Maxxum 5/Dynax 5 35mm SLR Camera


Minolta

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Auto Focus SLRs

snow in NYC
View photos created with this camera

The Maxxum 5/Dynax 5 35mm SLR Camera

Features:


  • 35mm compact single-lens reflex (SLR) camera with quartz date
    imprint function
  • Compatible with Minolta A-mount lenses
  • Integrated flash with red-eye reduction; includes hot shoe for
    external flash
  • One of the smallest and lightest full-featured SLRs ever produced
  • Improved autofocus drive motor and high-speed microcomputer for quicker and more precise control

Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 158 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Roger Carapetian 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2006 11:07:58 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2006 11:07:58 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2006 11:07:58 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2006 11:07:58 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2006 11:07:58 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love all my Minolta cameras, Light weight,quick focuse, perfect for the traveling.
10/6/2006 11:07:58 AM
 
Edmund P. Torres 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 4:55:22 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 4:55:22 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 4:55:22 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 4:55:22 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 4:55:22 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Love the camera, Manual very easy to understand.
7/6/2006 4:55:22 PM
 
Kim  McCloud
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/26/2006
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2006 8:09:44 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2006 8:09:44 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2006 8:09:44 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2006 8:09:44 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2006 8:09:44 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I am a hobbyist and this although I have not gone digital, this camera meets my needs. I feel like I get good quality and grown quite comfortable with it.
6/26/2006 8:09:44 PM
 
Adrian  Suarez Vazquez
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/20/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2006 11:29:10 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2006 11:29:10 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2006 11:29:10 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2006 11:29:10 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2006 11:29:10 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Light weight and fast!!!
6/20/2006 11:29:10 AM
 
Amber Martinez 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2006 9:12:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2006 9:12:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2006 9:12:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2006 9:12:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2006 9:12:28 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Awesome flash! Great 35 mm. Clear focus, nice warm color. Of course, best results with FUJI 800 film.
6/10/2006 9:12:28 PM
 
Julie Gates 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2006 12:46:51 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2006 12:46:51 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2006 12:46:51 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2006 12:46:51 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2006 12:46:51 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love my camera - so sorry that it's not being manufacutured by Minolta anymore. I'll have to see how Sony does with it. But, it sure makes it easy to shoot some great pictures.
6/8/2006 12:46:51 AM
 
Ernest Gollan 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/13/2006 12:09:46 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/13/2006 12:09:46 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/13/2006 12:09:46 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/13/2006 12:09:46 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/13/2006 12:09:46 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I have four cameras that are 35mm. I have two Minolta cameras and I love this MAXXUM 5 as it is so quick to just grab and shoot with, or I can go manual if I want to get some really inventive shots! My other Minolta is pure manual, as is my Canon A-1. Neither Minota has let me down ever. I have a PENTAX point and shoot..WR90-ZOOM that is a real nice one for taking into the woods in the winter or out on the boat or just knocking around, but this one, the MAXXUM 5, has really outshined them all so far in versatility and quality (as far as automatic is concerned). I would hate to loose it.
5/13/2006 12:09:46 PM
 
J. Crouch 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2006 9:06:39 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2006 9:06:39 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2006 9:06:39 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2006 9:06:39 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2006 9:06:39 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This camera has been by my side now for almost 8 years and I wouldn't trade it for anything in the world. Yes digital is out and everyone is switching over but I remain faithful to a camera who has captured so many memories for me.
5/5/2006 9:06:39 PM
 
Carla J. Rupert 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2006 4:39:27 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2006 4:39:27 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2006 4:39:27 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2006 4:39:27 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2006 4:39:27 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
LOVE the quick recovery which is very important to me since I take tons of photos of my daughter and every moment counts. Also love the fact that I can change lenses from my 35mm.
5/5/2006 4:39:27 AM
 
Brian  5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/10/2006 9:46:42 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/10/2006 9:46:42 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/10/2006 9:46:42 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/10/2006 9:46:42 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/10/2006 9:46:42 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
price, and all the features
4/10/2006 9:46:42 PM
 
Kelley A. Tibble 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2006 5:00:50 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2006 5:00:50 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2006 5:00:50 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2006 5:00:50 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2006 5:00:50 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
The camera is very easy to use. It has plenty of options that the photographer can control. It has antishake, which is very helpful and has an incredibly fast auto focus system. What I am not so excited about is that it is only a 6.1 megapixel camera, but since I am new to the digital SLR world, this camera is great for me. Perhaps there is a camera upgrade in my future but not until I master this. And, with all this camera has to offer, it's going to be a while before I can learn it all!
4/5/2006 5:00:50 PM
 

First 10 of 158 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Buy Maxxum 5/Dynax 5 35mm SLR Camera from Amazon.com