Dimage Z5 Digital Camera


Minolta

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control


View photos created with this camera

The Dimage Z5 Digital Camera

Features:


  • Stores images on SD cards; powered by 4 AA batteries (alkaline
    or Ni-MH)
  • 5 MP CCD captures enough detail for photo-quality 13 x 17-inch
    prints
  • Amazing 12x optical Mega Zoom with Anti-Shake technology allows
    you to shoot at speed 4 to 8 times longer with clear results
  • Rapid AF focuses in approximately 0.2 second in wide angle and
    0.3 second in telephoto
  • Large 2.0-inch LCD; macro mode for shooting subjects as close as
    1 centimeter

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


19 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Susan L. Cook
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/26/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2006 5:17:13 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2006 5:17:13 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2006 5:17:13 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2006 5:17:13 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2006 5:17:13 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Fast power on to focus to shutter. Can get a picture of the "moment" without missing the shot. Doesn't always focus well when using the autofocus. I like the image stabilizer when using the zoom in low light.
6/26/2006 5:17:13 PM
 
Darko Geres
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/25/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2006 10:09:20 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2006 10:09:20 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2006 10:09:20 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2006 10:09:20 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2006 10:09:20 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Solid middle range digital camera. good : Wide zoom range (12x) bad : small ISO range 50 - 400
5/25/2006 10:09:20 AM
 
Tatiana Schwappach 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2006 5:42:32 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2006 5:42:32 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2006 5:42:32 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2006 5:42:32 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2006 5:42:32 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I like macro and super-macro modes on my camera. They work good for me. 12x optical zoom is not bad, if I use it with tripod. Like variety of drive modes. Built-in flash is not good at all. Don't like that I have to change all settings through menu. Manual focus is useless.
4/26/2006 5:42:32 PM
 
Tandie S. Donaldson 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2006 7:31:45 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2006 7:31:45 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2006 7:31:45 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2006 7:31:45 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2006 7:31:45 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Awesome camera. Very easy to use. Has most of the same capabilities of an SLR camera.
3/9/2006 7:31:45 PM
 
Iwan Setiya budi 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2006 7:57:56 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2006 7:57:56 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2006 7:57:56 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2006 7:57:56 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2006 7:57:56 AM
Rating: 2 out of 5
this is my first digital camera and i had learned much thing of photography by this camera
2/8/2006 7:57:56 AM
 
Charles V. Struse Sr
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/30/2005
Contact Charles
Charles's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/30/2005 4:45:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/30/2005 4:45:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/30/2005 4:45:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/30/2005 4:45:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/30/2005 4:45:18 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Im just so very blown away by this camera. I have SRT 102, Maxium 7000, Freedom zoom EX, and also a Minolta-flex 2 1/4 square. This is my first digital.
11/30/2005 4:45:18 PM
 
Courtney N. Harrop 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/3/2005 5:42:28 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/3/2005 5:42:28 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/3/2005 5:42:28 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/3/2005 5:42:28 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/3/2005 5:42:28 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love my camera, although it is my first digital camera. I don't know much about cameras or photography, but it does take beautiful pictures. It also has alot of different features, very easy to learn. Great camera for amateurs .... and beyond(from what i've heard) The only complaint i have is that it has trouble focusing in low light. I'm sure if i knew more about photography i could probably figure out how to adjust that.
10/3/2005 5:42:28 PM
 
Tracy L. Hart
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/27/2005
Contact Tracy
Tracy's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/28/2005 1:29:52 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/28/2005 1:29:52 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/28/2005 1:29:52 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/28/2005 1:29:52 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/28/2005 1:29:52 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
A few problems with Blue Sun Spots, but I feel its all in the learning.. I LOVE my Camera
9/28/2005 1:29:52 PM
 
Brittany Hodgkins 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2005 1:34:33 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2005 1:34:33 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2005 1:34:33 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2005 1:34:33 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2005 1:34:33 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love my camera. I am an amateur photographer and it has many features that I'm not even sure what they are yet! The only thing I do not like is that it does not zoom in as close as I would like to get sometimes, but other than that it is great.
9/13/2005 1:34:33 PM
 
Mary C. Aulisio 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2005 6:40:15 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2005 6:40:15 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2005 6:40:15 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2005 6:40:15 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2005 6:40:15 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I like the way the Dimage Z5 fits into my hand, affording ease of operation with one hand, if need be. There are plenty of settings and the 12X Optical Zoom is great, as is the macro mode. My only complaint is that the flash is not always strong enough for optimum indoor pictures. Since most of my pictures are outdoors, I don't consider this a major issue for me.
9/5/2005 6:40:15 PM
 
Debbie Freeman 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2005 1:53:17 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2005 1:53:17 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2005 1:53:17 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2005 1:53:17 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2005 1:53:17 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I am just learning.
9/5/2005 1:53:17 PM
 
Mary C. Aulisio 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2005 7:27:37 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2005 7:27:37 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2005 7:27:37 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2005 7:27:37 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2005 7:27:37 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love the way the Konica Minolta Z-5 fits into my hand. I handled several others before deciding on this camera, but it just felt right. It takes great pictures and offers a wide range of settings. The 12X optical zoom lens is powerful enough. My only complaint is that the flash is not as bright as I would like it to be and indoor shots often need to be digitally adjusted. Or maybe it's just me not setting everything right. Since most of my shots are taken outdoors, it's not really an obstacle. I like the camera enough to buy an extra flash if I decide I need it.
9/1/2005 7:27:37 PM
 
Lee  4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/23/2005 8:22:42 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/23/2005 8:22:42 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/23/2005 8:22:42 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/23/2005 8:22:42 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/23/2005 8:22:42 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
i find it very good .. as i get learn more the better my photos become.. only limit i find is no remote for shutter
8/23/2005 8:22:42 AM
 
James P. Rhone 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/6/2005 3:43:44 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/6/2005 3:43:44 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/6/2005 3:43:44 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/6/2005 3:43:44 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/6/2005 3:43:44 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
It has a very fast processing speed and focuses very quickly. The CMOS feature is paramount for me especially when taking close-ups and macro-mode shots. The zoom (35 - 440mm) is remarkable. Macor allows lens to object distance of just 0.4 inches. The lens is larger and allows more light to access the sensor. It is a tad bit bulkier and heavier when compared to my Olympus D-560 ZOOM but, the capabilites our worth it.
8/6/2005 3:43:44 PM
 
Tom Smalara 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2005 11:39:54 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2005 11:39:54 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2005 11:39:54 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2005 11:39:54 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2005 11:39:54 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Pros: Awesome optical zoom. Easy to use with great picture quality. Most features of any camera in price range. Conns: Auto-focus a little clunky. Takes some time to get use to. Can't change lenses. Overall: Best Camera for the price. I love it!
7/1/2005 11:39:54 AM
 
Mal Mac Bride
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/17/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2005 9:53:54 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2005 9:53:54 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2005 9:53:54 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2005 9:53:54 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2005 9:53:54 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Recently aquired this camera and just really learning what it can do. So far I would rate it one of the best I have used and I find it exceptioal in the macro or super macro settings it has, also the 12X optical is great.I may change the rating after I have discovered how well it reacts in all situations. Mal
6/13/2005 9:53:54 PM
 
Meghan E. McCarthy
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/26/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2005 6:47:29 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2005 6:47:29 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2005 6:47:29 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2005 6:47:29 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2005 6:47:29 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
great zoom.. i enjoy shooting with it
6/9/2005 6:47:29 PM
 
Jodie Smith 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2005 6:59:50 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2005 6:59:50 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2005 6:59:50 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2005 6:59:50 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2005 6:59:50 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love my Z5. The only thing I wish I could change is the lense.... It is not removable, although you can add adapters,etc to it.
4/4/2005 6:59:50 AM
 
Jessica L. Richard
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/24/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2005 4:00:19 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2005 4:00:19 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2005 4:00:19 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2005 4:00:19 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2005 4:00:19 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I have only had this camera for a few days, but it is great! I took pictures of a moose yesterday zoomed in at 12x without a tripod and the pics came out wonderful!
4/3/2005 4:00:19 PM
 

19 Reviews  

Buy Dimage Z5 Digital Camera from Amazon.com