 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/23/2005 10:08:13 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/23/2005 10:08:13 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/23/2005 10:08:13 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I really like how fast it takes pictures. The only thing I do not like is sometimes if you shake your pictures will turn out fuzzy.
8/23/2005 10:08:13 AM
 
Justin  2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2005 2:42:23 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2005 2:42:23 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2005 2:42:23 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2005 2:42:23 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2005 2:42:23 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
It's my first digital camera, and I just got it late July of 2005. Seems to take good quality photos. It has a 3x optical zoom, a 4.1 MP resolution...which are all nice. The detail in the viewscreen isn't very good compared to the detail when looking at the same photos on the computer. For example: I took a picture of a sunset, but the red hues of the sky weren't visible in the viewscreen, but they were when I loaded the pic on the computer. Overall, I think I need more experience with cameras to be able compare/contrast and come up with a better list of pros and cons.
8/15/2005 2:42:23 PM
 
Justin  2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2005 2:41:24 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2005 2:41:24 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2005 2:41:24 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2005 2:41:24 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2005 2:41:24 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
It's my first digital camera, and I just got it late July of 2005. Seems to take good quality photos. The detail in the viewscreen isn't very good compared to the detail when looking at the same photos on the computer. For example: I took a picture of a sunset, but the red hues of the sky weren't visible in the viewscreen, but they were when I loaded the pic on the computer.
8/15/2005 2:41:24 PM
 

19 Reviews