Dimage 5 Digital Camera


Minolta

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

Formal Garden ori...
View photos created with this camera

The Dimage 5 Digital Camera

Minolta's DiMAGE 5 digital camera offers a taste of professional performance at a more affordable price.

Almost identical to the 5-megapixel DiMAGE 7 except for its lower resolution capabilities, it has a 3.34-megapixel, 1/1.8-type CCD and a high-performance, all-glass 7x zoom Minolta lens (with a 2x digital zoom) to ensure sharp, bright images at all focal lengths.

Add to this a host of creative controls stacked into a unit with the size and feel of an SLR, and you have a digital camera with the type of functionality typically found only in professional models.

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 19 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Douglas Albert M
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/12/2002
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2006 7:53:29 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2006 7:53:29 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2006 7:53:29 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2006 7:53:29 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2006 7:53:29 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Update to my Dec 22/2003 review:
I'm still using the Minolta Dimage 5 camera after 4 years of ownership.
I had resolved the 32 MB CF flash card limit by switching to High Speed (HS) cards.
Still have some trouble using a 1 GB high speed CF card, although camera was not made for it back then.
I have been able to use 512 MB HS CF cards with much success.
Minlota no longer supports the Dimage 5 Digital camera, however their service was excellent when the camera need to be serviced. Replacement camera arriving within 3 weeks of being sent to them.
I is a bit piggish on battery power, I just keep lots of the NIMH rechargeables on hand. Moved up to Rayovac 2500 MA NIMH which work better.
I've taken lots of photos with the Dimage 5 and have been satisfied with it's performance. Sometime auto focus seems out of sync. Camera has a vey nice Macro setting I have used many times. Because I shoot high res or raw, photos printed up to 13" x 19" have turned out very nice. I will keep using this camera with one of grandaughters, as she learns a little about photography.
I have added the Nikon Coolpix L1 to my camera line, and enjoy the simplicty of the point and shoot in some situations.
Looking at the Olympus Evolt 500 now too. Happy Shooting - Doug M
8/29/2006 7:53:29 PM
 
Sophie Robinson 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2006 5:45:07 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2006 5:45:07 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2006 5:45:07 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2006 5:45:07 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2006 5:45:07 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Fantastic value for money, and very easy to use. Definitely like the anti-shake feature. It has no downsides.
6/2/2006 5:45:07 AM
 
Manuel A. Perez
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/31/2006
1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2006 2:04:13 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2006 2:04:13 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2006 2:04:13 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2006 2:04:13 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2006 2:04:13 PM
Rating: 1.5 out of 5
This is a good camera. It has only 3.3 Megapixels, but it was handy. It only had the 7x zoom, which made it a drag. I wouldnt get good night pictures. Videos would come out great with it.
5/31/2006 2:04:13 PM
 
Tatiana Schwappach 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2006 5:39:47 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2006 5:39:47 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2006 5:39:47 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2006 5:39:47 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2006 5:39:47 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I like macro and super-macro modes on my camera. They work good for me. 12x optical zoom is not bad, if I use it with tripod. Like variety of drive modes. Built-in flash is not good at all. Don't like that I have to change all settings through menu. Manual focus is useless.
4/26/2006 5:39:47 PM
 
Tula Brown 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/21/2005 8:40:16 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/21/2005 8:40:16 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/21/2005 8:40:16 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/21/2005 8:40:16 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/21/2005 8:40:16 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I purchased this camera about 6 months ago and, so far, I am very pleased.
11/21/2005 8:40:16 AM
 
Judy E. Barnett 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2005 1:47:04 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2005 1:47:04 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2005 1:47:04 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2005 1:47:04 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2005 1:47:04 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
The Minolta was my first digital and it did a really nice job especially on close ups.
10/27/2005 1:47:04 PM
 
Walt Bally 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/3/2005 5:47:15 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/3/2005 5:47:15 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/3/2005 5:47:15 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/3/2005 5:47:15 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/3/2005 5:47:15 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Purchased 2001. Good quality when the autofocus doesn't miss, which it all too frequently does. Minolta never to my knowledge acknowledged the autofocus issue or did a firmware upgrade to rectify the problem. Extremely hard on batteries, I always carry 2 backup sets. The 2500 mah batteries i just bought last a reasonable length of time. It was relatively easy to learn how to use. I've been a Canon shooter for over 30 years and should have stuck with them, but the Minolta was a good value at the time of purchase. At the time 3.3 megapixels was sufficient, but it's time to upgrade for sure.
10/3/2005 5:47:15 PM
 
Mary C. Aulisio 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2005 6:04:49 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2005 6:04:49 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2005 6:04:49 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2005 6:04:49 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2005 6:04:49 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I like the way the Konica Minolta Dimage Z5 fits in my hand. It's comfortable and is easy to work with one hand. It offers a fairly wide variety of settings and is easy to understand. The 12X optical zoom lens works well, as does the macro setting. My only complaint is that the flash is not as powerful as it could be for indoor shots, but an optional flash is available.
9/2/2005 6:04:49 PM
 
Neil A. Daub 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2005 10:16:12 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2005 10:16:12 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2005 10:16:12 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2005 10:16:12 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2005 10:16:12 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
My first digital camera. It was a good camera, but had flaws. Mainly the focus and flash...it also had some great features like the flip up viewfinder, the macro function for extreme close ups and the zoom lens. Overall, it produced good quality images.
6/24/2005 10:16:12 AM
 
Jennifer seal 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2005 12:31:16 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2005 12:31:16 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2005 12:31:16 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2005 12:31:16 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2005 12:31:16 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
great camera. compact, cheap, excellent quality
5/25/2005 12:31:16 PM
 
Stephanie L. Caples 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/23/2004 5:58:21 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/23/2004 5:58:21 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/23/2004 5:58:21 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/23/2004 5:58:21 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/23/2004 5:58:21 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
i love my camera. It is perfect for my needs as an ameture photgrapher. It is very good for picture quality especially with flowers. The only negative thing that I can think of is that when you take a series of pictures the time it takes in between pictures is too much.
9/23/2004 5:58:21 PM
 

First 10 of 19 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Buy Dimage 5 Digital Camera from Amazon.com