BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


Brownie Hawkeye Camera


Kodak

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Other Film Cameras

Requiem for Mom a...
View photos created with this camera

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


7 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Windle Barnes

member since: 4/20/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
A blast from the past! These $3.00 were affordable and available. Thanks to the popularity they are still around. I used this is Australia in the Outback and was impressed by the quality of the photos. It is from the 50's and was made in England by Kodak Ltd. Grab one and shoot a few rolls. You may just find that the digital camera isn't the only way to take memorable photos.
4/20/2006 4:41:31 AM
 
Windle Barnes

member since: 4/20/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
A wonderful and simple box camera that gives amazing results. It was patented in 1918 and has provided a lot of nice photos. I purchased it NIB and it is in great shape. I have taken some nice pics in Australia with it as well as Yellowstone Natl Park. It demands attention from photography fans as well as camera enthusiasts. How can such a simple box provide such nice photos? MAGIC!
4/20/2006 4:37:46 AM
 
Windle Barnes

member since: 4/20/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Easy, great results, Fun Fun Fun!!!! accepts 120 film but needs a 620 takeup reel. Difficult to get pictures developed but the results are WOW!
4/20/2006 3:56:26 AM
 
Alexi Dagher
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 10/5/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I must say that the brownie hawkeye still does a good job and with a little creativity I can get the bulb function to take good unblurred pictures since there is no tripod hole on that camera ... strange .
3/11/2006 10:59:40 AM
 
Amelia Gail Perkins
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 6/19/2005
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2 out of 5
I use the Brownie for nostalgic images. It is the same camera my mother used to photograph myself and my 5 siblings. I shoot 120 film, print on matte warm tone paper, sepia tone and hand tint.
6/19/2005 12:40:20 PM
 
Judie K. Silbermann
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 6/9/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
My Kodak Brownie Camera was the very best ever and took great Black and White shots!!
6/10/2005 2:19:08 PM
 
Halvor Pedersen

member since: 5/25/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Extremely easy to use, takes OK pictures, very cute bakelite construction. A tip when using 120 film (not recommended by Kodak, this is a 620 camera) is removing the exposed film in a darkroom, as at least my camera wil gnaw away on the paper before and after the film area, wich basically means that the sides aren't completely lightproof. Sharp images are obtained when the subject is about 7 feet away. It is claimed that all subjects farther than about 7 feet away are sharp, but it doesn't have the best lens in the world, so consider something else for your quality shots. Fun camera to use, and a great conversational piece! (Girls tend to like it!)
5/25/2005 3:36:22 AM
 

7 Reviews  

Add your own review

Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.