BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


Camedia C-4040Z Digital Camera


Olympus

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

The Path
View photos created with this camera

The Camedia C-4040Z Digital Camera

Features:

  • 4.1-megapixel CCD sensor creates 2,272 x 1,704 images for prints at sizes up to 11 x 14, plus OIE Mode enlarges JPEG images up to 3,200 x 2,400 pixels
  • Super bright F/1.8 3x optical zoom lens (plus 2.5x digital zoom) with autofocus
  • Included 16 MB SmartMedia memory card holds 20 images at default resolution
  • Connects with Macs and PCs via included USB cable
  • Uses 2 CR-3V batteries, included, or 4 AA batteries, not included
  • Features QuickTime movie mode with audio recording

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


39 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Heather Dixon

member since: 6/15/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I have always been happy with my Olympus. The pictures are sharp, it is easy to use and with the Super Bright Zoom lens, low lighting situations aren't really a problem
6/15/2006 8:51:48 AM
 
Bojan Bencic
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Bojan
Bojan's Gallery

member since: 5/29/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Very good camera for industrial use. I use it for my work, and it delivers great shots.
4/30/2006 1:12:03 PM
 
Keith Berry

member since: 5/15/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I bought mine recently because I worried a bit about risking my C-5050 by taking it out into streets. The C-4040 was ridiculously cheap because it takes the almost extinct SM cards, but it is built to a very high standard, takes superb photos even in very low light thanks to its f1.8 lens. Can be operated by remote control too.
4/18/2006 4:47:08 PM
 
Josie Burns

member since: 2/2/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I'd love the camera, If I could get it to do what I want it to do. I need to be able to take photos in a theater. Focused photos would be a plus.
2/2/2005 8:19:08 AM
 
Karol Livote
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 1/27/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
It has a great zoom and is lightweight & durable.
1/28/2005 6:23:26 AM
 
Karol Livote
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 1/27/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
It has a great zoom and is lightweight & durable.
1/28/2005 6:22:51 AM
 
Fred Bourdelier

member since: 12/17/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Clear lens with good zoom range, crisp pictures (use 'high' save quality), and lots of image features. Autofocus is a bit slow. Builtin flash is adequate, and has a redeye reducer mode which works. With patience, very good daylight pictures can be made. The macro attachment provides good closeup range (6-12"), and the camera's optical zoom still works in macro mode. It's a bit cumbersome setting up the exposure and color balance, so make sure your subject isn't going anywhere. My chief complaint (other than its appetite for AA batteries) is that is has been left in the techno dust (4.1 MP and slow picture save just don't do it any more)
12/17/2004 3:45:12 PM
 
David  Gibides

member since: 12/11/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Tremendous point and shoot camera. I am constantly told that it "takes" like a much more expensive Digital SLR. I will be upgrading to the Olympus E-1 Digital SLR in early 2005.
12/12/2004 12:09:46 AM
 
Jennifer Brooke Chao
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 9/24/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
For the resolution, it's a great camera. Lot of features and settings to help you get the shot you want. Only major drawback is a HUGE shutter lagtime.
9/24/2004 7:46:40 AM
 
James Winner

member since: 8/13/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I've been very happy with it. I use it mainly for macro shots of flowers. The problems I have are that the flash is very strong (but between adjusting the flash and exposure settings I can almost always compensate for this) and that the focus in macro mode is not always precise. The manual focus uses the zoom and is very difficult to set very fine, and the auto focus sometimes has problems when there is a lot of depth in the macro subject.
8/13/2004 7:20:32 PM
 
Denise  D. Villeneuve

member since: 10/18/2002
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Great point and shoot, but focus for close subjects is tough. Easy to use, was fun to do IR with a filter....takes nice pictures for a 4 megapixel.
7/10/2004 3:41:34 PM
 
Derek N. Fias

member since: 6/8/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great, easy to use, Loaded with features and great zoom
6/8/2004 4:49:56 PM
 
Dan Brown

member since: 6/4/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This camera takes some of the best photos for a medium priced ranged cameras.
6/4/2004 8:34:35 AM
 
russ bronson

member since: 4/28/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
great low light lens. I have wonderful success using this camera in low light situations, without flash. The sensor is small, however. So I have dificulty gaining detail in normal light. A lot of of washed out skies, etc. And white on white is impossible. I rarely get any definition when the subjest is white.
5/4/2004 7:31:40 AM
 
Yaman Ibrahim
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 4/19/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
cheap. easy to use, fair pic quality.suitable for travelling,coz it use aaa size batt.
4/29/2004 8:41:48 PM
 
Jim Mclendon

member since: 4/20/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great color definition. Works great in low light. This is my first digital camera and am very satisfied overall. I have noticed some blurred photos when subject is moving and no flash or in low light conditions however I am very pleased with this camera.
4/20/2004 7:57:20 PM
 
KAI L. GLASCO

member since: 4/20/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
GOOD BUY FOR THE PRICE
4/20/2004 1:06:00 AM
 
KAI L. GLASCO

member since: 4/20/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
GOOD BUY FOR THE PRICE
4/20/2004 1:05:59 AM
 
BJ Ferguson

member since: 3/16/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I don't know much about the technical side of my camera. It has a wide variety of options, some I have not used yet. It does hesitate, or has a delay that is related to digital cameras? That makes it difficult to "snap" shots.
3/16/2004 12:02:50 PM
 
Kenton L. Elliott

member since: 2/9/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Excellent camera for both beginner and semi-pro use with clear instructions for both types of users. I would not hesitate to recommend it.
2/9/2004 5:20:40 AM
 
John S. Smith

member since: 1/27/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great camera!
2/2/2004 4:25:22 AM
 
Steven F. Son

member since: 1/24/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Very good point-and-shoot.
1/24/2004 2:52:14 PM
 
Elida Y. Davila

member since: 1/21/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great pictures simple and easy to use.
1/21/2004 9:57:17 PM
 
Valerie R. Hutton

member since: 6/8/2000
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
first digicam, and the images have been way better than I expected
11/25/2003 7:28:52 AM
 
Rita A. Littfin

member since: 1/16/2001
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I am using this because my scanner broke.
10/31/2003 12:10:31 PM
 
Lindsey M. Bowen

member since: 10/18/2003
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I love the super bright lens because it allows me to work entirely withoput a flash, but the camer is a little slow sometimes
10/18/2003 7:28:45 AM
 
Phillip A. Flusche
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 9/17/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great camera. I previously used a C-2000. I chose it based on reviews at the time and because I could use the same memory cards. I serves my purposes. It is fairly compact. It has enough manual options that I can do about what I want. The options menue takes a bit of getting used to but is layed out fairly logically. It has been very dependable and I have had no problems with it.
9/18/2003 2:32:14 PM
 
Marguerite Scheepers

member since: 8/18/2003
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
It's two years old, two years ago it would have been a 9. It's a great camera.
8/19/2003 2:11:21 AM
 
Bernhard A. Kullmann

member since: 7/31/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
An excellent camera for the would be pro who needs control over all camera functions and high picture quality. Itis easy to use and robust. I use it mainly in the PT-012 underwater housing and it works beautifully. The housing itself could be double o-ring for added safety, but works just fine.
7/31/2003 5:45:28 PM
 
YVONNE SCHNELL

member since: 11/24/2000
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Wonderfull point and shoot camera and very good for portraits in macro mode
7/12/2003 3:55:16 AM
 
YVONNE SCHNELL

member since: 11/24/2000
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Its a wonderful point and shoot camera, and makes nice portraits in the macro mode.
7/12/2003 3:50:05 AM
 
Kenn  Wingle

member since: 2/5/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Excellent for imaging of astronomical, micro/macro,cinematic FX, portrait etc. Performs admirably in a variety of applications.
7/4/2003 7:46:31 AM
 
Amber Anderson

member since: 6/27/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Love this camera! Awesome quality and an exceptional lens. The only thing I don't like seems to be the same thing as all other owners... the lens cap, but that's a very very minor thing. Also, the printed manual is not very good, but the one on CD is decent.
6/27/2003 2:38:04 PM
 
Henry Holmes

member since: 6/25/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Excellent (manual settings very easy to set and control)
6/25/2003 3:07:07 PM
 
Jean Garrett

member since: 7/6/2002
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I am very happy with the camera, small compact, easy to use. I would certainly recommend this camera to others. Has a lot of features.
6/25/2003 12:25:26 AM
 
Jeremy  L. Walton
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 2/21/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
great all around camera
6/22/2003 8:41:49 PM
 
Amos Sadeh

member since: 6/14/2003
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
good camera, need to have e greater zoom lens/
6/18/2003 2:25:30 PM
 
Gina Harmeyer

member since: 5/8/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I really like this camera, I have really grown as a photographer since my husband purchased it for me in July of 2002. It has let me be as creative as I want to be! I gave it an 8 because I really don't have much to compare it to.
6/17/2003 7:12:02 PM
 
Patricia Damelio

member since: 1/20/2003
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This is my first experience with a digital camera so it is hard to give a review. However, it has a lot of features of which I am still learning. The manual, that you have to download, is extremely large. The pictures do come fairly good. Nothing beats an SLR but this is close. It has a zoom lens and I got all the accessories, a telephoto lens, a wide angle lens, a set of three filters, power adapter, battery charger, rechargable batteries and an extra 128 MB card. After I have used it for a while I will write again.
6/17/2003 5:10:27 PM
 

39 Reviews  

Add your own review

Buy Camedia C-4040Z Digital Camera from Amazon.com


Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.