Maxxum 5/Dynax 5 35mm SLR Camera


Minolta

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Auto Focus SLRs

snow in NYC
View photos created with this camera

The Maxxum 5/Dynax 5 35mm SLR Camera

Features:


  • 35mm compact single-lens reflex (SLR) camera with quartz date
    imprint function
  • Compatible with Minolta A-mount lenses
  • Integrated flash with red-eye reduction; includes hot shoe for
    external flash
  • One of the smallest and lightest full-featured SLRs ever produced
  • Improved autofocus drive motor and high-speed microcomputer for quicker and more precise control

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


158 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Roger Carapetian 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2006 11:07:58 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2006 11:07:58 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2006 11:07:58 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2006 11:07:58 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2006 11:07:58 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love all my Minolta cameras, Light weight,quick focuse, perfect for the traveling.
10/6/2006 11:07:58 AM
 
Edmund P. Torres 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 4:55:22 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 4:55:22 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 4:55:22 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 4:55:22 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 4:55:22 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Love the camera, Manual very easy to understand.
7/6/2006 4:55:22 PM
 
Kim  McCloud
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/26/2006
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2006 8:09:44 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2006 8:09:44 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2006 8:09:44 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2006 8:09:44 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2006 8:09:44 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I am a hobbyist and this although I have not gone digital, this camera meets my needs. I feel like I get good quality and grown quite comfortable with it.
6/26/2006 8:09:44 PM
 
Adrian  Suarez Vazquez
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/20/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2006 11:29:10 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2006 11:29:10 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2006 11:29:10 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2006 11:29:10 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2006 11:29:10 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Light weight and fast!!!
6/20/2006 11:29:10 AM
 
Amber Martinez 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2006 9:12:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2006 9:12:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2006 9:12:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2006 9:12:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2006 9:12:28 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Awesome flash! Great 35 mm. Clear focus, nice warm color. Of course, best results with FUJI 800 film.
6/10/2006 9:12:28 PM
 
Julie Gates 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2006 12:46:51 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2006 12:46:51 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2006 12:46:51 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2006 12:46:51 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2006 12:46:51 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love my camera - so sorry that it's not being manufacutured by Minolta anymore. I'll have to see how Sony does with it. But, it sure makes it easy to shoot some great pictures.
6/8/2006 12:46:51 AM
 
Ernest Gollan 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/13/2006 12:09:46 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/13/2006 12:09:46 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/13/2006 12:09:46 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/13/2006 12:09:46 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/13/2006 12:09:46 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I have four cameras that are 35mm. I have two Minolta cameras and I love this MAXXUM 5 as it is so quick to just grab and shoot with, or I can go manual if I want to get some really inventive shots! My other Minolta is pure manual, as is my Canon A-1. Neither Minota has let me down ever. I have a PENTAX point and shoot..WR90-ZOOM that is a real nice one for taking into the woods in the winter or out on the boat or just knocking around, but this one, the MAXXUM 5, has really outshined them all so far in versatility and quality (as far as automatic is concerned). I would hate to loose it.
5/13/2006 12:09:46 PM
 
J. Crouch 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2006 9:06:39 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2006 9:06:39 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2006 9:06:39 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2006 9:06:39 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2006 9:06:39 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This camera has been by my side now for almost 8 years and I wouldn't trade it for anything in the world. Yes digital is out and everyone is switching over but I remain faithful to a camera who has captured so many memories for me.
5/5/2006 9:06:39 PM
 
Carla J. Rupert 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2006 4:39:27 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2006 4:39:27 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2006 4:39:27 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2006 4:39:27 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2006 4:39:27 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
LOVE the quick recovery which is very important to me since I take tons of photos of my daughter and every moment counts. Also love the fact that I can change lenses from my 35mm.
5/5/2006 4:39:27 AM
 
Brian  5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/10/2006 9:46:42 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/10/2006 9:46:42 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/10/2006 9:46:42 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/10/2006 9:46:42 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/10/2006 9:46:42 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
price, and all the features
4/10/2006 9:46:42 PM
 
Kelley A. Tibble 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2006 5:00:50 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2006 5:00:50 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2006 5:00:50 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2006 5:00:50 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2006 5:00:50 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
The camera is very easy to use. It has plenty of options that the photographer can control. It has antishake, which is very helpful and has an incredibly fast auto focus system. What I am not so excited about is that it is only a 6.1 megapixel camera, but since I am new to the digital SLR world, this camera is great for me. Perhaps there is a camera upgrade in my future but not until I master this. And, with all this camera has to offer, it's going to be a while before I can learn it all!
4/5/2006 5:00:50 PM
 
Manuel A. Lopez
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/18/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2006 6:45:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2006 6:45:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2006 6:45:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2006 6:45:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2006 6:45:11 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Excellent price for the features you get.
3/31/2006 6:45:11 PM
 
Shirley A. Shelton 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2006 2:27:13 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2006 2:27:13 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2006 2:27:13 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2006 2:27:13 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2006 2:27:13 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
it was my first camara. I saved up the money and got it as a graduation present to my self after my 1st. semester @ college. One of my friends said it was an awsome camara for it's price and it does so much! she was right. i'm still finding out stuff about this camara (it didn't come with the manual, so i read the one online every now and then). the thing i like about it the most is that it's not all huge! i can put it in my pocket (assuming i take the lens off and put it in the other pocket :-] )
3/30/2006 2:27:13 PM
 
Dawn  Evans
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/17/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/17/2006 1:07:47 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/17/2006 1:07:47 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/17/2006 1:07:47 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/17/2006 1:07:47 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/17/2006 1:07:47 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I LOVE my camera. I get great shots everytime. I guess the only thing I don't like is that fact that I go through alot of batteries!
3/17/2006 1:07:47 PM
 
Jang FM Graat
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/31/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2006 2:09:19 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2006 2:09:19 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2006 2:09:19 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2006 2:09:19 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2006 2:09:19 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Very good choice for a digital camera - best choice in the 6 megapixel range. Image dimensions are good (3:2). Camera is fast, user interface is good. Works fine with the 28-300 Tamron lens I used earleir on my Minolta 505si. Antishake is really helpful.
3/16/2006 2:09:19 PM
 
Jang FM Graat
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/31/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2006 2:01:49 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2006 2:01:49 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2006 2:01:49 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2006 2:01:49 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2006 2:01:49 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Fine camera. Not top of the range, but very good value for money. I used a 28-300 Tamron lens on it, which was so good I kept it for my new digital camera. The camera will soon have a second life in Ghana: I gave it to another Dutch guy who teaches photography 3 months per year in a small village in Ghana.
3/16/2006 2:01:49 PM
 
Sherrie K. McGinty 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2006 8:59:06 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2006 8:59:06 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2006 8:59:06 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2006 8:59:06 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2006 8:59:06 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
love minolta 5
3/2/2006 8:59:06 AM
 
Tina M. Bottoms 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2006 1:20:22 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2006 1:20:22 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2006 1:20:22 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2006 1:20:22 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2006 1:20:22 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
My camera is fine for a camera that is not digital, but even with red eye reduction, I still get red eye. I also use a Sony digital video camera with still shot. The photos from that camera are usually pretty sharp. Both of my cameras are fully automatic, so when I am feeling "old school", I take pictures with my Pentax k1000.
2/28/2006 1:20:22 PM
 
Virginia L. Hughes
virginiahughesphotography.com
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2006 2:09:28 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2006 2:09:28 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2006 2:09:28 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2006 2:09:28 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2006 2:09:28 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
High Quality and beautiful photos.
2/23/2006 2:09:28 PM
 
Marisa  Garner 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2006 3:14:05 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2006 3:14:05 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2006 3:14:05 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2006 3:14:05 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2006 3:14:05 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I like the Minolta Maxxum 5, because it has the sensored auto-focus mode. I am able to benefit from that feature especially in situations where I need to photograph something quick. What I don't like about it now is- NOT DIGITAL! That seems to be the way technology is leading everyone now is to go digital. Someday I hope to buy a digital camera and learn how to use it.
2/9/2006 3:14:05 PM
 
Beverly L. Pye
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/1/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/3/2006 12:16:14 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/3/2006 12:16:14 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/3/2006 12:16:14 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/3/2006 12:16:14 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/3/2006 12:16:14 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
for someone who know WHEN to take a picture but not the HOW yet (thank goodness for AUTO) this is a great camera!
2/3/2006 12:16:14 PM
 
John Ayres 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2006 2:25:52 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2006 2:25:52 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2006 2:25:52 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2006 2:25:52 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2006 2:25:52 PM
Rating: 0 out of 5
I bought my camera in January 2004. It had great features for the price, and I was extremely happy with the quality of the photos I took in the few days I had the camera. But then it started eating whole rolls of film. After contacting the manufacturer they would repair it but I would pay all shipping costs. Yeah right! I returned it to the seller instead. A camera that lasts only a few days before the film advance/rewind breaks is not a high quality camera.
1/27/2006 2:25:52 PM
 
SYED AHMAD ANAS BIN SYED OMAR
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/22/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/22/2006 10:44:31 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/22/2006 10:44:31 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/22/2006 10:44:31 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/22/2006 10:44:31 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/22/2006 10:44:31 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Im very happy with the Anti-Shake feature which provide a better still images in a low speed shutter condition.
1/22/2006 10:44:31 PM
 
Mia Hess 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/21/2006 8:13:40 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/21/2006 8:13:40 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/21/2006 8:13:40 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/21/2006 8:13:40 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/21/2006 8:13:40 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
It's new to me so ---- There's a lot to learn about it! It's lightweight and fun to use.
1/21/2006 8:13:40 AM
 
Merrille Mason
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/28/2013
Contact Merrille
Merrille's Gallery
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2006 5:19:59 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2006 5:19:59 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2006 5:19:59 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2006 5:19:59 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2006 5:19:59 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Find the saturation of color very good. Clarity much better than my previous Minolta. Shutter speed is faster than my last digital and I am loosing less shots. Standard lens doesnt handle macro type shots well enough.
1/19/2006 5:19:59 PM
 
Matt F. Cockerell 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2006 7:48:14 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2006 7:48:14 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2006 7:48:14 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2006 7:48:14 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2006 7:48:14 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
for its value it truly is a fun camera to use with numerous easy to use features and lots of cheap accessories at used camera stores ;)
1/18/2006 7:48:14 AM
 
Jee Wee Ong 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/14/2006 5:06:44 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/14/2006 5:06:44 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/14/2006 5:06:44 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/14/2006 5:06:44 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/14/2006 5:06:44 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Since this is my first SLR my dad bought me to play around with, i havent really been exposed to a good SLR, but looking at reviews and judging for myself, i think its an excellent 'toy' to play with. The only thing i dont like is how u have to hold a button before you can change aperture size because it doesnt have the two dials, one for aperture and one for shutter. it only has one for shutter so it doesnt allow for a quick flick
1/14/2006 5:06:44 PM
 
Tami L. Smith 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2006 8:07:01 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2006 8:07:01 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2006 8:07:01 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2006 8:07:01 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2006 8:07:01 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love everything about my camera. I take it around with me everywhere I go. It takes very good pictures. The only I wish was that it was digital. I would love to see my pictures before I get them developed.
1/13/2006 8:07:01 PM
 
Dick  W. Wyatt
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/13/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2006 9:11:52 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2006 9:11:52 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2006 9:11:52 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2006 9:11:52 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2006 9:11:52 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
THis is the 5th Minolta I've owned. It is easy to operate and a joy to own.
1/13/2006 9:11:52 AM
 
Angie Oliver 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2006 7:12:48 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2006 7:12:48 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2006 7:12:48 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2006 7:12:48 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2006 7:12:48 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I have found this camera to be very easy to use with good results for this amature. It has allowed me to become more confident and creative with each session. The manual is very detailed and user friendly.
1/3/2006 7:12:48 PM
 
Val Bisson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/29/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2006 3:10:19 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2006 3:10:19 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2006 3:10:19 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2006 3:10:19 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2006 3:10:19 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love this camera! It is very easy to use but give a professionnal quality. I love the AF lenses because the capture every single detail as well as the real color and so quick that I can't miss a shot. I like the fact that I can go full manual to compose the picture that I want. The only bad point is that the body is only compatible with Minolta lens.
1/2/2006 3:10:19 PM
 
Nick Warren 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/24/2005 3:01:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/24/2005 3:01:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/24/2005 3:01:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/24/2005 3:01:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/24/2005 3:01:37 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Very light, compact and fast. Not too much to say about this one, your average middle-of-the-line 35mm SLR.
12/24/2005 3:01:37 AM
 
Christopher B. Baldridge
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/21/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/21/2005 7:08:46 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/21/2005 7:08:46 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/21/2005 7:08:46 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/21/2005 7:08:46 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/21/2005 7:08:46 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Definitely a solid camera. Good for better amateur to low level professional use.
12/21/2005 7:08:46 PM
 
vilma moody 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/19/2005 7:48:35 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/19/2005 7:48:35 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/19/2005 7:48:35 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/19/2005 7:48:35 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/19/2005 7:48:35 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
my camera is great for photographing children who like to move around while being photography, also great because of shutter speed especially taking shot of street scene, people on the move, outdoor still life. Camera has great flexiable.
12/19/2005 7:48:35 AM
 
Michael A. DeAngelis 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/18/2005 4:20:33 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/18/2005 4:20:33 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/18/2005 4:20:33 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/18/2005 4:20:33 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/18/2005 4:20:33 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The Maxxum 5D has 6.1 megapixels with CCD-shift anti-shake image stability system, and a 2.5 inch backlit LCD monitor for easy viewing. What I like about it the most is the fact that it takes all of the Maxxum lenses I have accumulated for my Minolta film cameras over the years. It is an all-around excellent transitional camera when in the process of shifting from amateur to pro/am and, hopefully, eventually to professional.
12/18/2005 4:20:33 PM
 
Jessica D. Leza 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/11/2005 6:03:25 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/11/2005 6:03:25 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/11/2005 6:03:25 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/11/2005 6:03:25 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/11/2005 6:03:25 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
my first upgrade in 10 years of shooting. From an old pentax p3 with a set of lenses with worn out focusing rings - this camera is pretty damned sweet. Unbelievable colors and light density. I've taken my best shots with this camera.
12/11/2005 6:03:25 PM
 
Dana R. Allred 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2005 8:27:39 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2005 8:27:39 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2005 8:27:39 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2005 8:27:39 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2005 8:27:39 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
the only camera i have ever owned has been minolta. I have been one of those people that didn't want to change from film to digital but im slowly changing. i love my minolta maxxuim 5 film slr. but i'm starting to lean towards the maxxuim 5D. Its more about the cost of production. but I have noticed the quality of the 5D become more and more noticable as i use it more.
12/8/2005 8:27:39 PM
 
Robert J. Brown 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2005 6:09:34 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2005 6:09:34 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2005 6:09:34 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2005 6:09:34 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2005 6:09:34 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
The Minolta 5D is a great camera,easy to use and takes really nice pictures.
12/7/2005 6:09:34 AM
 
Brenda L. Oeder 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/30/2005 8:55:21 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/30/2005 8:55:21 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/30/2005 8:55:21 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/30/2005 8:55:21 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/30/2005 8:55:21 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I just got this camera about 1 month ago. It is my first digital camera. It works alot like my auto focus 35mm Minolta Maxxum 5000 that I've had for about 20 years. So far, I love it!
11/30/2005 8:55:21 AM
 
Julie K. Kennedy 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2005 3:31:20 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2005 3:31:20 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2005 3:31:20 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2005 3:31:20 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2005 3:31:20 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The Minolta Maxxum 5 is a easy to use, versatile camera. It takes great pictures in the auto mode, while making all the creative exposure functions simple to use, giving the photographer complete artistic freedom. I also like the fact that all the lenses will work on the Minolta Maxxum 7D.
11/29/2005 3:31:20 PM
 
Samantha A. Antonacci 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2005 12:41:59 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2005 12:41:59 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2005 12:41:59 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2005 12:41:59 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2005 12:41:59 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This camera is everything that a beginner photographer needs. It's easy to use and has an Anti-Shake feature to rave about!
11/23/2005 12:41:59 PM
 
Susan M. Tacey 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/21/2005 3:12:41 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/21/2005 3:12:41 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/21/2005 3:12:41 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/21/2005 3:12:41 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/21/2005 3:12:41 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I like this camera alot Im learning how to use all the functions and I'm getting better
11/21/2005 3:12:41 PM
 
Jennifer Smith
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/5/2005
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/5/2005 1:18:56 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/5/2005 1:18:56 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/5/2005 1:18:56 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/5/2005 1:18:56 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/5/2005 1:18:56 PM
Rating: 2 out of 5
some photos develop dark, red eye
11/5/2005 1:18:56 PM
 
Glen Taylor 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/5/2005 10:38:58 AM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/5/2005 10:38:58 AM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/5/2005 10:38:58 AM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/5/2005 10:38:58 AM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/5/2005 10:38:58 AM
Rating: 1 out of 5
The Maxxum 5 is a light-duty AF camera with lots of plastic internals. At the repair shop I used to work at, they were seeing customers average only about 12 months before something broke or malfunctioned, usually an autofocus or film advance issue (Now they won't service them at all). Since Minolta has discontinued all film cameras and support, buying a used one isn't a good idea.
11/5/2005 10:38:58 AM
 
armando S. sardon
Contact armando
armando's Gallery
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/31/2005 9:17:42 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/31/2005 9:17:42 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/31/2005 9:17:42 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/31/2005 9:17:42 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/31/2005 9:17:42 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Very reliable; but you must know all its features to get results.
10/31/2005 9:17:42 PM
 
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2005 1:02:15 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2005 1:02:15 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2005 1:02:15 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2005 1:02:15 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2005 1:02:15 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love this camera. My only other SLR is 35 year old Yashica J4, so I can't say how it compares to other modern SLR's. So far the most usefull features include the setting that lets the film rewind with the leader still outside, so film can be changed without wasting the rest of the roll, lots of good quality used Minolta lenses are available at inexpensive prices, the optional battery pack that lets it run on 4 AA's and makes its small body a little bigger to fit my hand better. On the down side, the control panel is on top of the body, and I can't see it when the tripod is at a convenient height to see through the viewfinder. I wish more data was visible in the viewfinder.
10/21/2005 1:02:15 AM
 
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2005 8:01:12 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2005 8:01:12 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2005 8:01:12 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2005 8:01:12 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2005 8:01:12 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
A great camera, I really like it a lot. I am still learning how to use it.
9/27/2005 8:01:12 AM
 
Jamie L. Olson 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/24/2005 5:24:50 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/24/2005 5:24:50 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/24/2005 5:24:50 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/24/2005 5:24:50 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/24/2005 5:24:50 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Nice camera. Good for beginning photography
9/24/2005 5:24:50 PM
 
Dorothy Youst 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/21/2005 8:36:00 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/21/2005 8:36:00 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/21/2005 8:36:00 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/21/2005 8:36:00 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/21/2005 8:36:00 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
like my camera very much, it is my fourth digital camera and I have been very satisfied with the results. It is mot complicated to hange settings like the movie and B&W options. Good camera !
9/21/2005 8:36:00 AM
 
e jennings 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/12/2005 4:10:33 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/12/2005 4:10:33 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/12/2005 4:10:33 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/12/2005 4:10:33 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/12/2005 4:10:33 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Simple, reliable and easy to use.
9/12/2005 4:10:33 PM
 
Dennis  5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/12/2005 11:44:24 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/12/2005 11:44:24 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/12/2005 11:44:24 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/12/2005 11:44:24 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/12/2005 11:44:24 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is a great camera. There is nothing that I do not like about it. I have used several digital cameras and this is the best that I have used.
9/12/2005 11:44:24 AM
 
Didrik T 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2005 3:21:31 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2005 3:21:31 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2005 3:21:31 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2005 3:21:31 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2005 3:21:31 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Offers exceptional accuracy, high-performance and user-friendly configuration.
9/6/2005 3:21:31 PM
 
Machelle Carden 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2005 9:17:45 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2005 9:17:45 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2005 9:17:45 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2005 9:17:45 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2005 9:17:45 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I want a zoom lens. I also have aCanon Rebel that does have a zoom
8/24/2005 9:17:45 PM
 
Della DeRevere 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/12/2005 2:42:55 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/12/2005 2:42:55 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/12/2005 2:42:55 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/12/2005 2:42:55 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/12/2005 2:42:55 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I absoultly love my camera! I get the best quality of pictures from it. I do wish the shutter speed would be better with my new 75/300 lense that I got. Other than that, I love it.
8/12/2005 2:42:55 PM
 
Salyna Gingras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/8/2005 2:00:36 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/8/2005 2:00:36 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/8/2005 2:00:36 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/8/2005 2:00:36 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/8/2005 2:00:36 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Not digital.
8/8/2005 2:00:36 PM
 
Aoife Holohan 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/8/2005 8:22:49 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/8/2005 8:22:49 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/8/2005 8:22:49 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/8/2005 8:22:49 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/8/2005 8:22:49 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
It's very light and easy to use
8/8/2005 8:22:49 AM
 
Aoife Holohan 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/8/2005 8:22:25 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/8/2005 8:22:25 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/8/2005 8:22:25 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/8/2005 8:22:25 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/8/2005 8:22:25 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
It's very light and easy to use
8/8/2005 8:22:25 AM
 
Cynthia Crissman 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/30/2005 9:31:11 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/30/2005 9:31:11 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/30/2005 9:31:11 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/30/2005 9:31:11 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/30/2005 9:31:11 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Best SLR ever owned. So light friends cannot believe it, even with telephoto lens.
7/30/2005 9:31:11 AM
 
Ryan Miller 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/28/2005 11:35:41 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/28/2005 11:35:41 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/28/2005 11:35:41 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/28/2005 11:35:41 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/28/2005 11:35:41 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Great beginer camera. It is difficult when one starts on the creative path as functions are not very easy to change. Takes great pictures though!
7/28/2005 11:35:41 PM
 
Keshia E. Ware 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2005 5:12:16 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2005 5:12:16 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2005 5:12:16 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2005 5:12:16 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2005 5:12:16 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
very cool
7/24/2005 5:12:16 PM
 
Tanayia E. Koonce 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2005 4:24:37 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2005 4:24:37 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2005 4:24:37 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2005 4:24:37 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2005 4:24:37 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
My first SLR I love the qaulity of the photos that I get I'm still geting to know this camera too. I was luck enough to get my first digital SLR not to long after so I got into that but I shoot with both.
7/19/2005 4:24:37 PM
 
Christopher R. Nanez 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2005 6:21:52 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2005 6:21:52 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2005 6:21:52 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2005 6:21:52 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2005 6:21:52 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
One of the best all around cameras that I have used with all standard equipment. Has a wide variety of upgrades available. A great bargain SLR for the Amateur photographer.
7/9/2005 6:21:52 AM
 
Brian D. Fraser 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2005 9:20:51 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2005 9:20:51 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2005 9:20:51 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2005 9:20:51 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2005 9:20:51 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
good camera,never a problem
7/5/2005 9:20:51 AM
 
Fredrick D. Kaufmann 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2005 12:44:43 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2005 12:44:43 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2005 12:44:43 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2005 12:44:43 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2005 12:44:43 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Milolta Maxxum 5 is good for the shots i like to take, i am slowly upgrading it for better nature pics, otherwise i am satisfied.
7/2/2005 12:44:43 PM
 
John M. Dudash Jr
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/2/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2005 8:10:10 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2005 8:10:10 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2005 8:10:10 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2005 8:10:10 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2005 8:10:10 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
The camera is great for taking a hike. If only it had a bulb setting...atleast I don't think it does.
7/2/2005 8:10:10 AM
 
Andrew M. Laiacano
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/28/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2005 12:22:34 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2005 12:22:34 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2005 12:22:34 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2005 12:22:34 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2005 12:22:34 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
its a decent camera with a bunch of functions, but I think im ready for digital.
6/28/2005 12:22:34 PM
 
Vonda B. Magill
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/20/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2005 5:21:02 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2005 5:21:02 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2005 5:21:02 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2005 5:21:02 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2005 5:21:02 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
It's really the only SLR I've ever owned so I'm happy with it. Guess I might no know any better.
6/20/2005 5:21:02 PM
 
Steve McCroskey 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2005 5:16:46 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2005 5:16:46 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2005 5:16:46 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2005 5:16:46 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2005 5:16:46 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is the second camera that I have owned! And by far the easiest to use!! I would recommend this camera to anyone who is looking for a camera to learn with!!
6/11/2005 5:16:46 PM
 
Loay O. Matar 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/5/2005 11:08:26 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/5/2005 11:08:26 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/5/2005 11:08:26 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/5/2005 11:08:26 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/5/2005 11:08:26 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love this camera. I love all it's features and the photos come out great.
6/5/2005 11:08:26 AM
 
Suzie N. Bathrick 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2005 11:35:56 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2005 11:35:56 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2005 11:35:56 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2005 11:35:56 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2005 11:35:56 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
i Love my camera... I take it everywhere, and wouldn't trade it for the world.
6/4/2005 11:35:56 AM
 
Raul  5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2005 7:53:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2005 7:53:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2005 7:53:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2005 7:53:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2005 7:53:11 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is the most versatile camera I`ve ever owned. Well... I haven`t owned that much cameras really, so I`m sure there are lots of better ones out there... at much higher prices. This one`s for everyone trying to make a good photographic job; has everything you may need (or may not) plus some
other very nice features... and lacks
everything you don't. Small size,
big brains. Perfect for us amateurs, despite it`s plastic construction or the unique flash shoe which forces us
to buy, either an adapter, or a
dedicated flash (both from Minolta) I`m very satisfied with such a purchase
(very, very cheap indeed) not many complaints, not enough to be disapointed. Buy one. Trust me.
5/24/2005 7:53:11 PM
 
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2005 11:13:58 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2005 11:13:58 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2005 11:13:58 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2005 11:13:58 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2005 11:13:58 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love the compact size and weight. It fits a woman's hands.
5/11/2005 11:13:58 AM
 
Jacqueline C. Harmon
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/22/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2005 1:00:24 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2005 1:00:24 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2005 1:00:24 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2005 1:00:24 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2005 1:00:24 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I LOVE THE FUNCTIONS OFFERED WITH THIS CAMERA.ITS EASY TO USE AND WITHOUT ALL THE BULK OF MY OTHER CAMERAS.I THINK IT TAKES PHOTOGRAPHS JUST AS WELL AS THE MORE EXPENSIVE BRAND NAMES.
4/27/2005 1:00:24 PM
 
Jacqueline C. Harmon
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/22/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2005 11:20:46 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2005 11:20:46 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2005 11:20:46 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2005 11:20:46 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2005 11:20:46 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love the functions my camera has to offer and the easy handling. The camera takes great photographs and with out all the fuss and bulk of some of the others i have.I relize there may be better cameras but i am quite found of my minolta.
4/27/2005 11:20:46 AM
 
Cecelia  M. Laurendeau 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2005 8:19:00 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2005 8:19:00 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2005 8:19:00 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2005 8:19:00 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2005 8:19:00 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This Minolta is a leap to new technology after 20 years wth my first camera, Olympus OM1. I love the range of options from totally manual to totally programable with lots of cool stuff in between; bracketing, multiple exposures, continuous advance, spot focus. Talk about a grown up kid in a candy store! I fixed it with a Tamron 28-300mm zoom lense that has a fairly good macro. So far it's a great combo.
4/23/2005 8:19:00 AM
 
Curt M. Tarpley 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/19/2005 8:44:28 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/19/2005 8:44:28 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/19/2005 8:44:28 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/19/2005 8:44:28 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/19/2005 8:44:28 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
The Maxxum 5 is a great Camera, I have two. It is reliable and tough, I take it everywhere. A little small for my hands, but other then that, it's great.
4/19/2005 8:44:28 PM
 
Shannon Thorson 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2005 10:42:53 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2005 10:42:53 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2005 10:42:53 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2005 10:42:53 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2005 10:42:53 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
there's nothing bad that I can say about it. it's awesome and it's never given me any problems!
4/18/2005 10:42:53 AM
 
Kim C. Deese 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2005 7:13:19 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2005 7:13:19 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2005 7:13:19 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2005 7:13:19 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2005 7:13:19 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I like the Minolta 5 35mm SLR. But I have to buy special flash, etc because the shoe mount is not standard.
4/13/2005 7:13:19 PM
 
Brittany Louann Watson 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2005 11:54:25 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2005 11:54:25 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2005 11:54:25 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2005 11:54:25 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2005 11:54:25 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
i love my camera, i've used it so much that its like got my own print indented to it.
4/13/2005 11:54:25 AM
 
Martha Lentz
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/2/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2005 5:56:15 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2005 5:56:15 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2005 5:56:15 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2005 5:56:15 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2005 5:56:15 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I have had good luck with this camera. It is easy to use, has all the features I am interested in. The dials are easy to use and conveniently placed. The auto-focus feature is very accurate. The only complaint I have and it applies to all 35 mm cameras I have seen, is that as a left-handed person the grip and all the dials are opposite from what they should be for me. I have retrained myself to use right-handed cameras but I left-handed camera would be a wonderful thing!
4/2/2005 5:56:15 PM
 
John J. Lacroix 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2005 8:30:08 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2005 8:30:08 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2005 8:30:08 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2005 8:30:08 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2005 8:30:08 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I grew up with the dependability of the minolta camera and to this day use it on a daily basis
2/23/2005 8:30:08 AM
 
Brenda H. Powers 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2005 5:55:06 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2005 5:55:06 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2005 5:55:06 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2005 5:55:06 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2005 5:55:06 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Love it!
2/17/2005 5:55:06 PM
 
Josh Shelton 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2005 5:17:36 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2005 5:17:36 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2005 5:17:36 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2005 5:17:36 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2005 5:17:36 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
very easy to use
2/11/2005 5:17:36 AM
 
David L. Luchowski
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/7/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2005 6:29:57 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2005 6:29:57 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2005 6:29:57 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2005 6:29:57 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2005 6:29:57 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
All the features, small and compact in size. Reasonably priced, user friendly.
2/7/2005 6:29:57 AM
 
Jimmy J. D 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/26/2005 4:53:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/26/2005 4:53:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/26/2005 4:53:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/26/2005 4:53:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/26/2005 4:53:11 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
this is the first real camera i've ever owned and i absolutely love it . i particularly like macro photography,especially flowers.the full auto setting makes it very easy to use and the program button which takes the camera back to its auto setting after using custom settings. i believe that anyone can take exceptional photos with this camera
1/26/2005 4:53:11 PM
 
Matt the Photographer 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/17/2005 4:12:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/17/2005 4:12:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/17/2005 4:12:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/17/2005 4:12:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/17/2005 4:12:56 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
amazing camera from the best camera company.
1/17/2005 4:12:56 PM
 
Chris J. Sjafiroeddin 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/3/2004 9:51:25 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/3/2004 9:51:25 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/3/2004 9:51:25 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/3/2004 9:51:25 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/3/2004 9:51:25 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
The Max.5 is my first SLR so I can't really compares it to others. I do like the price, and the lightweight of it. So far I canít complain about the camera's pictures just the photographer. The only negative thing I can think is that when I compare my Max 5 to a few friends with other high end SLRs mine seems small, "toyish" and not as rugged.
12/3/2004 9:51:25 AM
 
Jigish shah 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/3/2004 1:33:25 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/3/2004 1:33:25 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/3/2004 1:33:25 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/3/2004 1:33:25 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/3/2004 1:33:25 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
a light & feature packed camera with professional function & amazing 1/4000 shutter speed.
12/3/2004 1:33:25 AM
 
Sara Goodwin 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/26/2004 11:51:35 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/26/2004 11:51:35 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/26/2004 11:51:35 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/26/2004 11:51:35 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/26/2004 11:51:35 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I truly love this camera. It has done nothing but take awesome pictures. The colors come out nicely and the images are sharp. For an amateur or advanced amateur, this is the camera for you!
11/26/2004 11:51:35 AM
 
Sharon A. Dalton 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/18/2004 2:55:17 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/18/2004 2:55:17 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/18/2004 2:55:17 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/18/2004 2:55:17 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/18/2004 2:55:17 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Handy little camera; easy to use.
11/18/2004 2:55:17 PM
 
Jessica L. Richard
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/24/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/26/2004 2:51:21 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/26/2004 2:51:21 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/26/2004 2:51:21 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/26/2004 2:51:21 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/26/2004 2:51:21 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This camera is great and provides a lot of opportunities for creativity.
10/26/2004 2:51:21 PM
 
Valentin Tristan 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2004 5:19:35 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2004 5:19:35 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2004 5:19:35 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2004 5:19:35 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2004 5:19:35 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
nice starter camera.
10/12/2004 5:19:35 PM
 
Lawrence Cooke 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2004 11:21:13 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2004 11:21:13 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2004 11:21:13 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2004 11:21:13 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2004 11:21:13 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Excellent Camera, easy to use but is powerful enough to do most thigns when the need arises
10/2/2004 11:21:13 AM
 
Dan A. Bilodeau 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/24/2004 9:03:01 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/24/2004 9:03:01 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/24/2004 9:03:01 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/24/2004 9:03:01 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/24/2004 9:03:01 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
exposure perfect!
9/24/2004 9:03:01 PM
 
Dan A. Bilodeau 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/24/2004 8:54:09 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/24/2004 8:54:09 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/24/2004 8:54:09 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/24/2004 8:54:09 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/24/2004 8:54:09 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great use of color!
9/24/2004 8:54:09 PM
 
Fredda  Sutton 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/22/2004 9:06:23 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/22/2004 9:06:23 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/22/2004 9:06:23 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/22/2004 9:06:23 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/22/2004 9:06:23 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is an excellent camera. It takes excellent pictures and is very easy to use.
8/22/2004 9:06:23 PM
 
Eleanora Fridell 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/4/2004 6:17:54 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/4/2004 6:17:54 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/4/2004 6:17:54 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/4/2004 6:17:54 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/4/2004 6:17:54 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Wonderfully light and smart.
8/4/2004 6:17:54 AM
 
Eleanora Fridell 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/4/2004 6:16:57 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/4/2004 6:16:57 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/4/2004 6:16:57 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/4/2004 6:16:57 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/4/2004 6:16:57 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
It's a very flexible camera. It's lighter than a snapshot, smart and produces beautiful pictures.
8/4/2004 6:16:57 AM
 
Frank Santos 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/2/2004 5:31:16 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/2/2004 5:31:16 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/2/2004 5:31:16 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/2/2004 5:31:16 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/2/2004 5:31:16 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
would love to have a visual light meter like my old pentax asahi's do.
8/2/2004 5:31:16 PM
 
Rowan Mark 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/31/2004 10:17:18 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/31/2004 10:17:18 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/31/2004 10:17:18 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/31/2004 10:17:18 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/31/2004 10:17:18 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Excellent camera for those that want to begin taking traditional Photography seriously.
7/31/2004 10:17:18 AM
 
Dan A. Bilodeau 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2004 9:21:48 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2004 9:21:48 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2004 9:21:48 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2004 9:21:48 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2004 9:21:48 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Maxxum five is the best camera for the price. it has every function neccessary to complete a real photograph. Once learned, it is very easy to use and understand
7/17/2004 9:21:48 PM
 
Dan A. Bilodeau 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2004 9:20:31 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2004 9:20:31 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2004 9:20:31 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2004 9:20:31 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2004 9:20:31 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Maxxum five is the best camera for the price. it has every function neccessary to complete a real photograph. Once learned, it is very easy to use and understand
7/17/2004 9:20:31 PM
 
Darlene M. Crow 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2004 3:18:37 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2004 3:18:37 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2004 3:18:37 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2004 3:18:37 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2004 3:18:37 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Nice, lightweight camera to use for outdoor sports.
7/14/2004 3:18:37 PM
 
Stella Sanders 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/13/2004 8:22:13 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/13/2004 8:22:13 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/13/2004 8:22:13 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/13/2004 8:22:13 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/13/2004 8:22:13 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
very easy to use and to have it everywhere with me(small and not heavy).great for action and for still photo as well(i'm lazy-i like to set exposure time and let camera count aperture)-i'm not a good photographer yet,i still use bracketing of pictures...(thank God minolta can do it..)
7/13/2004 8:22:13 PM
 
Kristi Martin 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/13/2004 9:59:18 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/13/2004 9:59:18 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/13/2004 9:59:18 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/13/2004 9:59:18 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/13/2004 9:59:18 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Still adjusting to this camera, it takes wonderful pictures just trying to learn how to use this one. Since my 3xi is 10 years old I figured I needed a back up camera so this was the one I purchased.
7/13/2004 9:59:18 AM
 
Armando D. Scott 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2004 2:23:58 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2004 2:23:58 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2004 2:23:58 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2004 2:23:58 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2004 2:23:58 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
My camera is perfect for me right now. I have just began to venture in the photography scene. So as a beginner, thi scamera works great.
6/27/2004 2:23:58 PM
 
Armando D. Scott 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2004 11:52:40 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2004 11:52:40 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2004 11:52:40 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2004 11:52:40 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2004 11:52:40 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
this camera is perfect for me. I have just started in the photography scene and could want another camera. Im sure in time i will definitly want to up grade but for a me it more than enough.
6/19/2004 11:52:40 AM
 
Sean M. Holmquist 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2004 8:09:23 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2004 8:09:23 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2004 8:09:23 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2004 8:09:23 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2004 8:09:23 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
My Maxxum 5 allows for a great deal of growth and experimentation. I have shot a wide variety of subjects, some of which are not as still as I would like (I have small children), the camera allows me to focus on details OTHER than whether or not the main subject was in focus. My old camera (a Pentax) was OK but did not have the same versatility. I am far from professional status, but I have been shooting for years. This camera was purchased just before the advent of digital cameras... maybe I'll get one of those later, but for now, my scanner gives me more than ample resolution.
5/23/2004 8:09:23 PM
 
Shaun R. Goudie 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2004 12:32:41 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2004 12:32:41 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2004 12:32:41 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2004 12:32:41 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2004 12:32:41 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Sturdy....it lasts through everything!!
5/9/2004 12:32:41 PM
 
Paula H. McDaniel 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/3/2004 6:13:04 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/3/2004 6:13:04 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/3/2004 6:13:04 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/3/2004 6:13:04 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/3/2004 6:13:04 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love my Minolta Maxxum 5! I am an amateur photography buff and it is very easy to use. My photographs are crisp and clear. I have enjoyed experimenting with multiple exposure shots. It has a lot of good features and is easy to use. Two thumbs up from me!
5/3/2004 6:13:04 PM
 
Steve McCroskey 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2004 6:37:20 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2004 6:37:20 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2004 6:37:20 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2004 6:37:20 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2004 6:37:20 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
As a novice photographer(little over a year) I would highly recommend the Maxxum 5.
As a person with a disability - I am a "lefty" I have learned how to cradle the camera in my hand trigger the shutter with my middle finger.
The automatic features make the camera user friendly.
Steve McCroskey
4/27/2004 6:37:20 PM
 
Marcia Baughman 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2004 5:55:13 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2004 5:55:13 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2004 5:55:13 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2004 5:55:13 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2004 5:55:13 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Camera is very user friendly once you master all the functions.
4/27/2004 5:55:13 PM
 
Chris Potter 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/25/2004 5:59:17 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/25/2004 5:59:17 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/25/2004 5:59:17 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/25/2004 5:59:17 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/25/2004 5:59:17 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love this camera, it so simple and easy to use, and at the same time complex, filled with inovative features.
4/25/2004 5:59:17 PM
 
Jerry Plescia 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2004 6:47:29 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2004 6:47:29 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2004 6:47:29 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2004 6:47:29 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2004 6:47:29 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Just brought it, very lite, hope to learn how to use it.
4/23/2004 6:47:29 PM
 
Manuel A. Lopez 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2004 11:09:06 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2004 11:09:06 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2004 11:09:06 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2004 11:09:06 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2004 11:09:06 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great camera
4/11/2004 11:09:06 AM
 
Bryan  Stoa 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/1/2004 7:57:32 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/1/2004 7:57:32 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/1/2004 7:57:32 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/1/2004 7:57:32 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/1/2004 7:57:32 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
mY CAmera suits all my needs at the moment
4/1/2004 7:57:32 PM
 
Christina Shanks 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2004 12:26:00 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2004 12:26:00 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2004 12:26:00 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2004 12:26:00 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2004 12:26:00 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love this camera! I have always only used little cameras, but now finally have a winner. This is great! What a difference in the pictures!
3/23/2004 12:26:00 PM
 
Cindi Webster 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2004 6:56:02 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2004 6:56:02 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2004 6:56:02 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2004 6:56:02 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2004 6:56:02 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
The Minolta Maxxum 5 is a very user friendly camera. There are many features that are easy to use and help the operator to take better pictures. I would suggest this camera to anyone.
3/18/2004 6:56:02 PM
 
Michelle Seaman 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2004 12:43:08 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2004 12:43:08 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2004 12:43:08 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2004 12:43:08 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2004 12:43:08 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Considering this is my first SLR, I don't have much to compare it too, but I love it! It can be used fully automatic for the beginner like myself, or fully manual for a more experienced user. I really like the aperture and shutter priority settings, and the depth of field preview, and so far the only thing that annoys me is the strap keeps getting hung up in the camera back when I'm loading film:)
3/18/2004 12:43:08 AM
 
Ccs  5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2004 5:25:49 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2004 5:25:49 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2004 5:25:49 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2004 5:25:49 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2004 5:25:49 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
My first SLR. Never had a problem. The automatic and manuel options are great for a beginner to learn and experiment with. And the price is great.
3/13/2004 5:25:49 PM
 
Jayaprakash  4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2004 4:21:48 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2004 4:21:48 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2004 4:21:48 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2004 4:21:48 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2004 4:21:48 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Certainly a very good buy for someone who is just beginning to learn photography. Provides lot of features for the money you pay. The continuous auto focus is really cool and fast with 28-80mm lens. However, kind of slow with larger focal lengths for e.g minolta 70-300mm. So, continuous auto focus is almost unusable with such lens. But that should not stop you from buying this, as all lens will have such issues.
3/12/2004 4:21:48 AM
 
Sherri Miller 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2004 10:23:35 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2004 10:23:35 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2004 10:23:35 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2004 10:23:35 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2004 10:23:35 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
LOVE IT! but nothing beats the Ol fashion manual cams...
3/1/2004 10:23:35 AM
 
Anita Taylor
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/19/2001
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/25/2004 4:38:59 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/25/2004 4:38:59 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/25/2004 4:38:59 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/25/2004 4:38:59 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/25/2004 4:38:59 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I just bought this camera and so far I like it a lot! I am still learning about all the things it can do, though.
2/25/2004 4:38:59 PM
 
Amber Ferguson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/9/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2004 7:52:22 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2004 7:52:22 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2004 7:52:22 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2004 7:52:22 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2004 7:52:22 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I recently got this camera, I dont know much about it, but, the people who sold it to me told me that I would really enjoy it. I have the Minolta Maxxum QTsi, and I really enjoy it, but I wanted something with manual settings.
2/8/2004 7:52:22 PM
 
Shawn H. Rouggly 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2004 10:21:31 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2004 10:21:31 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2004 10:21:31 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2004 10:21:31 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2004 10:21:31 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I have only ever owned Minolta cameras. I love this camera; it's small, light, quick and fairly idiot proof.
2/8/2004 10:21:31 AM
 
Darla Cobus
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/25/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/26/2004 6:15:36 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/26/2004 6:15:36 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/26/2004 6:15:36 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/26/2004 6:15:36 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/26/2004 6:15:36 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This is a wonderful camera I have shot pictures with it for about 8 years before that I had a 400si for about two years. Its great for people just starting out or that have been taking pictures for years! Very users friendly!
1/26/2004 6:15:36 PM
 
Brian R. Filer 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/26/2004 9:01:12 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/26/2004 9:01:12 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/26/2004 9:01:12 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/26/2004 9:01:12 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/26/2004 9:01:12 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I'm just a beginner but the Maxxum 5 is suiting me well. I hope to learn more and eventually purchase a high-end digital and high-end SLR camera.
1/26/2004 9:01:12 AM
 
Robin J. Savoie 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/22/2004 3:37:39 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/22/2004 3:37:39 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/22/2004 3:37:39 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/22/2004 3:37:39 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/22/2004 3:37:39 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great Camera, Good Price, No Problems...
1/22/2004 3:37:39 PM
 
Bill C. MacCallum 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/20/2004 7:50:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/20/2004 7:50:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/20/2004 7:50:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/20/2004 7:50:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/20/2004 7:50:54 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Wonderful camera for a beginner as well as one who has been doing it a while.
1/20/2004 7:50:54 PM
 
Patrick L. Barrett 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2004 3:55:48 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2004 3:55:48 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2004 3:55:48 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2004 3:55:48 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2004 3:55:48 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Very effective, responsive, easy to use although there are alot of functions.
1/12/2004 3:55:48 PM
 
Karthik Satyanarayan 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 8:48:44 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 8:48:44 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 8:48:44 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 8:48:44 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 8:48:44 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Very satisfied with the camera - its light & with 4fps & fast focusing I've found it a delight to handle. The camera body is by far the best among others in its range. Need better lenses though.
1/4/2004 8:48:44 PM
 
Yasmina Bianca Dartu 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/4/2003 12:20:10 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/4/2003 12:20:10 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/4/2003 12:20:10 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/4/2003 12:20:10 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/4/2003 12:20:10 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
small and powerfull
12/4/2003 12:20:10 AM
 
sherrie McGinty 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2003 10:40:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2003 10:40:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2003 10:40:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2003 10:40:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2003 10:40:24 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Best camara I have ever use with the exception of the old cannon manual 35mm, I also use 500 mm an wide eye
11/23/2003 10:40:24 PM
 
Laurie McDonagh 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/16/2003 9:40:14 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/16/2003 9:40:14 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/16/2003 9:40:14 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/16/2003 9:40:14 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/16/2003 9:40:14 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Before I purchased the Maxxum 5, I had a 650si. before that, I had a completely manual SLR. Compared to the 650si, I was very impressed with how quickly film rewound and how fast it could auto focus. The only thing I am not thrilled with is the location of the straps. It gets in the way when you open the film door.
11/16/2003 9:40:14 AM
 
Tom Smalara 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2003 7:04:41 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2003 7:04:41 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2003 7:04:41 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2003 7:04:41 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2003 7:04:41 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I absolutely love my camera. The reviews from this site were a major contributing factor in my purchase, so I thought I would give my own review. I'll start this by stating that I am an amateur photographer who has used numerous point and shoot, a couple digital and an old Minolta manual focus camera. The three camera's that I researched before buying my Minolta were the Nikon N65, Canon EOS Rebel 2000 and the Minolta Maxxum 5. They are all comparable in features, but the Minolta edged the others with features such as: metal lens mount, 14-segment honeycomb-pattern metering, wireless remote option and the fastest auto focus in its class. Ease of Use: I was so excited to have my new camera that I promptly shot a whole roll of film experimenting with the creative and manual modes without reading the manual. This produced some interesting shots that were less than desireable. I read the manual, which was very easy to understand and my second roll of film was amazing! I would defintely recommend this camera to anyone wanting to get into photography. I give it a 10!
11/12/2003 7:04:41 AM
 
Marie Lincecum 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/7/2003 1:06:43 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/7/2003 1:06:43 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/7/2003 1:06:43 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/7/2003 1:06:43 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/7/2003 1:06:43 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
For what I have been using my Minolta for I find it does most of what I need. I am not a camera buff any way. I have self taught, which is not much. When my photos turn out as they have been I'm very pleased. I don't care for the pop-up flash for vertical. It is very easy to get your nose in the way and depress it just enough that the flash doesn't work, even though you think it is going to. I do have an add on flash but a problem occurs with that for vertical shots as well, because then the flash is one sided. If I ever gt set up with lights like I want then the on camera flash won't be required as much.
11/7/2003 1:06:43 PM
 
Kelly Taylor
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/6/2003
kellytaylorphotography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/26/2003 6:49:29 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/26/2003 6:49:29 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/26/2003 6:49:29 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/26/2003 6:49:29 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/26/2003 6:49:29 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love this camera and the fully automatic, quick focusing. I take a lot of action photos and need something with a speedy focus lock. I had to purchase an accessory flash, as I was not aware the built-in one was only for fill-in at the time.
10/26/2003 6:49:29 PM
 
Nicole S. 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/23/2003 7:39:57 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/23/2003 7:39:57 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/23/2003 7:39:57 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/23/2003 7:39:57 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/23/2003 7:39:57 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Good for upper end basic SLR, "low-pro" photography. The built in light meter is awesome!
10/23/2003 7:39:57 AM
 
Daniel McDonald 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/19/2003 5:57:01 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/19/2003 5:57:01 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/19/2003 5:57:01 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/19/2003 5:57:01 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/19/2003 5:57:01 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Light and full featured. Lets me go full manual or full auto. Easy to use.
10/19/2003 5:57:01 PM
 
Maureen Y. Sist 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2003 10:30:50 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2003 10:30:50 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2003 10:30:50 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2003 10:30:50 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2003 10:30:50 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The only thing I wish this camera had included was an instructional video.
10/6/2003 10:30:50 AM
 
Stephen A. Martinez 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2003 8:23:12 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2003 8:23:12 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2003 8:23:12 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2003 8:23:12 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2003 8:23:12 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Since being on disability and not having full function on my left hand this camera was great for me to get out of the house and go photo shooting. This camera save me from getting into a big depression. It gave me the freedom of roaming the streets of new york
10/1/2003 8:23:12 PM
 
John C. Conner 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/24/2003 9:13:08 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/24/2003 9:13:08 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/24/2003 9:13:08 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/24/2003 9:13:08 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/24/2003 9:13:08 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I still prefer the more manual XG-1 but I have had great results with this one. It's a great camera.
9/24/2003 9:13:08 AM
 
Doug Wean 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/18/2003 9:49:39 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/18/2003 9:49:39 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/18/2003 9:49:39 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/18/2003 9:49:39 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/18/2003 9:49:39 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Just Bought it...Still Experimenting
9/18/2003 9:49:39 PM
 
Branden L. Mann 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2003 12:23:01 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2003 12:23:01 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2003 12:23:01 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2003 12:23:01 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2003 12:23:01 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is by far the lightest and best camera that I have ever used.
9/15/2003 12:23:01 PM
 
Kennith Wilson 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/26/2003 6:35:49 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/26/2003 6:35:49 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/26/2003 6:35:49 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/26/2003 6:35:49 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/26/2003 6:35:49 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Love the camera. On auto setting the exposure have almost always been very good. Can use mannualy also. Very fast auto focus. Light weight and fairly tough. HAD A GOOD PRICE. Do not like the low light asspects of the camera. The focus assist light is not very good and if it does not focus can not take the picture. Have to go to manual focus. Like the canon low light assist better.Rebel g and Rebel G 2 is better. But all in all it a very good camera. Went with the Maxum 5 over the canon because has more focus points and focus is faster.
8/26/2003 6:35:49 PM
 
Jennifer J. Marcum 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/16/2003 7:33:37 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/16/2003 7:33:37 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/16/2003 7:33:37 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/16/2003 7:33:37 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/16/2003 7:33:37 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This camera is one of the best SLR's I have ever used. It is really simple and has the automatic feature if you are inexperienced.
8/16/2003 7:33:37 AM
 
Gregg Cerenzio 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/30/2003 8:35:13 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/30/2003 8:35:13 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/30/2003 8:35:13 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/30/2003 8:35:13 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/30/2003 8:35:13 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
.
7/30/2003 8:35:13 AM
 
Sandy Thueme 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/20/2003 1:13:16 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/20/2003 1:13:16 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/20/2003 1:13:16 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/20/2003 1:13:16 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/20/2003 1:13:16 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This is my first and only SLR camera. I, for one, love it! As a beginner in the photography world, this camera makes my job a lot easier. It's just 3 simple steps: 1.Get inspired; 2.Point; 3.Click!
7/20/2003 1:13:16 PM
 
Shaun R. Goudie 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/10/2003 9:20:17 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/10/2003 9:20:17 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/10/2003 9:20:17 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/10/2003 9:20:17 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/10/2003 9:20:17 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
The Minolta is a great camera for an amateur like myself. It is very easy to use and all of it's many functions are well placed.My one dislike is that the built in flash is too bright. I wish that quality digital camera's were less expensive when I purchased my Minolta. The opportunity for learning with a digital is much quicker as one has immediate gratification.....they can see what they are doing right and wrong ASAP and learn from their mistakes!!
7/10/2003 9:20:17 PM
 
Miko Hilgendorf 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2003 4:41:10 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2003 4:41:10 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2003 4:41:10 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2003 4:41:10 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2003 4:41:10 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I like it!!
6/29/2003 4:41:10 PM
 
Eluana Okilo 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2003 11:52:59 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2003 11:52:59 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2003 11:52:59 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2003 11:52:59 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2003 11:52:59 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
the only real problem i have with this camera is that there's no way to do a timed exposure. it can be set to "bulb" for a long exposure, but requires that you have your thumb on the shutter. a remote is necessary to prevent camera shake. it would be better if, like the Nikon N80, you could just set a time period for the shutter.
6/25/2003 11:52:59 PM
 
Amy M. VanLue
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/4/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2003 7:07:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2003 7:07:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2003 7:07:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2003 7:07:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2003 7:07:40 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
So far love it , just cannot figure out how to keep date off of pics!!
6/25/2003 7:07:40 PM
 
Doody Atraktsi 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2003 5:46:05 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2003 5:46:05 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2003 5:46:05 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2003 5:46:05 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2003 5:46:05 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
There are only 1 thing bad about this camera. Besides that it's amazing: IT LOOKS LIKE A TOY...
6/19/2003 5:46:05 AM
 
Patricia Damelio 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 5:05:24 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 5:05:24 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 5:05:24 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 5:05:24 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 5:05:24 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I have only owned this camera about one year. So far I am thoroughly pleased with it. It is very user friendly, set it on auto and it does everything for you or switch it tyo manual and you are the master.Even the built in flash is excellant. I do have another flash but so far I have just been using the built in flash. Ther eis absolutely no red eye. Which is an extremely wonderful feature. As I said, over all I am very pleased with this camera. I would recommend it highly.
6/17/2003 5:05:24 PM
 
Ken Ke-Wei Pan 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 4:36:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 4:36:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 4:36:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 4:36:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 4:36:37 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I believe Minolta really knows how to make good cameras and lenses. Minolta Maxxum 5 has been rated the best camera in beginner/amateur category with many professional features for 3 years. I really enjoy shooting with FIVE \(^Q^)/
6/17/2003 4:36:37 PM
 
Sandy Church
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/9/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 6:25:54 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 6:25:54 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 6:25:54 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 6:25:54 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 6:25:54 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I like it because it's light and very fast. The only thing I don't like about it is when you open the back the strap gets in the way.
6/17/2003 6:25:54 AM
 
Edward Slanina 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/20/2003 3:54:52 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/20/2003 3:54:52 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/20/2003 3:54:52 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/20/2003 3:54:52 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/20/2003 3:54:52 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
For the price you can't beat this camera. It has every feature you could want except for a mirror lock up. The case is not as rugged as the Maxxum 7 but it is 300$ cheaper.As they say put your money in the lens.
1/20/2003 3:54:52 PM
 
Roger  4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2002 10:51:54 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2002 10:51:54 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2002 10:51:54 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2002 10:51:54 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2002 10:51:54 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Light compact and suits my requirements
10/5/2002 10:51:54 AM
 

158 Reviews  

Buy Maxxum 5/Dynax 5 35mm SLR Camera from Amazon.com