Coolpix 8400 Digital Camera


Nikon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

The First Wheel o...
View photos created with this camera

The Coolpix 8400 Digital Camera

Features:


  • Compact all-metal body provides a strong yet lightweight
    easy-to-carry camera
  • 8.0 effective megapixels for photo-quality prints beyond 20 x 30
    inches
  • 3.5x ultra-wide angle optical Zoom-Nikkor ED 24-85mm lens (35mm
    equivalent) for sharp, clear images
  • 15 Scene Modes automatically adjust controls for great pictures
    instantly
  • D-Lighting improves images shot with strong back lighting or
    insufficient flash

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


8 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
SHANE PHIL
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/19/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2006 4:30:22 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2006 4:30:22 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2006 4:30:22 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2006 4:30:22 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2006 4:30:22 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
It's a great camera. Especially for macro and landscape shots. A little slow on the functions, but a beautiful outdoor point and shoot camera. Indoor flash photography however does not seem to be part of its skills.
Well built and robust.
11/8/2006 4:30:22 AM
 
Susan M. Hembree
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/18/2006
Contact Susan
Susan's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/20/2006 6:33:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/20/2006 6:33:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/20/2006 6:33:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/20/2006 6:33:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/20/2006 6:33:56 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I got this camera at a good sale price last November and have been very pleased overall with the quality of shots that I get. It's easy to use once you have all concepts down. I have recently begun to experiment with the close-up setting and have been quite surprised at the sharpness and clarity of my photos. I would recommend this camera for anyone who would like the ease of a point and shoot to the qualities of a pro 35 mm.
7/20/2006 6:33:56 PM
 
mary e. sydlewski
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/27/2006
maija02.com
1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2006 5:49:35 AM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2006 5:49:35 AM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2006 5:49:35 AM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2006 5:49:35 AM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2006 5:49:35 AM
Rating: 1 out of 5
Its o.k. for a first digital. I have had it for years. Its scratched up and a little out of focus. Once in awhile i can still get a great photo from it though. This camera also has a lot of noise that has to be removed in editing programs. Its only a 2 megapixel as well. I did not know wnythign about megapixals when i purchased it.
6/28/2006 5:49:35 AM
 
Kelly E. Tuntland 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/22/2005 7:19:58 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/22/2005 7:19:58 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/22/2005 7:19:58 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/22/2005 7:19:58 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/22/2005 7:19:58 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great Camera the price is great and is has all of the feature that a mother with 3 kids would need for quick photos. or I can take my time and set up the photos to have more of a studio feel.
11/22/2005 7:19:58 AM
 
Kevin Burns 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2005 3:19:19 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2005 3:19:19 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2005 3:19:19 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2005 3:19:19 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2005 3:19:19 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Very good image quality, functions take some getting used to. The ultra wide angle lens is great, but also takes some getting used to.
Camera's body made of titanium and gives a solid feel, no cheesy plastic or heavy metal just a light camera!
The remote is easy to use and has a far range perfect for long shots.
11/12/2005 3:19:19 PM
 
Kevin Burns 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2005 3:16:49 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2005 3:16:49 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2005 3:16:49 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2005 3:16:49 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2005 3:16:49 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Very good image quality, functions take some getting used to. The ultra wide angle lens is great but also takes some getting used to but easy to use.
Camera's body made of titanium and gives a solid feel, no cheesy plastic or heavy metal just a light camera!
The remote is easy to use and has a far range perfect for long shots.
11/12/2005 3:16:49 PM
 
Marge Weiner 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/16/2005 6:45:29 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/16/2005 6:45:29 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/16/2005 6:45:29 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/16/2005 6:45:29 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/16/2005 6:45:29 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This camera replaced a Coolpix 5400, It was difficult to learn to use and fortunately for me I purchased it from a large camera store. They have helped me every step of the way.
7/16/2005 6:45:29 PM
 
Melissa DeMotte 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2005 11:41:47 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2005 11:41:47 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2005 11:41:47 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2005 11:41:47 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2005 11:41:47 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I just got it 4/30/05 and am starting to play with it. The macro ability is great, but I will probably add the 3x Teleconverter for increased focal length. I will update this review in a month or so.
5/1/2005 11:41:47 AM
 

8 Reviews  

Buy Coolpix 8400 Digital Camera from Amazon.com