PowerShot S110 (IXUS v) Digital Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital Point and Shoot Cameras

North Rustico Lig...
View photos created with this camera

The PowerShot S110 (IXUS v) Digital Camera

Features:


  • 2.1 megapixel sensor captures 1600 x 1200 stills for prints up to 8 x 10
  • 2x optical plus 2.5x digital zoom lens with autofocus
  • Included 8 MB CompactFlash card holds 12 images at default resolution
  • Connects with Macs and PCs via USB port
  • Rechargeable Lithium-Ion battery included

Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


20 Reviews  

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Crystene Ashby 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/5/2006 4:39:08 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/5/2006 4:39:08 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/5/2006 4:39:08 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/5/2006 4:39:08 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/5/2006 4:39:08 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
For a basic digital camera, this does great close-up shots. I do everything on a manual setting and I love doing macro shots too. It's a 2.1 with a 3x optical zoom as well as a digital zoom. I NEVER use the digital zoom, due to blurry shots. I bought a Canon PowerShot G300 3.2 3yrs ago, with only a digital zoom. It doesn't even compare to the 2.1! All in all, I'm pretty happy with this camera. I have recently bought a Minolta SRT 101 35mm with a telephoto lens, that's about 25-30 yrs old and will be doing some shot's with that too.
6/5/2006 4:39:08 PM
 
Elizabeth Manning 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2006 6:31:26 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2006 6:31:26 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2006 6:31:26 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2006 6:31:26 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2006 6:31:26 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This was my first digital camera. Point and shoot with a shutter lag time that is a little irritating because it seems so long. But I seem to get very nice photos with it.
4/20/2006 6:31:26 PM
 
Beth Ashley 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/18/2005 9:10:50 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/18/2005 9:10:50 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/18/2005 9:10:50 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/18/2005 9:10:50 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/18/2005 9:10:50 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love this camera as a point and shoot. It fits in your pocket for those on the go photos you don't want to miss!
7/18/2005 9:10:50 PM
 
Bambi L. Dingman
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/2/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/5/2005 8:35:21 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/5/2005 8:35:21 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/5/2005 8:35:21 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/5/2005 8:35:21 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/5/2005 8:35:21 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I love the 10x zoom and image stabilization.
6/5/2005 8:35:21 PM
 
Roger S. Applewhite 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2004 7:53:39 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2004 7:53:39 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2004 7:53:39 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2004 7:53:39 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2004 7:53:39 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
This is a great camera for taking simple shots and images for the web- which is really why I purchased it in the first place three years ago. In regards to how I feel about it now considering my new goals and interests in in photography...I'd have to say it's average at best.
10/6/2004 7:53:39 PM
 
Roger S. Applewhite 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2004 7:52:59 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2004 7:52:59 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2004 7:52:59 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2004 7:52:59 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2004 7:52:59 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
This is a great camera for taking simple shots and images for the web- which is really why I purchased it in the first place three years ago. In regards to how I feel about it now considering my new goals and interests in in photography...I'd have to say it's average at best.
10/6/2004 7:52:59 PM
 
Steven Butterworth 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2004 12:25:14 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2004 12:25:14 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2004 12:25:14 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2004 12:25:14 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2004 12:25:14 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Small, handy and pretty good quality. Great start into Digital to test the waters, and being so pocketable, can be used where perhaps other cameras would get left at home.
8/24/2004 12:25:14 PM
 
Tomek Przygoda 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2004 4:37:06 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2004 4:37:06 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2004 4:37:06 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2004 4:37:06 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2004 4:37:06 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
it's really small and convenient to carry around, but digital zoom sucks, and there's no option to turn it off. The camer takes great pictures, if light is perfect, but with uneven compositions (with shadows, and strong light) tends to overexpose, and the flash is totally useless, so there's no way to taka a good night portraits. For night shots with long exposures, it seems to have a high noise levels. But as I said in the begining - it's small and easy to cary :-)
5/10/2004 4:37:06 PM
 
Michael Guenther 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2004 7:39:00 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2004 7:39:00 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2004 7:39:00 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2004 7:39:00 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2004 7:39:00 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Easy to use. This is the one I've used the most over the past year or so
4/6/2004 7:39:00 PM
 
Jaime L. Bley 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2004 11:40:46 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2004 11:40:46 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2004 11:40:46 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2004 11:40:46 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2004 11:40:46 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
this camera has become my best friend, BUT it has been my first camera i have played with. so an amateur, i am. but what has been wonderful about this camera is that it has really allowed me to play with subject matter and content, not to mention the beautiful quality for such a ity bity camera. however, now that i have become a bit more familiar with the camera family tree, i am looking forward to upgrading. upgrading to something that allows me to play more with depth and light, as well as zoom. with an elph, you are forced to play with detail. up close and personal. but there is such beauty in that.
3/25/2004 11:40:46 AM
 
Cheryl L. Engel
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/11/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2004 12:01:59 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2004 12:01:59 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2004 12:01:59 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2004 12:01:59 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2004 12:01:59 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
The Canon PowerShot S110 Digital Elph, Ai, AF has been a delight to use. The images come out clear and refreshing. I find I need to do "auto levels" in Photoshop to get a slighly better look, but that is about it. I am dissapointed in all the small digital cameras in regard to the red eye. The flash is unable to be moved upwards, and the little light that needs to run across the eyes first, tends to delay the picture, and the people in the picture get distracted. Other than that, my first foray into the digital world has been totally rewarding.
2/11/2004 12:01:59 PM
 
Zara F. Adams 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2004 8:50:03 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2004 8:50:03 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2004 8:50:03 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2004 8:50:03 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2004 8:50:03 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Bianca's first day at Corran School an all girls school.
1/31/2004 8:50:03 AM
 
Zara F. Adams 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2004 8:48:44 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2004 8:48:44 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2004 8:48:44 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2004 8:48:44 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2004 8:48:44 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
My Daughters first day at school year 1 she is 4 turns 5 in April 1999. She attends school at Corran an all girls school.
1/31/2004 8:48:44 AM
 
Suraj Shetty 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2003 2:42:37 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2003 2:42:37 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2003 2:42:37 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2003 2:42:37 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2003 2:42:37 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Awesome little camera. Takes great pictures for it's size and compactness. Ideal for when you're on the go and don't want to lug a lareg case with you (or can't).
12/20/2003 2:42:37 PM
 
Suraj Shetty 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2003 2:41:20 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2003 2:41:20 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2003 2:41:20 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2003 2:41:20 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2003 2:41:20 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Awesome little camera. Takes great pictures for it's size and compactness. Ideal for when you're on the go and don't want to lug a lareg case with you (or can't).
12/20/2003 2:41:20 PM
 
Tammy K. Miller 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/20/2003 7:58:14 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/20/2003 7:58:14 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/20/2003 7:58:14 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/20/2003 7:58:14 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/20/2003 7:58:14 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I have been pleased with the quality pictures I have taken with this camera. It was really easy to learn to use. I loved taking mini movies with it on my Carribean Cruise. The lighting is kinda touchy when taking movies indoors, however. The best feature of the camera is that it is so compact that you can stick it in your pocket and take it with you everywhere.
11/20/2003 7:58:14 PM
 
Guy Vincent 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/10/2003 7:13:36 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/10/2003 7:13:36 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/10/2003 7:13:36 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/10/2003 7:13:36 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/10/2003 7:13:36 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Exceptional quality ! Great 2.1 Megapixels camera.
8/10/2003 7:13:36 AM
 
Milton Durango 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2003 9:44:35 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2003 9:44:35 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2003 9:44:35 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2003 9:44:35 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2003 9:44:35 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
GREAT PORTABLE CAMERA, IT'D BE BETTER WITH MORE PIXEL RESOLUTION...
7/9/2003 9:44:35 PM
 
L A. W 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/22/2003 3:24:59 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/22/2003 3:24:59 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/22/2003 3:24:59 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/22/2003 3:24:59 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/22/2003 3:24:59 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is an amazing little point and shoot digital camera! I bought it in June, 2001 and, although I have been trying to upgrade to cameras with more mega pixels, I cannot find one that produces such sharp and accurate photos with so little fuss. It even does little movie clips with sound, good macro shots and very acceptable indoor photos with its own flash (not always the case with digitals). The size is perfect to slip into a vest or a small bag and it is a nice looking little thing as well. All in all, the s110 is one of my favorite cameras and has been for almost 3 years.
4/22/2003 3:24:59 PM
 
Naomi Tropp 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2003 8:19:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2003 8:19:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2003 8:19:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2003 8:19:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2003 8:19:08 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I've been using this camera for over a year and love it! It's a very simple little gadget. It's quite small, so I can stick it in a pocket or hang it around my neck without it weighing me down. I always leave it on the highest resolution and largest size settings and adjust other settings as needed. This provides me with lots of flexibility in terms of what I do with the shots. I can either make a crystal clear, high resolution 8X10 print or compress the photo by 50% to send it via e-mail. The color is gorgeous. I do crop and make some adjustments to sharpness and color, but many of the photos come out looking great as is. When I bought the camera, it was selling for $400. They just replaced it with the S200, which is a slightly updated version that is selling for as little as $270.
2/9/2003 8:19:08 PM
 

20 Reviews  

Buy PowerShot S110 (IXUS v) Digital Camera from Amazon.com