BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


Absolute Beginner's Guide to Taking Great Photos


Jim Miotke     

Categories: Reviews: Other Resources : Photo Books : How To Photography Books

The Absolute Beginner's Guide to Taking Great Photos

Trade paperback, 226 pages; Autographed by the author, Jim Miotke

Purchase this book today!Wouldn't you like to take better pictures, get control over your camera, and even make artistic photographic compositions?

Wouldn't it be the most incredible thing if you could bypass all the beginner mistakes and shave a few years off the learning process?

If you are like me, then you will be pleased to learn that becoming a masterful photographer is a lot easier than it looks. The truth is that, if you can press a button, then you can take great pictures!

That is why I am pleased to announce the publication of my first book, The Absolute Beginner's Guide to Taking Great Photos - by Random House.

It gives you a bare bones basic introduction to the art of photography in a fun and friendly way. If you have been intimidated by thick, technical references on photography, The Absolute Beginner's Guide to Taking Great Photos is for you.

What You'll Learn
My book guides you away from the point-and-pray method of taking pictures to shooting with confidence. In this simple and clear guide, you will learn:

* How to compose your picture with a more artful eye
* The top qualities that winning photos exhibit
* Numerous tips and secrets of the trade for consistently getting better results... and much, much more...

It offers guidance on everything from buying a camera to correcting photo mishaps. In addition, it gives you many step-by-step projects to put your new ideas into practice. All in a fun and friendly style that makes the book a joy to read.

What They're Saying
Bryan Peterson, author of Understanding Exposure and Learning to See Creatively, comments, "If I had had Jim's book when I started photography, I could have easily cut two years out of my 'beginner mode.' What a great base for every beginning photographer to build on!"

And Jim Brandenburg, famous for his amazing photographs of wolves, says, "Photography is now more important than ever in our personal lives. As a professional, I wish I had had this book when I started my career."

Let's face it, in other books and resources, you often have to dig deep to find the answers you are seeking. In this book, however, you will find the most helpful explanations, offered in a fun and friendly manner, right at your fingertips.

This guidebook is also great for more advanced photographers - those of you who prefer to "make" rather than "take" photos. You get all the tips in a quick and compact reference. Better yet, you get a fun little book to toss at those friends who keep asking you the *basic* questions about photography.

Only USD$14.95 (+ shipping)

Table of Contents:
http://www.betterphoto.com/bookReviews/ABTGP/TOC.asp

Excerpt:
http://www.betterphoto.com/bookReviews/ABTGP/excerpt.asp

How to Order
To order this book, click the button below and complete our online order form.

Or send a check or money order (made out to BetterPhoto.com) to:

BetterPhoto.com
P.O. Box 2781, Redmond, WA, 98073

USD $16.90 (or USD $18.90 to Canada; USD $24.90 for other international addresses). WA residents add 8.8% for tax.


P.S. Also take a look at my excellent online courses here at BetterPhoto.com.


17 Reviews  

Average Rating: 5 out of 5

5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Heather 
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 6/9/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This Book Has Been the Best Photography Book that I have Ever read!!!! It Covers Almost Everything that You Could Ever Want to Know.I Wish that I would have bought this book Sooner! I Would Recommend this book to Anyone Wanting to learn about Photography! Awesome Book Jim!
8/9/2007 3:08:39 PM
 
Diane Dupuis-Kallos
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 12/27/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Loved it! I'm not a beginner, have been taking snapshots all my life, but started taking things much more seriously in the last year. The book is very comprehensive, written in easy to understand English and was just great!
8/24/2004 7:21:46 PM
 
Candace Teuner

member since: 1/28/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I am reading your book right now. It is an awesome book, I can't put it down! Thank you for all the great tips!
2/1/2004 12:38:10 AM
 
Kevin S. Lewis
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 4/10/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Absolutely fabulous book Jim! Just received this for Christmas and am already starting to read it for the second time. Exactly what I was looking for in an entertaining, concise and extremely informative package. I have tried numerous times in the past to find a book just like this one. Unfortunately all I ever found was technical photo bibles that assumed I knew exactly what they were talking about!!! Thanks for the great read and a what is sure to be a cherished reference guide. (Hopefully all this new knowledge will be reflected in my photos!)
1/13/2004 12:49:20 PM
 
Carol  Sherman

member since: 10/29/2001
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Jim, this is a wonderful book and well written! As everyone has stated it is truly easy to understand and guides you through absolutely everything in a fun and concise way. Being quite new to photography this will help me tremendously. I really like having so much varied information in one book, makes it so handy for quickly being able to locate an answer to a problem or question I'm experiencing. It is now part of my camera bag like all the other equipment I carry, and is already starting to have that 'well read' look to it.:-)
10/27/2002 9:14:11 AM
 
Damian P. Gadal
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 4/22/2002
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Grabbing the last copy they had on the shelf at Borders, I raced right home and pored through this book. Thank you for such a well-written and concise book!
9/22/2002 6:25:48 PM
 
Kerry Drager
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Kerry
Kerry's Gallery
kerrydrager.com

member since: 2/4/2002
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Hi Jim:

Thanks for sending me - and signing - your book! Great job! I just received it today and I've already given it the once- and twice-over. I really like your casual writing style, and the photo examples are perfect.

It's about time - a book that's easy to read and easy to digest, and with excellent photo examples, too! This book is just the educational and inspirational boost that aspiring photographers need.

You have a winner!

Thanks again, and congratulations!

 
Carolyn  M. Fletcher
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Carolyn
Carolyn 's Gallery
PickYourShots.com

member since: 10/6/2001
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
The book arrived yesterday. I read right through "All My Children" which I never miss, right through my husband's dinner, which he finally got, and finished it late in the evening. Lots of good info in there, and as soon as it stops pouring rain, I'm going to practice some more. I'll look forward to the digital book you are going to do, since I'm completely digital. Thanks for the good info.
 
Jeff Galbraith
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 8/20/2001
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
A solid no nonsense guide to basic photography. This book will take you from zero to making great pictures in no time flat. I would recommend it to all beginning photographers--I only wish that it had been around when I was starting out.
 
Christine Morin

member since: 7/17/2001
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Hi Jim,
I just received your book and am really enjoying it. My years of trying to understand everything about photography has usually ended with me giving up in frustration. Finally I've found a book which I think will help me cope with the fundamentals of phogography.

I can hardly wait to try some of your tips.

Thanks very much.
Regards,

 
Sherrie K. Miller

member since: 3/16/2002
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I just wanted to say I got your book an read it, it has helped me a lot! it was simple to read and understand without a lot of 10 foot long words a newbie like myself doesn't know the meaning of, and it is a good book for those of you whom already know the basics as well! it is an all around GRRRR8 book! if you have not got it yet get it! you will love it to... an while I'm here I want to add a Thank You for this site it is wonderful as well! I get a lot of good ideals here, granted some talk above my head, but most explain in laymen's terms, I have yet to find a better URL that meets ALL my needs!
Thank You
Sherrie
 
Sherrie K. Miller

member since: 3/16/2002
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I loved this book it has given me excellent ideas as well as input on how my camara works and films to buy... it is easy to read and understand, but it is a good book for all even those that are not beginners! If you have not read this book plz do, there are ton's of goodies in here!
Sherrie
 
Donna R. Moratelli
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Donna
Donna's Gallery
DonnaraePhotography.com

member since: 11/23/2000
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This book is the best on the market for any beginning and intermediate photographer. It is so EASY to understand and FUN to read. Can you imagine,...a fun photography book? What a change of pace! Jim didn't miss a trick either. Everything that anyone would need to know is there. EVERYTHING! Oh how I wished that this book was around when I started shooting. Jim answers all of the questions that everyone always needs to know. I carry it in my bag at all times. Jim, THANK YOU, THANK YOU. THANK YOU!
 
Angie 

member since: 4/10/2002
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Your Book is great! I am a beginner and tried to read a couple of other books on photography,but got a little bored with them. Yours was fun and exciting most of all informative Thanks!
Angie
 
Piper Lehman
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 7/20/2001
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I read chapter one at the mailbox. A joy to read at any level of expertise. Beginners will find the motivation and confidence to improve their photography and will appreciate Jim's no-nonsense style. More experienced shooters will appreciate a new way of seeing what they remember struggling to learn in the past. I wish I'd had this book when I was afraid to ask the "dumb" questions. Photography is supposed to be fun! Jim speaks the truth--anyone can take (and make) great pictures. How far do you want to go?
 
J neelans

member since: 6/17/2002
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
wow... so glad it didn't read like stereo instructions!!! thanks for producing a geat beginners book!! one of THE best that I have read ( and I have read a lot of them) only wish some of the photos were in color....

 
Kathy L

member since: 7/8/2002
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have been interested in photography all of my life but have never done anything more than "point and shoot". I mentioned to my husband that I would really love to have a great camera and get into photography. For Christmas he bought me a Nikon F-100 camera (does he love me or what?).

Anyway, I have read probably 20 to 30 books on photography. Quite frankly, I had become disgusted until I picked up a copy of your The Absolute Beginner's Guide to Taking Great Photos and just wanted you to know that it was wonderful.

It is truly simple yet informative. I read the book in just one day (only because I was off of work and had the extra time) and it made me get out there shooting away!

I am thinking about maybe taking your online course mainly because YOU SPEAK ENGLISH.

Your book was well written in terminology that was easily understood yet it was so informative in that it told me all sorts of things I had been searching for and (maybe) found but
couldn't quite grasp it.

I just thought I would sing your praises. I think they are well deserved! Thanks.

 

17 Reviews  

Add your own review

Enroll

Add to Wishlist


Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.