BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


Maxxum QTsi SLR Camera


Minolta

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Auto Focus SLRs

Monumental Highwa...
View photos created with this camera

The Maxxum QTsi SLR Camera

Features:

  • Autofocus and manual focus
  • 16mm eye relief
  • Comes with 2 zoom lenses, 35-80mm and 75-300mm
  • Focus lock
  • Red-eye reduction

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


73 Reviews  

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Holly Marie Spoonley
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 8/9/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love my camera! With the right lighting, lens, and occassion I can create beautiful captures for my clients. Takes beautiful pictures!!!
9/14/2006 4:00:33 PM
 
Susie Ebersole

member since: 6/2/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love the ease of switching various lenses at a snap. I really like the ability to focus past (or through) something to capture exactly what I want in my picture.
6/2/2006 6:13:02 AM
 
Shirlee D. Schuster

member since: 12/28/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love this camera! It makes ME look like a competent photgrapher!!(amateur, that is) I takes tons of action shots with my son in soccer, and of course with some decent lens, all my shots turn out every time! Also love the macro shots too! Wouldn't trade it!
5/18/2006 3:09:49 PM
 
Shirlee D. Schuster

member since: 12/28/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I just recently picked this camera up on ebay for an unbelievably low price.
(Let's put it this way- I've paid more for a dinner at a nice restaurant!!)So with that in mind, I was prepared for the thing to either not work, or take not-so-great pictures. But I was sorely mistaken! I quickly took a roll of film (400 speed) and since it was a nice day here in western PA I went outside to get some shots of the very few plants sprouting out of the ground and anything else that would stand still.Everyone says this camera is a glorified point and shoot--well so??? Isn't that what you bought it for?? I know I did... I wanted the ease of this little lightweight camera (that some of my lens' are heavier than!)and if you read your manual, you can understand and work it easily. My pictures have turned out great every time since then!If you want a CAMERA that will do all the work FOR you, then get one of these!!! Personally, I like the "goof-proof" way-- it makes ME look like a great photographer!!!
4/8/2006 7:47:22 PM
 
Everett Cook

member since: 3/24/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
it's alright but i wish that allowed me to adjust the f/
3/24/2006 6:32:14 PM
 
Abby Helmer

member since: 2/28/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I dont know what i would do without my camera!! Its big and sometimes thats posses as a problem but besides that i love it. It takes amazing photos... its my baby.
2/28/2006 5:10:58 PM
 
Carrie Phelps
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 1/10/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I have had alot of success for just starting out with this camera, sadly it broke after being dropped but it was worth what I paid and I had lots of fun with it.
1/10/2006 5:41:43 PM
 
Cassie  L. Woodlee
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 11/17/2002
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I have used this camera for about 4 years and have never had a problem with it. It takes very good quality pictures.
1/8/2006 12:52:18 PM
 
Kari Nichols

member since: 12/28/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
It is my first 35mm SLR and I absolutely LOVE IT! I bought it from a friend at a good price with 2 lenses for it. I have been photographing photos of my nieces, horses, dogs and friends ever since. I prefer my 35mm to any digital camera, as I love to scrapbook.
12/29/2005 11:29:22 AM
 
Barbara England

member since: 8/29/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great camera! Takes beautiful pictures. Easy operation. Great for beginner/intermediate.
8/29/2005 5:42:16 PM
 
Michael A. Remus Jr.

member since: 7/22/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I like it as my beginner camera.. I wish it would allow me more freedom with shutter speeds
7/22/2005 1:16:28 AM
 
Jill Gilliam
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 6/22/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Easy to use, although almost no manual settings. It's ok though I'm only a begginer so it's perfect for me.
6/22/2005 7:49:59 AM
 
Jaycee Mills

member since: 6/19/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love my camera. We go everywhere together. It takes clear pictures. It is the easiest camera to operate with such good quality pictures.
6/19/2005 6:21:48 PM
 
Jessica Fett

member since: 5/29/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
good focus, easy, automatic, great pictures
5/29/2005 7:47:42 AM
 
Ryan A. Bailey

member since: 5/2/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Basically a point and shoot SLR camera. Does have the different settings (portrait, sports, night, etc.) that does help in making it less automatic. Would be nice if you could manually adjust shutter speed and f-stops in other ways than the menu options. For the price I can't complain. It's difficult to take a really bad picture with this camera.
5/6/2005 2:36:35 PM
 
Carol J. McCollum

member since: 4/11/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
This Camera takes very clear images. I think it would be a great camera for beginner photographers like myself.
4/11/2005 12:19:18 PM
 
Courtney  D. Nichols

member since: 3/7/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I love my camera! Easy to use and lightweight.
3/15/2005 1:47:49 PM
 
Kristin Bordelon

member since: 11/28/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I have had my camera for about 4 years. When I had my daughter I knew I would be taking many pictures of her and my son so I wanted to get one that took really clear pictures. I like this camera because it is easy to operate and it makes taking pictures fun. It has an automatic focus but I prefer to use the zoom and the manual focus. The pictures are always very clear and I get great close-up shots.
3/10/2005 6:25:37 PM
 
David L. Luchowski
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 2/7/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Not a ton of extra features, but quick to set up, easy to use, and it works as a great 2nd body to my Maxxum 5.
2/8/2005 6:04:25 AM
 
Malissa L. Dunn

member since: 12/6/2004
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
The camera was actually a gift Likes: Ability to add filters and change the lens. Dislikes: No manual mode, doesn't take pictures well at night.
12/8/2004 2:51:16 PM
 
SassoRossi L. Katha

member since: 10/15/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I really like my camera. What you see is what you get. I don't have a lot of knownlegde about cameras so I don't know what would make it better.
10/16/2004 8:21:22 AM
 
Tony Marchesseault

member since: 11/21/2001
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great, tough. Deals well with rough field work!
10/13/2004 2:09:16 PM
 
Michele Sesty

member since: 10/5/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Takes very good pictures and it easy to use, even for beginners. Also has a built in flash and you can also add your own for extra light
10/5/2004 7:28:26 PM
 
Christina D. France

member since: 8/29/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I really like this camera; easy to use, dozens of lenses that fit right. The only one thing I don't like is the 3-flash warning before the picture is actually taken. I haven't figured out how to make shutter speed different, or how to correct lighting, because this camera has automatic features. You can switch it to manual, and focus yourself.
8/29/2004 8:49:21 PM
 
Shirl L. Herzog

member since: 8/24/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Overall an excellent camera. I do have a few problems with it but maybe it's me not the camera. Mostly zoom issues. But love it otherwise especially the lenses I have for it.
8/24/2004 1:06:03 AM
 
Paul M. Lafferty

member since: 8/17/2004
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Not much Photographer control.
8/19/2004 9:21:29 PM
 
Dora Dumoulin
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 5/24/2004
1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 1.5 out of 5
If someone wanted a good point and shoot camera this would be great.
7/7/2004 5:25:19 AM
 
Braden West

member since: 6/21/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I am just beginning in the field of photography and this Minolta Camera is very forgiving and great for any beginner!
6/21/2004 10:21:00 PM
 
Amy Comeens
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 6/20/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love my Camera I have no complaints it has done what I have needed and I would not have changed a thing.
6/20/2004 7:08:47 PM
 
Heidi Howell

member since: 6/15/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
It is difficult to take night photography with this camera
6/15/2004 7:58:12 AM
 
Angela Sayre

member since: 6/9/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love my Minolta but I also love my digital. If I had to choose though I would to take the 35mm juat because I feel that i get a better quality of piture with it
6/9/2004 8:59:13 PM
 
Rebecca Lynn Cicio

member since: 6/2/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
My camera works great. It's not the best camera, but I still like the results. The pictures are clear and crisp. I love to zoom in on things and focus on them. The clearness of the object is amazing.
6/2/2004 7:46:07 AM
 
Kelley A. Shyer

member since: 5/25/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This camera is very user friendly and easy to understand.
5/25/2004 11:22:56 AM
 
David A. Mullinax

member since: 5/15/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
good
5/15/2004 9:36:53 PM
 
Kaitlynn Baker

member since: 4/30/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great Pictures!!!
4/30/2004 3:09:12 PM
 
Kevin D. Fritts

member since: 4/19/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I've had this camera for about 4 years now and I love the results I've had with this camera.
4/23/2004 7:05:26 PM
 
Rebecca Barton

member since: 1/27/2004
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
This was my very first camera. I really liked it when i first got it, but now that I have others to compare it to I feel like the pictures dont turn out as clear expecially the black and whites. I dont like the auto focus because it take a while to get focused on something. It also takes too long to take the picture. For instance when I take the picture the flash flashes about 3 or 4 times before it takes the picture and by that time sometime I have lost what I was taking a picture of because it wasnt fast enough.
3/23/2004 9:15:22 PM
 
Connie Yanz

member since: 3/16/2004
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
This is a good beginners camera. It is similar to a regular point and shoot with extras.
3/16/2004 1:42:38 PM
 
Tina N. Semien

member since: 3/4/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I brought this camera about 3years old. I enjoy taking picture of my daugther this camera gives me good picture. I wish the that I could get better picture with it. I also wish I would have brought filter with the camera. But I feel if I want to to become a photographer I will get a better camera to work with.
3/4/2004 8:07:59 AM
 
Theresa L. Peragino

member since: 2/12/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love my camara. It is so easy for me to use.
2/17/2004 6:06:40 PM
 
Katherine M. Wrazen

member since: 1/8/2004
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Takes good photos....doesn't have full manual exposure mode though..you have to pick from one of thier modes...
2/17/2004 3:20:55 PM
 
Jeremiah A. Fitz

member since: 2/10/2004
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Good Beginner Camera
2/10/2004 5:26:58 PM
 
Tami L. Roberts

member since: 2/2/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
it is very easy to use this camera, however it is fully automatic (sometimes not so nice), and the recycling on the flash is a lot slower than I would like.
2/2/2004 8:49:25 PM
 
John H.

member since: 1/22/2004
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Takes good photos, but doesn't give you any control. Basically an expensive point and shoot. Better off going with the Stsi. Same price, but has the controls you'll want, plus all the old programmed modes for ease of use.
1/22/2004 10:36:15 AM
 
Jamie R. Jimison

member since: 1/20/2004
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Could be better, but is better than a disposable.
1/20/2004 11:33:00 PM
 
Kimberly K. Demoss

member since: 1/19/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Very good camera for what I do now. I am a beginner photographer. I am planning on buying a new one soon.
1/19/2004 9:04:41 PM
 
Kimberly K. Demoss

member since: 1/19/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Very good camera for what I do now. I am a beginner photographer. I am planning on buying a new one soon.
1/19/2004 9:03:23 PM
 
Barbara England

member since: 1/19/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Great camera for beginner! Doesn't have some of the options I need now that I'm getting into photography more seriously.
1/19/2004 6:59:57 PM
 
Doug  R. Tritt

member since: 1/12/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Its A great camera.
1/12/2004 10:46:24 PM
 
Amber Ferguson
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 1/9/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love this camera, it takes great pictures, and the clairity is perfect. The only problem I have with it is, its an automatic camera, and you cant change the shutter speed, or the ISO on it. Other than that, I would definitly recommend this camera to anyone who is just getting started on taking excellent photographs.
1/9/2004 9:56:02 PM
 
Aubree D. Black

member since: 11/25/2003
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
It is a great camera if you are looking for a glorified point and shoot. It does take wonderful pictures as far as how the colors turn out. The problem I am now running into is that I have decided to persue photography at a different level that what this camera will allow. However, I would most definatly recomend it to several of my family members for the pure reason that it is very user friendly, and easy to learn on. Great for first time photo students or someone looking for something better than the average point and shoot.
11/25/2003 4:24:51 PM
 
Sharlene L. Cole

member since: 11/14/2003
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2 out of 5
Great camera
11/14/2003 9:13:47 AM
 
Susy Y. Saul

member since: 9/1/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I would have to say that since I am so new to photography that this has been the very best puchase I could have made. I know that there are probably better cameras out there but this one has been a real blessing to me. We chose this one mainly for the price but afterwards we were very satisfied with its performance. We also purchased an extra lens besides the 35.80 that it came with. We purchased a 70-210. This is the lens I use 99% of the time because I take pictures of my son playing sports. I would love to have a new lens or converter but that will have to wait. I am satisified enough with what I have that I am not in that big of a hurry.
10/24/2003 6:38:32 AM
 
Susy Y. Saul

member since: 9/1/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I would have to say that since I am so new to photography that this has been the very best puchase I could have made. I know that there are probably better cameras out there but this one has been a real blessing to me. We chose this one mainly for the price but afterwards we were very satisfied with its performance. We also purchased an extra lens besides the 35.80 that it came with. We purchased a 70-210. This is the lens I use 99% of the time because I take pictures of my son playing sports. I would love to have a new lens or converter but that will have to wait. I am satisified enough with what I have that I am not in that big of a hurry.
10/24/2003 6:32:13 AM
 
Sherry L. Nelson

member since: 9/13/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I LOVE MY CAMERA
9/13/2003 8:17:44 PM
 
Sherry L. Nelson

member since: 9/13/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I LOVE MY CAMERA
9/13/2003 8:14:52 PM
 
Inge S. De Vries

member since: 10/2/2002
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I really like this camera, it is easy to use for anyone and it takes good close-ups. There is nothing I don't like about this camera. It has manual and automatic focus.
9/2/2003 12:57:52 PM
 
Gabriel C. Hidalgo

member since: 8/5/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I got this camera through an Ebay auction. It is light yet sturdy in built. You have the option to change its lens with other Minolta Maxxum compatible AF Lens. I first used it during the first birthday of my youngest son and I had consumed 3 rolls of films. The result was amazing. I was a point and shoot user before and now I can say that the result of an SLR cameras, Minolta QTsi to be specific is far more better than any point and shoot cameras available.
8/26/2003 6:01:08 AM
 
Kimberly Vaca

member since: 7/31/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love this camera, I take it everywhere. Although I have not had a chance to use any others. I am in the market for another camera soon. I will probably use this as a back up.
8/19/2003 5:49:14 AM
 
Vickey Mahon

member since: 8/17/2003
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
The first slr camera I've owned. I'm plesed with it's results.
8/17/2003 11:59:50 AM
 
Nancye M. Wilkins

member since: 8/6/2003
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
To me it takes the pics I want it to take it is not the most expensive or lavish, it gets the job done. But it is alittle bulky when traveling.
8/6/2003 9:07:18 PM
 
Regan M. Throp

member since: 7/31/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
It takes great pictures, it is very easy to work. I really don't have anyhting that I don't like about it, it's a very good camera.
7/31/2003 8:27:35 PM
 
Eliza J. 

member since: 7/9/2002
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
It is a camera that doesn't allow much growth..basically it is fully automatic. But it it my first camera, and it has made me explore all the possibilites out there...so I would recommend it for someone who doesn't want to get overly involved - but wants an slr.
7/16/2003 9:11:05 PM
 
Heidi J. Earven

member since: 7/12/2003
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I love my minolta, but i don't really know how to rate it against others because this is the only camera I've ever used.
7/12/2003 10:48:58 PM
 
Christine  J. Stiles

member since: 5/17/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I Love my Minolta QTsi. It is not a PRO camera but it is a great starter camera a little more than a point & shoot. I love the picture quality. I am very happy with mine
7/12/2003 7:30:00 AM
 
Connie West-Yanz

member since: 5/27/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
My minolta is lightweight and easy to use. I have not had a problem with it and so far no fuzzy pics....except when I forgot it was in low light mode and the shutter stayed open for 3 seconds and I moved haha
7/8/2003 11:37:59 AM
 
Terry L. Roach

member since: 11/27/2002
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
My starter camera, it has perked my interest in the field to where I can't learn enough or shoot enough. Decent leraner camera.
7/3/2003 4:56:57 AM
 
Susan Langton

member since: 4/17/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
One of the best careras I have used. It is very user friendly.
6/25/2003 1:58:54 PM
 
T.J. Nixon

member since: 2/7/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love my Minolta, but I'm leaning towards a Digital SLR for so many reasons. I get the SLR funtions, plus, I'll get the instant product without waiting for Walmart to develope my photos. I love taking pictures!!!! And I love this website! And I apprecitate you fixing the problem with the new formate! I'll keep entering photos because one of these days I'M GOING TO WIN something! Thanks Heather and Jim. You are absolutely great for letting plain ole' people like me have a chance to prove themselves! T.J.
6/17/2003 7:34:11 PM
 
Armando 

member since: 7/6/2001
1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 1 out of 5
The Minolta QTSi is more of a Point-And-Shoot rather than the traditional SLR. Case in point: You only get a series of preprogrammed exposure and shutter speed modes - Landscape, Portrait, Sports, etc. There is no metered manual, no AE, no Shutter Priority, etc. This is a very expensive and heavy Point-and-Shoot, dressed in SLR clothing.

The body is entirely plastic, with a built-in flash that has some advanced features. The AF tends to hunt excessively, and the autoexposure is so-so. Because of the program mode limitations, you'll find that the majority of your shots will end up underexposed. Using a third-party Quantray, the image lines were crisp, but for the most part, the view was rather dark.

Bottom line: you're better saving some money and investing in a lighter, more portable 35mm/APS point-and-shoot. You'll even get more zoom options for the same amount. Minolta fans should consider moving up to the STSi, which features some manual control.

 
Armando 

member since: 7/6/2001
1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 1 out of 5
The Minolta QTSi is more of a Point-And-Shoot rather than the traditional SLR. Case in point: You only get a series of preprogrammed exposure and shutter speed modes - Landscape, Portrait, Sports, etc. There is no metered manual, no AE, no Shutter Priority, etc. This is a very expensive and heavy Point-and-Shoot, dressed in SLR clothing.

The body is entirely plastic, with a built-in flash that has some advanced features. The AF tends to hunt excessively, and the autoexposure is so-so. Because of the program mode limitations, you'll find that the majority of your shots will end up underexposed. Using a third-party Quantray, the image lines were crisp, but for the most part, the view was rather dark.

Bottom line: you're better saving some money and investing in a lighter, more portable 35mm/APS point-and-shoot. You'll even get more zoom options for the same amount. Minolta fans should consider moving up to the STSi, which features some manual control.

 
Cindy Wulff

member since: 3/25/2002
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I think the Minolta Maxxum QTsi is a wonderful camera to get started taking photographs with. I had a APS camera before my huband got me the Minolta. I can tell a big difference in my photos, of course I have a Great subject too, (My Daughter)! Granted, I'm not a professional, but would someday like to be. In the meantime I am goimg to enjoy using my Minolta QTsi.
 
N P. Viswanathan

member since: 8/6/2002
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Minolta Synax5 is really fantastic and it is campact and also very powerful. It is a rare phenonemon - Hats off to the manufacturers
- N.P.Viswanathan
 

73 Reviews  

Add your own review

Buy Maxxum QTsi SLR Camera from Amazon.com


Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.