BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


Coolpix 950 (E950) Digital Camera


Nikon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

Fuschia at bloom
View photos created with this camera

The Coolpix 950 (E950) Digital Camera

  • New 2.11 million pixel 1/2 inch CCD
  • 1600 x 1200 resolution for highest quality images and up to 11" x 14" prints
  • Aperture and Shutter Priority exposure modes
  • Exclusive 3x optical Zoom-Nikkor lens for sharp images, excellent color and contrast
  • 8MB CompactFlash removable memory card - stores up to 48 images
  • Flash-Sync Port for use with optional Nikon speedlights
  • Unique 3 mode metering; spot, center-weight and 256-element matrix for accurate exposures
  • Advanced 5-mode speedlight for a range of lighting conditions, including night photography
  • Precise 4,746 step autofocus provides sharp detail at any distance
  • Macro setting lets you get as close as .8" to your subject
  • Best shot selector; camera takes 5 shots automatically than saves the best image

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


37 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
John A. Skuja

member since: 7/6/2006
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I like this old digital, has been reliable and takes pretty good pictures. Am going to get a D70S very soon to use my 35mm Nikon lenses.
7/7/2006 7:23:36 PM
 
David Burke
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 6/9/2006
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
By today's standard this camera is OK but when it first came out it was a great camera. It has some nice features but is now behind most of today's point and shoot digitals.
6/11/2006 1:16:38 PM
 
Tim Pinckard
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 12/12/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This was my first digital camera, great little unit, I really like the split body, allowed for some great candad shots.
4/8/2006 6:14:53 AM
 
John Kelso
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 2/6/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great first digital camera! Has loads of manual functions for fine tuning. Slow by todays standards, but was a winner back in the day!
3/12/2006 11:13:06 AM
 
Tina Carlson
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 10/25/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This camera introduced me to digital photography and worked really well, especially with the additional lenses available. For a point-and-shoot camera it was great.
2/25/2006 9:37:51 AM
 
Rich W. Reimers Jr

member since: 1/10/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Great camera in it's day, but not as useful for more professional looking shots as the D50.
1/10/2006 7:30:20 PM
 
Dan C.
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 12/31/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Excellent camera for infrared. Shutter and apeture priority modes.
12/31/2005 1:38:21 PM
 
Sharon Meena

member since: 12/27/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Takes really nice people pictures. Easy to use for a newbie to digital cameras.
12/27/2005 6:34:31 PM
 
Muntazir M. Mehdi

member since: 11/17/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
The best one for me,because its a professional,can take portrait,has the shutter speed,aperture,and the program.And the most that the pics taken by my camera has a detail.
12/14/2005 10:29:00 PM
 
Randall V. Rainey
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 11/18/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
This is the first digital camera that I owned. It performs well for its size and is good for upto an 8X10 image for quick shots and in rough areas that you wouldn't want to take an expensive SLR.
11/18/2005 7:02:37 AM
 
Eric Tay
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 9/1/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
was one of the best comsumer digital camera at the time it was first first introduced many years ago. swivel body design allow pictures to be taken from different angle.
9/2/2005 12:38:50 AM
 
Jenn S.
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 7/22/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love this camera!
8/27/2005 10:17:46 AM
 
Yod Paul
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 4/29/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
the flip/swivel function is worth it, the picture quality (mostly colors) needs improvement but i am sure they have corrected it in later models.
7/25/2005 10:46:28 PM
 
Donald J. Voge

member since: 7/23/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Although old, the Nikon Coolpix 950 Digital Camera is still a favorite of mine, because of its ease of use and wonderful picture quality. I bought my Coolpix 950 about 5 years ago, and I immediately fell in love with this camera. There are relatively few buttons on this camera, and even a novice can learn to take good quality pictures with this camera fairly quickly. It replaced my very very old Casio digital, which had almost no features, so it was a very good step up for me. Like the Casio, the 950 has a swivel lens, which allows for very precision layouts with a tripod. It has a 2.2 Megapixel sensor, which for its day was pretty good. It allowed publication quality prints up to 5x7, which again for its day was quite good. The most amazing thing about this camera is the ability to take very good extremely closeup, or macro, photos. I was absolutely flabbergasted at the quality of the extreme closeups I got, almost to the point where they were microscopic in detail. The camera is just that good. The colors were rich and full of detail, and the 3x optical zoom, although limited, gave me more options for taking pictures than I had with my previous, non-zoom camera. About the only thing I don't like about the 950 is that, like most cameras of its day, it is a battery hog. Battery performance with alkaline batteries is dismal, about 1/2 hour with the LCD turned on. However, with the introduction of newer rechargables, especially the NiMH batteries, performance has improved dramatically. I very strongly recommend anyone who might buy this camera to purchase rechargable batteries and a plug-in charger. It will pay for itself almost immediately. Although I rarely use the 950 since I got my new Sony DSC F828, the Nikon Coolpix 950 will always have a place in my heart. For anyone looking for a good introduction digital camera, finding a good used (or new, there are still some out there) 950 is the smartest thing you could do.
7/23/2005 10:08:12 PM
 
Rodney G. Adams

member since: 7/20/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have considered buying a new fancy SLR type digital Nikon but keep hanging in there with my coolpix. I have all the accesories and lenses for it. I have shot thousands of photos with it and it is always on my person so it tend to get a hit now and then, but has never failed me. I bought it about5-6 years ago.
7/20/2005 10:11:45 AM
 
Jessie L. Forrester

member since: 6/19/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
For the age of this camera, it served me VERY well. I have recently donated it to a friend since I upgraded. Sometimes I wish I had kept it, it was great for macros.
6/19/2005 5:52:31 PM
 
Ned J. Roques

member since: 6/3/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
At the time this was a great camera and still takes great photos but not much control and it eats batteries like the cookie monster.
6/12/2005 7:22:38 PM
 
M J. Leahy

member since: 3/21/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Excellent "snapshot" camera; easy to handle and use.
4/12/2005 8:17:06 AM
 
Dora Meeks

member since: 2/15/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
The best feature on this camera is the abiltiy to take macro photos.
3/6/2005 5:34:50 PM
 
Ian S. Kellett
BetterPhoto Member
iskellett.com

member since: 12/4/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Nice,easy to carry camera and for a 2.1 meg takes good sharpe photos.Excellent for macro shots with wide angle converter fitted.
12/9/2004 9:31:44 PM
 
Allison R. Metze

member since: 11/23/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
It's an older model, but for it's time it takes pretty good pictures.
11/23/2004 5:29:10 PM
 
Derrick Cr Craig

member since: 11/10/2004
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
the swivel pix allows you to shoot and see the lcd where normally you can't, although the megapixels are way too long.
11/10/2004 3:06:04 PM
 
Donald L. Smith
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 10/27/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great camera at the time I purchased it.
10/30/2004 5:22:40 AM
 
Lee Norville

member since: 10/13/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
a great toy for instant gratification. Waiting on my new FUJI FINEPIX S3 Pro to arrive. I will still use the nikon as a preset view for my large format photography though.
10/14/2004 5:32:23 PM
 
claire kipnis
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 5/10/2004
1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 1.5 out of 5
good only in program mode very slow
10/13/2004 6:11:22 AM
 
Troy M. Albert

member since: 10/5/2004
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2 out of 5
Decent point and shoot camera for it's day with moderate features. I found the lack of zoom to be frustrating but it serves it's purpose well.
10/6/2004 9:24:07 PM
 
William M. Steinbuch

member since: 9/25/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Handy, reasonably flexible.
10/3/2004 3:59:30 PM
 
John D. Hoogendoorn

member since: 3/11/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great image quality. Poor battery life. Some reliability issues. Nice for macros.
3/11/2004 5:00:51 PM
 
Dot T. Jones

member since: 10/31/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
This camera has made some wonderful photos for me, but recently I have purchased a Nikon Coolpix 4300 and really like it which I will use in the future.
12/7/2003 4:59:05 PM
 
Walt Paholak

member since: 9/22/2003
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Great point and shoot camera, plus has creativty,
10/24/2003 11:44:40 AM
 
Larry Deamud

member since: 8/23/2003
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Overall good pics, nice lens, diffucult to use, lcd screen loses contrast in sun light.
10/13/2003 6:49:38 AM
 
Judy Unger
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 9/11/2003
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Didn't like the fact that eyepiece viewing was not TTL Most pictures had a blue cast limited 3x digital zoom, add on lenses block the eyepiece viewing
9/12/2003 10:46:59 AM
 
Sylvester Fourroux jr.

member since: 8/25/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
It is supper.
8/25/2003 9:33:51 PM
 
Sergie Magdalin

member since: 8/4/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This camera has the best macro mode i have ever seen. Well, there are newer models of this camera that might have some improvements, but 3cm is as close as i need to get. the rest is great as well.
8/4/2003 11:40:42 PM
 
Tom Sanders

member since: 4/13/2003
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Very user friendly, good results. LCD screen difficult to see outdoors, zoom mechanism seems to break easily (personal experience and posts I've read.) In fact, instructions for repairing this problem are posted on the web by different sources.
6/30/2003 7:02:35 PM
 
Theresa A. Collopy

member since: 6/20/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This camera is definately a workhorse. It was my 1st digital and I love it. It was definately top of the line back when it first came out!! Very easy to use for a begginer with no photography experience like me.You can still purchase these cameras used for a pretty fair price I recommend the 950 highly!!
6/23/2003 11:31:13 AM
 
Jane Griffith

member since: 9/27/2001
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
My company just provided me with a new Nikon Coolpix 950. As a 2-year user of a Sony Mavica (which cost about the same as this Nikon when new), I was immediately blown away by the 950's great sensitivity to natural lighting. I was also surprisingly pleased by the wide angle adaptor. Since I was spoiled by the Mavica's use of standard floppies as removeable media, I'm still getting used to Flash Cards.
2/28/2000
 

37 Reviews  

Add your own review

Buy Coolpix 950 (E950) Digital Camera from Amazon.com


Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.