BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


Cyber-shot DSC-W7 Digital Camera


Sony

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

Stone Steps
View photos created with this camera

The Cyber-shot DSC-W7 Digital Camera

Features:


  • Powered by AA-size batteries (charger included); stores images
    on MS cards
  • 7-megapixel CCD captures enough detail for photo-quality 15 x
    20-inch prints
  • 3x optical zoom; large 2.5-inch LCD display
  • Carl Zeiss Vario-Tessar lens is specially produced for very
    compact cameras
  • In 5-shot burst mode, capture up to five 5 MP shots or 100 shots
    VGA at 0.9 frames per second

Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


19 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Kala R. Groseclose
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 8/30/2007
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This was my first digital camera, recieved it as a gift from my husband for xmas while I was pregnant.....I LOVE THIS CAMERA!!!!!!!!! I am looking to upgrade to an SLR eventually, when I can afford it, but until then, this gets it done. I brag about it whenever someone has a compact digital that isn't a dsc-w7 by Sony.....I can't help it.....why would I want any other compact camera? only complaints are shutter speed and my inability to use the manual settings.....as I am very amatuer right now, lol. :)
8/30/2007 8:53:08 AM
 
Isaac Fast

member since: 6/19/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
it takes GREAT pictures, and for that i should probably give it a higher rating, but i just wish i had a digital SLR camera. anyway, the camera has a manual setting that lets you shoot more freely than in the snapshot mode (even though tehre are many limitations) but even the snapshot mode is really good, it usually gives me what i need. its a great camera in general. macro is good, focus is good. probably for use half of the time for snapshots, half of the time for art photography.
6/19/2006 8:11:36 PM
 
Shasta M. Coburn

member since: 4/26/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Being that it is the only one I have, I think it is wonderful. I do wish I had more controll over the shutter speed and stuff, not that I REALLY know how to use them.
4/26/2006 7:59:12 PM
 
Andrea Jimenez

member since: 4/18/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
love my camara just as it is
4/18/2006 9:17:54 PM
 
Dianna Langley

member since: 4/9/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Once you figure out all the features the camera is capable of performing, there is no limit to the creativity.
4/9/2006 7:59:37 AM
 
Lori Paparteys

member since: 4/8/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great camera! Takes awesome photos, but the movie taking could be a little better. I find it refocuses every so often thus blurring what you are taking a movie of. Sort of defeats the purpose of a movie. Crisp and clear still photos however. I love this camera.
4/8/2006 11:27:47 PM
 
Keith Bell

member since: 3/29/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This Camera gives very clear pictures and has a varity of Pixels to chose from. Very friendly user and can connect ot pc or tv to view pictures taken
3/29/2006 7:41:19 PM
 
Allison Wright

member since: 10/15/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love this camera, it takes wonderful pictures, but the only thing is getting the lighting right, because if you are not in natural light, the pictures come out shaky or blurry
2/26/2006 12:01:34 PM
 
Bob Asta

member since: 1/9/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
This is a point and shoot camera that takes sharp images and has an adequate zoom that works well
1/15/2006 2:32:17 PM
 
Val C. Goldenbrook

member since: 1/6/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love this camera. It gives clear photos with great color and depth. It is easy to use and lightweight. Can't wait for the next generation. Between this camera and the New Mexico landscape, I can't help but make a nice shot
1/6/2006 8:49:50 AM
 
Nidhi Gulatee

member since: 1/6/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
the images pixelates when the night shot mode is used.
1/6/2006 7:11:47 AM
 
Avinash Singh

member since: 1/4/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Its photo quality is superb, color rendition is impeccable, Startup time is very fast, precise focusssing, enough manual controls offering excellent creative options, very user friendly, small size, good battery life, excellent resolution (7.2 Mega Pixels) , Overall a wonderful Package!!
1/4/2006 1:52:32 PM
 
April H. Sylte

member since: 10/1/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
I'm pretty amature, so am still learning techniques, which there are many, but it's a good camera....
1/2/2006 11:42:53 AM
 
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
WELL .. . I CAN Take REALLY NICE PICTURES .. . BUT SOMETIMES IT GETS ON MY NERVES when I TRY SO HARD AND THE PIC COMES OUT BLURRY.. but . the first time i Saw this camera.. I FELL in love with it.. SO .. :)
1/1/2006 3:18:58 PM
 
Matthew D. Jones

member since: 12/14/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is my second digital camera. It is a very good camera. It is 7.2 mega-pixel. It takes very good pictures. It is user friendly and all the options are great. It is really hard to take a good shot with little lighting or indoor lighting. Other than that, I have not had a problem with it yet.
12/25/2005 8:23:48 AM
 
Belinda Mary Osgood
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 12/5/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Good resolution, easy to use but still offers features to get creative. Rechargeable AA batteries offers realiability of power source, no matter where you are.
12/5/2005 4:37:01 PM
 
Michael Wilkie

member since: 11/15/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This is a great digital camer in it's category. It offers great range in shutter speed, aperature seetings and ISO settings. It has 12 preset modes for different conditions and manual settings. The flexibility of this camera all the way up to its 7 megapixels is amazing. Pro quality shots without a pro priced camera!
11/15/2005 12:20:59 PM
 
Valerie F.  Munz

member since: 9/29/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Always takes great pictures.
9/29/2005 5:53:56 AM
 
Bobcat Cooper
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 8/14/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Another brilliant digital camera! Everything I love about my DSC-W1 (5 mega pixel) in a 7 megapixel camera. Minor changes include moving the media stick to the battery compartment, but nothing major. The best thing is still the viewable LCD and the AA batteries. Oh yeah, I can still put it in my pocket and take it anywhere, it's the same size! I really don't like carrying a bag full of stuff with me when I'm out having fun. Cons - doesn't focus well when zoomed.
8/14/2005 9:55:20 AM
 

19 Reviews  

Add your own review

Buy Cyber-shot DSC-W7 Digital Camera from Amazon.com


Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.