Dimage 5 Digital Camera


Minolta

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

Formal Garden ori...
View photos created with this camera

The Dimage 5 Digital Camera

Minolta's DiMAGE 5 digital camera offers a taste of professional performance at a more affordable price.

Almost identical to the 5-megapixel DiMAGE 7 except for its lower resolution capabilities, it has a 3.34-megapixel, 1/1.8-type CCD and a high-performance, all-glass 7x zoom Minolta lens (with a 2x digital zoom) to ensure sharp, bright images at all focal lengths.

Add to this a host of creative controls stacked into a unit with the size and feel of an SLR, and you have a digital camera with the type of functionality typically found only in professional models.

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


19 Reviews  

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Douglas Albert M
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/12/2002
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2006 7:53:29 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2006 7:53:29 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2006 7:53:29 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2006 7:53:29 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2006 7:53:29 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Update to my Dec 22/2003 review:
I'm still using the Minolta Dimage 5 camera after 4 years of ownership.
I had resolved the 32 MB CF flash card limit by switching to High Speed (HS) cards.
Still have some trouble using a 1 GB high speed CF card, although camera was not made for it back then.
I have been able to use 512 MB HS CF cards with much success.
Minlota no longer supports the Dimage 5 Digital camera, however their service was excellent when the camera need to be serviced. Replacement camera arriving within 3 weeks of being sent to them.
I is a bit piggish on battery power, I just keep lots of the NIMH rechargeables on hand. Moved up to Rayovac 2500 MA NIMH which work better.
I've taken lots of photos with the Dimage 5 and have been satisfied with it's performance. Sometime auto focus seems out of sync. Camera has a vey nice Macro setting I have used many times. Because I shoot high res or raw, photos printed up to 13" x 19" have turned out very nice. I will keep using this camera with one of grandaughters, as she learns a little about photography.
I have added the Nikon Coolpix L1 to my camera line, and enjoy the simplicty of the point and shoot in some situations.
Looking at the Olympus Evolt 500 now too. Happy Shooting - Doug M
8/29/2006 7:53:29 PM
 
Sophie Robinson 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2006 5:45:07 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2006 5:45:07 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2006 5:45:07 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2006 5:45:07 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2006 5:45:07 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Fantastic value for money, and very easy to use. Definitely like the anti-shake feature. It has no downsides.
6/2/2006 5:45:07 AM
 
Manuel A. Perez
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/31/2006
1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2006 2:04:13 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2006 2:04:13 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2006 2:04:13 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2006 2:04:13 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2006 2:04:13 PM
Rating: 1.5 out of 5
This is a good camera. It has only 3.3 Megapixels, but it was handy. It only had the 7x zoom, which made it a drag. I wouldnt get good night pictures. Videos would come out great with it.
5/31/2006 2:04:13 PM
 
Tatiana Schwappach 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2006 5:39:47 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2006 5:39:47 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2006 5:39:47 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2006 5:39:47 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2006 5:39:47 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I like macro and super-macro modes on my camera. They work good for me. 12x optical zoom is not bad, if I use it with tripod. Like variety of drive modes. Built-in flash is not good at all. Don't like that I have to change all settings through menu. Manual focus is useless.
4/26/2006 5:39:47 PM
 
Tula Brown 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/21/2005 8:40:16 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/21/2005 8:40:16 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/21/2005 8:40:16 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/21/2005 8:40:16 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/21/2005 8:40:16 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I purchased this camera about 6 months ago and, so far, I am very pleased.
11/21/2005 8:40:16 AM
 
Judy E. Barnett 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2005 1:47:04 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2005 1:47:04 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2005 1:47:04 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2005 1:47:04 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2005 1:47:04 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
The Minolta was my first digital and it did a really nice job especially on close ups.
10/27/2005 1:47:04 PM
 
Walt Bally 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/3/2005 5:47:15 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/3/2005 5:47:15 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/3/2005 5:47:15 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/3/2005 5:47:15 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/3/2005 5:47:15 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Purchased 2001. Good quality when the autofocus doesn't miss, which it all too frequently does. Minolta never to my knowledge acknowledged the autofocus issue or did a firmware upgrade to rectify the problem. Extremely hard on batteries, I always carry 2 backup sets. The 2500 mah batteries i just bought last a reasonable length of time. It was relatively easy to learn how to use. I've been a Canon shooter for over 30 years and should have stuck with them, but the Minolta was a good value at the time of purchase. At the time 3.3 megapixels was sufficient, but it's time to upgrade for sure.
10/3/2005 5:47:15 PM
 
Mary C. Aulisio 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2005 6:04:49 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2005 6:04:49 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2005 6:04:49 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2005 6:04:49 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2005 6:04:49 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I like the way the Konica Minolta Dimage Z5 fits in my hand. It's comfortable and is easy to work with one hand. It offers a fairly wide variety of settings and is easy to understand. The 12X optical zoom lens works well, as does the macro setting. My only complaint is that the flash is not as powerful as it could be for indoor shots, but an optional flash is available.
9/2/2005 6:04:49 PM
 
Neil A. Daub 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2005 10:16:12 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2005 10:16:12 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2005 10:16:12 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2005 10:16:12 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2005 10:16:12 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
My first digital camera. It was a good camera, but had flaws. Mainly the focus and flash...it also had some great features like the flip up viewfinder, the macro function for extreme close ups and the zoom lens. Overall, it produced good quality images.
6/24/2005 10:16:12 AM
 
Jennifer seal 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2005 12:31:16 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2005 12:31:16 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2005 12:31:16 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2005 12:31:16 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2005 12:31:16 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
great camera. compact, cheap, excellent quality
5/25/2005 12:31:16 PM
 
Stephanie L. Caples 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/23/2004 5:58:21 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/23/2004 5:58:21 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/23/2004 5:58:21 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/23/2004 5:58:21 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/23/2004 5:58:21 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
i love my camera. It is perfect for my needs as an ameture photgrapher. It is very good for picture quality especially with flowers. The only negative thing that I can think of is that when you take a series of pictures the time it takes in between pictures is too much.
9/23/2004 5:58:21 PM
 
Raphael X. Xavier 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2004 9:59:32 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2004 9:59:32 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2004 9:59:32 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2004 9:59:32 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2004 9:59:32 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
THIS CAMERA HAS TAKEN OVE MY OTHER CAMERA. IT'S A POINT AND SHOOT BUT ALSO ALLOWS ME CONTROL OF STUDIO IMAGES. I CAN SET FUNCTIONS AND SEE THE RESULT AND NOT WASTE TOO MUCH TIME WITH OVER SHOOTING.
7/6/2004 9:59:32 AM
 
Tom Arnold 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/21/2004 5:57:31 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/21/2004 5:57:31 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/21/2004 5:57:31 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/21/2004 5:57:31 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/21/2004 5:57:31 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Over all it's quite multi functional -- the big drawback in my opinion is the spped of the autofocus. In low light it's very slow and may not me accurate.
3/21/2004 5:57:31 AM
 
Arnon David 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2004 3:28:02 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2004 3:28:02 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2004 3:28:02 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2004 3:28:02 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2004 3:28:02 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This is a great camera for the beggining a mature. It has allthe manual controls along with a mechanical zoom ring (not those fly-by-wire or button zooms), but it has slow auto-focus and poor low-light abilities.
3/14/2004 3:28:02 AM
 
John C. Williams 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2004 12:31:24 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2004 12:31:24 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2004 12:31:24 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2004 12:31:24 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2004 12:31:24 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Love this camera, but moved on for better resolution.
2/11/2004 12:31:24 PM
 
Douglas Albert M
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/12/2002
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/22/2003 11:00:51 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/22/2003 11:00:51 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/22/2003 11:00:51 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/22/2003 11:00:51 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/22/2003 11:00:51 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I don't know about other digital cameras and bought this one because of it's excellent lens and and through the lens focusing. A good lens was a major factor in the decision to own the Dimage 5. The optical zoom to 250 mm is another plus for this digital camera. However, I find the Minolta DiMage 5 slow on the auto focus, and poor in low light conditions. Another issue with this model is that it will not take Compact Flash cards of more than 32 mb. I have tried a 64 mb, and 128 mb CF card and the pictures end up being corrupted with layers of off colors or solid blocks of one color blocking out the picture completely. I use the best quality setting just before the Raw setting. I had sent the camera back to Minolta for exchange, and still ended up with the same problem on flash cards more than 32 mb. Maybe I should try a lower quality setting. Other than that, I love the DiMage 5.
12/22/2003 11:00:51 AM
 
Elsa Gomes 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2003 8:01:16 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2003 8:01:16 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2003 8:01:16 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2003 8:01:16 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2003 8:01:16 AM
Rating: 1.5 out of 5
It's a bad camera regarding battery use: it simply eats bateries. Now I use it less and less, though it has a good lens and a fair decent zoom capability
7/2/2003 8:01:16 AM
 
Keith Anderson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/27/2001
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2003 10:41:06 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2003 10:41:06 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2003 10:41:06 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2003 10:41:06 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2003 10:41:06 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
easy to use. Controls are almost identical to my Minolta STSI which was one of the reasons I purchased it. I think the autofocus is a bit slow, but I tend to use manual focus anyway.
6/26/2003 10:41:06 AM
 
Walt Bally 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2003 8:11:22 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2003 8:11:22 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2003 8:11:22 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2003 8:11:22 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2003 8:11:22 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I purchased the camera in December 2001. While I have been generally pleased with it, the autofocus will ocassionally miss and miss badly, even though the camera tells me it's focused and ready. The menus are plentiful and the instruction manual is good, but there is a learning curve to it. The Dimage 5 was my first (and to date) only digital camera. I paid 700.00 for it, and as with anything digital, they only get cheaper and better. I have made excellent quality 4x6 and 5x7 prints with a HP Photosmart 1115 printer, and very good quality 8x10 prints. It's been discontinued for some time now, but overall I've been happy with it. I contacted Minolta to see if there was a firmware upgrade to solve the autofocus problem, there is none as of May 2003. The long zoom (35-250...35mm equiv) has come in very handy which is the primary reason I bought the camera. If the price is right, it would make a good starter camera if purchased used.
6/13/2003 8:11:22 PM
 

19 Reviews  

Buy Dimage 5 Digital Camera from Amazon.com