BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


Camedia C-7000 (C-70) Digital Camera


Olympus

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

Solitary Pine
View photos created with this camera

Features:

  • 7.1 Megapixel CCD
  • 5x zoom lens, 38-190mm equivalent 35mm focal length
  • JPEG, RAW or uncompressed TIFF image formats
  • 2.0-inch color LCD monitor
  • QuickTime video with sound
  • Auto Exposure Bracketing
  • Program AE, Shutter-speed, Aperture, Manual and Scene modes
  • Shutter speeds from 15 secs to 1/2000
  • ISO sensitivity can be set at Auto, 80, 100, 200, 400 (equivalent)
  • 32MB xD-Picture Card removable media
  • USB 2.0 connectivity, Audio-Video output for TV display
  • Lithium rechargeable battery and charger included

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


18 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Mary J. Wolfe
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 5/23/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is a versatile, rugged, easy to use camera. It's size makes it handy to carry everywhere. One problem it has is that shooting images in camera raw format is slow.
7/4/2006 8:20:48 PM
 
Brad E. Gibson
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 5/7/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
The Olympus C-7000 (C-70) is a good camera, with a pretty good amount of pixels (7.1). The 5x optical zoom helps a lot, but I really want about 10x or more, so I can get close-up shots of animals without them running away, or so I just don't have to walk as much. I like the manual controls, although I've never used the scene modes. I use the flash sometimes, although I almost always prefer sunlight for nature shots. I like that it is compatible with (I think) all of the XD storage cards. I like that you can just connect it right to a USB port, and load the pictures onto your computer. Its rechargeable Li-Ion battery lasts a good while. Other things I like about it: 1.5+ inch LCD Video recording Panoramas (with Olympus XD cards) Different flash modes 5x Digital zoom Timer Quick view button Standard tripod mount Electrical adapter capability Viewfinder
7/2/2006 3:04:44 AM
 
Sarina Cook
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 6/28/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is a pretty new camera for me. I love it. Its the 3rd Olympus digital I've had. It takes great shots and is easy to use for the basics. It has lots of functions that I need to learn more about.
6/11/2006 9:19:00 AM
 
Pamela  J. Hall

member since: 4/19/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love this camera. It is very simple to use, takes excellent pictures, is small enough to fit into a pocket and also takes Quicktime movies.
4/19/2006 2:35:24 PM
 
Denise Clay

member since: 6/24/2000
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is a photographer's compact digital camera.
2/22/2006 6:41:14 PM
 
Nick R. Sevastian

member since: 9/26/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Small yet decent digital quality. Very versatile as far as features and flexibility to switch from programed shooting to manual.
2/5/2006 8:15:06 AM
 
Robby Sheppard

member since: 1/16/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
It was so compact and easy to use once I got the hang of it.
1/16/2006 4:32:02 PM
 
Melissa Gurdus
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Melissa
Melissa's Gallery
gurdusphoto.com

member since: 11/24/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Although this is a small sized camera, it never fails to please me. I can take hand held shots that come out sharp even with low shutter speed. It also has two levels of macro. I have had it for about a year, I also have more sophisticated cameras, but will not sell this one for something...better, smaller...whatever. It is a 7.1 megapixel camera, has a 5X optical zoom and fits into my purse. It fits well in my hand unlike some of the other small cameras I have tried.
1/2/2006 4:28:53 PM
 
Sandy K. Gagnon

member since: 9/26/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love the continuous focus option and the sharpness of the photos
9/26/2005 10:47:45 PM
 
Joanne Donnelly

member since: 7/12/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I like the 7.0 megapixels and the smallness of it. I can take great pictures very inconspicuously and carry it everywhere. What I don't like about it is the short battery life.
7/26/2005 5:59:15 AM
 
Kathy J. Neill

member since: 7/5/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I have had the camera just a little less than a week .... I love it. Just what I was looking for. A camera that I can use right away, but also grow into manual settings. A great step from my point and shoot which I have had about a year. Love the feel of this camera, the menu navigations, the short-cut features, the LCD and so far, have not gotten frustrated with experimenting.
7/24/2005 4:56:52 PM
 
Pat Worster
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 4/21/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I just got my new Olympus a week ago and it takes some getting used. So far I like it it takes wonderful photos as long as I learn the controls right. I also have the remote but haven't had the time to use it yet. I have one major complaint and that is that it is too small. I really a camera I can get awhole of. But it is doing a great job. Pat Worster
6/20/2005 5:56:30 PM
 
Pat Worster
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 4/21/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I just got my new Olympus a week ago and it takes some getting used. So far I like it it takes wonderful photos as long as I learn the controls right. I also have the remote but haven't had the time to use it yet. I have one major complaint and that is that it is too small. I really a camera I can get awhole of. But it is doing a great job. Pat Worster
6/20/2005 5:56:18 PM
 
Graham M. Taitt
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 5/31/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
My Mom's camera. I use it whenever I forget mine, which is a lot. I like it fine, but mine's better. It takes good pictures, though!
5/31/2005 11:36:31 AM
 
Mary N C. Taitt
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 5/18/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
This camera takes nice pictures but I find that the menus are not very intuitive. My *major complaint* is that it turns itself on constantly because the off-on switch is not protected. Another thing I *hate* is that the optical zoom is integrated with the digital zoom. There may be a way to disengage that integration but I haven't figured it out yet. I would like a high quality digital pocket-sized camera that I can really carry in my pocket. This is not it. It does take good pictures, though. I'm looking for a camera with lots of megapixels and lots of optical zoom that is small and easy to use but has lots of manual override options. Got one--let me know. The lens cover leaves are fragile.
5/26/2005 11:39:26 AM
 
Kathryn L. Peters

member since: 2/3/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
NIce and compact, wish the aperture could go more than f8.0. Wish for more zoom. Otherwise, for a 7.1 megapixel, not many complaints. Cannot adjust the time the image is played back after initial capture, must then go to quick view to see it if you missed the instant playback. Do not like the manual focus at all. It is very difficult to use.
4/11/2005 12:08:35 PM
 
Kathryn L. Peters

member since: 2/3/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
NIce and compact, wish the aperture could go more than f8.0. Wish for more zoom. Otherwise, for a 7.1 megapixel, not many complaints. Cannot adjust the time the image is played back after initial capture, must then go to quick view to see it if you missed the instant playback. Do not like the manual focus at all. It is very difficult to use.
4/11/2005 12:08:22 PM
 
Jeremy Witzke
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 4/7/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love most everything about this camera and would recomend it to most everyone
4/7/2005 9:20:21 AM
 

18 Reviews  

Add your own review

Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.