PowerShot G2 Digital Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

Sarah
View photos created with this camera

The PowerShot G2 Digital Camera

Quite simply, the Canon PowerShot G2 is an elegant, easy-to-use joy of a digital camera that boasts impressive 4-MP resolution, a 3x optical zoom, a bright LCD monitor that swivels off to the side of the camera and tilts up and down as needed, and maximum overall creative control in addition to a fully automatic mode. Of course, none of this comes as much of a surprise to anyone familiar with its popular predecessor, the PowerShot G1. Both of these cameras have features and picture-taking modes similar to Canon's EOS cameras, which means they have what Canon calls a "very camera-like feel." Some of the G2's more obvious improvements over the G1 (besides higher resolution) include a champagne gold finish, larger grip for easier handling, improved image and color quality, new photo-effect shooting mode for various effects, including black-and-white and sepia, and a new high-speed selectable autofocus.

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 150 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Jessica J. Roth 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2006 10:56:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2006 10:56:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2006 10:56:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2006 10:56:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2006 10:56:49 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
The zoom is perfect for the shots that I love to take, the clarity is always on point, and the options that it gives you are not too overwhelming yet enough to be creative if wanted. It wont ever live up to my 35mm because its a digital, but its the one digital ive used that's still allowed me to take great expressive pictures.
7/4/2006 10:56:49 AM
 
April Todd 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2006 6:49:23 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2006 6:49:23 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2006 6:49:23 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2006 6:49:23 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2006 6:49:23 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I love this camera. It takes great pictures, and is perfect for someone who just likes to have fun and shoot without all of the complicated buttons. It only has 2.0 Megapixels though, so I need to upgrade because I am trying to get more serious about this - so I need a better camera! But, I do love mine.
6/22/2006 6:49:23 PM
 
Juliet Lisenby 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2006 7:09:06 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2006 7:09:06 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2006 7:09:06 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2006 7:09:06 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2006 7:09:06 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Sometimes it's difficult to get the shot because the camera takes a long time to focus. Otherwise it's a good camera for a novice.
6/18/2006 7:09:06 PM
 
Tim  4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2006 6:36:39 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2006 6:36:39 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2006 6:36:39 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2006 6:36:39 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2006 6:36:39 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
It has 11x digital zoom and can take really great pictures, but sometimes the shutter speed is randomly really slow and can mess up a really great picture. It takes a long time to process one picture and sometimes that means you miss a great opportunity for a picture.
6/1/2006 6:36:39 PM
 
Bruce H. McIntosh
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/7/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2006 8:09:14 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2006 8:09:14 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2006 8:09:14 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2006 8:09:14 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2006 8:09:14 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is actually the wife's camera- she's the forward thinker and I'm the 35mm luddite. The camera's good enough and flexible enough that there's no blaming it for bad images; it's more than enough camera for the serious amateur or even semi-pro. My wife and I shot her boss's wedding, me with the N70 and her with the G2; great results from both cameras, and the paycheck was kind of nice! :-)

The only ding I've got is against a common malady for most non-pro-SLR digitals from the era: exposure calculation and image capture take FOREVER; a good second to second and a half after you pust the button. I've missed quite a few fast-action shots with the G2 that I would have gotten with the N70 (or the F or FG for that matter) because it took so long to decide on the exposure and actually fire off the CCD. But that's about the only frustration I've had.

Battery life is good, the menus are easy to navigate, the images are MARVELOUS, the macro mode works very well down to some absurdly small dimension I can't remember... other than the slow exposure calc and image capture, it's the quintessential digital camera. Recommended, or whatever its latest successor (the G5?) is.

5/18/2006 8:09:14 PM
 
Aranee Bundhurat 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/9/2006 8:18:40 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/9/2006 8:18:40 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/9/2006 8:18:40 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/9/2006 8:18:40 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/9/2006 8:18:40 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I like that I can carry it around easily. It gives good colors and contrast. The light measuring is mostly good. I also like that I can turn the LCD in many directions. I don't like that it takes time to turn on and to record files. But it's a digital compact, what can I complain?
4/9/2006 8:18:40 AM
 
Becci McClain 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/1/2006 8:08:00 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/1/2006 8:08:00 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/1/2006 8:08:00 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/1/2006 8:08:00 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/1/2006 8:08:00 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Easy to use, good quality pictures for sharing with friends. Lightweight and small enough to fit in my purse.
4/1/2006 8:08:00 AM
 
Ralph Mendoza
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/26/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2006 5:34:23 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2006 5:34:23 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2006 5:34:23 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2006 5:34:23 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2006 5:34:23 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I thought it was a very good camera when I brought it three years ago.
3/23/2006 5:34:23 PM
 
Dave Lindo 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2006 1:45:27 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2006 1:45:27 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2006 1:45:27 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2006 1:45:27 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2006 1:45:27 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
My G2 is my friend and goes just about everywhere with me. It is most reliable and has been out with me in all kinds of weather. It can be a little slow writing to the chip and the optical zoom is somewhat limited, being only 3x. Also, if you shoot in RAW and use your LCD to frame your capture, you will use up your battery in short order!! Strongly recommend that the viwfinder be used and that you get another battery just to be safe. If you are shooting at 640x480...800x600 in JPEG you will be fine. Lots of pics. But remember, using the LCD really eats up your battery. All told, I would give my G2 an 85/100.
2/2/2006 1:45:27 PM
 
Ron Schoenwald 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2006 10:39:01 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2006 10:39:01 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2006 10:39:01 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2006 10:39:01 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2006 10:39:01 PM
Rating: 2 out of 5
Produced very sharp photos for its "era", circa 2003.
1/8/2006 10:39:01 PM
 
Ron Schoenwald 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2006 10:39:01 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2006 10:39:01 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2006 10:39:01 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2006 10:39:01 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2006 10:39:01 PM
Rating: 2 out of 5
Produced very sharp photos for its "era", circa 2003.
1/8/2006 10:39:01 PM
 

First 10 of 150 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Buy PowerShot G2 Digital Camera from Amazon.com