BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


Cyber-shot DSC-W5 (W15) Digital Camera


Sony

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital Point and Shoot Cameras

evening ISO3200 d...
View photos created with this camera

The Cyber-shot DSC-W5 (W15) Digital Camera

Features:


  • 5-area multi-point autofocus and AF Illuminator; captures VGA
    video with sound, with length limited only by the size of the memory card
  • Powered by AA-size batteries; records images on Memory Stick and
    Memory Stick PRO media
  • 5.1 MP CCD captures enough detail for photo-quality 13 x 17-inch
    prints
  • 3x optical zoom; 2.5-inch extra-large display
  • Features Carl Zeiss Vario-Tessar lens specially designed for
    digital cameras

Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


25 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Kevin T. Carveth

member since: 5/28/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
I like this camera a lot... takes really sharp pics for a 5 megapixel, although i am unhappy with the flash timing consistency with motion shots.. but im still learning
6/6/2006 11:56:21 PM
 
Angie M. Mann
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 5/30/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
This camera is a great camera for a person like me. It was my first camera and couldn't have been better. It may not have all the great aspects a camera should for a photographer, but its a good starter camera. I'm not too fond of the flash or not having manual focus.
5/30/2006 2:33:54 PM
 
Venkatesan Perumal

member since: 5/27/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
One of the best products developed by Sony for advanced amateurs. Thanks Sony.
5/27/2006 4:51:36 AM
 
Laur Dumbrava

member since: 5/13/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Is a good camera, makes beautiful pictures. The macro distance, i think is tu big.
5/20/2006 1:08:35 AM
 
Jason Romans

member since: 5/18/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Takes a while to figure out some of the settings and the manual offers little help. However when you do, the camera becomes your best friend. Internal memory is low, only 32 Megabytes. So I would recommend a 512 Megabyte or higher memory chip upgrade. I before the 1 Gigabyte chip instead though, it allows over 1500 images to be taken or 1 hour and 45 minutes of video, mix and match as you wish. Large viewable screen as well. Comes with rechargeable batteries and a recharger, however the batteries only last through about 50 images. Recommend using higher quality batteries. Rayovac Maximum Plus have worked great, although not rechargeable, I can use up most of the memory before having to change batteries.
5/18/2006 8:38:56 AM
 
Erin Mongrain

member since: 4/20/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I really love it as I'm just starting to take alot of pics. It's small, durable and easy to use. I'm amazed at the quality that I get from it. Although, in the future. I would like to get something with a better zoom.
4/20/2006 3:29:57 PM
 
Panainte Alina

member since: 4/4/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
wonderful little amateur's jewl
4/4/2006 10:15:30 AM
 
Panainte Alina

member since: 4/4/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
wonderful little amateur jewl
4/4/2006 10:15:10 AM
 
Petruta Vieru

member since: 11/11/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I like it very much, an amateur can do neat photos with it.
2/28/2006 11:03:27 AM
 
Julie  Lee

member since: 2/18/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Overall~ good camera for the money. Alot of pictures come out bluury though.
2/18/2006 3:48:26 PM
 
JOHN D. BELL

member since: 1/30/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
GOOD CAMERA. VERY SINSITIVE TO MOTION. WILL BLUR PICS EVERY NOW AND THEN. OTHER THAN THAT, A GREAT CAMERA FOR THE MONEY.
1/30/2006 12:08:03 PM
 
Ryan Young

member since: 1/27/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Very Good quality camera. great color and clarity. not great zoom
1/27/2006 4:38:57 PM
 
Stephanie Grish

member since: 1/14/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love my camera. It is an easy point and shoot camera with great resolution. It has 5.1 megapixels and is easy to use. My camera has video also.
1/14/2006 7:31:46 PM
 
Gregory H. Mandel

member since: 1/11/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Just starting digital photography, I have much to learn so far, very pleased
1/14/2006 10:57:21 AM
 
Mashhood Ahmed Sheikh

member since: 1/8/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
best camera in its price !!! some kodak models do come near it ..but none other then those !
if one has to go one step up from this one he /she should get h1 by sony as well .. !
this camera has five faults ..
one you cant be free in deciding the aperture in manual settings ..(dependent on zoom)
second video doesnt has manual focus option ..so camera keeps focusing like a dumb idiot in making a video.
and thirdly it lacks optical zoom power ..(but that can be compensated with extra lenses)
fourthly .. the aperture limmits is between 2 and 10 ..and thats not enough .. !!
fifthly ..the extra assecories are really expensive.
apart from all above ..itssmall ..compact ..packed with lot of powers .. and semi professional so quite good in its size design and price !
1/8/2006 10:34:30 PM
 
Christine P. W
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 12/30/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I'm a real Sony fan, and have used two Sony cybershot cameras now and have taken some really nice pictures with both. I like it's clarity, and some of the functions on it, however I don't like the problem of not being able to turn the flash off and take a still photograph without some blur in it.
12/30/2005 11:14:30 AM
 
Rahul Shah

member since: 10/12/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Its a neat digital camera..semi automatic..great color repoduction
10/12/2005 10:06:01 AM
 
Amber Ferguson
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 1/9/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I just bought this camera today. I didnt really need it because I already have many other cameras, but I got it for a really good deal. From what I can tell, it seems like a good camera, but soon we will see. I love how it has the 2.5" monitor. I have a Sony P-73, and the screen is so small. Thats already a plus in my book.
10/9/2005 1:54:57 PM
 
Eric H. Mose

member since: 9/14/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great, easy to use, sharp. Carl Zeiss Vario-Tessar lens.I take it everywhere.
9/20/2005 6:55:58 PM
 
Tiffany Stevens

member since: 9/20/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
My first camera. What I like about it is that it takes the picture exactly how i want it taken. My only complaint is that the zoom doesn't do the view justice.
9/20/2005 10:07:14 AM
 
Adam  Bales

member since: 9/13/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
First digital camera and so far its been nothing but great!
9/13/2005 11:40:26 AM
 
Cathy Powell
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 9/2/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I LOVE this camera. For an inexpensive, point and shoot, it offers a lot of features and provides EXCELLENT photos that rarely need any touching up. I purchased this model because of the threaded lens which makes it possible to buy telephoto and wide angle lenses and filters. It is small enough to carry in my purse and I take it with me everywhere.
9/2/2005 4:36:00 AM
 
Tasha Treadwell
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 3/24/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great Image quality and easy to use.
6/23/2005 3:01:39 PM
 
Matt Lillig

member since: 5/26/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
My first digital camera and really enjoy it's capabilities for the price. Not happy with shutter speed, how still you have to hold it to avoid blurriness, and pictures taken at a distance.
5/26/2005 2:26:34 PM
 
Tim J. Ruggles

member since: 5/12/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Still trying to learn how to use it
5/12/2005 10:01:06 PM
 

25 Reviews  

Add your own review

Buy Cyber-shot DSC-W5 (W15) Digital Camera from Amazon.com


Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.