Coolpix 7900 Digital Camera


Nikon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

Utah
View photos created with this camera

The Coolpix 7900 Digital Camera

Features:


  • Macro shooting as close as 1.6 inches
  • Powered by a Lithium-ion battery (included); stores images on SD
    memory cards
  • 7.1-megapixel CCD captures enough detail for for photo-quality
    11 x 15-inch prints
  • 3x optical zoom through a quality Zoom-Nikkor lens (zoom is
    equivalent to 35-105mm in a 35mm camera)
  • 2.0-inch LCD display; exclusive Nikon In-Camera Red-Eye Fix


© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 22 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Bo cook 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 2:16:27 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 2:16:27 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 2:16:27 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 2:16:27 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 2:16:27 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
its great
7/6/2006 2:16:27 PM
 
Lesley D. Wickham 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2006 12:11:10 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2006 12:11:10 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2006 12:11:10 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2006 12:11:10 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2006 12:11:10 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Can't tell much but it works great. It was dropped so i guess what I am taking a picture of.
6/15/2006 12:11:10 PM
 
David E. Estes 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2006 6:43:19 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2006 6:43:19 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2006 6:43:19 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2006 6:43:19 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2006 6:43:19 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The Nikon 7900 is a great little camera, but could do better in low light.It's my first digital camera.I pack in with a group of guys once a year into the mountains 25 miles on Horse back.I try to take alot of pictures on the ride in and need a camera that is easy to carry, takes good candid pictures off the back of a horse, and takes Quality pictures as well. I decided to go with a Nikon 7900 digital for a backup to my N70 Nikon 35mm. It worked great even on the back of a horse It takes great pictures and I ended up using it more than my 35MM. I took over 650 pictures on this years trip with the digital alone. Now I'm ready to add a digital SLR. still deciding and still using my N70 Nikon 35mm.
4/20/2006 6:43:19 PM
 
Lance Flitter 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2006 12:49:54 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2006 12:49:54 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2006 12:49:54 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2006 12:49:54 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2006 12:49:54 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Overall I like it a lot. I'm by far not an expert photographer but I'm trying to learn and I've found this to be an excellent camera for that purpose. Can do just about everything automatically and usually provides good results. Many "wizard" / pre-set scene type features to help you along. Just leaves you to worry about composition. If you want to mess with settings directly it provides the ability to do so for many settings.
4/17/2006 12:49:54 PM
 
Diana D. Bingham 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2006 6:56:42 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2006 6:56:42 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2006 6:56:42 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2006 6:56:42 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2006 6:56:42 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Reasonably priced camera complete with 7.1 Megapixels. Ability to see incredible detail in every picture. Flash sometimes makes pictures blue - haven't figure out how to avoid this problem yet. Shutter automatically stays open longer in dim light making photo blurry.
4/15/2006 6:56:42 PM
 
Tara Golden 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2006 10:07:48 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2006 10:07:48 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2006 10:07:48 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2006 10:07:48 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2006 10:07:48 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Love it for outdoor pictures. For indoor pictures, there is a long delay in the flash.
3/16/2006 10:07:48 AM
 
Stephanie C. Meldgaard 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2006 12:46:32 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2006 12:46:32 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2006 12:46:32 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2006 12:46:32 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2006 12:46:32 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I couldn't be happier with my 7900. Though as mentioned by another member, I do have troubles with indoor shots and delay.
3/1/2006 12:46:32 PM
 
Betty Ann Kelly
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/5/2006
Contact Betty Ann
Betty Ann's Gallery
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/5/2006 7:34:37 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/5/2006 7:34:37 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/5/2006 7:34:37 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/5/2006 7:34:37 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/5/2006 7:34:37 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I love the compact size of this camera and the exceptional quality of the pictures it takes. I am still struggling with the delay factor when taking indoor pictures.
2/5/2006 7:34:37 AM
 
Teri Soares
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/2/2005
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/22/2005 12:13:56 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/22/2005 12:13:56 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/22/2005 12:13:56 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/22/2005 12:13:56 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/22/2005 12:13:56 PM
Rating: 2 out of 5
For some reason, as small as this camera is, it's nearly impossible to take a clear (no camera shake) in anything other than strong sunlight. It has image stabilization in movie mode, but not in normal image capture mode. Seems silly to me, but that's how Nikon put it together. When the images do come out clear, they very colorful and have good resolution at 7 megapixels.
12/22/2005 12:13:56 PM
 
David B. Vasta 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/21/2005 10:10:45 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/21/2005 10:10:45 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/21/2005 10:10:45 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/21/2005 10:10:45 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/21/2005 10:10:45 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This is the all around take everywhere camrea when you don't want to lug the big stuff. Love the size and hate the flash.
12/21/2005 10:10:45 AM
 
Ken Balaz 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/18/2005 1:00:32 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/18/2005 1:00:32 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/18/2005 1:00:32 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/18/2005 1:00:32 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/18/2005 1:00:32 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
For a point and shoot, it takes amazing pictures. could be a bit sharper, nothing a small amount of unsharp mask can't help with. Simple to use, very accurate color reproduction. Great battery life as well.
11/18/2005 1:00:32 PM
 

First 10 of 22 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Buy Coolpix 7900 Digital Camera from Amazon.com