PowerShot SD500 (Ixus 700) Digital Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital Point and Shoot Cameras

Jewels of traditi...
View photos created with this camera

The PowerShot SD500 (Ixus 700) Digital Camera

With a host of new features and a unique "perpetual curve" contoured design, the brushed stainless steel titanium grey 7.1-megapixel PowerShot SD500 continues the PowerShot tradition of pushing compact camera design into new territories.

Driven by the same DIGIC II image processing architecture that propels Canon's EOS-1 pro-series digital SLR cameras, the camera features a 3.0x optical zoom, large 2.0-inch LCD, high-quality VGA video clips at 30 frames per second up to the capacity of the memory card, high-speed USB 2.0 connection, 'My Color' in-camera color editing, and a Print/Share button for easy PictBridge direct printing and fast file uploads. Its 7.1-megapixel sensor allows detailed enlargements up to 15 x 20 inches.

Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


31 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Laurie A. Romig
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/7/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2006 6:59:26 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2006 6:59:26 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2006 6:59:26 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2006 6:59:26 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2006 6:59:26 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is my everyday, keep in the purse, spur of the moment photo camera. I love that it's got video capability. Of course, it's not as versatile as an SLR, with the capability of changing lenses, but for this purpose, it's great!
7/7/2006 6:59:26 PM
 
Christina Mena 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2006 11:36:51 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2006 11:36:51 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2006 11:36:51 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2006 11:36:51 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2006 11:36:51 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Good camera for taking pictures. But if you decide to go pro it's not that great.
6/7/2006 11:36:51 AM
 
Anindita Abdullah
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/10/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2006 2:51:00 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2006 2:51:00 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2006 2:51:00 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2006 2:51:00 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2006 2:51:00 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
It's pretty cool if you dont want to bring your SLR camera.
5/10/2006 2:51:00 AM
 

BetterPhoto Member
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2006 2:13:07 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2006 2:13:07 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2006 2:13:07 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2006 2:13:07 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2006 2:13:07 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Great little camera...the resolution is what does it for me. Great car to keep in the glove compartment!
5/2/2006 2:13:07 PM
 
Greg Dodson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/17/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2006 7:39:37 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2006 7:39:37 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2006 7:39:37 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2006 7:39:37 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2006 7:39:37 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great camera for the price and size. Good resolution. Software for computer was mediocre at best
4/17/2006 7:39:37 PM
 
Jose Mari M. Fedelicio
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/17/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2006 10:57:00 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2006 10:57:00 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2006 10:57:00 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2006 10:57:00 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2006 10:57:00 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
it's a nice model.it can enhance my photos better with its advanced features.
4/17/2006 10:57:00 AM
 
Megan Francis 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2006 3:08:11 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2006 3:08:11 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2006 3:08:11 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2006 3:08:11 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2006 3:08:11 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I have had no problems with this camera, and as it is the first and only digital camera I have used, it is hard to give too many opinions on it. I love how light and mobile it is, and it seems to take beautiful pictures. I recently purchased an SLR camera, and am looking forward to comparing the two.
4/6/2006 3:08:11 PM
 
Cynthia D. Carpenter 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2006 7:34:51 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2006 7:34:51 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2006 7:34:51 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2006 7:34:51 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2006 7:34:51 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love this little camera! I also have the Canon EOS 10D which is wonderful, but it gets heavy. The PowerShot SD500 is great for those instances that you don't want to have a bigger, heavier camera to carry around. It takes fantastic pictures for such a little camera.
4/3/2006 7:34:51 PM
 
Nate black
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/21/2006
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/21/2006 3:36:39 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/21/2006 3:36:39 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/21/2006 3:36:39 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/21/2006 3:36:39 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/21/2006 3:36:39 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
i like my camera because it is small but its 7.1 mega pixels!
3/21/2006 3:36:39 PM
 
Scott McCluney 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/16/2006 3:21:09 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/16/2006 3:21:09 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/16/2006 3:21:09 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/16/2006 3:21:09 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/16/2006 3:21:09 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Beautiful, stylish, VERY easy to use, and 7.1 megapixels and video to boot. This is a great everyday, carry-all-the-time camera that delivers superb results.
2/16/2006 3:21:09 PM
 
On3 Photography
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/15/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2006 9:24:30 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2006 9:24:30 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2006 9:24:30 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2006 9:24:30 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2006 9:24:30 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Did a great job on a trip to Europe before I could afford my 20D.
2/11/2006 9:24:30 PM
 
Willis Kim 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2006 4:27:59 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2006 4:27:59 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2006 4:27:59 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2006 4:27:59 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2006 4:27:59 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Good compact camera. Takes great pictures, crisp screen.
2/9/2006 4:27:59 PM
 
Crystal Kiser
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/9/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/27/2005 8:01:45 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/27/2005 8:01:45 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/27/2005 8:01:45 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/27/2005 8:01:45 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/27/2005 8:01:45 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
A great camera, just don't run the battery totally dry of the camera will break!
12/27/2005 8:01:45 AM
 

BetterPhoto Member
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/20/2005 1:42:42 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/20/2005 1:42:42 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/20/2005 1:42:42 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/20/2005 1:42:42 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/20/2005 1:42:42 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
It is a very handy little camera with nice resolution. I find it to be a fun camera worthy of taking nice quality images when the camera is cooperating. The autofocus is a little...ok a lot...off at times, but fun to play with. You can get around the focusing issue too by disabling the autofocus in the menu. Great camera to keep in the car at all times.
11/20/2005 1:42:42 PM
 
Janelle C. Pagana
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/6/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/18/2005 6:13:16 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/18/2005 6:13:16 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/18/2005 6:13:16 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/18/2005 6:13:16 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/18/2005 6:13:16 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I just got this camera and am very pleased.
11/18/2005 6:13:16 PM
 
Rob Shearer 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/18/2005 8:30:43 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/18/2005 8:30:43 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/18/2005 8:30:43 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/18/2005 8:30:43 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/18/2005 8:30:43 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
The SD500 is a great 'take everywhere' camera. I'd prefer a little more control, but it does a good job given the inherent limitaions of a sub-compact digicam. The SD500 is well-built, stylish, and performs very well.
11/18/2005 8:30:43 AM
 
Shannan L. Funderburk 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2005 9:34:00 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2005 9:34:00 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2005 9:34:00 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2005 9:34:00 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2005 9:34:00 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love it!
11/8/2005 9:34:00 AM
 
Joleen R. Geertsma 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/2/2005 9:26:52 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/2/2005 9:26:52 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/2/2005 9:26:52 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/2/2005 9:26:52 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/2/2005 9:26:52 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Picture quality is great; however focusing on objects in the foreground can be difficult.
11/2/2005 9:26:52 PM
 
Ryan O. Sullivan 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2005 4:23:31 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2005 4:23:31 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2005 4:23:31 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2005 4:23:31 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2005 4:23:31 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
It's small and takes good pictures
9/1/2005 4:23:31 AM
 
Louise M. Greig 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/5/2005 4:52:19 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/5/2005 4:52:19 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/5/2005 4:52:19 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/5/2005 4:52:19 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/5/2005 4:52:19 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Excellent
8/5/2005 4:52:19 PM
 
Brian S. Chapman 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2005 8:19:21 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2005 8:19:21 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2005 8:19:21 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2005 8:19:21 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2005 8:19:21 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Unreal
7/6/2005 8:19:21 PM
 
Carrie Fountain 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2005 7:17:55 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2005 7:17:55 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2005 7:17:55 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2005 7:17:55 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2005 7:17:55 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This camera is fast and small. I am very happy with it's performance and would recommend it to anyone that is looking for a small 7 megapixel digital camera.
7/2/2005 7:17:55 PM
 
Morten Erlbeck 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2005 8:58:58 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2005 8:58:58 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2005 8:58:58 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2005 8:58:58 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2005 8:58:58 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Pretty good camera with lots of good subtleties.
7/2/2005 8:58:58 AM
 
Raimundas Vaisnora
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/6/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2005 2:43:51 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2005 2:43:51 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2005 2:43:51 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2005 2:43:51 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2005 2:43:51 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Good resolution and colors, small size and weight. Very good picture quality for such a small camera. Perfect 'second camera' for everyday shots, when you don't want to carry DSLR with you.
6/9/2005 2:43:51 PM
 
Brian Lobdell
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/7/2005
Contact Brian
Brian's Gallery
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2005 8:48:04 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2005 8:48:04 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2005 8:48:04 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2005 8:48:04 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2005 8:48:04 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Just bought this Cannon SD500 after much comparing and checking review on various sites. I haven't even begun to try all the features offed with this powerful little unit, but I'm most impressed with the first results. For me, macro is an important function for my work, and this camera is very sharp and will allow some of best close-up imaging I have found for its price-range, and without moving into the SLR models. With 7 megapixel resolution, there is plenty of lattitude for cropping even small sections of a shot and still having nice size prints. The automatic exposure setting seems to work well for "average" conditions, and I am anxious to try out the many manual options that are presented with this camera. This camera is one of the newer small-body units, which are light and easy to carry in a pocket of small case/bag. (I am still getting used to the size, after many years of Nikon SLR hardware.) I will try to update this intial over-view, after a little time and a lot of experimenting with my new "toy", but so far I am very happy with my decision!
6/7/2005 8:48:04 PM
 
Jenna Richards 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2005 3:28:09 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2005 3:28:09 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2005 3:28:09 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2005 3:28:09 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2005 3:28:09 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
It is small and compact. It also takes sharp, clear pics.
6/7/2005 3:28:09 PM
 
Vanessa T. Glover
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/10/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2005 7:29:41 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2005 7:29:41 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2005 7:29:41 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2005 7:29:41 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2005 7:29:41 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have had this camera for a week and it's a great point and shoot camera.
5/30/2005 7:29:41 AM
 
Michele McDonald 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2005 12:44:29 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2005 12:44:29 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2005 12:44:29 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2005 12:44:29 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2005 12:44:29 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This camera has excellent image quality. I love the high megapixel count (7.1). The 3x optical zoom leaves something to be desired. The camera also have a 4x digital zoom which helps a bit.
5/9/2005 12:44:29 PM
 
Molly E. Oberheide 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/3/2005 11:05:29 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/3/2005 11:05:29 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/3/2005 11:05:29 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/3/2005 11:05:29 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/3/2005 11:05:29 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Absolutely love this tiny fabulous camera.
5/3/2005 11:05:29 AM
 
Greg Wagoner 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2005 7:31:00 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2005 7:31:00 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2005 7:31:00 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2005 7:31:00 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2005 7:31:00 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I've only had this camera for about 2 weeks, but I'm impressed with the quality of the photos taken at the default autofocus setting. I also like the ability to set manual settings and the way the camera fits in my hand. I didn't realize and don't like the fact that this camera saves files only in jpg format, and not RAW.
4/11/2005 7:31:00 PM
 
Joyce Wycoff
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/14/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2005 10:31:55 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2005 10:31:55 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2005 10:31:55 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2005 10:31:55 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2005 10:31:55 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Just got it ... seems very cool so far.
4/6/2005 10:31:55 AM
 

31 Reviews  

Buy PowerShot SD500 (Ixus 700) Digital Camera from Amazon.com