PowerShot G1 Digital Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

Lovely Lucrezia
View photos created with this camera

The PowerShot G1 Digital Camera

Features:

  • 3.34-megapixel CCD; 2,048 x 1,536 maximum resolution
  • 3x optical/2x digital zoom
  • Compatible with Type I and II CompactFlash cards
  • Swivel-mounted color LCD monitor
  • Compatible with Canon EX-series Speedlite flashes

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


32 Reviews  

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Kay Swietek 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2006 9:03:17 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2006 9:03:17 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2006 9:03:17 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2006 9:03:17 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2006 9:03:17 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I just like it
7/2/2006 9:03:17 AM
 
Daniel  Hohl
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/19/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2006 5:17:23 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2006 5:17:23 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2006 5:17:23 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2006 5:17:23 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2006 5:17:23 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Wonderful older camera, excellent for infrared photos, which is what I use it for, great swivel LCD screen, easy to operate and carry, one of the few digital cameras to use CMYK for color. Only has 3.3mp which may be too few for most photographers these days.
6/20/2006 5:17:23 PM
 
Jim Swift 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2006 8:42:04 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2006 8:42:04 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2006 8:42:04 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2006 8:42:04 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2006 8:42:04 AM
Rating: 1.5 out of 5
Good optics, but vever did get used to the shutter delay. Traded it for a Fuji S2Pro.
2/8/2006 8:42:04 AM
 
Jana Klavinska
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/26/2005
1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/26/2005 6:52:38 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/26/2005 6:52:38 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/26/2005 6:52:38 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/26/2005 6:52:38 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/26/2005 6:52:38 AM
Rating: 1.5 out of 5
Dont like at all. Simple camera for simple occasions. Hard to work with for my needs. Unchangable lens, just a few regimes. But thats all I can afford for now...
12/26/2005 6:52:38 AM
 
Allen Biehle 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2005 5:37:47 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2005 5:37:47 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2005 5:37:47 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2005 5:37:47 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2005 5:37:47 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Good for a point and shoot. Takes great pictures but lacks the depth and shutter response of a good SLR.
11/9/2005 5:37:47 PM
 
Jeffrey Smith
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/12/2005
1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/13/2005 8:47:59 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/13/2005 8:47:59 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/13/2005 8:47:59 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/13/2005 8:47:59 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/13/2005 8:47:59 AM
Rating: 1.5 out of 5
Good for it's time. Now it's obsolete.
10/13/2005 8:47:59 AM
 
Karen Rahlf
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/5/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/9/2005 4:56:33 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/9/2005 4:56:33 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/9/2005 4:56:33 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/9/2005 4:56:33 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/9/2005 4:56:33 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I've had this camera for four years and just love it. I'm about to upgrade to a new camera, but I won't be giving this one up right away. It takes awesome macro shots, and is great in low light (as long as you use a tripod). I agree with other reviews that it is a bit slow.
10/9/2005 4:56:33 PM
 
Kirsten S. Dahl 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2005 9:26:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2005 9:26:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2005 9:26:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2005 9:26:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2005 9:26:04 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I am completley happy with my camera. I especially like the Super Macro.
9/27/2005 9:26:04 PM
 
Josh Adelson 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/25/2005 2:30:12 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/25/2005 2:30:12 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/25/2005 2:30:12 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/25/2005 2:30:12 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/25/2005 2:30:12 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
It's my first digital camera. I know there are much better ones out there now, and eventually I'll probably buy one. But in the meantime, I really enjoy using it.
9/25/2005 2:30:12 PM
 
Stephen H. Miller 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2005 9:24:22 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2005 9:24:22 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2005 9:24:22 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2005 9:24:22 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2005 9:24:22 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Was a great starter camera. Built very good.
8/28/2005 9:24:22 AM
 
Rick Chimniak 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2005 9:25:13 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2005 9:25:13 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2005 9:25:13 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2005 9:25:13 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2005 9:25:13 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Good Battery Life, Great Swivel screen for arms length photos. This was one of the best cameras at it's time.
7/26/2005 9:25:13 PM
 
Raymond Marsal
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/2/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2005 11:50:38 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2005 11:50:38 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2005 11:50:38 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2005 11:50:38 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2005 11:50:38 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Excellent camera for a 3MP. Not a DSLR but still gives lots of capability for taking great shots.
7/17/2005 11:50:38 AM
 
Bryan C. Dahl 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2005 11:27:09 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2005 11:27:09 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2005 11:27:09 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2005 11:27:09 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2005 11:27:09 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
no
1/18/2005 11:27:09 AM
 
Pierre Tabone 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2004 12:23:35 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2004 12:23:35 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2004 12:23:35 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2004 12:23:35 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2004 12:23:35 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
A very good camera. Very satisfied with results. Pierre Tabone
12/8/2004 12:23:35 PM
 
Ryan M. Knight 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/17/2004 8:25:23 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/17/2004 8:25:23 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/17/2004 8:25:23 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/17/2004 8:25:23 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/17/2004 8:25:23 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
The PowerShot G1 has been a great starter camera for me to learn how to move from point-and-shoot to a more manual experience. It has been incredibly durable and takes great photographs. My biggest gripes are the very long start-up time and poor screen resolution.
10/17/2004 8:25:23 PM
 
Brian W. Anderson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/18/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/4/2004 9:40:58 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/4/2004 9:40:58 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/4/2004 9:40:58 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/4/2004 9:40:58 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/4/2004 9:40:58 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
very good point and shoot for vacation and travel.
8/4/2004 9:40:58 PM
 
Tom J. Hughes
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/19/2004
Contact Tom
Tom's Gallery
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2004 8:29:17 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2004 8:29:17 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2004 8:29:17 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2004 8:29:17 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2004 8:29:17 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
It was a good point and shoot first digital camera. At the time 3 years a go, it was the top of the line for a 3.3 Megapixel point and shot camera. Limited zoom with built in len mechanisum. Found this to be a limitation so we went to the Canon Digital Rebel becaused of extensive lens selections and higher mega pixels of 6.3.
7/24/2004 8:29:17 AM
 
Barry Zamrin 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2004 8:13:42 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2004 8:13:42 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2004 8:13:42 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2004 8:13:42 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2004 8:13:42 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This was my first digital camera. I found it very easy to use and it produced excellent results. The swival LCD is really helpful when shooting in a crowd. I eventually replaced it with a Canon Powershot G2.
6/27/2004 8:13:42 AM
 
Daniel Knighton 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/16/2004 11:09:58 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/16/2004 11:09:58 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/16/2004 11:09:58 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/16/2004 11:09:58 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/16/2004 11:09:58 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
As a first digital camera I am very pleased with this camera. The macro setting is very impressive, but I wish I would have known that the F-stop only goes to F-8.
6/16/2004 11:09:58 PM
 
Chelsea A. Bohn 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2004 9:09:17 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2004 9:09:17 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2004 9:09:17 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2004 9:09:17 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2004 9:09:17 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
i love this
6/7/2004 9:09:17 AM
 
Charley Magrew 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2004 9:00:08 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2004 9:00:08 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2004 9:00:08 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2004 9:00:08 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2004 9:00:08 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I enjoy it. It has done me well.
6/4/2004 9:00:08 AM
 
Meg Massie 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/19/2004 10:02:59 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/19/2004 10:02:59 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/19/2004 10:02:59 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/19/2004 10:02:59 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/19/2004 10:02:59 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
When I bought this camera it was the best out there. I was thrilled with the pictures I could take. Since then I have purchased a 10D, which obviously outperforms the G1. Still, for an inexpensive camera, which is now very old, the G1 is great - has many features and the pictures are good quality.
2/19/2004 10:02:59 AM
 
John R. Edwards 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2004 3:13:20 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2004 3:13:20 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2004 3:13:20 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2004 3:13:20 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2004 3:13:20 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Nice little point & shoot. Lots of cool features.
1/18/2004 3:13:20 PM
 
Richard Suddick 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2004 3:11:35 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2004 3:11:35 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2004 3:11:35 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2004 3:11:35 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2004 3:11:35 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This is a great camera for infrared photography, using the near infrared pass filters available from Hoya. The G1's CCD is highly sensitive to the near infrared spectrum (about 700nm). It is possible to get some great black and white images using this filter with shutter priority set at 0.5 to 2 seconds, then using photoshop or similar software to "unsaturate" the monochrome violet (or pink to red-ish colored) images.)My main dislike is the poorly designed mechanism for manual focusing. Also, the resolution at 3.23 megapixels is marginal for what I am doing and I will upgrade soon to the Canon G5 or the Rebel 300D.
1/16/2004 3:11:35 PM
 
Julie Teague 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2003 1:29:49 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2003 1:29:49 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2003 1:29:49 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2003 1:29:49 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2003 1:29:49 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Good camera. Lots of features with the ability to be manual. Hot shoe on top for easy connecting. There is shutter lag which doesn't help when photographing candidly.
10/16/2003 1:29:49 PM
 
Hans Duggen
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/15/2003
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2003 11:38:36 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2003 11:38:36 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2003 11:38:36 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2003 11:38:36 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2003 11:38:36 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
The best camera I ever owned, fantastic automatic function. I am not so satisfied with the manuel settings, there are too much difenties in the xposure. The colors are 1st class and it seems yo be a very strong body wich is good for me under many travels in car and caravan. The printing results in a magazine as well as prints on my printer are excellent with only small regulations in PS.
9/14/2003 11:38:36 AM
 
David L. Shannon
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/23/2003
Contact David
David's Gallery
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/23/2003 1:58:59 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/23/2003 1:58:59 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/23/2003 1:58:59 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/23/2003 1:58:59 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/23/2003 1:58:59 PM
Rating: 2 out of 5
Canon Power Shot G1 is easy to use in both automatic and manual modes. Highlights wash out too easily and too abruptly. And typical of many (most?) digital cameras, there is way too much lag time between when the shutter button is pressed and the image captured. Good action shots are more of an accident than a planned event.
8/23/2003 1:58:59 PM
 
John D. Quixley
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/8/2000
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/12/2003 4:29:14 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/12/2003 4:29:14 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/12/2003 4:29:14 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/12/2003 4:29:14 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/12/2003 4:29:14 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
It was a great Digital camnera 2 years ago. Still good but the standards have improved since then
8/12/2003 4:29:14 AM
 
Robert Meyer 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2003 6:50:15 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2003 6:50:15 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2003 6:50:15 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2003 6:50:15 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2003 6:50:15 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Full featured point and shoot. A lot of flexibility. Takes great pictures. Pros: feature packed, full control, external hotshoe, great image quality, swivel LCD. Cons: slow startup, big shutter delay.
7/9/2003 6:50:15 AM
 
Ekaterina Bialskaia 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2003 6:19:16 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2003 6:19:16 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2003 6:19:16 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2003 6:19:16 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2003 6:19:16 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I really like this camera and it makes good photos. The negative is that it is very hard to make a good close-up photo becouse it looks smudged. Most of the other photo options are good and i like the black and white photos. Also not so good is that it takes a long time to recharge it and the battery runs out pretty fast. Other then that this is a very good camera.
6/24/2003 6:19:16 AM
 
Christina Bowker
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/15/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 12:56:37 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 12:56:37 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 12:56:37 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 12:56:37 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 12:56:37 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I do not have it anymore, but I loved it.
6/17/2003 12:56:37 PM
 
Carol Enderlin 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/16/2003 7:19:06 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/16/2003 7:19:06 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/16/2003 7:19:06 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/16/2003 7:19:06 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/16/2003 7:19:06 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is a great camera. I bought a Nikon D100 because I wanted a bit more reach.
6/16/2003 7:19:06 AM
 

32 Reviews  

Buy PowerShot G1 Digital Camera from Amazon.com