BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


PowerShot Pro90 IS Digital Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

 Getting Out
View photos created with this camera

The PowerShot Pro90 IS Digital Camera

Features:


  • 2.6 megapixel CCD creates 1856 x 1392 pixel images for prints at sizes up to 8 x 10
  • 10x optical and 2x digital zoom lens with optical image stabilization and autofocus
  • Included 16 MB CompactFlash cards holds 17 photos at default settings
  • Connects with Macs and PCs via USB port
  • Uses proprietary Canon rechargeable lithium ion battery, included


© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


12 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Marla Kaufman

member since: 4/27/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is a great camera it has a powerful lense & a anti shake mode. I very happy with the pictures it takes.
6/27/2006 7:22:39 AM
 
Jason Martin

member since: 11/19/2003
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Next best thing to a digital SLR. 10X zoom makes it easy to get that shot when changing lenses just takes too long. However, it is only 2.6 megapixels.
6/3/2005 6:19:24 PM
 
Ryan Dearle
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 3/14/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Fantastic 10x optical zoom lens, the battery life if excellent, and the colors are clear. The digital zoom blurs easily and the auto focus can get confused easily.
3/14/2005 1:06:08 AM
 
Debbie Moy

member since: 1/8/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I Love it I wouldn't change a thing, I love the Zoom and the nice clear photos It takes
1/8/2005 9:33:56 PM
 
Lamar Grube

member since: 10/6/2003
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
My first camera. Very easy to learn on, yet full manual control, but very few bells and whistles. Good glass in a 10 power image stabilized zoom.
7/19/2004 1:14:33 AM
 
James A. Crawford

member since: 2/11/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
When I bought my Canon 10d this fine camera went to my wife who loves it. It did me well through the year I used it.
2/11/2004 12:00:57 PM
 
Tim Chong

member since: 10/11/2001
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
The 10x optical zoom with Image Stabilization on the Canon Powershot Pro90 IS makes it a very rare camera ever produced. Using the same CCD chip from the Canon Powershot G1, it was masked down to 2.6 effective MP because of the long lens. The quality is superb and makes a decent 8x10 prints but low ISO and long shutter lag was no longer an attractive feature to me.
8/17/2003 10:18:27 PM
 
Henny Grevelink

member since: 8/13/2002
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Pro: 10x optical zoom, handles like a SLR camera Con: no macro
7/30/2003 8:59:25 AM
 
Marla Kaufman

member since: 7/1/2002
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I don't like the software that came with camera. A bit to confusing.
7/15/2003 2:34:06 AM
 
Lesley  Fentiman

member since: 1/6/2001
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Only problem with this camera. It has 2.6 effective megapixels. Otherwise excellent. Good when using macro lens which can be attached. Good with all modes.
6/17/2003 11:30:36 PM
 
ilana Peled
BetterPhoto Member
Contact ilana
ilana's Gallery

member since: 4/21/2001
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I like this camera for it`s long zoom:37 - 370 mm. and ofcourse it`s stabilizer, as I usually take pictures without tripod.
6/17/2003 6:36:24 AM
 
Florin Muraru

member since: 9/25/2000
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I have been using this camera for the last year or so. I am happy with its performance, based on realistic expectations and knowing the limitations of a digital camera (vs film). The Image stabilizer helps a great deal when taking fast moving images such as sports events. The 10X optical zoom is great in outdoor. The resollution is pretty good for most of the pictures taken so far. The shortcomings are (1) resolution is less than desirable when the lighting is weak, (2) cycling speed is slow when updating to the next frame, (3) shuter speed (1/1000) is not sufficiently fast to accommodate sports. The other negative, that I have encountered, and it is not a big one, is slow start up time from when you first turn on the camera to when it acutally starts working. The zoom is great, the features are easy to use and the battery is long lasting. The dials that control the camera make it much easier to change between features then on cameras with complicated menus. I purchased a 64 mb. card, which also increases this cameras versitility. I love this camera, and it takes great pictures.
12/12/2002 6:09:27 AM
 

12 Reviews  

Add your own review

Buy PowerShot Pro90 IS Digital Camera from Amazon.com


Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.