Online PhotoCourse™ - Bare Bones Digital Photography with Robin Nichols

Categories: Reviews: BetterPhoto Products and Services : BetterPhoto Online Photography Courses

Beginning Photography: The Bare Bones  Photography Course
Course Instructor: © Robin Nichols
Beginning Photography: The Bare Bones

Make your digital pictures look better, and even dramatic, in this course for beginners. Bare Bones Digital Photography - by photographer and author Robin Nichols - is perfect for anyone who has just bought a digital camera, as well as those who have been shooting for a few months but feel they need a starter course. Robin will demonstrate, in the clearest terms, how to apply basic compositional rules to your picture-taking to make your shots appear more dramatic. An experienced photographer, writer, and teacher, Robin is the publisher of Australia's largest-selling specialist digital photo publication and is also the author of several books.

Category: Fundamentals Courses
Skill Level: 1 - Beginner
Only $396 USD

Learn more about
Beginning Photography: The Bare Bones


15 Reviews  

Average Rating: 5 out of 5

5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Susan C. Dexter 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2008 6:16:55 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2008 6:16:55 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2008 6:16:55 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2008 6:16:55 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2008 6:16:55 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I absolutely loved this class. I learned much more than I thought I would and Robin has the patience of a saint along with great humor! Thanks again Robin!
1/7/2008 6:16:55 PM
 
Ann A. Wilkinson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/18/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2007 7:13:21 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2007 7:13:21 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2007 7:13:21 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2007 7:13:21 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2007 7:13:21 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This class, and Robin in particular, got me "over the hump" and really into my digital camera and its advantages, AND how to work with its shortcomings. Robin's honest criticism was extremely helpful to me, and he has a great sense of humor, too. I thoroughly enjoyed this class, and I hope to take more classes from Robin. Thank you very much.
6/7/2007 7:13:21 PM
 
Michelle Cherashore
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/1/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/6/2007 5:32:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/6/2007 5:32:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/6/2007 5:32:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/6/2007 5:32:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/6/2007 5:32:54 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This has been an awsome learninig experience for me! Robin gives EXCELLENT informative feedback. I will be taking more courses in the future to further improve my picture taking. Thank you so much for making me feel confident enough to pursue this!!

Michelle

6/6/2007 5:32:54 PM
 
Susan Greenlee 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2006 12:36:20 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2006 12:36:20 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2006 12:36:20 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2006 12:36:20 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2006 12:36:20 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I am so glad I took this course. It was frustrating at first, because I only knew how to use the AUTO mode on my digital camera. The help that Robin gave me was so important to me becoming a better photographer. I realize now that I would never have been able to learn what I did by just experimenting (trial and error) with my camera. His critiques...while I feared them at first...were what I needed to push me past my "beginner" level. Thanks, Robin, for your willingness to share your knowlege and love of photography! I hope we meet again! Susan
12/13/2006 12:36:20 PM
 
Mary Lou Knapp 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2006 6:59:45 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2006 6:59:45 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2006 6:59:45 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2006 6:59:45 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2006 6:59:45 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I thought this was an excellent course. The instructor and material delivered what was promised and overall it exceeded my expectations. Robin is great - obviously a talented and knowledgable photographer, but also very friendly and always willing to help and answer questions.
6/8/2006 6:59:45 AM
 
Lisa M. Kahlow 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2006 6:29:48 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2006 6:29:48 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2006 6:29:48 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2006 6:29:48 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2006 6:29:48 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I am a little disapointed with the class Bare Bones Digital Photography. I expected to learn more about the camera than how to fix pictures once there on the computer. Especially for $279.00. I can say that I did learn some, but felt I did not learn enough for the length and price of the class. Robyn as an instructor is a nice guy and funny. But very busy. Sorry for the medium rating, but I felt I needed to be honest. Thank you.
3/9/2006 6:29:48 AM
 
Serina C. Johnson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/22/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 3:29:27 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 3:29:27 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 3:29:27 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 3:29:27 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 3:29:27 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great class and teacher! Lots of helpful info and the one-on-one critques with Robin are insightful, pointing out the good and the not-so-good which only strengthens and improves the photos and the photographer. Thanks, Robin. :D
3/7/2006 3:29:27 PM
 
Judi Jones 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 2:57:12 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 2:57:12 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 2:57:12 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 2:57:12 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 2:57:12 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I can't say enough good things about this class and Robin. My goal was simple -- to learn the icons on my camera. Thanks to Robin, I learned so much more. I am really learning photography. His critiques are superb: honest, encouraging, and filled with humor. I am definitely going to take his Adobe workshop in April. Kudos to all involved at Better Photo.com. Judi Jones
3/7/2006 2:57:12 PM
 
Suzanne H. Bull
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/15/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 1:32:05 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 1:32:05 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 1:32:05 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 1:32:05 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 1:32:05 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was a great first time experience. Highly recommended. It has brought me confidence to continue learning. Robin was an excellent instructor and was very tender with his critiques for a beginner like me. Thanks again
3/7/2006 1:32:05 PM
 
Jane Scott
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/18/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2005 12:01:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2005 12:01:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2005 12:01:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2005 12:01:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2005 12:01:16 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thanks for the critiques and the photo of the week! I've been playing with PhotoShop for years so this part of the course was familiar to me. And yet.....there is still more to learn! Thanks for the tips, your class is really helping me!
10/12/2005 12:01:16 PM
 
Jen Smith 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2005 10:55:10 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2005 10:55:10 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2005 10:55:10 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2005 10:55:10 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2005 10:55:10 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I think I could ask you questions all day about photography. You are a wonderful teacher and I have learn a lot from your class. Thank you!

Thanks again for all of your wonderful help...

10/12/2005 10:55:10 AM
 
Fiona M. Randle 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2005 10:47:43 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2005 10:47:43 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2005 10:47:43 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2005 10:47:43 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2005 10:47:43 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Robin,
Thanks, this has been a really positive experience for me and given me confidence to move on & try out new things.
10/12/2005 10:47:43 AM
 
Betty Firebaugh 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2005 10:45:47 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2005 10:45:47 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2005 10:45:47 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2005 10:45:47 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2005 10:45:47 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thanks for your help and input! This has been a very beneficial class and you are a great instructor.
10/12/2005 10:45:47 AM
 
Ellen Hodges
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/19/2005
Contact Ellen
Ellen's Gallery
ellenhodges.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/8/2005 5:19:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/8/2005 5:19:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/8/2005 5:19:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/8/2005 5:19:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/8/2005 5:19:18 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
ROBIN NICHOLS IS AN EXCELLENT TEACHER WHO IS ALSO VERY HELPFUL TO NEW DIGITAL LEARNERS.
9/8/2005 5:19:18 PM
 
Daniel M. Bendjy
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/2/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/8/2005 12:13:23 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/8/2005 12:13:23 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/8/2005 12:13:23 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/8/2005 12:13:23 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/8/2005 12:13:23 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This course is awsome. I went in only knowing how to press the shutter button and I came out with a solid foundation on not only how to use every function on my digital camera but also on the craft of making excellent pictures. Robin is an outstanding instructor. He has tremendous knowledge coupled with a way for simplicity wich makes for a pretty smooth learning experience. He's a pretty funny guy too and you got to love his comments and insightful critics. And what's more, if you behave he might even send you a copy of his cool and $$$ Aussie digital magazine.
Bare Bones is a solid an inspiring course, perfect for the absolut beginner who wants to finally know what he/she is doing and start to grow in the art of digital photography.
9/8/2005 12:13:23 PM
 

15 Reviews  


Enroll

Add to Wishlist