BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


Camedia D-510 Digital Camera


Olympus

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

Howe Sound
View photos created with this camera

The Camedia D-510 Digital Camera

Allows you to control aperture but not shutter speed.

  • 2.1 megapixel sensor creates 1600 x 1200 images for prints at sizes up to 8 x 10
  • 3x optical, 9x digital, zoom lens with autofocus
  • Included 8 MB SmartMedia memory card holds 16 images at default resolution
  • Connects with Macs and PCs via built in USB port


Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


22 Reviews  

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Connie D. Campbell

member since: 5/10/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
for a digital camera i have taken alot of very good picture.its fast and easy to use.and easy to print.
5/24/2006 6:55:28 AM
 
James Weimar

member since: 4/3/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Great pictures for a 2.1 mp camera.
4/3/2006 9:46:27 PM
 
Danny Taylor

member since: 5/27/2005
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2 out of 5
I think it lacks sharpness and contrast that I can get from my 35mm cameras but for a quick easy to carry with your kind of camera it is fine.
10/26/2005 7:20:59 PM
 
Jay E. Ohlmacher

member since: 8/21/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Great first time Point-n-shoot. Very rugged.
8/21/2005 6:45:43 AM
 
Eric Lobdell

member since: 8/12/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Now out-dated, this was my first camera. Lots of features for the price and class. Developed an annoying problem where it would shut off too easily if the door mechanism is touched. After missing a few shots due to this, I replaced it. Other than that, I was pleased with the performance and quality of photos.
8/12/2005 5:59:12 PM
 
Erickjohn B. Kunst
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 7/6/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Not good for quick shots but is small, compact and fits nicely in your camera bag with everything else.
7/10/2005 2:56:32 PM
 
KATHY SCRUGGS

member since: 6/18/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I have had it for four years; smart media cards are not easy to find but i have been using the same one for three years! (the biggest!) very easy ! I am a mac person and use iphoto all the time. the camera is great for me!
6/18/2005 8:45:01 AM
 
Janice M. Jones
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 6/14/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Since this is the first digital camera I have ever own naturally I am pleased with it. I have used it for a while and the only problem I have had with it is the front cover after some use, is harder to open but seems to close on it's own. Otherwise, I have gotten some rather wonderful photos with this camera!!
6/14/2005 4:25:53 PM
 
Diane  Walrath

member since: 5/3/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I've had mine 4 years. Satisfied with the picture.
5/5/2005 8:39:26 AM
 
Diane  Walrath

member since: 5/3/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
My Olympus is easy to use and I never take a bad photo with it. I like it a lot.
5/5/2005 8:28:52 AM
 
David Laffitte

member since: 2/15/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
I've had mine 3 years. Satisfied with the pictures. Annoyed by having to reset any changes to default settings every time you open the camera. Last week it fell 18" onto a carpeted floor (in its leather case) and has more or less died. Too expensive to fix - cheaper to buy used on E-bay. Definitely recommend rechargeable batteries.
2/15/2005 7:09:35 PM
 
David Laffitte

member since: 2/15/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
I've had mine 3 years. Satisfied with the pictures. Annoyed by having to reset any changes to default settings every time you open the camera. Last week it fell 18" onto a carpeted floor (in its leather case) and has more or less died. Too expensive to fix - cheaper to buy used on E-bay. Definitely recommend rechargeable batteries.
2/15/2005 7:08:41 PM
 
Christopher J. Lorn

member since: 2/9/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
The benefits of the camera include friendly usage for any occasion. The setbacks appear when trying to zoom since it only goes to 32x. Overall, I recommend this camera for causal use.
2/9/2005 8:18:27 PM
 
Janice Jones

member since: 9/29/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Great little camera at a decent price. After continued use however, the cover has a tendency to wear out and automatically close on it's own while attempting to take a photograph. Downloading the photos is very easy and I like most of all the "lock" feature. Just lock the pictures you don't want deleted until it's time to download them. Easy to carry and easy enough for my son to use.
10/5/2004 4:54:09 AM
 
Beth A. Green

member since: 5/8/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Lovely pictures, easy to carry around
5/8/2004 11:54:01 AM
 
HEIDI L. PARRAS

member since: 4/19/2004
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2 out of 5
OK TAKES BLURRY PHOTOS
4/19/2004 1:10:41 PM
 
Kat Alexander

member since: 12/15/2003
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I've been extremely satisfied with this camera for the cost ($200). I love the ease of the clamshell design and it is small enough to carry with me. I am hoping someday to have a better digital camera of course, one at least 4megapixels and with a far far better flash.
12/15/2003 8:47:45 PM
 
James A. Hontz

member since: 11/7/2003
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I think it takes good pictures
11/7/2003 5:30:42 AM
 
Roxanne K. Shaw

member since: 11/2/2003
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
My firts digital camera. I am really happy with the clarity. Would like a better zoom. Definately would buy another Olympus.
11/2/2003 5:32:07 AM
 
Janice M. Jones

member since: 7/9/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I truly enjoy this camera and enjoy working with it. I am still learning it however, even my youngest son can take great photo's with it.
7/9/2003 3:23:59 PM
 
Lori L. Wolff

member since: 7/3/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Excellent quality pictures!
7/3/2003 9:31:53 AM
 
David S. Davis

member since: 12/17/2002
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Transferring pictures to computer is extremly difficult first time through. Took 2 tech savy people 2 days to figure out and still cannot transfer pictures using the software. Still have not figured out how to change the default settings on the camera. I would like to shoot in Super HQ and digital zoom on, but everytime the camera is turned off, I have to remember to reset to my preferences prior to using again.
6/19/2003 10:24:43 AM
 

22 Reviews  

Add your own review

Buy Camedia D-510 Digital Camera from Amazon.com


Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.