PowerShot A20 Digital Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital Point and Shoot Cameras

Rectangles and Tr...
View photos created with this camera

The PowerShot A20 Digital Camera

Features:

  • 2.1 megapixel sensor creates 1600 x 1200 images for prints at sizes up to 8 x 10
  • 3x optical plus 2.5x digital zoom lens with autofocus
  • Included 8 MB CompactFlash memory card holds 12 images at default resolution
  • Connects with Macs and PCs via USB port
  • Uses 4 AA batteries, included

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


23 Reviews  

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
JOHN H. ROSE jr 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/4/2007 12:25:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/4/2007 12:25:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/4/2007 12:25:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/4/2007 12:25:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/4/2007 12:25:36 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have been using this camera for just over 7 years now,and it has been great!Like anything else it has its share of ups and downs.I learned to adapt and overcome certain obsticles like battery life,up close pics. I use an external battery pack that gives me several 1,000's of pics. I also use an old camera lense to help out in the macro mode for close up shots. Just a little brain power and this is an excellent camera to use everyday! Plus I like to add that I have dropped this camera hundreds of times and it still works perfectly. I plan to keep it even when I get another camera. If it's not broke-don't fix it........JOHN
11/4/2007 12:25:36 PM
 
Priscilla  Vasquez 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2006 8:57:26 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2006 8:57:26 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2006 8:57:26 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2006 8:57:26 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2006 8:57:26 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I like the Canon PowerShot becuase it takes great photos and is not too expensive for me to start out with.
4/12/2006 8:57:26 PM
 
Janet H. Flint 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/15/2006 9:11:26 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/15/2006 9:11:26 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/15/2006 9:11:26 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/15/2006 9:11:26 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/15/2006 9:11:26 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I really like this camera.Easy to use and takes a great photo for it's 2.1 mg capability
2/15/2006 9:11:26 AM
 
Contessa D. Wolverton 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2005 10:00:59 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2005 10:00:59 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2005 10:00:59 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2005 10:00:59 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2005 10:00:59 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
It did the job when I had it. I was able to capture some awesome images with it. Not enough megapixels for what I needed though.
12/6/2005 10:00:59 AM
 
Carla Royal
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/13/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2005 8:35:44 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2005 8:35:44 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2005 8:35:44 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2005 8:35:44 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2005 8:35:44 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I enjoyed this camera for a few years and I got some great shots with it even though it is only 2.1 megapixels. I never learned to do more with it than point and shoot.
10/6/2005 8:35:44 AM
 
Mary T. Gillis 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/27/2005 8:45:00 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/27/2005 8:45:00 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/27/2005 8:45:00 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/27/2005 8:45:00 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/27/2005 8:45:00 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
This camera is ok, takes decent pictures for a point and shoot. Worst thing about this camera is how inaccurate the image is in the viewfinder as far as framing your picture. If you had a vase on the table, and wanted a picture with the bottom of the vase right at the bottom of your picture, you have to frame your picture so that the bottom part of the vase is not visible in your viewfinder, if that makes sense. It's not as important for landscape kinds of pictures, but if you were 5 feet away from that vase ont he table, I'd say cut off about the bottom 25% in the viewfinder in order to have your image framed correctly. Very annoying!
5/27/2005 8:45:00 AM
 
Ron Drabish 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/15/2005 1:37:45 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/15/2005 1:37:45 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/15/2005 1:37:45 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/15/2005 1:37:45 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/15/2005 1:37:45 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This camera takes good pictures.
5/15/2005 1:37:45 AM
 
Rebecca Brewer Mitchell 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2005 3:44:44 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2005 3:44:44 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2005 3:44:44 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2005 3:44:44 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2005 3:44:44 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
My camera is small yet sturdy. It is easy to use and takes good photos. Battery life is good if display isn't used. It has been everywhere with me and works great.
5/2/2005 3:44:44 PM
 
Candyce Lee 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2005 7:49:11 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2005 7:49:11 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2005 7:49:11 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2005 7:49:11 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2005 7:49:11 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
It's kinda hard to figure everything out but you will learn sooner or later.
3/10/2005 7:49:11 PM
 
Jack D. Farrell 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/24/2005 8:58:02 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/24/2005 8:58:02 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/24/2005 8:58:02 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/24/2005 8:58:02 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/24/2005 8:58:02 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
A good 2.1 megapixel point-and-shoot which is small enough to fit into a shirt pocket but which is capable of producing quality photos which generally benefit from some basic enhancement. With 3x optical and 2x digital zoom, the camera affords good travel snapshot flexibility and its auto functions make it a snap to use.
2/24/2005 8:58:02 AM
 
claudia cole 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2005 10:06:01 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2005 10:06:01 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2005 10:06:01 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2005 10:06:01 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2005 10:06:01 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
good for fast pictures but not for close ups
2/1/2005 10:06:01 AM
 
Tradlen K K  Wong 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2004 8:27:24 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2004 8:27:24 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2004 8:27:24 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2004 8:27:24 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2004 8:27:24 PM
Rating: 2 out of 5
This is still a very good camera although it is quite outdated now. Will look for another canon in the future.
12/28/2004 8:27:24 PM
 
William H. Ruting 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2004 5:29:59 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2004 5:29:59 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2004 5:29:59 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2004 5:29:59 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2004 5:29:59 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
My first digital camera. But it takes great photos. Still use it with anunderwater housing for diving.
10/12/2004 5:29:59 AM
 
Keith Ainsley 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2004 10:51:44 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2004 10:51:44 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2004 10:51:44 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2004 10:51:44 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2004 10:51:44 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This is a very good starter digital camera. However for high speed action shots it's not the best. I've had very good luck with color details and ease of use.
7/24/2004 10:51:44 PM
 
James Fuqua 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2004 9:36:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2004 9:36:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2004 9:36:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2004 9:36:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2004 9:36:19 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love the quality of pictures I get outside. The flash is not strong enough and inside photos are bad, bad, bad unless it is really close up.
7/4/2004 9:36:19 PM
 
Chris Weatherly 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2004 6:23:00 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2004 6:23:00 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2004 6:23:00 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2004 6:23:00 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2004 6:23:00 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I largely left photography alone during my college years until I received a Canon A10 for Christmas. Upon doing some research, I realized I needed at least a 2.1 mp camera to be satisfied with the images so I upgraded to the A20. Fortunately I have since regained my interest in the art form a feel I need to upgrade. For the cameras specifications it performed wonderfully. My only complaint is the time it takes for me to shoot shot to shot. I take many candid shots of children and feel it is difficult to get the image I want, not being able to shoot when I want.
3/14/2004 6:23:00 AM
 
Sebastian Fainbraun 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2004 9:01:21 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2004 9:01:21 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2004 9:01:21 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2004 9:01:21 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2004 9:01:21 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
For a low res point and shoot it's pretty good.
3/1/2004 9:01:21 PM
 
Nick Milton
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/25/2003
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2004 3:32:39 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2004 3:32:39 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2004 3:32:39 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2004 3:32:39 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2004 3:32:39 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
GREAT
1/11/2004 3:32:39 AM
 
Mirko JIRSA 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2003 5:45:36 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2003 5:45:36 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2003 5:45:36 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2003 5:45:36 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2003 5:45:36 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
very easy to work with it very often in my pocket without any problem I appreciate a lot
11/23/2003 5:45:36 AM
 
Keith W. Boone 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/25/2003 1:41:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/25/2003 1:41:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/25/2003 1:41:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/25/2003 1:41:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/25/2003 1:41:53 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is the best little point shoot ever
8/25/2003 1:41:53 AM
 
leonard william 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/23/2003 1:26:36 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/23/2003 1:26:36 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/23/2003 1:26:36 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/23/2003 1:26:36 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/23/2003 1:26:36 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
well it's good for the price i guess but at times you'll get these transparent dots that appear out of nowhere where the light reflects the lens or something but it ruins the photo. and this happens quite often, a well known problem with this camera. but other than that i have dropped onto the ground 2 times and is still working fine,..amazing
7/23/2003 1:26:36 AM
 
Kevin Taylor 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2003 6:09:23 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2003 6:09:23 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2003 6:09:23 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2003 6:09:23 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2003 6:09:23 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
My Canon A20 has been an excellent little point and shoot for just about two years. I ran about 2500 photos per year through it before upgrading to a Nikon 5700. I am still going to hang on to the A20 as a second camera though. Great colour, good battery life and quick, sharp focus. I have been very happy with the pics that came out of this camera.
6/18/2003 6:09:23 AM
 
James Fuqua 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2003 4:37:55 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2003 4:37:55 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2003 4:37:55 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2003 4:37:55 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2003 4:37:55 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I am new to photography, however I have always been interested. My first experience with Digital is the Canon PowerShot A20. I am not an expert on cameras but I feel I get a very good print from the A20. I usually shoot on the highest resolution and get some good 8X10 prints from my Canon S820D printer. The only downside of the camera is the flash. It does not seem that the flash is strong enough for indoor shots. Otherwise I feel it is a good camera for the price. I hope to upgrade soon and will probably look at another Canon.
6/11/2003 4:37:55 PM
 

23 Reviews  

Buy PowerShot A20 Digital Camera from Amazon.com