EOS Rebel G (EOS 500N, NEW EOS KISS) 35mm SLR Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Auto Focus SLRs

Nature miniature ...
View photos created with this camera

The EOS Rebel G (EOS 500N, NEW EOS KISS) 35mm SLR Camera

The all-black Canon EOS Rebel G is a fully automatic, ultracompact, and quiet SLR camera that comes equipped with a built-in retractable flash. This kit also includes a 35-80mm detachable Canon EF zoom lens.

The Rebel G features a high-speed selectable three-point autofocus system and Canon's exclusive AIM (Advanced Integrated Multipoint) control system which links the Rebel G's three-point autofocus to multizone metering for available light and flash. It offers 11 exposure modes (full auto to metered manual with indicator) plus multiple exposure, exposure compensation, and autoexposure bracketing.

The Rebel G features an enhanced command dial for mode selection, and is fully compatible with Canon's complete line of EF autofocus lenses and EOS system specialties, including battery pack BP-8, grip tripod GR-80TP, and remote switch RS-60E3.

Features like autoexposure bracketing (in one-half stop increments up to plus-or-minus two stops) and E-TTL autoflash...

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 199 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Lisa J. Woodard 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2006 2:41:23 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2006 2:41:23 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2006 2:41:23 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2006 2:41:23 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2006 2:41:23 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Overall I love my camera. I also have a Tamron 300mm lense which I enjoy using to zoom in! It is user friendly and has many different options to choose from. The one aspect that I dislike is that sometimes if I am too close to an image it has difficulty focusing automatically and will not allow me to take the picture. Unfortunately the manual option doesn't allow me to clearly focus when trying to do this.
6/25/2006 2:41:23 PM
 
Michelle Clary 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2006 5:32:52 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2006 5:32:52 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2006 5:32:52 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2006 5:32:52 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2006 5:32:52 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I like my camera. I have had it for almost 8 years and it still works great.
6/21/2006 5:32:52 AM
 
Judann M. Horn 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 1:13:26 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 1:13:26 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 1:13:26 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 1:13:26 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 1:13:26 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Love this camera for a film SLR camera. Takes fantastic pictures with all of the wanted manual settings
6/13/2006 1:13:26 PM
 
Liz Bullock
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/9/2006
Contact Liz
Liz's Gallery
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2006 11:17:36 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2006 11:17:36 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2006 11:17:36 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2006 11:17:36 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2006 11:17:36 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I know that when I focus on the object I want to photograph it will be what I capture with clarity. The only thing I dislike is not being able to download it right away along with the cost of developing the film or putting it on disc.
6/12/2006 11:17:36 PM
 
Cody Moore 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2006 10:19:16 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2006 10:19:16 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2006 10:19:16 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2006 10:19:16 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2006 10:19:16 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This was my first camera, and I still use it after 8 yrs! I have always came up with quality shots with this SLR. Especially recommended for those starting out with photography as a hobby. You have what can practically be a point-and-shoot, and as you become more bold with your techniques, you can dabble more with the creative side of the mode dial. This camera is light weight compared to many of it's peers, but I have found it quite durable.
5/18/2006 10:19:16 PM
 
Sylvester E. Robbins 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/4/2006 11:18:13 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/4/2006 11:18:13 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/4/2006 11:18:13 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/4/2006 11:18:13 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/4/2006 11:18:13 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
For me, this was a perfect camera. It fit my budget which was most important and does what I want it to do; take good pics. It has several different modes to use which I have found very helpful at times and I can also use it in a full manual mode just like the old days.
5/4/2006 11:18:13 AM
 
Jeremy D. Alvarez 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2006 8:10:05 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2006 8:10:05 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2006 8:10:05 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2006 8:10:05 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2006 8:10:05 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great for outdoor pics but not recommended for indoor unless using in very well lit areas.
5/2/2006 8:10:05 PM
 
Nathan Lawrenson 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2006 5:19:46 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2006 5:19:46 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2006 5:19:46 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2006 5:19:46 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2006 5:19:46 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Light and easy to use. Just wish is was Digital.
5/2/2006 5:19:46 PM
 
Tricia Lawrenson 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2006 3:52:23 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2006 3:52:23 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2006 3:52:23 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2006 3:52:23 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2006 3:52:23 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
IT is lightweight, quick and easy to use, and takes great shots. I love it!
5/2/2006 3:52:23 PM
 
Mike P. Doran 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/30/2006 7:40:39 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/30/2006 7:40:39 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/30/2006 7:40:39 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/30/2006 7:40:39 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/30/2006 7:40:39 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Fun , easy to use a good starter camera. Has the right mix of manuel and auto programs.
4/30/2006 7:40:39 AM
 
Talia M. Fellah 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2006 3:32:00 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2006 3:32:00 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2006 3:32:00 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2006 3:32:00 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2006 3:32:00 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Very good easy to use and light.
4/28/2006 3:32:00 PM
 

First 10 of 199 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Buy EOS Rebel G (EOS 500N, NEW EOS KISS) 35mm SLR Camera from Amazon.com