Powershot S2 IS Digital Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

the neighborhood
View photos created with this camera

The Powershot S2 IS Digital Camera

Features:

  • Powered by four AA-size batteries; stores images on SD memory cards
  • 5.0-megapixel CCD captures enough detail for photo-quality 13 x 17-inch prints
  • 12x optical zoom; 1.8-inch vari-angle LCD display
  • Records VGA film at 30 frames per second with stereo sound; includes wind filter and adjustable levels for sound
  • MovieSnap feature allows you to capture a 5.0 MP still image while recording a movie; also features digital zoom and manual focus options for movies




© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 175 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Heather J. Yates 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/6/2008 9:15:53 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/6/2008 9:15:53 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/6/2008 9:15:53 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/6/2008 9:15:53 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/6/2008 9:15:53 PM
Rating: 2 out of 5
Loved camera when I first got it. I had only had it a year and it messed up. The shutter jamed on it. When I bought this it costed me over $600.00 and I bought waranty but cannon says they can't find me in computer. To get fixed over $300 I guess it was good while it lasted. I am just very diapointed I paid that much for some thing and it only lasted a year. Be ware the people I called to fix it have had lots come in with lots of problems
6/6/2008 9:15:53 PM
 
Phil R. Cook
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/9/2007
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2007 6:43:38 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2007 6:43:38 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2007 6:43:38 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2007 6:43:38 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2007 6:43:38 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I have had this camera for 6months and am totaly impressed with the clear,sharp images it produces. It is easy to use and is a wonderful camera for the on the go life style person.It's funtions are simple to change to and over all is well woth it's price.This is my 3rd digital camera and I use it more than the other two I have. It is also a good camera as a back up and reliable, just wish I could get diffrent lenses for it
3/6/2007 6:43:38 AM
 
John Devlin
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/22/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2006 1:20:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2006 1:20:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2006 1:20:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2006 1:20:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2006 1:20:19 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Had this Canon for about a year now, it's my second digital camera, and second piece of Canon kit (also have a Canon Camcorder)I love the optical zoom and the image stabiliser is great. The menu is clear, I mainly use the viewfinder, but the small screen is useful when you have to hold the camera above somebodys head to take a shot. I bought a rather tight case to put the camera in and I'm always moving the diopter by accident which is a pain! I find the macro facility quite poor as the manual focus is fiddly, but I can live with it, you do get used to it. To sum up, it's a very good camera for the price, best feature, the optical zoom, brilliant.
10/2/2006 1:20:19 PM
 
Ken P. Madland
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/2/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2006 12:42:54 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2006 12:42:54 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2006 12:42:54 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2006 12:42:54 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2006 12:42:54 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I have had The S2 for about three weeks now. It has been great so far I have been able to get some nice shots with it. The only draw back for me I keep hitting the menu button with my thumb. (I do have big hands) other than that itís great!
8/24/2006 12:42:54 PM
 
Yahya Galely 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/22/2006 12:40:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/22/2006 12:40:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/22/2006 12:40:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/22/2006 12:40:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/22/2006 12:40:37 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
As good as it gets! excellent in everyway, but lacks a hot-shoe!
8/22/2006 12:40:37 PM
 
Bunny Snow
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/16/2004
Contact Bunny
Bunny's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/6/2006 2:13:03 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/6/2006 2:13:03 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/6/2006 2:13:03 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/6/2006 2:13:03 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/6/2006 2:13:03 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is my second digital. The first love of my life is a Canon 20D. I bought the S2-IS in order to stay with the same technology and be lighter in weight for a European trip after a total hip replacement.

I love and used often the AEB and automatic focus bracketing. The latter worked especially well from the bus as I had placed a polarizer filter on an attachment in order to see through the windows without having a reflection. Even the mountains from afar came out well using this tool and the awesome telephoto zoom.

This is a great light weight camera for travel.

8/6/2006 2:13:03 AM
 
Melissa Malisia
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/2/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/4/2006 9:29:32 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/4/2006 9:29:32 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/4/2006 9:29:32 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/4/2006 9:29:32 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/4/2006 9:29:32 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I'm very happy with my new Canon Powershot. I give it a 5. It's my first name brand camera. I love how you can shoot pictures through-the-lens and it's just the right weight to carry around. I also love that the macro button is in easy reach on the left. No problems so far. Melissa
8/4/2006 9:29:32 AM
 
Viktor Enns 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2006 3:18:41 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2006 3:18:41 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2006 3:18:41 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2006 3:18:41 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2006 3:18:41 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
i love this piece. my first camera and ive got it for about a month now but it allows me to shoot almost as freely as with a DSLR - am very happy with it except the fact that its very slow for some purposes. and a bit too good for only point and shoot. if it would work with RAW format it would be unreached in its price segment. its a great allrounder. get awsome light and exposure with it. its a bit tricky to use in dark areas though. needs adjusting to its few difficulties. have no problem with the handling except sometimes I push the macro button while holding it vertically. the supermacro feature is incredible makes pictures possible I would never expect from a "simple" digicam. I heard of the high quality of the pictures it delivers but didnt think I would be able to do it so soon myself. without experience in photography at all (although I was pretty interested in shooting as a child)

great camera for every purpose (maybe not exactly sports or some night photography but on a tripod its superb)

7/24/2006 3:18:41 PM
 
Homeira Ch Yaseri
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/18/2005
Contact Homeira
Homeira's Gallery
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2006 12:47:37 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2006 12:47:37 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2006 12:47:37 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2006 12:47:37 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2006 12:47:37 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is my 2nd digital camera.upto now it really is wonderful.But i am still unfamiliar with it.I will inform you about it later for sure.
7/7/2006 12:47:37 PM
 
Renee Comeau
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/5/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2006 7:51:38 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2006 7:51:38 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2006 7:51:38 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2006 7:51:38 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2006 7:51:38 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I like the picture qualities that the cannon take but the delay for taking a picture is to long for me!
7/5/2006 7:51:38 AM
 
Debbie E. Payne
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/21/2006
Contact Debbie
Debbie's Gallery
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2006 10:12:02 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2006 10:12:02 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2006 10:12:02 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2006 10:12:02 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2006 10:12:02 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
A nice little second camera for my Canon Digital Rebel XT. I do like the image stabilizer. It takes clear pictures with good color. It is the camera I pack in my purse and carry with me everywhere so as not to miss a shot.
7/4/2006 10:12:02 PM
 

First 10 of 175 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Buy Powershot S2 IS Digital Camera from Amazon.com