BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


Cyber-shot DSC-P200 Digital Camera


Sony

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

Bridging History
View photos created with this camera

The Cyber-shot DSC-P200 Digital Camera

Features:

  • Powered by Lithium-ion battery (NP-FR1);connects to PCs and Macs via USB 2.0
  • 7.2 MP CCD captures enough detail for photo-quality prints up to 15 x 20 inches
  • 3x optical and 2x digital zoom for 6x total zoom
  • Carl Zeiss optics; 16-shot burst mode; high-resolution movie mode with sound
  • Compatible with Memory Stick and Memory Stick Pro media; includes 32 MB card


Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


37 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Iryna Varabei
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 4/6/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
It's just perfect!
11/21/2007 10:46:52 AM
 
Secret S. Eisenschmidt

member since: 7/16/2007
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Wonderful Quality. Very quick and accessible.
8/2/2007 3:12:54 PM
 
Natalie 
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 8/2/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great Camera, fast and easy to use.
12/10/2006 7:27:23 PM
 
Damien Williams

member since: 6/30/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great camera.
6/30/2006 2:36:11 PM
 
Jessica Carrillo

member since: 6/30/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Very good camera.
6/30/2006 2:10:15 PM
 
Caroline C. Shyu

member since: 6/8/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
extremely useful and photo quality is excellent
6/8/2006 4:11:32 PM
 
Jack A. Brenner

member since: 4/29/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
camera does well on distance but a real close up a bit fuzzy
5/10/2006 5:44:23 PM
 
Michael P. Simmons

member since: 4/24/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
it takes great pictures!
4/24/2006 8:56:34 AM
 
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I like it because it's easy to use. It doesn't have a bunch of features that I don't use. It has color, black and white, and sepia. I like to play around with the different color options.
4/20/2006 10:30:33 PM
 
Angela M. Buhr

member since: 4/7/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love my camera. It's small and compact and I can take it with me everywhere. Literally, I carry it with me in my purse daily so I don't miss a shot. It's a 7.2 megapixel so it takes super quality photos that can be enlarged poster-sized without degrading the quality. It's a 3x zoom which isn't a whole lot but I mostly take close up shots anyway. It also takes short video clips with audio. I love it and recommend it as a small portable quality camera.
4/7/2006 10:33:57 PM
 
Marcia J. Hammler
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 3/27/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I like that the camera is compact, so it is easy to carry anywhere. For a compact camera, it has a lot of features and the picure quality is great.
3/30/2006 9:02:49 PM
 
Jade Turnbull

member since: 3/24/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
It has a great zoom to catch far away objects and it is small and easy to handle. It holds a great deal of photos which is useful and the pixels are excellent which makes the photo quality amazing. Best camera I have had so far!
3/24/2006 9:10:28 AM
 
S Raines

member since: 3/1/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
compact, easy to carry, easy to operate, adjustable pixels, small screen
3/1/2006 8:08:58 AM
 
Jocelyn Remington

member since: 2/25/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I'm not a professional photographer and this camera certainly does not look profession but the pictures it take are wonderful- and at a great resolution for bigger prints. I would like to own a camera that takes RAW images, but this one can fit in my pocket- or diaper bag!
2/25/2006 9:19:59 AM
 
Ryan P. Ackermann

member since: 2/24/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Its great it has a great lense and is very small
2/24/2006 12:25:51 PM
 
Ryan P. Ackermann

member since: 2/24/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Its great it has a great lense and is very small
2/24/2006 12:25:49 PM
 
Jose L. Olivas

member since: 1/5/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
good camera, small in size
2/23/2006 1:13:36 PM
 
~Shehnshah H. Saleem
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 2/11/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I have had a few sony camera's including the T1 and this is my latest. The auto feature is pretty much a do-it-all as it is supposed to be. however I have been experimenting with the Manual mode and it is quite easy to manipulate and play with. as for the resolusion, it is an amazing 7.2 MP providing great, crisp photos!
2/12/2006 10:42:14 AM
 
Larissa N. Miller

member since: 1/28/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Sometimes there is too much light and exposure, but overall decent pictures
1/28/2006 10:46:12 AM
 
Kelsi M. McDevitt

member since: 1/26/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I am very satisfied with my camera because it takes absoloutly amazing picturs, with such great detail.
1/26/2006 2:53:51 PM
 
Amod A. Gokhale

member since: 1/16/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
E X C E L L E N T Camera I ever used
1/16/2006 9:39:37 PM
 
Guy C. Uda
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 1/8/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
As I am a "budding" photographer, this is the most advanced camera I have used. I'd rather move to a digital SLR but my Sony DSC-P200 does the trick just fine at this stage of my development. Camera great for hobbyist, perhaps would suggest something more advanced for professionals.
1/9/2006 10:36:09 AM
 
Tracy Wilson

member since: 11/29/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Just got it, so it's too soon to tell.
1/6/2006 5:54:20 PM
 
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This is cool. I just got it. However, I wish there was a way to select a higher ISO than 400.
1/6/2006 1:47:40 PM
 
Melissa 

member since: 12/12/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
So far, I like this camera, but I haven't read all the instructions yet, so i know I'm not getting full use of all the features.
12/12/2005 3:35:51 PM
 
C aleb F ooks

member since: 9/6/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
it's nice for a non SLR.
12/12/2005 12:26:43 PM
 
Phillip 

member since: 8/29/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
I have recently found a zest for photograght so I have really no basis for comparison but I seem to take some excellent pics with this some times. So one plus is that it seems to be good for a beginner. A negative is that I think these are cheaply made because my plastic piece around the edge is loose and it seems to not take pics as fast as is use to. That might just be a sony thing though because my mom recently bougt a sony D.C. and the sensor was screwed up and then the next one she got can take up to 10 seconds to take a picture. Also if you are buying b/c of a rebate do not do this sony never rebates anyone. Typically your rebate form "will be lost in the mail."
12/6/2005 3:20:47 PM
 
Stephanie R. Tweedie

member since: 11/24/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Very compact, however not able to change shutter speed and f-stops as much as desired. Great for quick shots!
12/3/2005 11:22:44 PM
 
Wayne F. Sexton

member since: 11/4/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I like it's compactness and ease of use. But it lacks the flexibility of an SLR which will be my next camera.
12/1/2005 7:33:21 PM
 
Brenda Singh

member since: 11/22/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love our camera it takes beautiful easy pics on the spot. They are bright and beautiful
11/22/2005 5:39:19 PM
 
Julianne M. Ray

member since: 10/4/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
We like this little camera. It is great to toss in your purse or beach bag. It takes really good shots and the 7.2 effective megapixeles gives you the option for enlargements.
10/19/2005 11:35:07 AM
 
Jose Deorta
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 10/19/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I LIKE THAT IT TAKES GREAT PICTURES AND YOU CAN CARRY IT IN YOUR POCKE. IT CAN TAKE LONG TO SNAP THE PICTURES.
10/19/2005 11:34:40 AM
 
Ariel Body
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 6/19/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great features, works well in just about every setting!
10/9/2005 8:20:59 AM
 
Brenda J. Wilson

member since: 7/24/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great Camera overall - will need zoom lens for distance shots though.
7/24/2005 6:31:03 PM
 
Chris N. Gregersen

member since: 7/11/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
In my mind, this is an excellent camera, one of the best I have owned. The clarity and depth of the photo's it takes are amazing, while the many features enhance any backdrop. The only downfall is that there are a few features of the camera that require a tripod or very sturdy hands, and while in this mode, few pictures turn out without blurred objects. This is only for very few of the many options available with this camera, and for the most part, this camera takes great, quality pictures.
7/11/2005 10:12:33 AM
 
Karin  M. Ulik

member since: 5/17/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This tiny point-and-shoot takes vivid, clear, quality pictures. It's pretty quick--not too much lag time. Simple to use. I purchased as replacement for my old model DSC-P72 (which is really slow).
6/30/2005 6:05:10 AM
 
Lois L. Absher

member since: 3/29/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
New camera to me. Trying to learn all features and have not done so to date. I like the results - find the size a bit daunting but this one does have places to put your fingers without getting them over the lense thus in the shot.
3/30/2005 5:28:49 AM
 

37 Reviews  

Add your own review

Buy Cyber-shot DSC-P200 Digital Camera from Amazon.com


Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.