ZX-5N (MZ-5N) 35mm SLR Camera


Pentax

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Auto Focus SLRs

Golden Gate Flyov...
View photos created with this camera

The ZX-5N (MZ-5N) 35mm SLR Camera

Features:

  • Autobracketing takes normal, under-, and over-exposed images
  • Viewfinder and easy-to-read LCD panel help keep track of the settings
  • 6-segment metering, center-weighted metering, and spot metering
  • Preview your image in any exposure mode with the electronic control mechanism
  • Lens not included

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


10 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Barbara Criddle
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/15/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2006 4:49:57 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2006 4:49:57 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2006 4:49:57 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2006 4:49:57 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2006 4:49:57 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This camera was my first SLR camera. I like it very much with the 75/300 zoom lens for taking pictures of animals in Africa. It is mostly automatic which is great because I'm a point and shoot photographer.
6/15/2006 4:49:57 PM
 
Liz Leyden
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/10/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/10/2006 11:37:16 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/10/2006 11:37:16 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/10/2006 11:37:16 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/10/2006 11:37:16 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/10/2006 11:37:16 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I like this camera and if/whenever I use film, I'll still be using it.
4/10/2006 11:37:16 AM
 
Mandy J. Cummins 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2005 4:24:46 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2005 4:24:46 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2005 4:24:46 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2005 4:24:46 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2005 4:24:46 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Likes: The layout of buttons/switches. Quality of pics. that it takes. Dislikes: Limited lenses/accessories compared to Nikon for example. I had a ZX-50 for years and sold it. I bought a semi-pro Pentax used, but I didn't have it long. It was too much camera for me. It was nice, but I really didn't need it. So, I didn't go pro nor did I go back to the ZX-50. The ZX-5n is very similar to the ZX-50 but with some extra features and overall improvements. It's what I was looking for at the right price.
3/2/2005 4:24:46 PM
 
Richard  4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2004 11:46:43 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2004 11:46:43 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2004 11:46:43 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2004 11:46:43 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2004 11:46:43 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The ZX-5n is a well-thought-out, well-constructed camera that should meet the needs of the middling to advanced amateur photographer. I particularly like the ergonomics of this camera--it's small, lightweight, and easy to hold. For those with larger hands, the optional battery pack should make it easier to handle. The controls are nicely laid out and instead of numerous menus to plow through they consist of two large dials that handle most of the camera's operations. I've found the autofocus to be pretty accurate, which can be important since my eyes aren't as young as they used to be. My only complaints are that the ZX-5n has no mirror lock-up and the autofocus will hunt in low light. However, these are minor quibbles and for those of you who shoot film, this camera comes highly recommended.
11/29/2004 11:46:43 AM
 
Tim Albers 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2004 11:11:19 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2004 11:11:19 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2004 11:11:19 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2004 11:11:19 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2004 11:11:19 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I love the general functionality of the camera, but I have never been satisfied with the sharpness of my lens. Higher quality lenses are, of course, well beyond my capacity to buy.
3/13/2004 11:11:19 AM
 
Amanda E. Radovic
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/16/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2004 5:03:27 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2004 5:03:27 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2004 5:03:27 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2004 5:03:27 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2004 5:03:27 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Good value for money at around $1000 Australian with a short telephoto. It has everything you need without all the unnecessary silly programs.The exposure memory lock, DOF preview button and autobracketing in half and full stop increments are smart inclusions to a camera that boasts date back, panarama adn most importantly apperture priority, shutter priority and full metered manual. It also has exposure compensation, built in smart flash and is compatable with all the pentax bayonet lenses. I use it with new AF lenses as well as some old manual lenses. The in focus audible beep is handy for manual focusing and the viewfinder info is comprehensive (although hard to read in bright conditions). The camera's biggest downfall is it's flash sync is only 100th but then it isn't a pro camera. It is lightweight and the dials don't move unless they are meant to which is a problem with some of the more programmable pentax's like the MZ60. It has 3 metering modes, multi matrix, spot and centre weighted. Older lenses only work with spot and centre weighted. All in all a fantastic little package.
3/7/2004 5:03:27 AM
 
Tami Walsh 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/4/2003 1:15:17 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/4/2003 1:15:17 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/4/2003 1:15:17 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/4/2003 1:15:17 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/4/2003 1:15:17 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
The camera takes better pictures with the Wolf Camera "Sigma" brand lenses on it. Although I set it to auto focus, I have had problems with blurriness to the pictures in the past. I also found that it was made like cr-p. Although I keep it in my large camera bag or the small compact bag for short trips out with the kids, somehow one of the top dials fell off.
12/4/2003 1:15:17 PM
 
Christopher M. Hutchings 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/20/2003 9:09:13 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/20/2003 9:09:13 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/20/2003 9:09:13 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/20/2003 9:09:13 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/20/2003 9:09:13 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I always have enjoy this camera. it gives me wonderful shots without being difficult to operate.
10/20/2003 9:09:13 AM
 
Barbara J. Bremigan
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/20/2002
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2003 6:49:08 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2003 6:49:08 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2003 6:49:08 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2003 6:49:08 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2003 6:49:08 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I have used this camera for several years, upgrading from the K1000. The like the in focus indicator. The exposure information can be hard to see in really bright situations. The automatic features can be really convenient, but I like that the camera can be operated manually.
7/19/2003 6:49:08 AM
 
Lyndel Reese 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have been a Pentax user for over 24 years now. I’ve used most all of the 35mm “M” bodies but not the MZ-S as of yet. This is by far the best Pentax 35mm yet. It has lots of features to help get the “Shot” you want. My 2 favorites are the spot meter & exposure lock button. With these little goodies if you understand exposure you can get it right every time.
Pentax isn’t considered a “Pro” 35mm camera by most. However Pentax has introduced more innovations over the years than the other “Pro” camera companies. Pentax optics are second to none. Across the board you get quality products at a better price than the competition. Weather its cameras & lenses; surveying lasers, telescope eyepieces, microscopes, or whatever in my experience you can’t go wrong with Pentax.
 

10 Reviews  

Buy ZX-5N (MZ-5N) 35mm SLR Camera from Amazon.com