Camedia C-4040Z Digital Camera


Olympus

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

The Path
View photos created with this camera

The Camedia C-4040Z Digital Camera

Features:

  • 4.1-megapixel CCD sensor creates 2,272 x 1,704 images for prints at sizes up to 11 x 14, plus OIE Mode enlarges JPEG images up to 3,200 x 2,400 pixels
  • Super bright F/1.8 3x optical zoom lens (plus 2.5x digital zoom) with autofocus
  • Included 16 MB SmartMedia memory card holds 20 images at default resolution
  • Connects with Macs and PCs via included USB cable
  • Uses 2 CR-3V batteries, included, or 4 AA batteries, not included
  • Features QuickTime movie mode with audio recording

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 39 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Heather Dixon 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2006 8:51:48 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2006 8:51:48 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2006 8:51:48 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2006 8:51:48 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2006 8:51:48 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I have always been happy with my Olympus. The pictures are sharp, it is easy to use and with the Super Bright Zoom lens, low lighting situations aren't really a problem
6/15/2006 8:51:48 AM
 
Bojan Bencic
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/29/2005
Contact Bojan
Bojan's Gallery
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/30/2006 1:12:03 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/30/2006 1:12:03 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/30/2006 1:12:03 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/30/2006 1:12:03 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/30/2006 1:12:03 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Very good camera for industrial use. I use it for my work, and it delivers great shots.
4/30/2006 1:12:03 PM
 
Keith Berry 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2006 4:47:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2006 4:47:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2006 4:47:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2006 4:47:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2006 4:47:08 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I bought mine recently because I worried a bit about risking my C-5050 by taking it out into streets. The C-4040 was ridiculously cheap because it takes the almost extinct SM cards, but it is built to a very high standard, takes superb photos even in very low light thanks to its f1.8 lens. Can be operated by remote control too.
4/18/2006 4:47:08 PM
 
Josie Burns 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2005 8:19:08 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2005 8:19:08 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2005 8:19:08 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2005 8:19:08 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2005 8:19:08 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I'd love the camera, If I could get it to do what I want it to do. I need to be able to take photos in a theater. Focused photos would be a plus.
2/2/2005 8:19:08 AM
 
Karol Livote
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/27/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/28/2005 6:23:26 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/28/2005 6:23:26 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/28/2005 6:23:26 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/28/2005 6:23:26 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/28/2005 6:23:26 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
It has a great zoom and is lightweight & durable.
1/28/2005 6:23:26 AM
 
Karol Livote
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/27/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/28/2005 6:22:51 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/28/2005 6:22:51 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/28/2005 6:22:51 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/28/2005 6:22:51 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/28/2005 6:22:51 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
It has a great zoom and is lightweight & durable.
1/28/2005 6:22:51 AM
 
Fred Bourdelier 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/17/2004 3:45:12 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/17/2004 3:45:12 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/17/2004 3:45:12 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/17/2004 3:45:12 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/17/2004 3:45:12 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Clear lens with good zoom range, crisp pictures (use 'high' save quality), and lots of image features. Autofocus is a bit slow. Builtin flash is adequate, and has a redeye reducer mode which works. With patience, very good daylight pictures can be made. The macro attachment provides good closeup range (6-12"), and the camera's optical zoom still works in macro mode. It's a bit cumbersome setting up the exposure and color balance, so make sure your subject isn't going anywhere. My chief complaint (other than its appetite for AA batteries) is that is has been left in the techno dust (4.1 MP and slow picture save just don't do it any more)
12/17/2004 3:45:12 PM
 
David  Gibides 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2004 12:09:46 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2004 12:09:46 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2004 12:09:46 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2004 12:09:46 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2004 12:09:46 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Tremendous point and shoot camera. I am constantly told that it "takes" like a much more expensive Digital SLR. I will be upgrading to the Olympus E-1 Digital SLR in early 2005.
12/12/2004 12:09:46 AM
 
Jennifer Brooke Chao
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/24/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/24/2004 7:46:40 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/24/2004 7:46:40 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/24/2004 7:46:40 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/24/2004 7:46:40 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/24/2004 7:46:40 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
For the resolution, it's a great camera. Lot of features and settings to help you get the shot you want. Only major drawback is a HUGE shutter lagtime.
9/24/2004 7:46:40 AM
 
James Winner 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/13/2004 7:20:32 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/13/2004 7:20:32 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/13/2004 7:20:32 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/13/2004 7:20:32 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/13/2004 7:20:32 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I've been very happy with it. I use it mainly for macro shots of flowers. The problems I have are that the flash is very strong (but between adjusting the flash and exposure settings I can almost always compensate for this) and that the focus in macro mode is not always precise. The manual focus uses the zoom and is very difficult to set very fine, and the auto focus sometimes has problems when there is a lot of depth in the macro subject.
8/13/2004 7:20:32 PM
 
Denise  D. Villeneuve 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/10/2004 3:41:34 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/10/2004 3:41:34 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/10/2004 3:41:34 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/10/2004 3:41:34 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/10/2004 3:41:34 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Great point and shoot, but focus for close subjects is tough. Easy to use, was fun to do IR with a filter....takes nice pictures for a 4 megapixel.
7/10/2004 3:41:34 PM
 

First 10 of 39 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Buy Camedia C-4040Z Digital Camera from Amazon.com