Maxxum XTsi SLR Camera


Minolta

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Auto Focus SLRs

Contrasting Faces
View photos created with this camera

The Maxxum XTsi SLR Camera

Features:

  • Compact, automatic SLR 35mm camera
  • Built-in automatic flash
  • 3-point crosscut auto focusing
  • Unique eye-start operation
  • Panorama option and date/time imprinting

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


24 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Shobin George
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/27/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2007 3:22:50 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2007 3:22:50 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2007 3:22:50 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2007 3:22:50 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2007 3:22:50 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Excellent camera, with sharp focussing system. Light weight, very handy with so many functions to play with.
2/14/2007 3:22:50 AM
 
Pamela Kutzen 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/7/2006 10:04:43 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/7/2006 10:04:43 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/7/2006 10:04:43 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/7/2006 10:04:43 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/7/2006 10:04:43 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I love this camera for taking black and white and infrared images. Since, it was my first "serious" camera, I found it very user friendly. I use to this day, if I want to have a shot in black and white/infrared and the digital for color. I find that in some cases the film records certain lighting better than my digital. I will never get rid of this one. I enjoy the challenge of film photograpy too much. Thanks, Pam
5/7/2006 10:04:43 PM
 
Erik R. Frette 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2005 5:19:01 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2005 5:19:01 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2005 5:19:01 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2005 5:19:01 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2005 5:19:01 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great quality for the money.
6/21/2005 5:19:01 AM
 
Tony Wilder
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/11/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2005 1:46:17 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2005 1:46:17 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2005 1:46:17 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2005 1:46:17 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2005 1:46:17 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
this 35mm camera is user friendly but its too bad its lens arent easily changable with other name brands liek canon and nikon.
6/9/2005 1:46:17 PM
 
Annette Leibovitz
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/31/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2005 9:37:08 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2005 9:37:08 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2005 9:37:08 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2005 9:37:08 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2005 9:37:08 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I like the variety of pictures I can take with the camera. I wish it were a bit softer. I have filters fo an older Minota that do not fit this one. I am also realizing that I should look at digitals (maybe a Minolat) or a Cannon.
5/30/2005 9:37:08 PM
 
Sandra Horne 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2005 8:24:39 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2005 8:24:39 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2005 8:24:39 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2005 8:24:39 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2005 8:24:39 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I love this camera, its a little more advanced then the point and shoot, it just great!
4/21/2005 8:24:39 AM
 
Renee McCain 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2005 10:41:00 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2005 10:41:00 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2005 10:41:00 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2005 10:41:00 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2005 10:41:00 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
More bells and whistles than I know how to use yet. The only thing I have to compare it to right now.
4/17/2005 10:41:00 AM
 
Bradley J. Fraser 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2005 10:51:05 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2005 10:51:05 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2005 10:51:05 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2005 10:51:05 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2005 10:51:05 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
seiously outdated but overall happy with it's performance.....
1/31/2005 10:51:05 AM
 
Rosemary Buffoni 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/29/2004 7:12:59 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/29/2004 7:12:59 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/29/2004 7:12:59 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/29/2004 7:12:59 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/29/2004 7:12:59 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have always shot with Minolta cameras. I find the Xtsi to have all the features+ I enjoy and need. It can be used from fully auto to fully manual with a flick of a button. I chose this camera because of it's very versatile options, and really liked the eye-start feature. The only thing I dislike is the date stamp is easily initiated..so I took the battery out and have no more accidents with that going on. I also like Minolta glass and find their lenses to be sharp and accurate.
7/29/2004 7:12:59 AM
 
RD Photography 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2004 7:28:26 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2004 7:28:26 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2004 7:28:26 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2004 7:28:26 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2004 7:28:26 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Just purchased this one as well, I like the panorama feature on it. Nice camera.
4/28/2004 7:28:26 AM
 
SHAWN MABRY 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2004 6:08:42 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2004 6:08:42 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2004 6:08:42 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2004 6:08:42 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2004 6:08:42 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Minolta is a great brand. Sure they are behind in the digital world, but when they produce one, they do it right the first time. I like the XTsi well enough. It is slow at times and too small. I have large hands and the frame of the camera is too small overall. If you want good pictures at a low price, I totally suggest this camera. I will soon purchase the Minolta Maxxum 7 for its speed and extra settings.
4/26/2004 6:08:42 PM
 
Jamie Lockard 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2004 7:03:20 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2004 7:03:20 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2004 7:03:20 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2004 7:03:20 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2004 7:03:20 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Multiple features yet easy to use. Has a panoramic feature which is great for an SLR. I've been very pleased to date.
4/14/2004 7:03:20 PM
 
Eddie Yu 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2004 11:48:15 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2004 11:48:15 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2004 11:48:15 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2004 11:48:15 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2004 11:48:15 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Overall quality is good but sometimes the auto-focus doesn't work and it may take a few tries to get it works.
3/28/2004 11:48:15 PM
 
Christy L. Anderson 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2004 11:31:06 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2004 11:31:06 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2004 11:31:06 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2004 11:31:06 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2004 11:31:06 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I really enjoy using this camera. However, I found that I usually grap the digital instead due to convenience. I still think this camera is much better to use for quality, sharp photographs.
2/11/2004 11:31:06 AM
 
Jackie  M. Moukperian 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2004 8:15:52 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2004 8:15:52 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2004 8:15:52 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2004 8:15:52 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2004 8:15:52 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Great for black and whites. But not fast enough.
1/12/2004 8:15:52 PM
 
Morris Turner 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2003 9:30:26 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2003 9:30:26 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2003 9:30:26 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2003 9:30:26 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2003 9:30:26 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I find the XTsi to be a good camera. It does allow you to shot automatic and manual. It's easily held in the hands with no discomfort. Great for the beginner and satisfying for an advanced member of photography. I still label myself a beginner...still learning! Before purchasing this camera I researched quite a bit. I mostly read reviews from others who had prior experience with this particular camera. There were more positive than negative returns about the camera which was good enough for me! Will upgrade soon and probably stay in the Minolta family.
10/27/2003 9:30:26 AM
 
David H. Jackson 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/24/2003 1:26:29 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/24/2003 1:26:29 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/24/2003 1:26:29 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/24/2003 1:26:29 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/24/2003 1:26:29 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Good camera for the beginer or advanced amateur. No longer have this camera.
10/24/2003 1:26:29 PM
 
David H. Jackson 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/24/2003 7:24:45 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/24/2003 7:24:45 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/24/2003 7:24:45 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/24/2003 7:24:45 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/24/2003 7:24:45 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Ok for the amateur or advanaced amateur. Don't own camera any more
10/24/2003 7:24:45 AM
 
David H. Jackson 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/24/2003 7:14:19 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/24/2003 7:14:19 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/24/2003 7:14:19 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/24/2003 7:14:19 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/24/2003 7:14:19 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Do not own camera anymore
10/24/2003 7:14:19 AM
 
Christie Yonce 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/19/2003 5:43:38 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/19/2003 5:43:38 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/19/2003 5:43:38 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/19/2003 5:43:38 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/19/2003 5:43:38 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love this camera. It has auto setting which are great for beginners. It can also be set manually. The camera is very user friendly and easy to learn to use. This camera is great for a beginner or a more advanced photographer.
10/19/2003 5:43:38 PM
 
Julie A. Bixler 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/29/2003 1:45:46 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/29/2003 1:45:46 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/29/2003 1:45:46 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/29/2003 1:45:46 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/29/2003 1:45:46 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
easy to use. Macro features are great. I still feel limited with flash capabilities. Also feel limited with shutter speed.
7/29/2003 1:45:46 PM
 
Marie Arlene Duffy 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2003 5:04:16 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2003 5:04:16 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2003 5:04:16 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2003 5:04:16 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2003 5:04:16 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love my 35mm Minolta. I am however new at photography 1 year maybe. One thing I must do is to learn my manual settings better in order to take optimum photos. I am getting better all the time! Marie
6/19/2003 5:04:16 AM
 
Michael R. Murphy 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2003 5:52:55 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2003 5:52:55 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2003 5:52:55 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2003 5:52:55 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2003 5:52:55 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I have had an XTSI for about 2 years and I think it's a very nice camera, especially if this is your first 35mm. You can do everything in auto mode, or you can mix and match. There are pre programmed modes for things such as sports, night photography, portraits, etc., but full manual mode is also available. Some of my best shots have come with this camera and either a Tamron or Sigma lens. This model is getting harder to find as many models have come out since, but it is still around and can be purchased for a reasonable price.

Michael Murphy

6/11/2003 5:52:55 AM
 
Patrick  4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
The XTsi is quick and very light. You can mount significant weight onto the camera. One problem with the XTsi is that you can not shoot with a slave flash unit or wireless remote. However, the XT can be fitted with a very capable 3500 or 5400HS flash unit. Highly recommended.
 

24 Reviews