BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


F-401 (N4004) 35mm SLR Camera


Nikon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Auto Focus SLRs

dsc_0053
View photos created with this camera

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 11 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Bruce Lhonneux

member since: 3/28/2006
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
You learn the basic fundamentals of an SLR, and it fine during daylight, though the dials are small and fiddly. It's basically impossible to use at night, unless you have a torch to see what your doing.
5/4/2006 6:17:00 AM
 
Joelle Hammesfahr

member since: 2/15/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I love my camera, I've had it sence 1990, a x-mas gift, my first SLR. Compared to todays cameras mine weighs a ton, but I still love it. The only thing I don't like is that you can't use a cable release and it does not take continuos photos. Other than that I love it. One day I will go digital.
2/15/2006 6:08:25 AM
 
Martin P. Roger
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 1/26/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
A tough, solid, long lasting camera. Not recommended for professional photography, but is quite a good camera.
2/12/2006 3:25:34 AM
 
K Purington

member since: 1/31/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This review is base on emotion. My father used this camera for his profession as a Fire Investigator. He took it to all fires. He used manual nothing else. The camera has NEVER been cleaned! It still takes great photos.
2/4/2006 2:23:13 PM
 
Nancy Monnell

member since: 3/16/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I haven't even shot off one roll of film with this yet, having only acquired it in Fall 2004, so I can't really say yet how much or little I like it. It does feel a bit awkward for me as I have small hands, but perhaps it is also a matter of just getting used to the feel of the Nikon after using the Vivitar Digitals and Fuji the past few years. I'll update my opinion once I get using the Nikon more.
4/29/2005 11:24:29 PM
 
Andrew Wurster

member since: 6/12/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I think my camera is almost perfect with choice of switching from fully manual to fully auto
2/24/2005 6:49:13 PM
 


member since: 2/23/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
THIS WAS MY FIRST SLR, AND IS STILL MY FAVORITE CAMERA TO SHOOT WITH. I HAVE USED FOR EVERYTHING FROM CANDIDS TO WEDDINGS TO WILDLIFE OVER THE PAST 12 YEARS.
8/3/2004 8:57:13 AM
 
Pat Worster
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 4/21/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I really liked the camera and my 80-210mm lense. I got some great photos but it broke down beyond repair and then I bought digital and I must say I will never go back.
4/26/2004 4:16:40 PM
 
S L Freeman

member since: 2/22/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
An oldie but a goodie. A bit noisy for Church work
2/23/2004 5:51:36 PM
 
Kirsti S. Christie

member since: 1/28/2004
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I enjoy working with this camera. My father has the exact same model which he purchased brand new. I commented on the fact that I enjoyed working with it, and he found a gently used one at a pawn shop for me. I like it, however, after having it a few years, and growing as a photographer...I feel I need something with which I have more control.
1/28/2004 7:00:53 PM
 
Kim Lane

member since: 10/17/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The Nikon N4004s is an incredible camera. I use it mainly on the automatic settings because it is incredibly intuitive when it comes to light, aperture, and shutter speed. This camera has exceptional focus and produces extremely sharp, well lit pictures. My only concern is that it is an older camera and I recently discovered that new flash circuits are no longer available.
10/17/2003 12:26:50 PM
 

First 10 of 11 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Add your own review

Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.