Cyber-shot DSC-W5 (W15) Digital Camera


Sony

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital Point and Shoot Cameras

evening ISO3200 d...
View photos created with this camera

The Cyber-shot DSC-W5 (W15) Digital Camera

Features:


  • 5-area multi-point autofocus and AF Illuminator; captures VGA
    video with sound, with length limited only by the size of the memory card
  • Powered by AA-size batteries; records images on Memory Stick and
    Memory Stick PRO media
  • 5.1 MP CCD captures enough detail for photo-quality 13 x 17-inch
    prints
  • 3x optical zoom; 2.5-inch extra-large display
  • Features Carl Zeiss Vario-Tessar lens specially designed for
    digital cameras

Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 25 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Kevin T. Carveth 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/6/2006 11:56:21 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/6/2006 11:56:21 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/6/2006 11:56:21 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/6/2006 11:56:21 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/6/2006 11:56:21 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I like this camera a lot... takes really sharp pics for a 5 megapixel, although i am unhappy with the flash timing consistency with motion shots.. but im still learning
6/6/2006 11:56:21 PM
 
Angie M. Mann
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/30/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2006 2:33:54 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2006 2:33:54 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2006 2:33:54 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2006 2:33:54 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2006 2:33:54 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
This camera is a great camera for a person like me. It was my first camera and couldn't have been better. It may not have all the great aspects a camera should for a photographer, but its a good starter camera. I'm not too fond of the flash or not having manual focus.
5/30/2006 2:33:54 PM
 
Venkatesan Perumal 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/27/2006 4:51:36 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/27/2006 4:51:36 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/27/2006 4:51:36 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/27/2006 4:51:36 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/27/2006 4:51:36 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
One of the best products developed by Sony for advanced amateurs. Thanks Sony.
5/27/2006 4:51:36 AM
 
Laur Dumbrava 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/20/2006 1:08:35 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/20/2006 1:08:35 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/20/2006 1:08:35 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/20/2006 1:08:35 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/20/2006 1:08:35 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Is a good camera, makes beautiful pictures. The macro distance, i think is tu big.
5/20/2006 1:08:35 AM
 
Jason Romans 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2006 8:38:56 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2006 8:38:56 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2006 8:38:56 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2006 8:38:56 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2006 8:38:56 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Takes a while to figure out some of the settings and the manual offers little help. However when you do, the camera becomes your best friend. Internal memory is low, only 32 Megabytes. So I would recommend a 512 Megabyte or higher memory chip upgrade. I before the 1 Gigabyte chip instead though, it allows over 1500 images to be taken or 1 hour and 45 minutes of video, mix and match as you wish. Large viewable screen as well. Comes with rechargeable batteries and a recharger, however the batteries only last through about 50 images. Recommend using higher quality batteries. Rayovac Maximum Plus have worked great, although not rechargeable, I can use up most of the memory before having to change batteries.
5/18/2006 8:38:56 AM
 
Erin Mongrain 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2006 3:29:57 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2006 3:29:57 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2006 3:29:57 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2006 3:29:57 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2006 3:29:57 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I really love it as I'm just starting to take alot of pics. It's small, durable and easy to use. I'm amazed at the quality that I get from it. Although, in the future. I would like to get something with a better zoom.
4/20/2006 3:29:57 PM
 
Panainte Alina 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2006 10:15:30 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2006 10:15:30 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2006 10:15:30 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2006 10:15:30 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2006 10:15:30 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
wonderful little amateur's jewl
4/4/2006 10:15:30 AM
 
Panainte Alina 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2006 10:15:10 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2006 10:15:10 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2006 10:15:10 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2006 10:15:10 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2006 10:15:10 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
wonderful little amateur jewl
4/4/2006 10:15:10 AM
 
Petruta Vieru 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2006 11:03:27 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2006 11:03:27 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2006 11:03:27 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2006 11:03:27 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2006 11:03:27 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I like it very much, an amateur can do neat photos with it.
2/28/2006 11:03:27 AM
 
Julie  Lee 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/18/2006 3:48:26 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/18/2006 3:48:26 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/18/2006 3:48:26 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/18/2006 3:48:26 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/18/2006 3:48:26 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Overall~ good camera for the money. Alot of pictures come out bluury though.
2/18/2006 3:48:26 PM
 
JOHN D. BELL 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2006 12:08:03 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2006 12:08:03 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2006 12:08:03 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2006 12:08:03 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2006 12:08:03 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
GOOD CAMERA. VERY SINSITIVE TO MOTION. WILL BLUR PICS EVERY NOW AND THEN. OTHER THAN THAT, A GREAT CAMERA FOR THE MONEY.
1/30/2006 12:08:03 PM
 

First 10 of 25 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Buy Cyber-shot DSC-W5 (W15) Digital Camera from Amazon.com