Ektachrome E100VS Slide Film


Kodak

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Film : Color Slide Film (35mm)

The Ektachrome E100VS Slide Film The Ektachrome E100VS Slide Film

E100VS 100 ASA film gives you the most vivid, saturated colors available in any 100-speed transparency film. It's a daylight-balanced, E-6 color reversal film designed for brilliant colors made possible by Kodak's new, proprietary Color Amplifying Technology.


Made for both location and studio applications, E100VS is ideal for creating high-color transparency images that jump off the light box. Use E100VS for nature, scenics, wildlife, food, and jewelry - in fact, any subject that calls for brilliant and dramatic hues.

  • The most vivid, saturated colors available today in 100-speed film
  • True 100-speed film
  • Unsurpassed for sharpness at 100 speed
  • Superb reciprocity


4 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
David Cantlin 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/20/2005 8:15:36 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/20/2005 8:15:36 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/20/2005 8:15:36 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/20/2005 8:15:36 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/20/2005 8:15:36 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I've used VS off and on for a couple of years now. I mostly shoot trains in all kinds of weather. I like the enhanced color because I live in the NW were it is mostly gray and rainy (except for two days a year, and I work both of them so cant take pictures). Seriously I like to brighten my subjects up. However I have to disagree with those that say to shoot it at a slower speed. I've have tried shooting at lower speeds and noticed increased visibility of the grain. At 100 speed I love it. Sorry kodachrome fans.
5/20/2005 8:15:36 PM
 
Ken Kassin 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2000 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2000 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2000 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2000 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2000
Rating: 4 out of 5
Fantastic color, shot at 64 ASA for what I thought were the best results. Used 25 rolls both desert in Arizona to Pacific coast water.
6/21/2000
 
Diego Gallarate 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
That's the Point:
I've tested this film for the Zone System, and it's actually a 64 ISO speed film, no matter what they trumpet for 100 ISO... Given that, it's still a fine grained and well saturated film for slides; beware, if you ONLY project the slides, you may still expose it at 80 ISO.
 
Roy Cox 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I agree with the others in that this is a great slide film. I have used mostly Velvia for scenics, Provia for wildlife and version of Ektachrome for studio and fashion based applications. Its grain structure is extremely tight and the color saturation is excellent. I have shot it at 100, 80, and 64 and agree that the 64 rating brings out the best in this film. A great, high contrast, high color saturation film.
 

4 Reviews