BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


Optio S50 Digital Camera


Pentax

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital Point and Shoot Cameras

Flying High
View photos created with this camera

The Optio S50 Digital Camera

Features:


  • Powered by CR-V3 or 2 AA batteries, about 420 shots on single
    charge
  • 5-megapixel sensor captures enough detail for photo-quality 13 x
    17-inch prints
  • 3x optical zoom, 2.6x digital zoom
  • 1.8-inch LCD monitor
  • Store images on 11 MB internal memory or SD card slot

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 12 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Kathy D. Ray

member since: 8/13/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love the portability of this little camera. It is easy to operate, takes great pictures, and has AA batteries.
8/13/2006 9:14:29 PM
 
Pat Barrett

member since: 5/28/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I am speechless... I love this camera so much. Are curious about WHY I love it? Just look at my photo gallery.
6/24/2006 5:52:19 PM
 
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2 out of 5
A very good starter digital camera... reliable, intuitive, compact, good screen and options. However, I'm ready for something better now.
3/30/2006 5:33:40 PM
 
Michele Jarvis
Contact Michele
Michele's Gallery

member since: 3/17/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I love the portability of the camera and the fact that it takes AA batteries which is great when traveling to foreign countries and you don't have to carry a battery recharger with you. Since it doesn't have direct shutter or aperture control I have learned how to do this with changing the AWB, ISO and mode/category of pic to get better results. I love the underwater housing that goes with it for fun under the water. Underwater you can add/exchange out Sea & Sea lenses. The downsides are the lack of easy aperture and shutter control along with the optical zoom being only 3x.
3/17/2006 9:17:35 AM
 
Kim S. Hite
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 2/23/2003
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I wanted a small, economical, pocket size digital camera to take along primarily on snowmobile trips that would take decent pictures. For the price this is a great camera.
2/12/2006 8:39:36 PM
 
Jassodra Ramlokhan

member since: 1/19/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
MY CAMERA IS AMAZING. I LOVE IT.
1/19/2006 4:00:05 AM
 
Julia  Everett

member since: 7/14/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
My Digital Camera takes the best pictures and videos I have ever seen with any other cameras I have owned!!
7/23/2005 9:50:37 PM
 
Robert B. Richards

member since: 7/2/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I purchased this camera for my wife to use at family functions last year. I ran out of film for my 35mm SLR at a critical time so on a lark tried the digital on some cactus flowers. I was amazed. The quality of closeups with this little camera that can fit in my shirt pocket is terrific. I am now a believer in digital photography.
7/2/2005 11:45:25 AM
 
Kate B. Melcher

member since: 6/22/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Great to travel with. Compact, like many. Provides great clarity. Easy to use.
6/22/2005 5:57:37 PM
 
Andrew Payton

member since: 6/21/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Very high quality, big bang for the buck. Many features found only in more expensive cameras. Paid $450.
6/21/2005 5:25:19 PM
 
Valentin Sprinceana
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 5/16/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This review is for the Pentax Optio50 digicam, which is a very easy to use camera. It has manual controls, but my experience tought me to leave it mostly on the "Simple" mode and the internal computer will adjust it properly for you, in the most situations, especially at the parties, in low light environment. I tested it for close-ups too and it made great photos, with outstanding detail.
For the movie mode, make sure you get enough light, as there is no flash during video recording (that's the only reason it didn't get a full 5 stars).
Thinking about AA batteries, SD memory, 5 Megapixels, x3 optical zoom, with 32 to 96 mm focal length (making it fairly good for group photos in small places), possibility of - 2.0 to +2.0 manual exposure adjustment, possibility to take 3 photos in a row at 3 different EV values with only one shutter click, allowing you to choose which one you like the most(!) and you have a great value for the $200US you pay !
I am very satisfied with Optio50 and recommend it 100%.
5/26/2005 12:57:27 PM
 

First 10 of 12 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Add your own review

Buy Optio S50 Digital Camera from Amazon.com


Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.