Lumix DMC-FZ5 Digital Camera


Panasonic

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

Paris Balloon Aft...
View photos created with this camera

The Lumix DMC-FZ5 Digital Camera

Features:


  • Stores images on Secure Digital (SD) cards; 16MB card included
  • Powered by a Lithium-Ion battery pack (7.2V, 680 mAh); battery
    charger included
  • 5.0-megapixel CCD captures enough detail for photo-quality 13 x
    17-inch prints
  • Amazing 12x optical zoom gets you close to the action without
    sacrificing image quality
  • Super-fast shutter times: .008 seconds to release (not including
    AF time) and .4 seconds between shots

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


53 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
McCade Cox 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2006 5:35:56 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2006 5:35:56 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2006 5:35:56 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2006 5:35:56 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2006 5:35:56 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I like it quite alot. I cant change the lenses however, so thats a bummer. It has a decent number of megapixels
7/5/2006 5:35:56 PM
 
Vladimir N. Peric
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/18/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2006 4:02:07 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2006 4:02:07 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2006 4:02:07 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2006 4:02:07 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2006 4:02:07 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Actually it is a very good camera for that price range. I like that it has a Li-Ion battery, IS, etc... What I don't like is for example the small ISO range (80-400), and the amount of noise at ISO 400, but I guess that's to be expected for cameras in that class...
6/18/2006 4:02:07 PM
 
Aimee N. Youngs
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/31/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 12:50:38 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 12:50:38 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 12:50:38 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 12:50:38 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 12:50:38 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Pretty bad noise when it's dark and on high ISO. Otherwise, I'm happy with its abilities....I feel like I need to learn everything I can about it and more about photography before I can rate it fairly though...
6/13/2006 12:50:38 PM
 
Glenda Gallop
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/1/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/8/2006 4:45:03 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/8/2006 4:45:03 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/8/2006 4:45:03 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/8/2006 4:45:03 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/8/2006 4:45:03 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Only had this camera for 2 days but so far I am very impressed.
5/8/2006 4:45:03 AM
 
Greg W. Halliday 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2006 3:25:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2006 3:25:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2006 3:25:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2006 3:25:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2006 3:25:45 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I'm very impressed with this camera. It's small enough to carry around as a happy snap camera, yet has the power to take high quality images. The best you can do without having external flash and lens interchangability.
5/1/2006 3:25:45 PM
 
Romayne  3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2006 4:11:51 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2006 4:11:51 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2006 4:11:51 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2006 4:11:51 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2006 4:11:51 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I just bought this camera so I am still learning how to use it. So far I really like it.
3/27/2006 4:11:51 AM
 
Shervin Fekri 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2006 1:20:26 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2006 1:20:26 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2006 1:20:26 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2006 1:20:26 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2006 1:20:26 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Lumix Fz5 is one of the most easy and userfriendly cameras I've seen.It has excellent quality,good features,good speed and in addition good shape...I suggest it to everyone.
3/24/2006 1:20:26 PM
 
Tammy Heidelberger 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/20/2006 1:08:10 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/20/2006 1:08:10 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/20/2006 1:08:10 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/20/2006 1:08:10 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/20/2006 1:08:10 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I am still learning how to use this camera.
3/20/2006 1:08:10 PM
 
Ross A. Monks
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/5/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2006 4:43:24 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2006 4:43:24 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2006 4:43:24 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2006 4:43:24 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2006 4:43:24 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Love the long 10x zoom the optical stabilizer and the level of manual controls
3/5/2006 4:43:24 AM
 
Dianne Kolb
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/4/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/4/2006 6:04:25 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/4/2006 6:04:25 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/4/2006 6:04:25 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/4/2006 6:04:25 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/4/2006 6:04:25 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I enjoy this small digital camera when I need a very small one to take along as an extra one It takes very good shots. I not able to change lens on this one like I can my Canon SLR.
3/4/2006 6:04:25 PM
 
cherrie smith
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/5/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/26/2006 8:47:09 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/26/2006 8:47:09 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/26/2006 8:47:09 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/26/2006 8:47:09 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/26/2006 8:47:09 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
i like this one very easy to use
2/26/2006 8:47:09 AM
 
Stephanie K. Dinkmeyer 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/19/2006 12:55:48 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/19/2006 12:55:48 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/19/2006 12:55:48 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/19/2006 12:55:48 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/19/2006 12:55:48 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love the clarity of the photographs and the telephoto zoom. However, the autofocus is definitely a hunter at times, and I do wish I could attach variable lenses to the camera. But all in all, I love that I own it!
2/19/2006 12:55:48 PM
 
Janelle P. Hultgren
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/14/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2006 7:27:22 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2006 7:27:22 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2006 7:27:22 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2006 7:27:22 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2006 7:27:22 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Best camera I've had but I am just getting quite interested in photography and having a lot of fun learning the camera. I enjoy macro photography so far.
2/14/2006 7:27:22 PM
 
Ajit S. Pai 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2006 12:13:15 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2006 12:13:15 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2006 12:13:15 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2006 12:13:15 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2006 12:13:15 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
nice camera.
2/11/2006 12:13:15 PM
 
Tina  Spooner 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/10/2006 7:49:05 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/10/2006 7:49:05 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/10/2006 7:49:05 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/10/2006 7:49:05 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/10/2006 7:49:05 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
i have no complaints it has so many different modes
2/10/2006 7:49:05 PM
 
Mary M. Garcia 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2006 9:31:48 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2006 9:31:48 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2006 9:31:48 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2006 9:31:48 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2006 9:31:48 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I would buy this camera again
1/31/2006 9:31:48 PM
 
Linda Orth 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/23/2006 6:00:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/23/2006 6:00:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/23/2006 6:00:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/23/2006 6:00:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/23/2006 6:00:36 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I find this camera to be one of the best camera's I have ever owned. It does every thing a professional camera does but easier. I'm sure that eventially I will upgrade, but the quailty of my pictures are fabulous and that makes me happy. I can take pictures in low light with a f2.8 app.- what more could you want? I also got free lesson's with this camera which really made a big difference - I acually learned how to use this camera. In three words. I Love It!
1/23/2006 6:00:36 PM
 
Glenn R. Barrows 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2006 1:34:46 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2006 1:34:46 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2006 1:34:46 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2006 1:34:46 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2006 1:34:46 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
fast, easy, and good quality....
1/13/2006 1:34:46 PM
 
Maria Coulson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/10/2006
mariacoulsonphotography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2006 8:37:55 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2006 8:37:55 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2006 8:37:55 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2006 8:37:55 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2006 8:37:55 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love it because it is small, light and easy to use. It has a lot of important features such as the telephoto lens (48X) that makes taking pictures a lot of fun. Used to have a Nikon, does not compare.
1/12/2006 8:37:55 PM
 
Lucy Arrington 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2006 9:28:08 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2006 9:28:08 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2006 9:28:08 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2006 9:28:08 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2006 9:28:08 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
LOVE the lens. Lightweight, easy to handle. The 12x optical zoom and the anti-shake feature are great. Very clear intuitive menus and settings. It's not a digital SLR, but it might be the next best thing... And it's very light. Only problem is it is a bit bulky for a non-SLR digital camera, but that's because of the 12x zoom.
1/11/2006 9:28:08 AM
 
Robin Brown 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2006 10:46:36 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2006 10:46:36 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2006 10:46:36 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2006 10:46:36 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2006 10:46:36 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
i like it's size, weight, and 12x optical zoom. i don't like how the screen goes black in lowlight shooting.
1/10/2006 10:46:36 AM
 
Sharon Kennedy 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/23/2005 9:51:12 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/23/2005 9:51:12 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/23/2005 9:51:12 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/23/2005 9:51:12 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/23/2005 9:51:12 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I've only had this camera for a couple of months, and any faults are usually mine in not doing the correct thing! Great camera, I would however, recommend any potential buyers of this unit get an extra battery, as it only lasts for about 3 hours before needing recharge. Great easy-use camera, great macro function, video is crystal clear too. Two thumbs up.
12/23/2005 9:51:12 PM
 
Andrew J. Bailey
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/12/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 7:30:36 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 7:30:36 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 7:30:36 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 7:30:36 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 7:30:36 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love my camera. Pros 12x zoom, high image quality, burst mode. Cons, no flash shoe
12/12/2005 7:30:36 PM
 
Marilyn Flanagan
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/30/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2005 4:36:52 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2005 4:36:52 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2005 4:36:52 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2005 4:36:52 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2005 4:36:52 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
The Panasonic FZ-5 is a step up from a Sony Mavica FD. I enjoy the ease of use and the beautiful pictures which can be enlarged.
12/7/2005 4:36:52 AM
 
Mary Conner 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/17/2005 7:30:07 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/17/2005 7:30:07 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/17/2005 7:30:07 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/17/2005 7:30:07 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/17/2005 7:30:07 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
The reason I am rating this camera a 4 is becuz it is new and I'm not as familiar w/it as I should be to rate it fairly. It's definately a 4 or 5 re 3/4 days of shooting w/it. Details to follow but I can already see that this Leica lens is up to par.
11/17/2005 7:30:07 PM
 
Helena Ford 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/17/2005 5:16:27 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/17/2005 5:16:27 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/17/2005 5:16:27 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/17/2005 5:16:27 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/17/2005 5:16:27 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I like this camera bacause it is small enough to fit in my purse. I did not like it because it did not have a hotshoe for a flash - that is why I upgrade to a FZ20.
11/17/2005 5:16:27 AM
 
Tiago Almeida 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/31/2005 8:32:47 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/31/2005 8:32:47 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/31/2005 8:32:47 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/31/2005 8:32:47 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/31/2005 8:32:47 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The best for the price. Incredible 12x optical zoom
10/31/2005 8:32:47 AM
 
Bhaskar Bhattacharyya 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2005 11:49:45 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2005 11:49:45 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2005 11:49:45 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2005 11:49:45 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2005 11:49:45 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Excellent contrast and full of details. Poor at low light situation with full of grain. Flash distance is insufficient to handle the situation.
10/27/2005 11:49:45 AM
 
Sarah J. Fowler
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/27/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2005 11:24:55 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2005 11:24:55 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2005 11:24:55 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2005 11:24:55 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2005 11:24:55 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I really love this camera-the focus and sharpness of the pictures is just amazing. It's pretty easy to use, but I am an amatuer photographer, and this camera has a lot of bells and whistles that I still don't understand. The zoom is great on it, and that was one of the main things that I was going for, but for someone who just wants to point and shoot, this is probably not the camera for you.
10/27/2005 11:24:55 AM
 
Tania Bounader
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/19/2005
Contact Tania
Tania's Gallery
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2005 6:05:11 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2005 6:05:11 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2005 6:05:11 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2005 6:05:11 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2005 6:05:11 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I recently purchased it so I am still not familiar with all its options. However I love the 12X zoom and the image stabilizer. It is also light and compact.
10/22/2005 6:05:11 PM
 

BetterPhoto Member
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2005 1:52:31 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2005 1:52:31 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2005 1:52:31 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2005 1:52:31 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2005 1:52:31 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This my first camera that does more than point and shoot. I absolutely love it. The picture quality is crystal clear, the camera feels great, is the perfect size for me and is not too heavy, the controls are easy to learn and use and it's fast and reasonably good on battery life. Only two things that might be worth noting a) the case feels a little plastic-y, b) it sometimes has a little trouble auto-focusing in difficult light conditions. It was recommended to me by a work colleague who loves his, and I am 100% happy with it also. I think it's a great choice if you want to move away from auto-everything, and the 12x optical zoom is fantastic fun.
10/18/2005 1:52:31 PM
 
Jo Harvey 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/11/2005 7:39:59 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/11/2005 7:39:59 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/11/2005 7:39:59 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/11/2005 7:39:59 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/11/2005 7:39:59 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This camera is so easy to use to get great photos.Even the most unexperienced photographer get take great photos.
10/11/2005 7:39:59 PM
 
Marsha Surles 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/10/2005 12:18:51 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/10/2005 12:18:51 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/10/2005 12:18:51 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/10/2005 12:18:51 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/10/2005 12:18:51 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
5 MEGAPIXEL, 12x Optical zoom, 4x digital zoom. This is a new camera for me, and I love all the different features it has available. I am just learning how to use most of the features, but the first set of vacation pictures I got back were the best I've ever taken. I'm looking forward to learning more about the manual settings.
10/10/2005 12:18:51 PM
 
Paula D. 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2005 2:56:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2005 2:56:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2005 2:56:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2005 2:56:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2005 2:56:18 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Excellent 5 meg that offers 12x zoom, image stabilization, superb picture quality & super lightweight design.
10/2/2005 2:56:18 PM
 
Paula D. 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2005 2:46:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2005 2:46:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2005 2:46:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2005 2:46:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2005 2:46:11 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great 5 megapixel camera if you want close to SLR results without paying the SLR price. Excellent 12x zoom capabilty, image stabalization and image quality. Small & lightweight as well.
10/2/2005 2:46:11 PM
 
Hamid-Reza Habibi 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2005 7:39:20 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2005 7:39:20 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2005 7:39:20 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2005 7:39:20 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2005 7:39:20 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
It is to my knowledge the best buy on the market & the lens is from LEICA. I wish it also had a shoe flash.
9/5/2005 7:39:20 AM
 
Merle A. Bercow 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/31/2005 6:05:40 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/31/2005 6:05:40 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/31/2005 6:05:40 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/31/2005 6:05:40 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/31/2005 6:05:40 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is a 5 MP camera that has a 12x optical zoom and image stabilization. It is small and light and makes a perfect "carry around" camera. There is no ability to focus manually, however, it takes good pictures under many conditions. For me it is the perfect addition to my Digital Rebel for the times I don't want to carry a large camera, lenses, etc.
8/31/2005 6:05:40 PM
 
Merle A. Bercow 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2005 6:11:13 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2005 6:11:13 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2005 6:11:13 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2005 6:11:13 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2005 6:11:13 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is a 5 MP camera. I love it's ability to get a 12x optical zoom and the image stabilizer works well. It is the perfect "carry around" camera as it very light and requires no external lenses. What I wish for in this camera is the ability to do wider angles and manual focus. But since this camera is in addition to my Digital Rebel it is perfect for times that I don't want to be carrying a whole camera case with lenses, etc.
8/30/2005 6:11:13 PM
 
Rocky Funk
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/8/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2005 7:56:00 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2005 7:56:00 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2005 7:56:00 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2005 7:56:00 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2005 7:56:00 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Awesome long zoom. Light weight. Fast great lens.
8/29/2005 7:56:00 AM
 
Md Ezwan Bin Md Emary 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/25/2005 4:48:43 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/25/2005 4:48:43 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/25/2005 4:48:43 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/25/2005 4:48:43 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/25/2005 4:48:43 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This is my second camera and i love it so much. It's small and not that heavy plus with 5MP sensor with leica lens and image stabiliser plus the 432mm focal length it's almost perfect for a small prosumer camera. Luv it!! when you buy a prosumer camera don't expect it to be as close as DSLR. It cost me cheaper than half the price or Nikon D50.
8/25/2005 4:48:43 PM
 
Meg Voyzey
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/8/2005
Contact Meg
Meg's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2005 4:22:52 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2005 4:22:52 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2005 4:22:52 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2005 4:22:52 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2005 4:22:52 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I'm new to photography and think this camera is very nice. I haven't explored all of it's capabilities yet. So far I'm very, very pleased with the quality of the photos.
8/15/2005 4:22:52 PM
 
Thomas E. Fitzgerald
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/2/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/2/2005 9:46:11 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/2/2005 9:46:11 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/2/2005 9:46:11 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/2/2005 9:46:11 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/2/2005 9:46:11 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
awesome camera unless you like manual focus and some other neat options then I say go with the big daddy to this camera and get the FZ20. I have not been disappointed by a single performance by this camera, although I am only novice, I think even some experienced photographers could be impressed by this one.
8/2/2005 9:46:11 AM
 
Chad A. Eastin 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/1/2005 8:17:25 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/1/2005 8:17:25 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/1/2005 8:17:25 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/1/2005 8:17:25 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/1/2005 8:17:25 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is a wonderful cammera for the amature nature photographer. It has a 12x optical zoom and comes with a lens hood included. It is a light weight and fairly compact cammera. I am very pleased with the photo quality produced by the Leica optics. It is a bit slow focussing in low light but that is the worst thing that I have come accros with this cammera.
8/1/2005 8:17:25 PM
 
Pamela K. Tower 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/31/2005 9:11:55 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/31/2005 9:11:55 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/31/2005 9:11:55 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/31/2005 9:11:55 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/31/2005 9:11:55 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I bought for the size to use on vacation . It is small and has 12X optical zoom and 5 megapixel. It works well for the price and size. I notice some problems with focusing.
7/31/2005 9:11:55 AM
 
Tina Schmitt
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/2/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/30/2005 5:15:00 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/30/2005 5:15:00 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/30/2005 5:15:00 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/30/2005 5:15:00 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/30/2005 5:15:00 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Its a wonderful camera for what I wanted at this time. Small & compact with lots of options, a big lens & image stabilization. The long end of the zoom loses details but that is to be expected.
7/30/2005 5:15:00 AM
 
Tina Schmitt
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/2/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/30/2005 5:14:59 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/30/2005 5:14:59 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/30/2005 5:14:59 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/30/2005 5:14:59 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/30/2005 5:14:59 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Its a wonderful camera for what I wanted at this time. Small & compact with lots of options, a big lens & image stabilization. The long end of the zoom loses details but that is to be expected.
7/30/2005 5:14:59 AM
 
Wendy S. Riehle 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/20/2005 2:52:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/20/2005 2:52:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/20/2005 2:52:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/20/2005 2:52:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/20/2005 2:52:19 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Hey, Im just a novice, but this camera is great!!
7/20/2005 2:52:19 PM
 
Yeo Thomas 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2005 10:41:09 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2005 10:41:09 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2005 10:41:09 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2005 10:41:09 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2005 10:41:09 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Sharp, clear pictures because of anti shake feature. Colour rendition good and ease of use with many features.
7/6/2005 10:41:09 PM
 
Yeo Thomas 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2005 10:41:07 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2005 10:41:07 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2005 10:41:07 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2005 10:41:07 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2005 10:41:07 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Sharp, clear pictures because of anti shake feature. Colour rendition good and ease of use with many features.
7/6/2005 10:41:07 PM
 
Karin  M. Ulik 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2005 5:58:52 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2005 5:58:52 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2005 5:58:52 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2005 5:58:52 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2005 5:58:52 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This camera is intuitive & very lightweight, though tends to be noisy in certain settings.
6/30/2005 5:58:52 AM
 
Katrina M. Scheidler
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/2/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2005 11:47:57 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2005 11:47:57 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2005 11:47:57 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2005 11:47:57 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2005 11:47:57 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
THIS IS A GREAT CAMERA ITS NEW HAS 12X GREAT SETTINGS ITS A MUST HAVE, I LOVE IT.
6/1/2005 11:47:57 AM
 
Philip J. Reyes 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2005 10:26:28 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2005 10:26:28 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2005 10:26:28 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2005 10:26:28 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2005 10:26:28 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
see CMC-FZ20 big brother version. This camara is much smaller with almost the same features as the Z20ver. A pleasure to carry around all the time with a tremendous range for capturing a image under MOST situations.
5/31/2005 10:26:28 AM
 
Philip J. Reyes 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2005 10:19:17 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2005 10:19:17 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2005 10:19:17 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2005 10:19:17 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2005 10:19:17 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Not an slr but an amazingly small 5 megapix with 12x Optical Image Stabilization. A sweet little camera to carry with you everywhere you go to cover all the photo possibilities out there.
5/31/2005 10:19:17 AM
 

53 Reviews  

Buy Lumix DMC-FZ5 Digital Camera from Amazon.com