BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


Online PhotoCourse™ - Fundamentals Of Photography Made Easy with Jim Zuckerman

Categories: Reviews: BetterPhoto Products and Services : BetterPhoto Online Photography Courses

Fundamentals of Photography Made Easy Photography Course
Course Instructor: © Jim Zuckerman
Fundamentals of Photography Made Easy

Learn the fundamental concepts for making beautiful photos. Join us for Jim Zuckerman's 8-week photography course especially designed for beginning photographers who know nothing about photography. Jim is extremely knowledgeable about all aspects of photography, is patient with his students, and enjoys helping beginners gain a comprehensive understanding of the principles of photography. Enroll in his course today to learn how you can make beautiful photos!

Category: Fundamentals Courses
Skill Level: 1 - Beginner
Only $396 USD

Learn more about
Fundamentals of Photography Made Easy


51 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Alana G. Smith
BetterPhoto Member
photographsbyalana.com

member since: 1/10/2012
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was my first photography class online, what a wonderful experience. I went into the class having only shot in automatic. I now feel as though I have a much better understanding of the basic concepts of photography. Jim is an incredible instructor. His feedback was not only informative, but he also looked for the positive aspects of my pictures. During one critique, he even tweaked the picture and posted it next to my original picture so that I could completely understand his comments. Anyone looking to better understand the fundamentals of photography should enroll in this class. I look forward to taking the rest of the classes that Jim will teaching.
2/20/2012 6:57:59 PM
 
Kathy l. Kunschner
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 12/21/2009
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2 out of 5
I signed up for this course and tried doing the assignments. I was unable to do what we were supposed to do so I was unable to complete the course. I thought it was a beginner course. It is hard to do an online course when you don't have a good understanding of camera and no one to show you how to do it.
11/14/2011 8:38:34 PM
 
Charlyn C. Davis
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 9/3/2011
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This was a great course, especially since I went into the course without any knowledge other than how to shoot photos in automatic mode with my camera. Jim's lessons are very easy to understand and he gives great constructive critiques to help you grow in your ability. He was available to answer questions very quickly. I greatly admire his work and was honored to have him critique my photos. I have recommended this course to many of my friends who are interested in photography. I would definitely take another course with Betterphoto.com in the future.
11/6/2011 7:32:35 AM
 
Katherine M. Smith

member since: 5/3/2011
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I signed up for this course at the last minute, and I'm so glad I did! My understanding of the basics of photography have increased so much, and I'm so much more confident in taking control of my camera now. Jim was the perfect instructor. His lessons were to the point and easy to understand. And I always looked forward to his critiques because they helped me to understand what I was doing right and wrong. I hope to take many more courses with Jim in the future!
7/19/2011 8:38:04 AM
 
Melissa A. Warren

member since: 12/6/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was my first online class experience, as well as my first photography class. I have been completely satified with this class and my instructor. I intend to take more of his classes. This student is 100% happy.
2/16/2011 11:10:22 AM
 
Melissa A. Warren

member since: 12/6/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was my first online class experience, as well as my first photography class. I have been completely satified with this class and my instructor. I intend to take more of his classes. This student is 100% happy.
2/16/2011 11:10:20 AM
 
Melissa A. Warren

member since: 12/6/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was my first online class experience, as well as my first photography class. I have been completely satified with this class and my instructor. I intend to take more of his classes. This student is 100% happy.
2/16/2011 11:10:19 AM
 
Andrea M. Stenger
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Andrea
Andrea's Gallery
ihopephotography.com

member since: 8/27/2009
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was my best class experiance yet on better photo.. Jim was a great teacher & was really able to teach with a great understanding of what he was talking about.. I am an adult with ADD & learning from just reading alone can be difficult at times. But with Jims great teaching I had no problems! He always went out of his way to get me the help & to aid in my understanding.. I was very pleasently suprised by that! So happy with this class I signed up for another right away! Thanks!
1/12/2011 12:48:07 PM
 
Stacey Williams
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 8/25/2010
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Really enjoyed the course. As a beginner it really helped me in understanding the fundamentals. Jim was always prompt answering any questions and has made helpful suggestions both regarding photography techniques as well as on equipment. The critiques were always very helpful. I think my photography has certainly benefited and I look forward to taking more classes with Jim.
11/22/2010 4:53:17 AM
 
Julie A. Clark
BetterPhoto Member
julie-a-clark-photography.com

member since: 9/8/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I found the instruction to be very easy to understand and follow along with. Not only did I learn the fundamentals, I also learned a bit about thinking outside the box for artistic flare. I would highly recommend this course.
11/1/2010 11:20:40 AM
 
Estee Coetsee-Williams
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Estee
Estee's Gallery

member since: 3/14/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Wow, always thought to take a good picture is fairly simple and if you have the passion... you have mastered the art :)but nope, how little did I actually know! I had a awesome journey with Jim and the Fundamentals. Ever so happy that I have entered for this course, and most definately it won't be last. Thank you Jim for the opportunity to look at photographs through your eyes!
5/19/2010 12:41:29 AM
 
Olivier M. Dal Zuffo
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 1/2/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have been extremely impressed by the professionalism of Jim. He has been very comprhensive and supportive, and took the time to really help me out.

Thx, I loved the class

3/22/2010 6:40:12 AM
 
Carolyn Morgan
BetterPhoto Member
endment.com

member since: 5/11/2009
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Got an SLR camera and found myself leaving it on auto settings all the time - quite frankly using the manual settings intimidated me :) Jim’s class has put me on the path of becoming a photographer. His class materials are very user friendly and gave me courage to experiment on my own. I am looking forward to taking many more of his classes
3/16/2010 1:33:12 PM
 
Diane L. Gallagher

member since: 11/18/2009
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Excellent beginners class. You will learn quite a bit and Jim Zuckerman is a wonderful and experienced instructor.
3/16/2010 12:07:01 PM
 
Kandi A. Hodges

member since: 12/14/2009
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This class was fabulous! The instruction was wonderful (Thanks, Jim!) and I learned so much more than the course outline promised. I have always been a bit timid to pick up the camera. Now, I can't wait to use it and even discovered a passion for macro photography. I have already recommended this class to several people.
3/15/2010 10:07:40 AM
 
Dodie V. Sarchet-Waller
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 12/28/2009
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This class was fabulous! I learnt so much and enjoyed it all. The lessons were just the right length, easy to follow, and really made me grab my camera and get out to try to take some photos. The photo critiques were the best part of the class - Jim is honest, thoughtful and even went the extra step in working on one of my photos to show me what he meant. He really goes above and beyond. Absolutely wonderful! Thank you!
3/10/2010 8:25:26 PM
 
Julia Mascoll

member since: 12/14/2009
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thanks to Jim I can now fully grasp exactly what depth of field is, and the difference between aperture mode and shutter mode. Thanks Jim. You rock!
3/8/2010 6:59:41 PM
 
Edmond Deckmyn

member since: 11/12/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I fully enjoyed Jim's class. I learnt a lot and feel better with my new digital camera. The course was well built, with equilibrium, and as a "fundamental" course it covered what you have to know to progress. The comments on assignments are complete,deep and constructive. His creative mastery, passion and patience were ideal companions for me during the full course. Surely will take other courses with Jim. Thank you for a great month Jim!
12/11/2009 1:05:41 PM
 
Pamela L. Moore
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 7/30/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
If you know your camera somewhat this class gives you many ways to take pictures and get good results. It was very informative and helpful. If you have any questions, Jim was really good about getting back and answering. Very happy I took the class.
12/7/2009 9:31:30 PM
 
Katherine M. Mohren

member since: 4/8/2009
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I really enjoyed the course and I feel like I got a lot out of it. Jim is a very inspiring instructor motivating you to strive to do better. His critiques really helped me to identify my weakest areas as well as my strongest. I still consider myself a novice but do feel I know a lot more than I did eight weeks ago! Thank you Jim!
9/5/2009 3:09:30 PM
 
Andrea Garibaldi

member since: 6/27/2009
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Fantastic course!! I loved it!!! Easy to follow and great feedback from the instructor. Thank you very much Jim!!
9/2/2009 5:55:40 PM
 
Heather Tucker
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 9/6/2008
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
A good class with useful information. I found the lessons a little short when compared to the other classes I was taking but the critiques were excellent and really useful. I also appreciated that we knew when Jim was going to be away and that the class was extended to compensate for this.
9/2/2009 1:16:33 AM
 
Ian Bristow
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 7/15/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Jim Zuckerman is a phenomenal instructor, his love of and passion for photography is contagious. The reviews and advice that you receive on the course are very constructive and second to none. This course has taken me from a complete novice with a digital SLR (who was frightened to take the camera off 'Auto' mode) to a person who is now happily experimenting with the creativity of digital photography. Thank you Jim for a wonderful learning experience, I will definitely be signing up for more of your courses.
8/16/2009 6:54:58 AM
 
Kristina L. Jacobs
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 3/5/2009
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have really enjoyed Jim's class and am sorry to see it come to an end, yet am eager to move on and gain practical experience with what I've learned.

Jim is a phenomenal photographer and his experience and knowledge is vast. Before the 8-week course began, I was a bit hesitant and anxiouss that I might be biting off more than I could chew. I was worried for no reason. Not only were Jim's lessons at a level that a novice like myself could understand, the assignments were challenging enough to make me think and put into practice what he taught.

Jim expresses his love of photography in his teaching and I feel honored to have had the opportunity to learn from him. I value Jim's critiques of my photography and appreciate his directness.

Coming from a point and shoot background, I have gained a greater appreciation for how much work goes into taking a great photograph. I joked with Jim that I wanted to be just like him when I grew up and though I will never come close, I do see the improvements in my photographs and feel I have grown towards my own personal goals.

Thank you Jim and thank you Better Photo.

Kristina Jacobs

5/24/2009 8:25:14 AM
 
Bruchy Spilman
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 12/22/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Jim is an excellent instructor! He is very patient with his students. I learned a lot in his class!! Thank you Jim!!
3/22/2009 8:30:32 PM
 
Ginger L. Ward

member since: 11/9/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Excellent! This was my first photography class and I have learned a lot. I really have enjoyed Jim - he is very knowledgeable, talented and patient, especially patient with newbees like me. Thanks so much!
2/27/2009 3:08:12 PM
 
Lois Nicholson

member since: 2/23/2008
1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 1.5 out of 5
Not at all what I expected for this course . The instructor seems to expect you to know more than fundamentals would suggest. Try some other course this one isn't worth the money.
11/28/2008 6:54:10 PM
 
Glenys Tranter
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 6/16/2008
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
The lesson required the student to put into action what was learned. This was great, as it forced you to practise what you read about. The critiques are very good, and helps you to look at your photos in a more informed way.
Well worth the time and effort.
8/31/2008 3:03:22 AM
 
Vicki Hall
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 6/24/2008
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This class helped me enormously. My abilities have improved dramatically in a short time and I look forward to continuing to improve my skills with other classes. Jim Zuckerman is an excellent photographer and has much to offer his students. His critiques are insightful and useful. This course is well worth the time and money you spend.
8/29/2008 6:34:54 AM
 
Jeffrey M. Govin
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 5/20/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
http://canon20dlover.com/-/canon20dlover/links.asp
Here are various links I use for photo product and found very helpful
8/5/2008 8:43:36 AM
 
Khalda W. Al-Sinan
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 2/3/2008
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
it need life like audio books ore vedio
4/13/2008 2:06:03 AM
 
Susan C. Dexter

member since: 11/1/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I loved this class and highly recommend it to all beginning photographers! The lessons were clear and concise. I felt Jim set the bar high for a beginning course and challenged me to really pay attention to my surroundings and what I was photographing. Each week I looked forward to not only the very detailed critiques of my photo's, but also those of my classmates.

I will definately be taking more of Jims classes in the future.

3/26/2008 7:20:34 AM
 
Cheryl Ann Gould
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 1/30/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Loved this class! Jim Zuckerman was wonderful. His critiques were always very constructive. His passion and enthusiasm were evident throughout the course. With this class, I really felt inspired to challenge myself. I am looking forward to my next class with this instructor.
3/20/2008 10:22:11 AM
 
Shawna Stevenson
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 11/7/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was my first class with BetterPhoto and I was quite nervous about taking my camera off AUTO. Jim did an excellent job of presenting the lessons, and more importantly critiquing everyone's photos in terms that I could understand. The ability to ask questions in the Q&A forum was also invaluable. Thanks Jim and I'll be seeing you in other classes.
1/2/2008 11:29:17 PM
 
Veronica  S. McGinnity
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 8/3/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I would recommend this class to anyone who is a beginner photographer. Jim was a very helpful instructor. I looked forward to his critiques every week, not only mine but my classmates. It was very helpful to hear his comments about what we did right and also how to improve in areas that we needed a little extra help! This class was a wonderful and very educational experience and I look forward to taking more courses from Jim.
12/22/2007 8:12:36 PM
 
sharon j. morris
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 8/21/2007
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This was a very good class. Jim Zuckerman is an expert at what he does. He is a real professional.
He has a lot to offer. His critiques are straight forward,
honest, clear to understand, and very helpful. He not only tells you what you did right, but when you do something wrong he will explain how you could have improved upon your mistake.
His lessons are clear, and easy to understand. You know what is expected of you, and you have a good amount of time to get it done. I would highly recommend this class to anyone who wants to learn, and better their skills in the art of photography.
12/4/2007 9:22:26 PM
 
Kellie L. Gouger
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 6/11/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I started using my camera on week 1 of the lesson! I was really a beginner! Jim, was able to teach me a wonderful step-by-step approach to photography. He was always kind in his critques but also honest. I think the most important thing I learned from this course, is what to look for (and hopefully achieve) in a good photograph. Besides the mechanics of the camera, Jim highly encouraged us to think outside the box and be creative! This kind of encouragement can only come from someone as experienced and knowledgable as Jim! I plan to take as many classes with Jim as I can before I move on to another instructor.
9/6/2007 3:14:44 PM
 
Janice Moore

member since: 6/21/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I was unable to complete the course because of school starting but I have copied the information. I will complete the lesson at a later date on my own but with the clear information provided I should be no problem. Mr. Zuckerman was very helpful and would take another course at a later date with him.
Janice Moore
9/2/2007 12:38:26 PM
 
Anna Stivala

member since: 4/13/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I was fortunate enough to hit on this course purely by chance, just surfing around the web, clicking on articles on photography. I am so glad I stumbled by pure chance, as well, on this course by Jim Zuckerman, a professional par excellence. I was, and still am, a very basic beginner in photography but it was thrilling to have such an accomplished photographer critique our work with such patience and with examples from his vast and wonderful lifetime work in photography. The response was always prompt and helpful. Now I have to get back to the lessons and go through them all again. I'm sorry this course is over but I'm sure I'll be back to do another. Thank you Jim. It was a great pleasure having you as tutor. I'll be looking out for your pictures on BetterPhoto and in all the magazines!
Anna
6/6/2007 3:07:28 AM
 
Heidi M. Schulze

member since: 12/14/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is the first class I have taken from BetterPhoto.com. It was well worth it!! I needed a very basic class as I am just starting to pursue photography. Jim was very helpful, and willing to accommodate my late assignments (I could not always arrange things around work).
The course content was just what I needed: an introduction to the basic concepts of photography. I felt very comfortable with the assignments and appreciated Jim's feedback.
3/15/2007 6:18:32 PM
 
Anna Barendt

member since: 8/29/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I am a beginning photographer, and I enjoyed having my photography gently critiqued, gently being a very key word. I also learned so much by reading the critiques of other students' work and looking at their pictures, not to mention looking at Jim's work. I also appreciated Jim's encouragement to use Photoshop to lighten some of my pictures.

But more than that, I really enjoyed the brief discussion/critique about being able to see what makes a good picture, which for me, will take as much practice to develop as taking the photograph. The discussion and encouragement really helped me.

I look forward to taking more classes next year, as my schedule permits.

Anna B.

12/12/2006 10:25:12 AM
 
Beth  Hahn

member since: 4/4/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
This class was perfect for someone like me who is a beginner. The lessons were helpful, but Jim's comments/critiques were actually what made the class for me. Not only his comments on my work but on the work of my classmates. What worked, what didn't, here's how you could make it better - all of his comments were on point and very informative. I came away from the class a better photographer - albeit one who still has a long way to go.
9/11/2006 1:54:18 PM
 
Michelle Meyer

member since: 10/22/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I thought Jim did a great job with this class. Yes, it is the very basic skills of photography, but I think he did a great job in keeping it basic. I didn't expect to get very in depth instruction for a fundamentals class. I appreciated the fact that everything was kept simple, I think it helped me build a more solid foundation to build on in the future.
6/5/2006 1:21:08 PM
 
Suzanne Hull
BetterPhoto Member
shdigitalart.com

member since: 11/25/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This course was everything I needed to understand my camera, get me started shooting and get the basics down with fine examples (Jim's and the classes). I enjoy the online format, Jim's critiques were very helpful and I'm hooked on these courses...I want to learn more.
3/11/2006 8:45:31 AM
 
Charles M. Burrows
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 1/17/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
To start with I was very skeptical about an online photographic course, but that all dissolved after the first lesson. The lessons were presented in a really easy to follow and learn from format for the beginner and the critique that Jim gave was very constructive and informative.

I have honestly learned so much from the lessons as well as from Jim himself, In some cases going beyond the confines of the lessons to help and explain.

In this course I have actually learned to use my camera properly in manual mode and more importantly learned so much about composition. Thanks so much Jim, it was awesome. I thoroughly enjoyed this course and will do many more in the future from betterphoto.com.

3/8/2006 9:40:51 PM
 
Cliff & Patti Smith
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Cliff & Patti
Cliff & Patti's Gallery

member since: 12/3/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I actually learned how to use my camera in the manual mode while taking this class:) Jim presented the lessons in an easy to follow format & gave wonderful detailed photos as examples.

Many of the other students photos really inspired me! It was fun writing to them & getting to know them.I now have some great email buddies with a passion for photography.

If you are the type of person who needs their photos critiqued on a regular basis to learn (as I do.) I would suggest getting this clarified prior to taking this class.

Patricia LaFave

3/8/2006 3:55:17 PM
 
Michelle Smith
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 1/1/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Class was fun, if nothing else it got me out taking pictures! Can't go wrong with that.
This class is for the VERY basic beginner that has no clue about photography. That type of person would thrive in this class! Jim explains things in laymens terms, making it extremly easy to understand. You can't help but learn something. He does a wonderful job in presenting the format so that it is easy to comprehend and to get out to take pictures- which is what it is about isn't it? Even when he is away he takes the time to answer questions and offer help, even when it comes to dog slobber on the uv filter- ask him about what great things to put in the camera bag. :o)

However, if you have read a photography book or two and understand the camera settings, look elsewhere. ( Not because of Jim- just because of the content) You will be disappointed. It is VERY basic.

Our class was extended- due to Jim being away. So if you are someone that needs immediate response, you might want to think twice. Jim was very fair and told us up front that he would be away, and he extended the class to cover this. This allowed us to ask questions, if we could think of any I hadn't aleady pestered him with.

I will take away some wonderful friendships and some wild stuff in my camera bag, that's for sure and a smile. It was fun, a bit too basic for me which was disappointing, but a great experience overall.
Thanks Jim and all the rest of the class!
Shell

3/7/2006 6:34:58 PM
 
Brandon Lussier

member since: 12/7/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I learned a lot about photography from this course (more than I learned about ANYTHING in highschool) Jim is a very good teacher and even though he was gone and not as easy to contact he still managed to do an excellent job teaching this course.
3/7/2006 5:01:40 PM
 
Howie Nordström
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 3/11/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Jim, I don't think I can express how grateful I am for everything in this class. You have taught me so much. Your feedback has been absolutely enriching. You have a tremendous way of being clear, concise, honest and sensitive.

Over the course of many years I've dabbled with picture taking, trying to understand some of the basics that your lessons contain. However, it's only now that understanding has begun to develop. Your photo knowledge & skill as well as your teaching style together make a tremendous combination, and an enriching experience. Thank you!

6/14/2005 8:40:40 AM
 
Robert F. Cadigan

member since: 3/8/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Your Fundamentals of Photography course that I just completed was even better than I had hoped it might be. The fundamentals were presented in a clear, concise manner that built on each other from week to week. The course and your critiques gave me a solid base on which to build further learning in photography.
6/11/2005 3:16:46 PM
 
Beckwith Cooper

member since: 11/11/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I just wanted to let you know that this has been an incredibly positive experience for me both in terms of learning and accomplishment. Your criticisms and comments were very insightful and helpful without ever being discouraging. You have made me want to continue to take pictures and have challenged me to see more and to take more pictures every week than I ever have - I guess that is what every teacher strives for. The people in the class have been really fun and inspiring too - everything from Don Conn's m&m pics that I loved to Debbie's incredible work and Tammy's beautiful pictures of my home state of Ky.
3/17/2005 7:21:24 AM
 

51 Reviews  

Add your own review

Enroll

Add to Wishlist


Copyright © 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc.® All Rights Reserved.