Optio 50 Digital Camera


Pentax

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital Point and Shoot Cameras

Univeristy St, Mo...
View photos created with this camera

The Optio 50 Digital Camera

Features:

  • Stores images on SD memory cards; includes 16MB of internal memory
  • 5 MP CCD captures enough detail for photo-quality 13 x 17-inch prints
  • 1.8-inch LCD display
  • 1.8-inch LCD display
  • Features manual exposure settings plus aperture and shutter priority modes
  • Powered by one Lithium battery or two AA-size batteries



© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


5 Reviews  

Average Rating: 3 out of 5

3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Kim S. Hite
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/23/2003
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2006 8:45:07 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2006 8:45:07 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2006 8:45:07 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2006 8:45:07 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2006 8:45:07 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I wanted a small, inexpensive camera to fit in my pocket while snowmobiling. For that reason it is great. It takes great pictures in bright light outdoors and I have managed to capture several action shots with it. I am not happy using it indoors or with the lens zoomed out. For important pictures I would not recommend this camera.
8/28/2006 8:45:07 PM
 
Valentin Sprinceana
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/16/2005
0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/20/2006 1:01:46 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/20/2006 1:01:46 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/20/2006 1:01:46 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/20/2006 1:01:46 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/20/2006 1:01:46 PM
Rating: 0 out of 5
This is the second review of the Optio 50, after 10 months of use. I had to repair it 6 months ago for the first time, as the Auto Bracketing feature didn't work in bright light (outdoors); the technician said he had to reload the software into the chip. Recently though another problem: the LCD display won't turn on when you start up the camera and the pictures are black (as the display shows); in order to get out of that I have to take a few (black) shots and it recovers. After a few days from that, the pictures taken are having intermitent hosrizontal stripes, which ruin the photo. Look at the picture I posted recently. My latest conclusion, this product should not be on the market, in any price range, as it doesn't meet the minimum requirements of reliable operation. I want my money back.
1/20/2006 1:01:46 PM
 
Anthony Emery 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2005 11:54:05 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2005 11:54:05 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2005 11:54:05 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2005 11:54:05 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2005 11:54:05 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
it is a small camera, but it is packed with great easy to use features. i like the wide angle lense and ease of use.i do own a 35mm canon 1000 eos.and hope to get the canon 350 d one day.
10/2/2005 11:54:05 AM
 
al armiger
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/18/2004
alarmigerphoto.com
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2005 3:21:47 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2005 3:21:47 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2005 3:21:47 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2005 3:21:47 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2005 3:21:47 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I was looking for pocket portability combined with max mega pixels max optical zoom and ideally max size LCD viewer. This was the best option at the time of purchase. The camera has proven itself in reproducing captured scenes beautifully. However the let downs are not just specific to this camera I am sure, but I do find the processing time between pressing the shutter release and the photo actually being taken makes it practically impossible to neither capture action at a precise moment nor be able to successfully pan. Also LCD viewfinders are totally useless in full sun unless one resorts to a hood of sorts and unfortunately using the traditional viewfinder is not accurate especially when zooming.
7/14/2005 3:21:47 AM
 
Valentin Sprinceana
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/16/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/26/2005 6:50:31 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/26/2005 6:50:31 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/26/2005 6:50:31 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/26/2005 6:50:31 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/26/2005 6:50:31 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Just have a look at the photos I took with this little jewel. Simple to use, bright colours, sparkling detail.. all for $270CDN ($200US). Optio 50 can compete in a much higher league.
5/26/2005 6:50:31 PM
 

5 Reviews  

Buy Optio 50 Digital Camera from Amazon.com