BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


Camedia C-5500 Digital Camera


Olympus

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

Yikes!
View photos created with this camera

The Camedia C-5500 Digital Camera

Features:


  • Shoot from as close as 0.8 inch with Super Macro mode
  • 5.1-megapixel CCD captures enough detail for photo-quality
    prints up to 13 x 17 inches
  • 5x optical Sport Zoom lens allows you to get close to the action
    without sacrificing picture quality
  • Large 2.0-inch LCD; 15 available shooting modes including
    Portrait, Night Scene, and more
  • Record steady, TV-quality QuickTime movies usign camera's
    "anti-shake" function

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 11 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Joann M. Brockberg

member since: 1/4/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Great camera for starters, received from my mother for Christmas. It has shown me nothing but quick easy use and wonderful quality. While I'm sure there are cameras with more options and gadgets, this one is great for travel, discreetness, and needs a minimum of extra equipment or other expensive attachments. Perfect for students- fab photos for any class transitioning into professional use!
5/5/2006 2:45:31 PM
 
Andy A. Rabsatt

member since: 4/16/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
It is a great digital camera specially for beginners and intermediate. Really fun to use! I love every thing about it; it takes great pictures!
4/16/2006 1:30:20 PM
 
Jessica R. Burnette

member since: 1/3/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
It doesn't focus on things futher away as I would like.
1/9/2006 11:42:57 AM
 
Ace Star
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 11/9/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
555 what else? C-55 5.1 megapixel its 5 written all over it so i gave it 5 :) C-55 become my third eye!
11/23/2005 2:19:48 AM
 
Henrique Beier

member since: 11/17/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
It's my first digital camera and I'm enjoying it a lot. The only problem I've noticed is the poor autofocus.
11/17/2005 5:57:41 AM
 
Don Shainin

member since: 10/21/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
picture quality and ease of use
10/21/2005 8:23:37 AM
 
James Smith

member since: 10/18/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I like the Olympus 5500 zoom. It is easy to operate and has a good battery life. The only problem I find with it is it does not take a very good quality low light picture. I had a Olympus 2100 ultra zoom that was great until it shorted out. The repair on it was too costly so I purchased the 5500.
10/18/2005 12:32:00 PM
 
Joyce S. Pedersen
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 8/1/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I am getting familiar with the camera. For a point and shoot type of camera, there are many settings that I did not expect (iso/aperature/flash/metering). However, the auto focus is very frustrating
10/16/2005 7:17:19 PM
 
Joyce S. Pedersen
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 8/1/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I am getting familiar with the camera. For a point and shoot type of camera, there are many settings that I did not expect (iso/aperature/flash/metering). However, the auto focus is very frustrating
10/16/2005 7:17:18 PM
 
Randall 

member since: 4/18/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
First Camera. New to me so I'm still learning it.
8/4/2005 9:00:29 AM
 
Holly Nagata
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 5/4/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I was looking for a new camera with great function and a good macro. This camera has a supermacro capable of taking pictures of images up to 2 cm away. The pictures come out very clear as well. I also like how you can adjust the lighting by taking a sample of a white sheet of paper, and the camera will adjust the coloring accordingly. I really love this camera. It's good for amateur or aspiring photographers who love taking great picures, and not so much for those who just care to have the smallest or coolest looking camera.
6/27/2005 3:57:59 PM
 

First 10 of 11 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Add your own review

Buy Camedia C-5500 Digital Camera from Amazon.com


Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.