Maxxum STsi SLR Camera


Minolta

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Auto Focus SLRs


View photos created with this camera

The Maxxum STsi SLR Camera

Features:

  • 35mm advanced SLR camera
  • Includes 35-80mm and 75-300mm lenses
  • Pop-up automatic flash with 4 modes
  • Includes panorama mode and date imprinting
  • Automatic and manual functions for new and experienced photographers alike

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


28 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
James C. Hall
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/31/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2006 5:12:18 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2006 5:12:18 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2006 5:12:18 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2006 5:12:18 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2006 5:12:18 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Good enough- just get good film and some good lenses. It weathered three months travel in Southeast Asia, so that counts for something.
3/31/2006 5:12:18 PM
 
Charles J. Hodge 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2006 8:05:30 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2006 8:05:30 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2006 8:05:30 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2006 8:05:30 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2006 8:05:30 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
O.k. camera, got it as a gift. It is not the tool, but what the man does with the toll that is important.
3/29/2006 8:05:30 AM
 
Amanda T 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2005 9:02:15 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2005 9:02:15 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2005 9:02:15 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2005 9:02:15 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2005 9:02:15 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love this camera because it allows you to choose the aperture and shutter speed settings or go on auto mode (it has fully auto and fully manual modes). Outdoor pictures are very clear and sharp. This camera is an easy SLR camera to use as a beginner.
6/14/2005 9:02:15 PM
 
Benica Walsh 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/4/2005 8:29:12 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/4/2005 8:29:12 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/4/2005 8:29:12 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/4/2005 8:29:12 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/4/2005 8:29:12 PM
Rating: 2 out of 5
It's the first SLR that I've owned, so I really don't have anything to compare it to. I am frequently frustrated by it's af feature and the shutter speed. My next purchase will be a digital camera.
5/4/2005 8:29:12 PM
 
Khristy Nelmes
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/16/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2005 4:30:00 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2005 4:30:00 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2005 4:30:00 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2005 4:30:00 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2005 4:30:00 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is my very first camera. I've been using it for about five years. I love the quality of the photographs but also found that it was easy for a beginer to use.
4/17/2005 4:30:00 PM
 
Lori A. Chandler 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/16/2005 8:46:17 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/16/2005 8:46:17 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/16/2005 8:46:17 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/16/2005 8:46:17 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/16/2005 8:46:17 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I really like this camera. It is easy to use. It has a lot of functions that can be utilized when I get comfortable with it.
2/16/2005 8:46:17 PM
 
John H. Macdonald
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/26/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/26/2005 1:02:48 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/26/2005 1:02:48 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/26/2005 1:02:48 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/26/2005 1:02:48 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/26/2005 1:02:48 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
The Xtsi has been a solid and reliable camera. I have used it on 5 or 6 major backpacking trips and I haven't had any trouble with it. When I bought it in 1998 it was a high end amateur camera but was at a reasonable cost. As I take my photography more seriously I will upgrade my equipment to a Maxxum 7 and use the Xtsi as a back up camera.
1/26/2005 1:02:48 PM
 
Angie L. Colona 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/17/2005 5:35:23 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/17/2005 5:35:23 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/17/2005 5:35:23 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/17/2005 5:35:23 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/17/2005 5:35:23 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
This camera produces some wonderful photos. I have had many, many compliments on the photos taken with this camera.
1/17/2005 5:35:23 AM
 
becky e. kenerson 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2004 4:11:37 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2004 4:11:37 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2004 4:11:37 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2004 4:11:37 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2004 4:11:37 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
this camera is good for what i use it for.
11/9/2004 4:11:37 PM
 
John W. Thaxton, III 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2004 12:43:48 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2004 12:43:48 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2004 12:43:48 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2004 12:43:48 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2004 12:43:48 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Picture quality is great. The only way it be better is if it were digital.
11/8/2004 12:43:48 PM
 
Pamela  Wilson 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/24/2004 12:02:16 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/24/2004 12:02:16 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/24/2004 12:02:16 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/24/2004 12:02:16 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/24/2004 12:02:16 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I love my camera, it is a great tool and produces excellent photos. I do wish that it was a digital camera at times, although I enjoy it all the same.
10/24/2004 12:02:16 PM
 
Connie Metz 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/19/2004 7:12:24 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/19/2004 7:12:24 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/19/2004 7:12:24 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/19/2004 7:12:24 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/19/2004 7:12:24 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I really love my film camera, takes great close up photos, has quite a few options.
10/19/2004 7:12:24 PM
 
Brenda A. Meister 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2004 3:52:00 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2004 3:52:00 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2004 3:52:00 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2004 3:52:00 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2004 3:52:00 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
My Minolta 35mm camera is great with my 100-300mm zoom, and interchangable lenses. It offers panoramic and standard pictures with or without the date. The options are endless on this camera. Great for landscape and sunset shots.
8/30/2004 3:52:00 PM
 
Kristie N. Baxter 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2004 11:26:32 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2004 11:26:32 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2004 11:26:32 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2004 11:26:32 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2004 11:26:32 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
My first SLR camera.
6/11/2004 11:26:32 AM
 
Ian Froats 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2004 11:59:19 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2004 11:59:19 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2004 11:59:19 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2004 11:59:19 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2004 11:59:19 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Im not trained at all in photography, just have an intrest and a good eye for pictures, and this camera is lightwieght, easy to use funtions and the pics come out great. I also have the option when I learn more of having full control over all expose etc. great camera
5/18/2004 11:59:19 PM
 
Arun Luykx
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/30/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2004 3:22:09 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2004 3:22:09 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2004 3:22:09 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2004 3:22:09 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2004 3:22:09 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Wonderfull camera. Many lenses to choose from, many options on the camera itself. Easy to use.
5/1/2004 3:22:09 PM
 
Adam Levermore-Rich 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/25/2004 10:03:24 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/25/2004 10:03:24 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/25/2004 10:03:24 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/25/2004 10:03:24 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/25/2004 10:03:24 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
It does what I need it to do, for the most part. I'd like it if it had a bit more substance to it, though.
4/25/2004 10:03:24 PM
 
Linda Jo Cupps 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2004 3:48:26 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2004 3:48:26 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2004 3:48:26 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2004 3:48:26 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2004 3:48:26 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I LOVE this camera. I feel really comfortable with it and what it can do. It has given me pictures that I will cherish forever! It has it ALL.
3/25/2004 3:48:26 PM
 
Virginia L. Hughes
virginiahughesphotography.com
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/25/2004 6:34:43 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/25/2004 6:34:43 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/25/2004 6:34:43 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/25/2004 6:34:43 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/25/2004 6:34:43 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I enjoy the options given on this camera, standard, panoramic options as well as manual and auto focus.
2/25/2004 6:34:43 PM
 
JACKIE FAIN 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2004 6:31:56 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2004 6:31:56 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2004 6:31:56 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2004 6:31:56 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2004 6:31:56 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
GREAT CAMERA
1/13/2004 6:31:56 AM
 
Stephen P. Lee 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/21/2003 7:19:15 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/21/2003 7:19:15 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/21/2003 7:19:15 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/21/2003 7:19:15 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/21/2003 7:19:15 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This camera is a workhorse! It can do it all: Manual, Aperture, Shutter, Program. Autofocus Manual Focus Built in Flash
12/21/2003 7:19:15 PM
 
Judy Mae Thorne 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2003 3:37:59 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2003 3:37:59 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2003 3:37:59 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2003 3:37:59 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2003 3:37:59 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Until I got my digital I used this all the time and always got awesome photo's with it. I use a Quantaray Rech 10 MX AF lens most of the time with it.
8/28/2003 3:37:59 PM
 
Jean-Paul Viaud 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2003 7:09:36 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2003 7:09:36 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2003 7:09:36 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2003 7:09:36 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2003 7:09:36 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I would soon acquire the Maxxum 7, so this one will only be used as a backup. Anyway, it is still a good camera for the money and a long shot from my older Mamiya ZE. I regret the lack of a DOF preview button, the need to acquire a special remote cable from Minolta. I like the fact that I can use a flash remotely (I use a Minolta 5400xi).
7/5/2003 7:09:36 AM
 
Michelle L. Jensen 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2003 7:45:43 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2003 7:45:43 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2003 7:45:43 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2003 7:45:43 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2003 7:45:43 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Love this camera!
7/3/2003 7:45:43 PM
 
Keith Anderson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/27/2001
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2003 10:43:27 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2003 10:43:27 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2003 10:43:27 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2003 10:43:27 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2003 10:43:27 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Easy to use and light weight.
6/26/2003 10:43:27 AM
 
Keith Anderson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/27/2001
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2003 10:38:17 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2003 10:38:17 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2003 10:38:17 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2003 10:38:17 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2003 10:38:17 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Very easy to use. Light weight. Light metering is excellant.
6/26/2003 10:38:17 AM
 
Laura C. Stewart 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2003 10:48:17 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2003 10:48:17 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2003 10:48:17 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2003 10:48:17 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2003 10:48:17 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I really like this camera. I recieved it as a gift 3 years ago and also have a 75/300 zoom lens for it. I love the pictures it take. I do wish taht i have the option of date for it though. I don't really have anything bad to say about it!
6/20/2003 10:48:17 PM
 
Nicole  Daniel 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/16/2003 3:31:26 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/16/2003 3:31:26 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/16/2003 3:31:26 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/16/2003 3:31:26 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/16/2003 3:31:26 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is my first SLR so I don't have much to compare it too. It is very light compared to most other SLR's. IT is extremely easy to use for beginners. The lens mount is plastic though and I'm told to be very careful if I change lenses often that it does not crack.
6/16/2003 3:31:26 PM
 

28 Reviews  

Buy Maxxum STsi SLR Camera from Amazon.com