BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


PowerShot SD500 (Ixus 700) Digital Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital Point and Shoot Cameras

Jewels of traditi...
View photos created with this camera

The PowerShot SD500 (Ixus 700) Digital Camera

With a host of new features and a unique "perpetual curve" contoured design, the brushed stainless steel titanium grey 7.1-megapixel PowerShot SD500 continues the PowerShot tradition of pushing compact camera design into new territories.

Driven by the same DIGIC II image processing architecture that propels Canon's EOS-1 pro-series digital SLR cameras, the camera features a 3.0x optical zoom, large 2.0-inch LCD, high-quality VGA video clips at 30 frames per second up to the capacity of the memory card, high-speed USB 2.0 connection, 'My Color' in-camera color editing, and a Print/Share button for easy PictBridge direct printing and fast file uploads. Its 7.1-megapixel sensor allows detailed enlargements up to 15 x 20 inches.

Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 31 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Laurie A. Romig
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 7/7/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is my everyday, keep in the purse, spur of the moment photo camera. I love that it's got video capability. Of course, it's not as versatile as an SLR, with the capability of changing lenses, but for this purpose, it's great!
7/7/2006 6:59:26 PM
 
Christina Mena

member since: 12/14/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Good camera for taking pictures. But if you decide to go pro it's not that great.
6/7/2006 11:36:51 AM
 
Anindita Abdullah
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 5/10/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
It's pretty cool if you dont want to bring your SLR camera.
5/10/2006 2:51:00 AM
 

BetterPhoto Member
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Great little camera...the resolution is what does it for me. Great car to keep in the glove compartment!
5/2/2006 2:13:07 PM
 
Greg Dodson
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 4/17/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great camera for the price and size. Good resolution. Software for computer was mediocre at best
4/17/2006 7:39:37 PM
 
Jose Mari M. Fedelicio
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 4/17/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
it's a nice model.it can enhance my photos better with its advanced features.
4/17/2006 10:57:00 AM
 
Megan Francis

member since: 3/8/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I have had no problems with this camera, and as it is the first and only digital camera I have used, it is hard to give too many opinions on it. I love how light and mobile it is, and it seems to take beautiful pictures. I recently purchased an SLR camera, and am looking forward to comparing the two.
4/6/2006 3:08:11 PM
 
Cynthia D. Carpenter

member since: 4/1/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love this little camera! I also have the Canon EOS 10D which is wonderful, but it gets heavy. The PowerShot SD500 is great for those instances that you don't want to have a bigger, heavier camera to carry around. It takes fantastic pictures for such a little camera.
4/3/2006 7:34:51 PM
 
Nate black
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 3/21/2006
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
i like my camera because it is small but its 7.1 mega pixels!
3/21/2006 3:36:39 PM
 
Scott McCluney

member since: 2/16/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Beautiful, stylish, VERY easy to use, and 7.1 megapixels and video to boot. This is a great everyday, carry-all-the-time camera that delivers superb results.
2/16/2006 3:21:09 PM
 
On3 Photography
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 1/15/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Did a great job on a trip to Europe before I could afford my 20D.
2/11/2006 9:24:30 PM
 

First 10 of 31 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Add your own review

Buy PowerShot SD500 (Ixus 700) Digital Camera from Amazon.com


Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.