Basic Techniques of Photography - Book I (Ansel Adams Guide Series)


Ansel Adams     John Paul Schaefer     

Categories: Reviews: Other Resources : Photo Books : How To Photography Books

Cherish MacRobbie...
View photos created with this camera

The Basic Techniques of Photography - Book I (Ansel Adams Guide Series)

You can get excellent instruction on general technique in An Ansel Adams Guide: Basic Techniques of Photography. This is the first of a series of guidebooks in which author John Paul Schaefer incorporates fine examples and illuminating explanations from Ansel Adams to educate you on everything from basic composition to the Zone System. Very thorough; for the photographer who wants to master the whole art-developing and printmaking as well as shooting.


71 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Gary Piccirillo
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/21/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2006 6:02:10 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2006 6:02:10 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2006 6:02:10 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2006 6:02:10 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2006 6:02:10 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love my e-10. I just got it off ebay for $309 in mint condition. what a deal and what a camera. I also have a stylus 600 6.1 with underwater case and I am very happy with both olympus.
9/13/2006 6:02:10 AM
 
Terry A. Cabilogan 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2006 8:14:23 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2006 8:14:23 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2006 8:14:23 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2006 8:14:23 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2006 8:14:23 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
At first I was confuse bout this camera slowly but surely I'm beginning to like this camera. Problem is lens not interchangable...but I LOVE THIS CAMERA!
7/24/2006 8:14:23 AM
 
nancy frew
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/7/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2006 7:04:03 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2006 7:04:03 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2006 7:04:03 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2006 7:04:03 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2006 7:04:03 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
my first digital camera. It takes great pictures. I am looking forward to purchasing another digital with higher pixals. I am pleased with the quality of the pictures and the color is great.
5/22/2006 7:04:03 PM
 
Djordje Petrovic 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2006 4:26:21 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2006 4:26:21 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2006 4:26:21 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2006 4:26:21 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2006 4:26:21 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Super
4/18/2006 4:26:21 PM
 
Julio Yeste 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2006 3:11:53 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2006 3:11:53 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2006 3:11:53 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2006 3:11:53 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2006 3:11:53 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Nice, but no interchangeable lenses.
4/4/2006 3:11:53 PM
 
Sally Robison
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/4/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2005 8:30:29 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2005 8:30:29 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2005 8:30:29 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2005 8:30:29 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2005 8:30:29 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
It has good color saturation and produces good skin tones. I upgraded to an SLR because I wanted to be able to change lenses and have more control over exposure.
7/9/2005 8:30:29 PM
 
Donald W. Nelson 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2005 10:17:27 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2005 10:17:27 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2005 10:17:27 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2005 10:17:27 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2005 10:17:27 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Backup to the E20
7/7/2005 10:17:27 AM
 
Tracey Johnson 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2005 11:43:38 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2005 11:43:38 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2005 11:43:38 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2005 11:43:38 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2005 11:43:38 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Great camera-no longer top of the line-but tommorrow yours won't be either.
6/2/2005 11:43:38 PM
 
Joseph E. Krebbs 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2005 8:12:41 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2005 8:12:41 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2005 8:12:41 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2005 8:12:41 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2005 8:12:41 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Excellent camera! Confusing at first and needed better batteries but overall an awesome camera.
5/9/2005 8:12:41 PM
 
Alisha L. Ekstrom
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/30/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2005 4:50:00 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2005 4:50:00 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2005 4:50:00 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2005 4:50:00 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2005 4:50:00 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love my SLR. I like to beable to play with the different settings to get a unique photo.
4/23/2005 4:50:00 PM
 
cherish m. MacRobbie 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2005 8:32:03 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2005 8:32:03 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2005 8:32:03 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2005 8:32:03 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2005 8:32:03 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Great to start out with but limited lense options.
4/16/2005 8:32:03 PM
 
Michael A. Lasenick 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2005 5:40:44 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2005 5:40:44 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2005 5:40:44 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2005 5:40:44 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2005 5:40:44 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Bought it 3 years ago and am now taking this class to better my knowledge of the options.
4/13/2005 5:40:44 AM
 
Mark Gipson 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/9/2005 1:57:24 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/9/2005 1:57:24 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/9/2005 1:57:24 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/9/2005 1:57:24 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/9/2005 1:57:24 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Loved the camera just too small resolution @4 Mp, but took great pix
4/9/2005 1:57:24 PM
 
Debi M. Levendusky
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/15/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/15/2005 7:53:31 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/15/2005 7:53:31 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/15/2005 7:53:31 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/15/2005 7:53:31 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/15/2005 7:53:31 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
My camera is awesome! I always get wonderful shots with very little effort. I was concerned that I would be unhappy with a digital... but its great. My other camera is a Minolta 35 mm.
3/15/2005 7:53:31 PM
 
Arthur H. Gunther 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2005 1:29:35 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2005 1:29:35 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2005 1:29:35 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2005 1:29:35 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2005 1:29:35 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Fine early generation 4 megapixel unit.
1/4/2005 1:29:35 PM
 
P.Fun Bülow 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2004 4:00:49 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2004 4:00:49 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2004 4:00:49 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2004 4:00:49 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2004 4:00:49 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
very good
11/23/2004 4:00:49 AM
 
P.Fun Bülow 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2004 3:56:14 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2004 3:56:14 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2004 3:56:14 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2004 3:56:14 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2004 3:56:14 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
very good
11/23/2004 3:56:14 AM
 
P.Fun Bülow 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2004 3:54:53 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2004 3:54:53 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2004 3:54:53 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2004 3:54:53 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2004 3:54:53 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
very good
11/23/2004 3:54:53 AM
 
Charles Zanauskas 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/29/2004 3:28:12 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/29/2004 3:28:12 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/29/2004 3:28:12 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/29/2004 3:28:12 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/29/2004 3:28:12 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I like the multiple features of this camera, the LCD screen and ease of use. There are only several limited optional lenses that you may purchase for this camera, my only dislike.
10/29/2004 3:28:12 AM
 
Robert Hesselmann 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/24/2004 6:18:50 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/24/2004 6:18:50 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/24/2004 6:18:50 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/24/2004 6:18:50 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/24/2004 6:18:50 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Great camera, easy to use. A bit heavy, and eats rechargeable batteries quick, but overall, worth the trouble.
10/24/2004 6:18:50 AM
 
Robert Lee 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/17/2004 9:15:15 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/17/2004 9:15:15 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/17/2004 9:15:15 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/17/2004 9:15:15 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/17/2004 9:15:15 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Bought this a couple of years back. Obsolete by today's standard, but great camera otherwise. Fast, high quality optics; fantastic handling and usability.
10/17/2004 9:15:15 AM
 
Anthony A. Horpel
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/25/2004
Contact Anthony
Anthony's Gallery
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2004 8:51:50 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2004 8:51:50 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2004 8:51:50 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2004 8:51:50 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2004 8:51:50 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Awesome camera for four years. Sharp images beautiful color. Low noise. Most shortcomings can be easily corrected on the PC. Runs a little slow when writing to the flash card. It is also a little slow when reviewing previous shots. For entry level pro or advanced amateur it can't be beat even though it's four years old.
10/8/2004 8:51:50 PM
 
Sally M. Papin 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2004 9:44:14 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2004 9:44:14 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2004 9:44:14 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2004 9:44:14 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2004 9:44:14 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I like this camera, it handles nice - is limited with its depth of field for macros.
9/22/2004 9:44:14 AM
 
Richard Billingham 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/5/2004 2:18:23 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/5/2004 2:18:23 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/5/2004 2:18:23 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/5/2004 2:18:23 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/5/2004 2:18:23 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I was very inexperienced when I bought my E10 but the ease of use and the great images has given me the confidence to continue.Its a great camera and along with the 1.45 teleconverter and the 300mm telephoto extension I am pleased I bought it. But good things keep turning up and I am now looking to upgrade to the Cannon 10D later this year.
8/5/2004 2:18:23 PM
 
Marc Wisdom 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/27/2004 8:05:36 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/27/2004 8:05:36 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/27/2004 8:05:36 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/27/2004 8:05:36 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/27/2004 8:05:36 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Nice camera, great lens.
7/27/2004 8:05:36 AM
 
Ahmad Imran
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/8/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/25/2004 1:19:58 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/25/2004 1:19:58 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/25/2004 1:19:58 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/25/2004 1:19:58 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/25/2004 1:19:58 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Excellent colour quality
7/25/2004 1:19:58 PM
 
Marc Wisdom 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/21/2004 6:02:55 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/21/2004 6:02:55 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/21/2004 6:02:55 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/21/2004 6:02:55 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/21/2004 6:02:55 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I enjoy using this camera quite a bit. It is easy to use and has many great features.
7/21/2004 6:02:55 AM
 
John Bald
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/16/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2004 3:32:30 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2004 3:32:30 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2004 3:32:30 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2004 3:32:30 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2004 3:32:30 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Excellent camera, especially for its time. It takes beautiful images, because it has a serious lens. Well designed and easy to use. It has a half-second shutter lag that's hard to get used to, but that's my only complaint.
6/26/2004 3:32:30 PM
 
Candy Newbury
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/14/2004
candy-works.net
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2004 4:43:49 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2004 4:43:49 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2004 4:43:49 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2004 4:43:49 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2004 4:43:49 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
The Olympus E10 was my first SLR digital camera. It takes excellent pictures and had a really good feel to it. The cons are that lens is not interchangable and the battery life is poor. In one afternoon you can go through 3-4 sets of batteries.
6/25/2004 4:43:49 PM
 
Brad Petersen 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2004 8:18:23 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2004 8:18:23 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2004 8:18:23 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2004 8:18:23 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2004 8:18:23 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Handles like a conventional 35mm SLR. Sturdy & rugged. Image quality is good, especially in close-up work. Wish it had better noise reduction & wider range of ISO.
6/22/2004 8:18:23 PM
 
Tom Wagner 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2004 11:39:50 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2004 11:39:50 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2004 11:39:50 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2004 11:39:50 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2004 11:39:50 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Takes a while to get use to, but is very easy to operate once you know it. This camera reminds me of a good old working horse: reliable, no surprises, a bit on the slow side, but a wonderful friend that never lets you down.
6/17/2004 11:39:50 AM
 
Latrenia  T. Bryant
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/17/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2004 11:13:06 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2004 11:13:06 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2004 11:13:06 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2004 11:13:06 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2004 11:13:06 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love my Camera! I must love it because at the time I paid $2000.00 for it which is a lot of money for something my family thinks of as JUST a HOBBY! To me it's not a hobby it's my passion. This camera had just came out and had good consumer reports. The only thing I don't like about the camera is the weight. I feel it's too heavy. I find my shoulder hurts when I carry it for a few hours. I plan on buying a Nikon D-70 next.
6/17/2004 11:13:06 AM
 
Roxanne M. Lutgen 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2004 2:53:15 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2004 2:53:15 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2004 2:53:15 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2004 2:53:15 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2004 2:53:15 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Ease of use is there, but I wish it had more than 4.0 Megapixels.
6/15/2004 2:53:15 PM
 
Denise Elfenbein 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2004 10:45:31 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2004 10:45:31 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2004 10:45:31 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2004 10:45:31 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2004 10:45:31 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
review time is slow, auto focus does not always function properly, camera functioning is slower than what I need for shooting. When lighting is good, I get some really nice photos. Sometimes too much grain.
6/9/2004 10:45:31 AM
 
Jim Nooney 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2004 6:26:04 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2004 6:26:04 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2004 6:26:04 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2004 6:26:04 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2004 6:26:04 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I LOVE the image quality I get with the E-10. My one complaint would be the 4x optical zoom range.
5/30/2004 6:26:04 AM
 
Richard Proulx 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2004 6:26:33 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2004 6:26:33 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2004 6:26:33 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2004 6:26:33 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2004 6:26:33 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Very good optical quality build like a thank. The only reserve is the amount of pixels if you need a lot (4.5mega pixels). But is my backup and i use it!
4/26/2004 6:26:33 PM
 
Florian Meyer 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2004 5:31:19 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2004 5:31:19 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2004 5:31:19 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2004 5:31:19 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2004 5:31:19 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I like the weight and the functions of this camera, it is very good to handle and the quality of the pictures is really fine. I dislike that it has a fix lens.
4/20/2004 5:31:19 AM
 
Roxanne m. Brooks 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2004 8:59:01 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2004 8:59:01 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2004 8:59:01 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2004 8:59:01 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2004 8:59:01 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I really enjoy my camera and am comfortable with it... it is easy to hold and adjust..the manual is clear and easy for me to understand. I dont like that the lens cap is easy to lose!
4/15/2004 8:59:01 PM
 
Callie kerr 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2004 8:36:30 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2004 8:36:30 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2004 8:36:30 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2004 8:36:30 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2004 8:36:30 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
has too slow a buffer....you can only take a series of 5, and then you must wait for them to finish loading before you can take more....you miss alot while waiting! cannot shoot photojournalistically. it is somewhat heavy, and i wish it could add lenses for a larger macro and zooms!! overall a very good beginner camera for someone who has very little knowledge of photography and cameras! I've learned in leaps and bounds with this camera.
4/13/2004 8:36:30 AM
 
Bob Slitzan
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/11/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2004 7:22:23 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2004 7:22:23 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2004 7:22:23 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2004 7:22:23 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2004 7:22:23 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I bought this camera when it first came out. It was priced right for a 4.1MP SLR at the time. The only negative points are very long wait taking high res. shots and lack of interchangeable lens.
4/11/2004 7:22:23 AM
 
Yoshimatsu N. Hiroaki 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2004 7:05:52 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2004 7:05:52 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2004 7:05:52 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2004 7:05:52 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2004 7:05:52 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
this is good camera I think! but....only battery have problem. little short work i think.
3/10/2004 7:05:52 AM
 
S L Freeman 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/22/2004 11:20:39 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/22/2004 11:20:39 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/22/2004 11:20:39 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/22/2004 11:20:39 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/22/2004 11:20:39 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Would be great if it could change lenses
2/22/2004 11:20:39 AM
 
Sharon G. Maessen
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/7/2003
Contact Sharon
Sharon's Gallery
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2004 5:05:42 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2004 5:05:42 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2004 5:05:42 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2004 5:05:42 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2004 5:05:42 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I like it other than I can't change the lenses on it.
1/18/2004 5:05:42 PM
 
Larry Richardson 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2004 4:34:07 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2004 4:34:07 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2004 4:34:07 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2004 4:34:07 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2004 4:34:07 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This camera performed very well. Again, the only reason for change was to get more pixels. I still use this camera for specific shots and as a back up camera.
1/2/2004 4:34:07 PM
 
Jonathan S. Moore 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/24/2003 6:40:52 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/24/2003 6:40:52 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/24/2003 6:40:52 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/24/2003 6:40:52 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/24/2003 6:40:52 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
What a great Cam!!! Good price, excellent ability and options.
12/24/2003 6:40:52 AM
 
Jonathan S. Moore 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/24/2003 6:37:43 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/24/2003 6:37:43 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/24/2003 6:37:43 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/24/2003 6:37:43 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/24/2003 6:37:43 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
What a great Cam!!! Good price, excellent ability and options.
12/24/2003 6:37:43 AM
 
Leigh R. Lumpkin
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/22/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/21/2003 9:52:40 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/21/2003 9:52:40 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/21/2003 9:52:40 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/21/2003 9:52:40 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/21/2003 9:52:40 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This camera is fairly easy to use out of the box. I wish the lenses were interchangeable though for more options. I like that you can use auto or manual modes.
12/21/2003 9:52:40 AM
 
Dawn Castellanos 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/26/2003 8:23:57 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/26/2003 8:23:57 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/26/2003 8:23:57 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/26/2003 8:23:57 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/26/2003 8:23:57 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I am still trying to figure out all the buttons, however this camera is awesome, I have enjoyed using it and the wonderful photos I have obtained from it.
11/26/2003 8:23:57 PM
 
Deborah Beilstein 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/22/2003 11:29:49 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/22/2003 11:29:49 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/22/2003 11:29:49 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/22/2003 11:29:49 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/22/2003 11:29:49 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great camera for shooting portraits!
11/22/2003 11:29:49 PM
 
Frank G. Brault 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/5/2003 12:57:46 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/5/2003 12:57:46 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/5/2003 12:57:46 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/5/2003 12:57:46 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/5/2003 12:57:46 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Wonderful camera with great ergonomics. A little too much noise. Frank B
11/5/2003 12:57:46 PM
 
Mike Thompson 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/28/2003 8:12:09 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/28/2003 8:12:09 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/28/2003 8:12:09 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/28/2003 8:12:09 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/28/2003 8:12:09 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
great camera.
10/28/2003 8:12:09 PM
 
Norman  Lau 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2003 9:29:02 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2003 9:29:02 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2003 9:29:02 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2003 9:29:02 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2003 9:29:02 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I am satisfy with the picture quality and operating. The save and load speed is rather slow. I have to wait long in zooming in and out the picture.
10/21/2003 9:29:02 AM
 
Gene Smoley 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/9/2003 6:11:01 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/9/2003 6:11:01 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/9/2003 6:11:01 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/9/2003 6:11:01 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/9/2003 6:11:01 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Easy to use A little bulky More than enough settings for me Long battery life Solid construction I have been completely satisified with this camera Trying to decide if there would be a significant enough advantage to upgrade to 5 or 6 megapixels.
10/9/2003 6:11:01 PM
 
Paul J. Mullen 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/28/2003 5:07:14 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/28/2003 5:07:14 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/28/2003 5:07:14 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/28/2003 5:07:14 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/28/2003 5:07:14 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The Olympus E-10 is versatile camera capable of adding a variety of lens to the basic lens. With the FL-40 Electronic Flash red eye is never a problem. This camera is a little heavy for carrying around Disney World or Las Vegas for 8-10 hours at a time.
9/28/2003 5:07:14 PM
 
Rob Dinkelaar 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/23/2003 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/23/2003 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/23/2003 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/23/2003 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/23/2003
Rating: 4 out of 5
I can't find much wrong with the E10 at 4 megapixels, it is plenty for blowing the pictures to 200cm x 100cm but it does play up when shooting in the dark or fast multiple shots as it shoots 5 shots then stops and stores, can be quite frustrating
9/23/2003
 
Brittany L. Woodall 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2003 11:36:48 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2003 11:36:48 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2003 11:36:48 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2003 11:36:48 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2003 11:36:48 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I LOVE IT!!!
9/9/2003 11:36:48 AM
 
Barbara J. Lessing 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/3/2003 12:07:08 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/3/2003 12:07:08 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/3/2003 12:07:08 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/3/2003 12:07:08 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/3/2003 12:07:08 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I'm still learning how to use it, being a beginner photographer. It is a little heavy and bulky but gives me the options of a SLR camera which is important to me, without spending thousands of dollars. I'm having a little problem capturing different lighting situations, ie sunsets, etcl
9/3/2003 12:07:08 AM
 
Catherine Braden 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/17/2003 4:09:36 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/17/2003 4:09:36 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/17/2003 4:09:36 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/17/2003 4:09:36 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/17/2003 4:09:36 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Easy to use in 'program' mode and all manual functions available. Limited in accessory lenses.
8/17/2003 4:09:36 PM
 
Cathleen M. Bryant 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/4/2003 10:30:26 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/4/2003 10:30:26 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/4/2003 10:30:26 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/4/2003 10:30:26 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/4/2003 10:30:26 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
good camera, no problems yet! lots of great features.
8/4/2003 10:30:26 PM
 
Cor Oldenburg 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2003 2:34:49 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2003 2:34:49 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2003 2:34:49 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2003 2:34:49 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2003 2:34:49 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Shooting about 200 photos on a daily basis for over a year with the E10, I have only once encountered a minor problem for which only I was to blame.
I like the output of the camera and enjoy the manual mode (no autofocus, no P-mode). It gives me full control over the photos I want to shoot and colors (with a polarizer) are brilliant.
Currently set my mind on a Nikon D100 (for the interchangeable lenses) but I will keep using this great camera.
7/14/2003 2:34:49 AM
 
Sally Papin 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2003 6:07:42 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2003 6:07:42 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2003 6:07:42 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2003 6:07:42 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2003 6:07:42 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This camera was made for me - takes macros, distance and motion shots with ease. Its very user friendly and all the lenses that Olympus makes for it are top quality. Sally
6/22/2003 6:07:42 AM
 
Zlata Zubenko 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2003 1:13:26 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2003 1:13:26 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2003 1:13:26 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2003 1:13:26 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2003 1:13:26 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
The good thing is definitely its price. Non-interchangeable lens could be as well good thing and bas thing too. Good thing-no dust inside the camera! Bad thing-well, you can't change to bigger or smaller lens:) Olympus E-1o has these two big minuses: focusing and speed. It won't focus in close-ups (unless you know the trick,like I do:-)) and low-light situations. And when it records the picture it takes forever!!!!!! Otherwise,it's a pretty good camera for a start. It works well with studio lights, it's good for a portraiture,(the price is good too). It's more like "people/portraiture" camera. If you shooting fast-moving events unfortunately this camera won't do the job.
6/22/2003 1:13:26 AM
 
Terry Gilman 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2003 7:32:26 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2003 7:32:26 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2003 7:32:26 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2003 7:32:26 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2003 7:32:26 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Wonderful camera! The minute I picked it up I knew it was a fit. Reasonable price, wonderful results. Would recommend this SLR (the only way to go, I think) to anybody. Only drawback (and minor at that, I have a 2.5 converter as well) is the fixed lens. I hope Olympus comes out with a higher end camera and an array of top-notch interchangeable lenses one day. The build quality on this camera is amazing!
6/18/2003 7:32:26 AM
 
Rene Rodriguez 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 10:38:43 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 10:38:43 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 10:38:43 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 10:38:43 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 10:38:43 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great quality. It is a litle bit heavy but I do not mind. The accessories are expensive. Prints come out great.
6/17/2003 10:38:43 PM
 
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/16/2003 10:00:11 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/16/2003 10:00:11 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/16/2003 10:00:11 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/16/2003 10:00:11 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/16/2003 10:00:11 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I like this camera a lot. It is a little heavy but I don't mind. This camera takes great shots when you are up close. Accessories a bit expensive. The quality of the photos I print are great.
6/16/2003 10:00:11 PM
 
Doug Gould
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/20/2002
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/14/2002 2:12:27 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/14/2002 2:12:27 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/14/2002 2:12:27 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/14/2002 2:12:27 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/14/2002 2:12:27 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is my second review. I've now owned the camera for two months. For the price, I believe this is the best buy for a digital SLR. And the price seems to be getting cheaper since the E20 has debuted. As of 12/02, I've seen it as cheap as $850. But I've become more serious about photography since taking Jim Miotke's photo course and now feel the E10 has limitations for the serious photographer. The max shutter speed is only 1/560. This could cause problems for fast moving sports shots. The smallest aperture is only f11. Sometimes you might need greater depth of field. The problems: 1)At first I thought that I was forgetting to focus some shots. But no matter how careful I was to focus(manually),I kept getting too many out of focus shots. It turns out there are other E10 owners with this problem. I came across a website where this fellow was having the same problem, also thinking it was his own mistakes, so he did a test. He focused on the same subject using the auto focus, then manual. The manual focus was out of wack. Olympus replaced it and the new one was fine. I've also come across other reviews of the camera stating the same problem. There must be a manufacturing defect in a certain percentage of the cameras. 2)The lenses are not interchangable. You must use extension lenses, which I am not happy with. There are vignetting problems with both the telephoto and wide angle. Unless you are at almost full telephoto, you get terrible vignetting. The wide angle is not so obvious, but still apparent.
But again, if your looking to spend under $1000, and you want a 4mp SLR, the E10 is your best bet. And if you get one with a focus problem, Olympus will replace it. Me, I'm going to buy a Nikon D100. Max shutter speed 1/4000! And interchangable lenses.
12/14/2002 2:12:27 AM
 
Doug Gould
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/20/2002
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2002 11:54:25 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2002 11:54:25 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2002 11:54:25 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2002 11:54:25 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2002 11:54:25 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
As of the second week owning my E10, I'm extremely happy. Definitely the best camera I've owned. The resolution is fantastic! Even with the many buttons and switches, it was very easy to learn. I love that it holds two memory cards, 1 SmartMedia, 1 CompactFlash. With two 128mb cards, I can take about 275 pics on High Quality, 135 on Super High Quality. My only problem: the LCD washes out in bright sunlight. But that's just a problem with LCDs. I highly recommend this camera!
10/6/2002 11:54:25 PM
 
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
In my opinion this is the best digital SLR on market.
 
Mark M. Oxley 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
With out a doubt, the best digital camera on the market.
 
Paul Pedersen 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
We use the E10 for quick publicity photos in our studio and occasional commercial jobs for digital-literate clients. We selected the E10 because it was an economical professional grade camera that we could control like any other professional camera we use. It may be a bit expensive for many home-users, but those who buy it and learn to use it effectively will not be disappointed. In our professional application, we love the E10.
 
Gregory M. Anzalone
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/16/2000
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I just read 3 '10 out of 10' reviews and thought I should bring this back down to earth a bit.
The image quality of the E-10 is excellent (I give it a 10) The camera is fast, and responsive, with virtually no lag time (10)
The camera is HEAVY - Get a different neck strap if you're going to have it around your neck for awhile. I am less than thrilled with the attachment lenses, while the quality is good, the TCON-300 is long and HEAVY... adding more weight to the all ready heavy camera... Your not going to get any quick action grab shots with this lens attached. Even the 1.5x lens attachment adds weight and it is hard to use with out a tripod. Battery life in my opinion is great - I don't shoot with the LCD, and hardly ever preview photos. I can do a days shoot on a fresh set of batteries.

Great camera, I highly recommend it.

 

71 Reviews  

Buy Basic Techniques of Photography - Book I (Ansel Adams Guide Series) from Amazon.com