FinePix 6800 Digital Camera


Fuji

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital Point and Shoot Cameras

The top of a town
View photos created with this camera

The FinePix 6800 Digital Camera

Features:

  • 3.3 megapixel SuperCCD sensor creates 2832 x 2128 images for prints at sizes up to 8 x 10
  • 3x optical plus 4.4x digital zoom lens with autofocus
  • Included 16 MB SmartMedia memory card holds 16 images at default resolution
  • Connects with Macs and PCs via USB port
  • Uses rechargeable lithium-ion battery, included
  • Can record up to 160 seconds of video

Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


10 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Darlene L. Anthony 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2005 5:43:42 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2005 5:43:42 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2005 5:43:42 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2005 5:43:42 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2005 5:43:42 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
rather large and heavy for a point and shoot style digital. Good results in most conditions. flash could be stronger.
5/6/2005 5:43:42 AM
 
Christopher Manners 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2005 10:49:07 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2005 10:49:07 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2005 10:49:07 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2005 10:49:07 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2005 10:49:07 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Even though this camera is now 3 years old (a long time for this type of technology!) the 3.3 million pixel CCD still produces good quality pictures. By todays standards the camera is somewhat bulky but the aluminium-magnesium Porsche design body has held its appeal. The hi-res mode produces an image of 2832 x 2128 pixels that stands up well to post-processing. The controls are easy to understand, although the menus could have been better designed. The movie mode is acceptable so long as you regard it as a convenience, not to be compared to the real thing! About the only real annoyance is that it is very easy to turn the mode dial when removing the camera from its pouch - if you do not check it before shooting you are likely to end up with a movie, sound recording of some other unexpected mode. Overall I am still more than happy with its performance, even though my main camera these days is an EOS300D (Digital Rebel)
1/31/2005 10:49:07 PM
 
Cathy Stancil
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/16/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/16/2004 9:53:39 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/16/2004 9:53:39 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/16/2004 9:53:39 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/16/2004 9:53:39 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/16/2004 9:53:39 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Great and easy "take along" camera. Small enough to take with you everywhere; good subtitute for times when you can't take your bigger camera along... Good quality pics...
11/16/2004 9:53:39 AM
 
Paul Francis 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2004 12:07:28 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2004 12:07:28 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2004 12:07:28 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2004 12:07:28 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2004 12:07:28 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Very handy size and functionality. I personally find it a bit too small to hold comfortably, and wish I'd researched it more before buying it. The lack of creative control bugs me and the so-called 6 mrga-pixel resolution is a tacky gimmick.
4/28/2004 12:07:28 AM
 
Stephen N. Davidson 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2004 4:07:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2004 4:07:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2004 4:07:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2004 4:07:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2004 4:07:08 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
quite a good camera loads of features battery tends to run out if on location and if you dont have the cradle to recharge you are stumped otherwise its a good camera
2/28/2004 4:07:08 PM
 
Rachel Marceau 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2003 9:04:09 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2003 9:04:09 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2003 9:04:09 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2003 9:04:09 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2003 9:04:09 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love my camera. I have never had any problems with it.
8/15/2003 9:04:09 AM
 
Ruud van Ruitenbeek 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2003 11:57:23 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2003 11:57:23 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2003 11:57:23 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2003 11:57:23 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2003 11:57:23 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
My first digital camera. Steep learning curve, many reatures
7/9/2003 11:57:23 AM
 
Sean Creech 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2003 2:11:54 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2003 2:11:54 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2003 2:11:54 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2003 2:11:54 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2003 2:11:54 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Used this camera for 2 years, it's been great, producing superb clear and bright photos with wonderful vibrabt colours. Unfortuantely it's not developed a fault which renders it useless for serious photography, therefore I'm looking to purchase a new model soon.
6/18/2003 2:11:54 AM
 
Lin  5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
While I am pretty new at the digital photography world, I found this camera to be awesome. It is a lot easier to use than I thought it would be and the picture quality is excellent! The charging cradle is also a plus. I never leave home without this little gem!
 
Dale Price 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Although I own a Nikon CP990 and am now purchasing a Sony 707, The Fuji 6800 will probably continue to be my 'sidekick' camera, one I can grab whenever I leave the house. I haven't seen a lot of mention of it on discussion groups & newsletters, which is a shame...

It is versatile enough for almost all photo situations... great color, sufficient resolution for 8X10 prints, easy to use & maintain, and also compact enough to carry in your pocket.

 

10 Reviews  

Buy FinePix 6800 Digital Camera from Amazon.com