Coolpix 4600 Digital Camera


Nikon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

Yum !
View photos created with this camera

The Coolpix 4600 Digital Camera

Features:


  • 4.0-megapixel CCD captures enough detail for for photo-quality
    15 x 20-inch prints
  • 3x optical zoom through a quality Zoom-Nikkor lens (zoom is
    equivalent to 38-114mm in a 35mm camera)
  • 1.8-inch LCD display; exclusive Nikon In-Camera Red-Eye Fix
  • Macro shooting as close as 1.6 inches
  • Powered by AA-size batteries; stores images on SD memory cards

Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


37 Reviews  

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Alex T. Mizuno
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/28/2007
Contact Alex
Alex's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2007 10:21:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2007 10:21:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2007 10:21:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2007 10:21:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2007 10:21:54 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is my first digital camera. It takes images with excellent clarity and bright colors. For this price and size, it does a great work. I'm totaly satisfied.
5/24/2007 10:21:54 PM
 
Praveen Devardhan 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2006 6:50:33 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2006 6:50:33 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2006 6:50:33 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2006 6:50:33 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2006 6:50:33 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
My camera the Nikon Coolpix 4600 is handy and easy to operate. I carry it all the time with me, not to miss the "moment" whenever I can capture it.
5/22/2006 6:50:33 PM
 
Jean  4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2006 7:21:04 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2006 7:21:04 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2006 7:21:04 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2006 7:21:04 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2006 7:21:04 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Affordable, compact Very good software
5/10/2006 7:21:04 AM
 
Khalid H. Alsaigh
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/28/2006
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2006 7:14:52 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2006 7:14:52 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2006 7:14:52 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2006 7:14:52 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2006 7:14:52 AM
Rating: 2 out of 5
i thins it is a nice camera for a starting shotting
4/28/2006 7:14:52 AM
 
David E. Lieb 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/25/2006 12:34:56 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/25/2006 12:34:56 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/25/2006 12:34:56 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/25/2006 12:34:56 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/25/2006 12:34:56 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
For a camera in this price range the Coolpix 4600 takes impressive pictures. Major drawback is it has very few manual controls.
4/25/2006 12:34:56 PM
 
Theresia Gale Basham 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2006 9:56:58 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2006 9:56:58 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2006 9:56:58 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2006 9:56:58 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2006 9:56:58 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
i loike this camera because it has a lot of options on it.
4/21/2006 9:56:58 PM
 
Holly B. Crofts-Johnson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/20/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2006 1:09:37 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2006 1:09:37 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2006 1:09:37 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2006 1:09:37 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2006 1:09:37 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Very good camera, takes amazing beautiful and clear shots, yet is pretty enexpensive. Very good macro.
4/21/2006 1:09:37 AM
 
Dwight Dolby
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/29/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2006 9:19:00 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2006 9:19:00 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2006 9:19:00 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2006 9:19:00 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2006 9:19:00 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Great for point and shoot. I don't like flash, so a tripod is necessary for sharp images. Very sensitive to movement because of its size. Easy to operate however. Reliable.
4/12/2006 9:19:00 AM
 
Christopher Tarantino 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2006 1:25:42 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2006 1:25:42 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2006 1:25:42 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2006 1:25:42 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2006 1:25:42 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Very dependable and produces good shots, is easy to use, yet, like most digital cameras, batteries fade fast.
3/28/2006 1:25:42 PM
 
Michelle Marie Torres 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2006 11:18:41 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2006 11:18:41 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2006 11:18:41 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2006 11:18:41 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2006 11:18:41 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I like everything about it, the only thing i dont like about it is that when you take a picture it takes too long to load back.
3/22/2006 11:18:41 AM
 
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2006 7:28:26 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2006 7:28:26 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2006 7:28:26 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2006 7:28:26 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2006 7:28:26 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
It takes wonderful still & nightlife pictures but I wish it was a little less sensitive to movement. Very nice starter for a digital camera.
3/18/2006 7:28:26 PM
 
John Tischner 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/25/2006 6:51:05 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/25/2006 6:51:05 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/25/2006 6:51:05 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/25/2006 6:51:05 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/25/2006 6:51:05 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Compact, runs on AA
2/25/2006 6:51:05 AM
 
Sail v 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2006 12:56:13 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2006 12:56:13 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2006 12:56:13 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2006 12:56:13 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2006 12:56:13 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Good one easy going
2/23/2006 12:56:13 AM
 
Natasha V. Roseberry 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2006 11:42:55 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2006 11:42:55 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2006 11:42:55 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2006 11:42:55 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2006 11:42:55 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Ok quality for the price, but worth spending the extra money on the next model up!
2/21/2006 11:42:55 AM
 
Natasha V. Roseberry 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2006 11:40:28 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2006 11:40:28 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2006 11:40:28 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2006 11:40:28 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2006 11:40:28 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Good quality for the price, but buy the next version up! It's worth it.
2/21/2006 11:40:28 AM
 
Evan M. Vander Ploeg 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/20/2006 12:23:54 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/20/2006 12:23:54 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/20/2006 12:23:54 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/20/2006 12:23:54 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/20/2006 12:23:54 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
good camara very handy and easy to use slow when using flash and in low light conditions
2/20/2006 12:23:54 PM
 
A. G. Reed  3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2006 2:52:24 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2006 2:52:24 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2006 2:52:24 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2006 2:52:24 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2006 2:52:24 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
My camera is very good but not good enough for a professional photo.
2/14/2006 2:52:24 PM
 
Lisa J. Hoty 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/3/2006 10:59:05 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/3/2006 10:59:05 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/3/2006 10:59:05 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/3/2006 10:59:05 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/3/2006 10:59:05 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
This camera has been great for learning how to go digital. Not the best quailty of zoom. But a great building block.
2/3/2006 10:59:05 AM
 
Andreea Velcu 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2006 12:26:00 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2006 12:26:00 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2006 12:26:00 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2006 12:26:00 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2006 12:26:00 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
it's really good camera for an amator or if you just want to get started and get the hang of it.
2/2/2006 12:26:00 PM
 
Jessica McManus 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2006 7:40:48 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2006 7:40:48 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2006 7:40:48 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2006 7:40:48 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2006 7:40:48 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love my camera. I still use my 35 mm for some things but my digital is compact, lightweight and fits in my purse. I takes incredible pictures and has numours setting which make snapping photos that much more interesting.
1/18/2006 7:40:48 AM
 
Laura E. Polkus
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/15/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2006 2:56:42 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2006 2:56:42 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2006 2:56:42 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2006 2:56:42 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2006 2:56:42 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This camera has a vast amount of options and features, perfect for travel, or just capturing great moments with friends.
1/15/2006 2:56:42 PM
 
Alice Sims 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/14/2006 3:37:33 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/14/2006 3:37:33 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/14/2006 3:37:33 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/14/2006 3:37:33 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/14/2006 3:37:33 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love this camera it is easy for me to hold. I can put it in my purse and have it with me at all times. I like it because I can just turn it on and click away.
1/14/2006 3:37:33 PM
 
Lori D. Hicks 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2005 9:56:46 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2005 9:56:46 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2005 9:56:46 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2005 9:56:46 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2005 9:56:46 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
My camera is very easy to take pictures and it lets you change the colors to any colors you want to. It helps you take the best pictures possible.
12/20/2005 9:56:46 AM
 
Lori D. Hicks 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2005 9:53:08 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2005 9:53:08 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2005 9:53:08 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2005 9:53:08 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2005 9:53:08 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
My camera takes very good pictures. The best things i like about my camera is that it lets me change the colors of the pictures to black/white, sepia,vivid color,and Cyanotype.My camera is very easy to use and it gives you different ways to take pictures such as scenes, portraits, images, and different sport pictures. It helps you take the best pictures possible.
12/20/2005 9:53:08 AM
 
Gary M. Hendricks 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2005 2:21:33 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2005 2:21:33 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2005 2:21:33 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2005 2:21:33 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2005 2:21:33 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Amazing camera for the price.
12/13/2005 2:21:33 AM
 
Staci C. Hooten
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/11/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/1/2005 1:37:46 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/1/2005 1:37:46 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/1/2005 1:37:46 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/1/2005 1:37:46 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/1/2005 1:37:46 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
It's a good little point and shoot. I like how small it is.
12/1/2005 1:37:46 AM
 
Sarah E. Shea
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/29/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/29/2005 12:40:45 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/29/2005 12:40:45 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/29/2005 12:40:45 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/29/2005 12:40:45 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/29/2005 12:40:45 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I like this camera a lot, it could be better. It has a good close up shot but it takes a whice for it to auto focus
10/29/2005 12:40:45 PM
 
Arturs Petersons 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/23/2005 3:08:42 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/23/2005 3:08:42 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/23/2005 3:08:42 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/23/2005 3:08:42 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/23/2005 3:08:42 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
It's okay to make family shots. Cheap stuff featuring exposure compensation (for them who knows). Battery buster- cheap ones die after 2-3 shots, accus works for 10-15 shots- all above with display off. Heavy duty goes ok.
10/23/2005 3:08:42 PM
 
Gustavs Cirulis 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/29/2005 12:43:37 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/29/2005 12:43:37 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/29/2005 12:43:37 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/29/2005 12:43:37 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/29/2005 12:43:37 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I think for it price and sizes, it's a great camera! Has one of the best macros for a small camera .
9/29/2005 12:43:37 PM
 
Chris L. Trujillo 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/28/2005 10:01:44 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/28/2005 10:01:44 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/28/2005 10:01:44 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/28/2005 10:01:44 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/28/2005 10:01:44 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
i've only had my camera for about 2 months . . .. i really like how good the close ups can be . .. blurry a lot of times but i'm sure that's probably on me
9/28/2005 10:01:44 AM
 
Gary Hendricks 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2005 2:51:47 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2005 2:51:47 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2005 2:51:47 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2005 2:51:47 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2005 2:51:47 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Awsome picture for a low cost camera. Macro is super!
9/27/2005 2:51:47 PM
 
Melanie A. Haynes 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2005 7:07:07 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2005 7:07:07 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2005 7:07:07 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2005 7:07:07 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2005 7:07:07 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Well, I just got it and have been experimenting, but I love the different settings allowing for speed focusing and light/dark focusing. It's not the greatest camera, but for a starter into the digital world, it's kewl.
9/11/2005 7:07:07 PM
 
Daniel N. Curhan 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2005 4:37:36 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2005 4:37:36 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2005 4:37:36 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2005 4:37:36 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2005 4:37:36 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
It's a versatile little point and shoot...
9/5/2005 4:37:36 PM
 
Paula Shea Livingston 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/8/2005 12:04:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/8/2005 12:04:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/8/2005 12:04:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/8/2005 12:04:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/8/2005 12:04:36 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
My camera is great it has very vived colors
8/8/2005 12:04:36 PM
 
Nichole Hartman 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/3/2005 3:30:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/3/2005 3:30:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/3/2005 3:30:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/3/2005 3:30:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/3/2005 3:30:16 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is my second digital, and its the best one yet, for me. It takes great pictures with great quality.
8/3/2005 3:30:16 PM
 
Katie Kaugars 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2005 9:20:46 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2005 9:20:46 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2005 9:20:46 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2005 9:20:46 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2005 9:20:46 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
It's a great camera. It's small and uses it's megapixels very effectively.
6/24/2005 9:20:46 AM
 
Neva M. Cooper 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2005 12:26:08 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2005 12:26:08 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2005 12:26:08 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2005 12:26:08 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2005 12:26:08 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I just got this camera a few weeks ago, and have yet to run into problems with it, haven't found much i dislike about it. All the scene settings are useful and the picture quality is excellent. I definitely recomend it.
6/15/2005 12:26:08 PM
 

37 Reviews  

Buy Coolpix 4600 Digital Camera from Amazon.com