BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


Maxxum 7 SLR Camera


Minolta

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Auto Focus SLRs

DUBROVNIK, CROATI...
View photos created with this camera

The Maxxum 7 SLR Camera

Features:

  • Eye-start automatic focus, 22.5-millimeter eye relief
  • Multifunction LCD data screen
  • LCD navigation panel
  • Film chamber lock
  • Minolta A-type bayonet mount

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


101 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Michael Skelton  . 
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 10/16/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I started with an X700 and loved it, Enjoyed this camera almost as much. Its a shame Minolta made so many poor choices . Lets see what Sony can do with Minolta's technology.
11/23/2006 1:40:28 PM
 
Chris G. Laner
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 2/25/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
A nice, light, easy to shoot film camera. Good pictures. Not a camera for fast action shots.
7/7/2006 11:00:52 PM
 
John Halsey

member since: 7/6/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I've never met a Maxxum 7 user that complained.
7/6/2006 3:53:58 PM
 
Stacey A. Schmiesing

member since: 6/25/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
This camera is really great. You can have all automatic settings (aperture, shutter speed, etc.) or you can have all manual settings and decide for yourself which ones are best. It has different modes as well. You can choose from portrait, landscape, movement, etc. to take better pictures. The only thing holding this camera back is the fact that it isn't digital. I would like to be able to see what pictures I took before they are developed.
6/25/2006 2:51:38 PM
 
Heather Robichaud

member since: 3/14/2006
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
It's ok but not very reliable tends to be fickle and doesn't always work when it should. My friend had same problem.
6/24/2006 10:57:44 PM
 
Janel 

member since: 6/3/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
It's not digital.
6/4/2006 9:21:26 AM
 
Toni L. Wolpert

member since: 12/14/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Love my camera, it's easy to use, I can interchange my lenses, and I get great pictures, menu's are easy to use and easy to change settings.
5/31/2006 10:37:46 AM
 
Michael  R. DeRossett

member since: 5/26/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I use this camera strictly for B&W. Like all of the Minota line the camera is designed around the user. Well laid out with excellent control.
5/27/2006 6:10:16 AM
 
Cheri D. McClara

member since: 5/9/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love my camera. I like the idea I can make it completely manual, automatic or anywhere in between. My first camera was an old Milnolta I bought from a pawn shop some years ago and have mainly stuck to Minolta.
5/15/2006 3:10:16 PM
 
VG1506 

member since: 5/2/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Don't know much about photography so far... just started to fool around with everything. I enjoy the camera as it is easy to use for beginners but can also be used for more advanced photography as well.
5/2/2006 4:47:18 PM
 
Destrian 

member since: 4/24/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Only the F5, F100, EOS 1, and EOS3 are better in the 35mm af film department!
4/25/2006 5:15:01 PM
 

BetterPhoto Member

member since: 9/18/2003
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
This camera sometimes freezes up on me when it thinks I might under or overexpose a shot. I have figured out the aperture and shutter priority controls. Would help if the instruction booklet were a bit more on the ball. Autofocus is great and so is the fast shutter speeds.
4/18/2006 1:55:31 PM
 
Lisa R. Dunlap

member since: 4/17/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
great camera need new one lol but it takes great pictures. I love everything about it one of the best cameras I have ever had. have tons of extras for it.
4/17/2006 2:08:13 AM
 
Anise Parsaei

member since: 4/9/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
all things are good
4/9/2006 2:16:56 PM
 
Matthew M. Schoenfelder

member since: 3/14/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
An excellent camera for the money. Easy to switch between manual and auto focus while framing a shot, depth of field preview, capable metering and auto-focus system. Solid build quality and a wide array of useful features (again, for the money)eg. mid-reload function, 3 custom pre-sets, mirror-lock, records exposure data, flash compensation dial. Down-sides: Minolta has faded from the camera market after losing the digital SLR battle to Canon and Nikon. My next camera will be a Canon which means of course, buying a whole new set of lenses. I have used the camera for 5 years though and feel that I have definitely gotten my money`s worht out of it.
3/14/2006 6:19:26 AM
 
Melanie D. Eble

member since: 3/6/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is a wonderful camera. I like being able to switch from manual mode to automatic. It's easy to use and top-quality.
3/6/2006 8:13:34 PM
 
Michele Boek

member since: 11/30/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Easy to use
3/2/2006 3:43:13 PM
 
Jason Norden

member since: 2/17/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
I like the preview button it comes in handy when your going to shoot stopped up.
2/25/2006 2:19:49 PM
 
John Ayres

member since: 1/27/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Nice 35mm SLR, probably the best built Minolta since the SRT of the late '60s and early '70s. Very fast autofocus.
2/24/2006 8:49:02 AM
 
Dennis Ducklow
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 3/28/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
If you want a camera that does it all, choose the Minolta Maxxum 7. I have used it for landscapes, close ups and wedding for 3 years and could ask for nothing more than what this camera offers. It is the most feature rich, ergonomic and intuitive camera available.
2/17/2006 9:33:10 PM
 
Hannah Whitcher

member since: 2/6/2006
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
this camera doesnt have as sharp as a photo as i'd hoped. it zooms fairly well though overall its alright
2/12/2006 11:50:09 AM
 
KATRINA R. GIACALONE

member since: 2/5/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I'M JUST STARTING TO LEARN THE MANY POSSIBILITIES
2/5/2006 10:38:14 PM
 
Leo P. Cachat

member since: 1/25/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I like this camera alot. Versatile and has a very fast motor.
1/25/2006 8:16:13 PM
 
Brian E. Coover

member since: 3/24/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Love it.
1/21/2006 7:06:13 PM
 
Derrick 

member since: 1/1/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great film camera
1/1/2006 12:41:43 PM
 
Crystal L  Sark

member since: 12/30/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I need to upgrade my lens but other then that it is GREAT!
12/30/2005 6:40:44 PM
 
Kamil  Szybalski
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 12/17/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love the durability of the Maxxum 7, i find the controls extremly easy to use and overall i appreciate the ergonomic desig of the camera. Unfortunatly, i live in Canada and recently Minolta has left Canada, leaving all its customers practicly stranded. I have recently ordered a Nikon F100, when i recieve it..I will definetly have to experiment allot. Cheers, Kamil
12/28/2005 7:30:38 AM
 
Michael W. Dryden

member since: 12/3/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have had this camera for 3 years and have been pleased with its durability and performance. I often hike 10 to 15 miles a day with the camera strapped to my neck. It has never given me any problems an consistently takes excellent photographs.
12/3/2005 8:18:23 AM
 
Shirley A. Dauito

member since: 11/17/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
If you like using film this camera takes awesome pictures. I have had it since 1997 when I first started to love taking pictures. Very easy to use
11/23/2005 8:33:07 AM
 
Lorie Hollaway

member since: 11/20/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
My camera is manual and tough to photograph small children because they move so quickly and often, but it takes the best pictures. I love my camera.
11/20/2005 4:15:46 PM
 
Mary Geiger
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 11/14/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love my camera. I have the Maxxum 7 film and now the digital version!!
11/14/2005 3:36:25 PM
 
Christeena J. Knowles

member since: 10/21/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great film based camera, my work horse for wedding formal shots, I love shooting with my max and either Kodak Portra or Fuji Velvia, easy to use and lots of usable everyday useful features
10/21/2005 8:17:47 PM
 
Leigh  A. Shockey

member since: 10/20/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love this camera it takes excellent pictures.
10/20/2005 12:14:32 PM
 
Chad R. O'Neill

member since: 10/3/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
This is my first camera, so photography is still relitivly new for me. The camera takes great pictures for the most part. When it does't it is usually my fault. I like that it is not digital because of the anticipation of getting photos back, however if it were digital I could erase pics that I do not like. Photograpy is expensive and it would be nice to only get back photos that I like.
10/3/2005 12:15:52 PM
 
Janine White
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 10/1/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Just purchase this camera last week. I have the digital version (7D) and liked it so much that I thought that I should have the film version too...spoilt I know! Produces pro results with little fuss. A great purchase.
8/30/2005 9:28:05 PM
 
MOHD RAZEIF ROSLAN
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 8/15/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Build quality, handling, features, spot-on exposure, fast AF ...
8/30/2005 12:13:34 AM
 
MOHD RAZEIF ROSLAN
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 8/15/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Built quality, Handling, Features, Accurate metering ...
8/29/2005 11:52:01 PM
 
Joyce S. Bowley
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 5/7/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This camera is awesome! Exposure lock, data storage for 7 rolls of film, DOF preview, large LED display, tons of features that will take me a while to learn (I just got it today!). Reviewed the manual prior to getting my hands on it and it is proving very easy to get acquainted with. I started out with a Maxxum 4 which has been great, but had limited features. Good solid feel, a little heavier than my Maxxum 4, but not too heavy. I think I'm going to love this one!
8/27/2005 1:54:51 PM
 

BetterPhoto Member
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Its an amazing Camera. I've still got to learn the full potential of the camera & I've definitely need to get some serious lenses.
8/23/2005 6:18:24 AM
 
Mandy Mossey

member since: 6/14/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great camera, just a lot to learn about it.
8/18/2005 7:46:11 AM
 
Benoit Cote

member since: 8/14/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Very reliable, very friendly using, convienient
8/14/2005 4:15:05 PM
 
Linda Jo Cupps

member since: 8/8/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I Love my camera, it is easy to use, it's lite in weight. It also has lots of options in the sense of how you wish to shoot your photography!
8/8/2005 1:52:02 PM
 
Chauncey R. Huffman
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 7/31/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This camera is an absolute workhorse. I have used this camera for 4 years now, and I've had nothing but fantastic luck. It has features that make other film SLR's in it's price range look cheap. There are only a select few film SLR's that I would rather have. This one has been perfect for me.
7/31/2005 3:55:32 PM
 
Sherri D. Schaber

member since: 5/23/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Slow focus.
7/15/2005 12:57:00 PM
 
Bryan Glass
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 7/11/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I like the auto setting, there are too many times where I need to take the picture right away, with no time to set the shutter,ap, etc... This camera usually knows where to set it.
7/11/2005 2:29:00 AM
 
Jessica Goehring

member since: 7/10/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Overall the camera works very well, but it's an automatic and i've had it for five years now.
7/10/2005 7:38:02 AM
 
Steve Somloi

member since: 1/7/2004
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
An old Minolta 5000i? Worked well as an entry SLR for a beginner.
6/24/2005 9:50:28 AM
 
Beth A. Newmaster

member since: 6/10/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I cannot afford to upgrade, or change cameras often, so this Minolta has been "tried and true" for several years.
6/10/2005 3:12:33 PM
 
Amanda L. Myers

member since: 6/2/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Good camera when u add an extra long lense and then it really rocks! Great Zoom with a 300 lense
6/2/2005 12:44:36 PM
 
Fred Bergman
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Fred
Fred's Gallery

member since: 4/8/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Just love it, the way it feels, the location of the controls. Still learning things about it, but it is simple enough to use right out of the box. Lots of pro level features made easy to use for amatuers like me. Saving for the 7D now.
5/15/2005 5:37:12 PM
 
Christina M. Ouellette

member since: 5/11/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love my camera. It's my baby! it has never failed me. It's very easy to use and incredibly easy to understand.
5/11/2005 9:46:45 AM
 
Keeanga Y. Speakes

member since: 5/10/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
ok
5/10/2005 8:18:50 PM
 
Cherie Palmer

member since: 4/5/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love the ease of use and excellent images. Focusing tends to be a constant problem, but that could just be me!
4/16/2005 7:48:31 PM
 
Sara Mulhearn
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 4/11/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
i started out with minoltas so i find it very easy to use, has great dedicated flashes.
4/12/2005 9:04:17 AM
 
Angela Neal

member since: 4/12/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love my camera! It fits my hand perfect takes great pictures when I point it in the right direction. To be honest there's really not anything that I don't like about it, besides when I take it apart for storage my cover for my camera sometimes doesn't want to stay on, that's it!
4/12/2005 8:21:29 AM
 
Margaret G. Clement

member since: 3/30/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have never had a problem with it. This is my preferred camera to use.
3/30/2005 6:35:13 AM
 
Lise Butler
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 2/15/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
The features on this camera body are well designed. The layout allows me to make adjustments while looking through the viewfinder. I also like the LCD display on the back of the camera. The transition to the Minolta 7D body will be a smooth process.
3/19/2005 7:48:35 PM
 
Sharon Somero

member since: 2/5/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
The best 35mm camera I have owned. It can do anything you want it to do.
2/5/2005 6:11:21 PM
 
William J. Poye

member since: 1/15/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I absolutely love the exposure metering capabilities of this camera!
1/15/2005 10:26:34 PM
 
Jigish shah

member since: 12/2/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love it
12/3/2004 1:31:57 AM
 
Jamie C. Williamson

member since: 11/20/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
It is my first and only SLR so I do not have much to compare it to
11/20/2004 6:57:03 PM
 
Lee Fortier
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 9/1/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I LOVE THIS CAMERA!!! Everything about this "prosumer" camera is great. I can't add anything to the reviews that others have posted since this camera came out in 2001. I've been shooting with it since 2001 with only one stint in the shop for a defective navigation display screen which Minolta promptly replaced. Other than that, I've had no problems whatsoever. I'm looking forward to the new Maxxum 7D which is to become available in late 2004.
11/18/2004 5:13:37 AM
 
Janine White
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 10/1/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I am yet to learn all of the features of this baby, but so far I am loving it. Brilliant colour rendition and quality in the images. Highly recommend this camera for the keen photographer who wants to go that bit further with their photography.
11/14/2004 4:49:24 PM
 
Yvonne Chamberlain

member since: 9/26/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I've only had this camera for a few weeks but it's been great.
10/16/2004 2:45:35 PM
 
Bob J. Klein

member since: 9/28/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This camera does everything well. Can't wait for Minolta to come out with a digital SLR.
10/2/2004 11:27:08 PM
 
Dax Carand

member since: 3/18/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Having had 2 other 7s it was another hit, great camera. Wondering what the DSLR will do. Untill now a 300D I probably will exchange it either for a 20d (when it is released) or the maxxum 7 dslr.
8/9/2004 8:05:30 AM
 
Kayleene Ball
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 7/29/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Usually pretty good color & sharp photos, not always good in lower light situations. It is a bit Heavy to pack around at times!
8/5/2004 9:34:23 AM
 
Christopher L. Sutherland

member since: 7/29/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love the versatility of this camera. It has been designed intuitively. I've seen many negative comments for it's plastic body construction, but I don't see this as a deficiency. After all, aren't we all very, very careful with our cameras? I would like, as most would, a wider selection of lenses for this fine camera. I use two D lenses with it the 75-300 and the 28-100. A little slower than the Sigma lenses and of course there is that annoying silver color on a black camera body. (Someone at Minolta must have been in a humorous mood that day.) But overall, I would highly recommend this camera to begginers and pros alike.
7/29/2004 4:20:43 PM
 
Tom Hall

member since: 7/24/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Love the functions on this camera. Considering the price and it's market target it's a great buy. Only thing I don't like is the icky plastic body.
7/24/2004 12:58:38 AM
 
Kathy Hobbs

member since: 11/6/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I like everything about this camera. The film door locks so a roll of film isn't accidently opened before the film is rewound. The focusing ability of this camera is awesome. I like the big diplay window in the back of all exposure information. It lights up too and no matter how dark it is you can still tell in an instant how your camera is set. I would only change one thing about this camera. I would not have the shutter speed wheel so close to the shutter release button, or figure some other way to keep from bumping the shutter speed wheel accidently while repositioning, this happens and you don't realize it has happened until a picture or two later when you re-meter with your hand held light meter. By the time you realize it, you have shot an image on a completely different shutter speed than you had intended. Kathy Hobbs
6/13/2004 9:15:03 AM
 
Leonard Anzalone

member since: 5/18/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
This camera has almost everything I was looking for. I purchased it in April 2004 and had been shopping cameras for months. I am satisfied with all features of the Maxxum 7, but was also considering the Cannon EOS 3. Although I chose the Minolta, I do wish I had the 7 FPS capability of the EOS 3.
5/25/2004 6:38:24 AM
 
Raul P. Luis

member since: 4/16/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
love the ability to be able to see history on exposure, ISO, Lens, ect..
4/16/2004 8:28:20 PM
 
Raul P. Luis

member since: 4/16/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love the ability to be able to actually see the history of ISO, exposure, lens mangnification, ect...
4/16/2004 8:20:40 PM
 
Virginia Cox

member since: 3/21/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I have had this camera for just a few months, and am still getting used to it. I had a 9xi that I loved, but it has been discontinued. I haven't decided if this measures up to my previous camera. I also have a Minolta 7000, which is also discontinued but one of the best cameras in that series. I am sure that the Minolta Maxuum 7 will be just as user friendly once I understand all the features.
3/21/2004 9:58:43 AM
 
Dax Carand

member since: 3/18/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
It is the 3rd I bought. My first i bought 14-15 years ago the second one 2002 (it had an unfortunate accident). This one I bougth last year to replace the broken one. I like everthing about it apart from one simple thing the plastic casing, the old Maxxum had a hardplastic body this is not as rugged and feels flimsy sometimes. I already had a rupture of the casing last year with the one that had an accident. Apart from that it is a beautifull piece of equipment
3/18/2004 1:26:56 PM
 
Virginia L. Hughes
virginiahughesphotography.com

member since: 2/18/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Loaded with options and speed,
2/25/2004 6:37:05 PM
 
Eric Basalik

member since: 5/30/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love how this camera works, feels, and looks.
2/13/2004 11:32:28 AM
 
Adam J. Lucas

member since: 2/8/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Well, after owning a Dynax 5, it's big brother, the Dynax 7, thrilled me to extatic pieces. One word comes to mind... ergonimics ergonomics ergonomics. This sleek little number sits in the hand like an extention of yourself. The black classy shell oozes quality, and the navigation of this fine photographic tool is as easy as pie. If you know the basics of photography, then you can use the Dynax 7 straight away.

Not only this, but for anyone who plans to keep this camera for a while (anyone who has an ounce of sense), there is a deep and useful set of other bit's and pieces to keep you happy for an age, which is good because that's how long the camera will last given it's build, okay so it's plastic, but so are all the others in this range, the construction instills you with every confidence that it will take a few knocks here and there.

The VC7 grip is on order, so I can't comment on that yet. The navigation display is better than I had imagined, the data memory saves you having to use a dictophone or pad and pen for noting down your exposures...more time to take photographs then, which is a joy to do.

The shutter, the focussing, features, performance, and the innovation are all worth the extra money over the Canon Eos 30 and the Nikon F80. using the Dynax 5 as a second body is ideal too, as it is small and light, but a heavyweight in terms of performance too. But the Dynax 7 can easily stand alone and perform all that you ask of it, reason being that you can easily remove half-used films and put them back in at the same frame you left them at, I can't tell you how many times i've used that feature.

This camera is a rare blend of having a plethora of features, with them being useable rather than just unneccessary.

What are you waiting for??? Buy it!!!

2/8/2004 12:17:02 PM
 
Patrick Di Fruscia

member since: 1/23/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Love this camera it has all the features a photographer with my experience might need and then some,
1/23/2004 9:18:36 PM
 
Michael E. Miller

member since: 1/18/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
This camera is fairly new to me I have always used Minolta manuals, so there is a lot of new settings and controls with this Maxxum 7 will take little time. So far I like tit very much.
1/19/2004 7:49:12 PM
 
Christopher D. Barry

member since: 1/12/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
i really like this camera
1/12/2004 4:26:19 PM
 
Christopher D. Barry

member since: 1/12/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I really like this camera
1/12/2004 4:24:24 PM
 
Frank Zumbo

member since: 2/5/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
The best for the money. Easy to use and does just about anything you could want it to do. I purchased this camera in April 2003 and have had great results, after 50 or so rolls of film NOT ONE BAD PICTURE!
12/17/2003 11:32:38 AM
 
George Cordero

member since: 11/22/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The Minolta Maxxium 7 is a capable Professional Piece of equipment. Its quick focus in low light situtations makes it a "No Brainer" for weddings. The system offers a full line of Pro accessories. Although it lacks water and dust resistant seals I have never had a problem with it in the studio or at location wedding shoots. So if your primary shooting is done in studio or at weddings I highly recommend this as a fine addition to any professional arsenal.
11/22/2003 10:41:58 AM
 
Dawn M. Looney

member since: 11/5/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I would give this camera a 20 if the rating system would go that high. I think this camera is excellent. It is lightweight, durable, and an all-around great camera. It is by far more superior than my previous camera, and has a lot more capabilities, not to mention a built-in flash. I didn't think it was possible to enjoy photography more than I did, until I purchased the Maxxum 7.
11/14/2003 9:52:51 PM
 
Diane D. Michael

member since: 9/10/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
love this camera, easy to use, great photos, intuitive
10/20/2003 4:59:27 AM
 
Ellen Cantor

member since: 12/27/2002
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I like it, It is the only camera I have ever had. If I had to buy again, I would buy a Canon because of their lenses and the image stablizing lens. However, this camera has many excellent features.
10/19/2003 2:02:02 PM
 
Robert H. Diefenbacher

member since: 9/24/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The information available from this camera through it's displays and the data offload capability is fantastic. It is like having many of the features of a digital camera and the capabilities and qualities of a film SLR. It takes a while to learn to use it, but such things as the DOF preview that also displays the actual measurement of the DOF is great. I use it in all modes, but have lately been using the spot meter and setting it manually based on a zone exposure approach. I am using a Sigma 17-35, the Minolta D lens 24-110, the Minolta 100, and the Minolta D 100 - 300 with it with excellent results.
9/24/2003 1:34:49 PM
 
Michael A. Walker

member since: 4/5/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
this is the best camera I have ever owned, the features, the value cannot be beat at all by any camera.
9/21/2003 11:52:25 AM
 
Mark Romani

member since: 11/4/2002
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This camera takes great shots and I like the auto focus and exposure and auto advance and rewind. Much clarity in the final picture.
9/3/2003 3:43:19 PM
 
Martin  Mr  Butler

member since: 10/15/2002
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I found Minotla as a company 100% service.I been using Minolta since 1998 which I started studying Photography In Bournemouth arts here in england I own over 6 bodys. 3xi 404 505.505 super.and course 2 Maxxum 7 & speed-grips. among lens. too. and there after care service is 100%.
8/17/2003 4:11:49 PM
 
Jerry Carreon

member since: 5/13/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Awsome
7/28/2003 6:54:29 PM
 
Phyllis Lowry

member since: 7/17/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is my first SLR camera and I love it, but I don't have anything to compare it to. I use a Tamron AF 28-300mm Ultra Zoom XR F/3.5-6.3 LD Aspherical (IF) Macro lens.
7/23/2003 8:50:34 PM
 
Jeff Wou

member since: 7/1/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Fast Autofocus. Databank can record 7 rolls of data. This really helps. The auto exposure metering is not always accurate if the lighting condition is contrast (bright light and dark shadows in the same frame). Vertical grip(option) is made of plastic - it feels cheap.
7/1/2003 5:16:24 PM
 
Edward Slanina

member since: 11/20/2002
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
great camera bought it about 1 month ago did 12 rolls of film every roll looks better each time no real problems with camera.
6/28/2003 6:51:41 PM
 
Edward Siegel

member since: 11/4/2001
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Beautifully made, full of features, makes photography a pleasure. Best camera Minolta has made. Price based on the features is without a doubt the best value out there today.
6/22/2003 6:31:38 AM
 
C.W. Williams

member since: 12/28/2001
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love the Min 7. I also have the 800si and I love it as well. I've only had the m7 for about a month, so I'm yet learning all that it can do.
6/20/2003 2:36:56 PM
 
Dottie Shepherd

member since: 1/14/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I have used minolta cameras for a number of years and I have really enjoyed this particular model because of all it's versitility with the custom features that it has.
6/19/2003 6:20:49 AM
 
Collin Clack

member since: 2/2/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I have been using this camera now for about 2 years. When I first bought it I did not like the balance of the camera in my hands. This camera is definately designed to be used with the VC7 accessory which provides more than just a vertical grip and extra battery but also provides the balance that this camera needs.

The navigation screen is great as I have found it an invaluable tool while I have been learning the technical aspects of photography. All exposure info for the last 7 rolls of film is also stored in the cameras memory eliminating the need to fumble around with a notebook and pen while on a shoot.

It comes with an on camera flash which I find suprising for the market this is targeted towards. It does have a hotshoe to which you can attach an off camera flash via an acessory cable. Alternatively wireless flash is also available. This is where I use the on camera flash as it can be used to trigger the off camera flash.

I have travelled all over with this camera and although the build quality does not compare to the Maxxum 9 I have not had any problems at all.

6/13/2003 3:18:12 AM
 
Juan J. Casero

member since: 3/9/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have had this camera for about a year now. While it is true that it does have many features that can sometimes be a bit overwhelming this should not be a reason not to consider the equipment. The camera is well designed and can be used quite effectively by someone with a limited understanding of photography if you stick to the programmed modes. When you are comfortable with the setup and are ready (as I have begun to do now) you can explore the more advanced features (and boy does it have a whole bus load of them) of the camera. In my spare time I like to read the manual and see what I can do with this system. In time as my skill level improves I am sure I will find nearly all of the features of the camera useful and helpful. This camera is definitely a pro type unit but it can also be used by someone who is just beginning. In the latter case as your skill level improves you will begin to appreciate the camera's features even more. I have moved beyond of the phase of point and shoot picture taking. I now want to explore the more creative aspects of photography and the Maxxum 7 is definitely the right tool for the job. As an added bonus the Maxxum 7 is really a beautiful piece of work. It is a precision machine but also very aesthetically pleasing. I have already received numerous compliments regarding the unit.

I find it ironic that my background in physical chemistry spectroscopy has helped me to understand the concepts of photography and exposure better. In spectroscopy just like photography it is most useful to think of light as a stream of particles (photons) instead of as an electromagnetic wave. Once you can come to terms with that the whole science of exposure and most of the concepts in photography are easier to grasp.

3/9/2003 11:21:23 PM
 
Tina L. Neyer

member since: 12/29/2002
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I find it a bit confusing but am trying to work my way through the specifics of operations.
12/29/2002 12:11:14 PM
 

101 Reviews  

Add your own review

Buy Maxxum 7 SLR Camera from Amazon.com


Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.